Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

45%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 11 reviews

Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven

A no-nonsense guide to eating well for you and baby during pregnancy.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Skinny Bitches are at it again. This time, vegan authors Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin are back telling mothers-to-be how to eat right during their pregnancy. If you’re familiar with the sassy and brazen tone of the Skinny Bitch sisters than their book and diet plan, "Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven: A Gutsy Guide to Becoming One Hot (and Healthy) Mother!" won’t send you into premature labor with their in-your-face advice and motivating tips.

They hit hard with their overriding mantra that you and your baby are what you choose to eat during your pregnancy. Supporting a whole-foods, vegan diet, the Skinny Bitches provide you with heaps of information on how the chemicals and antibiotics pervasive in our food system contribute to a host of health issues for both mom and baby.

In addition, they offer answers to many of the side effects to pregnancy and also include post-partum information such as breast-feeding, exercise and sex.

PRO
  • Supports a whole foods diet full of fruit, veggies, protein and grains
  • Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven can help you create a healthy pregnancy for you and your child
  • 'A vegan diet can be healthy for baby and mom' is a claim that is also substantiated by the American Medical Association
  • Provides post-partum guidance
  • Promotes exercise
CON
  • Veganism may be too extreme for some pregnant women
  • Diet may be difficult to follow especially for multiple births
  • Foods included in the diet plan may not be available to all pregnant women
  • Tone of book may be offensive to some
DIET and NUTRITION

Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven is all about food: what you should eat and what you should not. Their vegan eating plan includes noshing on plenty of fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds, grains and legumes during the nine months of your pregnancy. It also includes sample menus and vegan tips to satisfy food cravings.

EXERCISE

Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven encourages getting regular gentle exercise like yoga, tai chi, and walking to keep you in shape and to keep your digestive tract moving.

CONCLUSION

Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven is an entertaining and informative diet plan that seeks to help women stay healthy during their pregnancy and beyond. Its strong support of a vegan diet and/or the harsh tone of the Skinny Bitch series may turn off some pregnant women.

Common Misspellings

Skinny Bitches, Skinny Bitch Pregnancy Diet, Skinny Bitch Vegan Pregnancy Diet, Bun in the Oven Diet, Skinny Bitchin', Pregnancy Diet, Vegan Diet


Related Diets: Breastfeeding Diet, 321 Baby Bulge Be Gone, Fit for Fertility , The Pregnancy Diet, Vegan Diet, Skinny Bitch, Skinny Bitch in the Kitch, Skinny Bitchin', The Green Pregnancy Diet, Total Mommy Fitness


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 12 total comments)

Andrew

Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils; Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron; Forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which Believe and Know the Truth.

posted Feb 16th, 2014 1:19 pm


Carolyn

Having a vegan pregnancy is the worst thing you can do? Really? Has the poster of that comment ever had a vegan pregnancy? Well, I HAVE. My baby was born 8LBS, and now I am pregnant again and having ANOTHER vegan pregnancy. Don't preach about something you don't know about!

posted Dec 19th, 2011 3:25 pm


NBAMamma

Great book that got me back on track. Finally, my energy and glow is back and I feel amazing! It is for sure a totally selfless act giving up those foods you once loved. But in the long run your baby will benefit and YOU will too! I love eating such a clean whole foods diet so rich in nutrients and vital vitamins and minerals for my growing baby. It feels awesome knowing that I am educating myself and changing my bad eating ways so that my baby will be born happy healthy. I did a vegan diet with my first born and he was a healthy 8lb baby. He is extreamly gifted in the brains department and very physically fit enjoying Tae Kwon Do and basketball. I promise you that babies are NOT robbed of anything while on vegan diet. You will get all the vitamins and nurtients AND MORE if you follow a whole foods vegan diet properly. But, you do need to educate yourself further than just reading "Skinny Bitch- Bun In The Oven". It is a great start though!

posted Jan 26th, 2011 4:46 pm


Jewelz

I first read skinny Bitch, and many thanks to these ladies for all the information. I am now a vegaterian! I have NEVER felt better in my entire life and I'm 34. I proceeded to pick up Skinny Bitch in the Kitch and it's amazing! I have a 8 month old that I want to switch to Say formula so I am going to get the Bun in the oven. I thank God every day for the wealth of knowledge I have gained from this book!

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 3:09 pm


Cynthia

If I would have known they were going to preach about being vegans I would have never bought it online. Two thumbs down.

posted May 19th, 2010 11:51 pm


Alisha

I didn't hate it, I didn't love it. I was in between because there were a few topics that the "bitches" got spot on in my opinion and really made me think more about what types of carbs to choose for me and my baby, and helped me out with my diet soda cravings as well. But then I kept reading,,,, and after a few chapters I slowly starting feeling horrible about myself. And when they called me a "fat ass" , in regards to pregnant women who choose to eat dairy, I lost it... I mean I enjoy 1% organic milk with a bowl of raisin bran and I'm a fat ass? Who the hell do the think they are? But I kept reading, thinking to myself I'm going to take from this book what I want and that's that. But when they started getting into animal cruelty and slaughterhouses and threatening me with all the diseases my baby could get if don't stop eating meat this instant, I put it down. When I finally opened it back up, I skipped to the end, which had some decent diet ideas, but quite frankly I sat there reading it thinking "hmmm doesn't my baby need more than this?" Sure enough I talked to my doctor, who strongly advised not to go vegan half way through my pregnancy, especially when I've never been vegan before. So all in all, I think there are pros and cons, but the cons are pretty severe and dangerous!

posted Mar 19th, 2010 5:24 pm


Brittany

Horrible book!!! Makes you feel like everything you eat is going to kill your baby!

posted Mar 13th, 2010 2:10 pm


blanca Angelica

this book is amazing. No, Humans are NOT omnivorous. USA is the only country with so many illness linked to meat and dairy.

Let's compare the bodies of humans and herbivores to the bodies of carnivores and omnivores. First, the length of human and other herbivore intestines falls somewhere between 8 and 13 times the bodies' length. The length of carnivore and omnivore intestines is only 3 to 6 times their bodies' length. The short intestinal length allows rotting animal flesh, animal protein, cholesterol and saturated fat to pass through quickly which is why it's impossible for any real carnivore or omnivore to get clogged arteries. Clogged arteries, however, kills 50 percent of all
meat-eaters!

So before one starts claiming that a vegan diet is the WORST thing...please do your research. This is not
propaganda, it is what it is. It's not a "lose weight die"
It's a way of life.

My story: 3 kids, all vegan, all intelligent, all healthy.

posted Oct 17th, 2009 2:13 pm


Katie

A vegan diet is the absolutely WORST thing you can do yourself or your unborn child. It is nothing less than child abuse. Humans are omnivorous and require rather large amounts of animal (yes, you read that right) fats to stay healthy. Traditional peoples around the world routinely feed pregnant women such things as: whole eggs, liver, and bone broths. Please, for the love of God, ladies. Please don't eat a vegan diet while you are pregnant. PLEASE. A lacto-ovo vegetarian diet can be appropriate, IF the mother makes sure to eat clean, organic and/or preferrably GRASS FED animal products. In fact, pastured animal foods from organic or biodynamic sources are vital to a healthy pregnancy. Please don't believe the claims of extremist nutjobs like these women. Your baby will thank you.

posted Mar 29th, 2009 3:07 pm


CeCe

Just because these authors have an opinion (that veganism is "good") doesn't mean it's propaganda. Other diet gurus have opinions too and ti's rarely called propaganda.

I think this book rubs people the wrong way because they feel like the authors are making a moral judgment about a reader's lifestyle. But the reader does not need to be so sensitive.

In fact, the reader can actually to be open minded for once. I'm not a vegetarian but after reading this book, looking up their sources, and doing my own additional research I have reduced my intake of meat and other animal by-products. Those products have a lot of saturated fat and other harmful chemicals (even if they're organic) and should be consumed in limited amounts. I don't want my baby near that!

Also this book isn't entirely about being a vegan. There's a lot of other useful information. I found the information about artifical sweeteners and breastfeeding particularly helpful.

posted Jan 30th, 2009 4:03 pm


Maimee

A really fun, informative book with easy to follow menus (although some of the foods took a little searching for!) As someone who loves to eat healthily and wanted an enjoyable pregnancy diet this was great - and provided some good lifestyle tips too.

posted Jan 14th, 2009 9:14 am


Crystal D

Unless you are a vegan stay far away from this propaganda fill book. This book made me feel that if I ate meat, dairy, or eggs I would have a deformed, diseased, mentally challenged baby and that everyone from the government to well established companies were all out to harm our children!!! I took this book quickly back to Chapters for a refund - what a waste of time!!!

posted Jan 11th, 2009 9:40 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account