Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 17, 337 total comments)

Sylvia Senter

I want to cancel membership. You charged my account but did not send product. Please cancel membership and charge to my account. ($98.72)
Sylvia Senter

posted Mar 31st, 2011 12:19 pm


janne brown

This product is fraught with horrendous side effects that landed me in the ER several times..scary stuff.

posted Mar 27th, 2011 1:29 am


denise

i was on the fence tried the two month trial and i lost weight on this it works!! didn't think it would work for me but it did in only two months i lost 10 pounds! great product want more!!

posted Mar 25th, 2011 11:34 am


donna

A waste of money. Hassle to remember to put it on food and saw no results using it.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 3:22 pm


vannah

Can I use sensa while on the hcg diet? may i use sensa while on my hcg diet and please don't tell me im being ripped offf its the only diet ever worked for me if u can pls answer my question pls thank u :)

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 12:17 pm


Greg

My wife bought it for me. So it is easier to use it than not. However, I am already doiing the Sparkpeople diet/exercise thing. I think that is why I am losing weight. What I can say is that when I sue it I don't ever feel hungry. So I like that and it helps me with my calorie intatke.

posted Mar 17th, 2011 5:38 pm


Lanetta

This is coming from someone that has a high tolerance for almost anything, so I was hesitant to try something to curve my appetite that was not a stimulant. All I was looking for was an appetite suppressant. have been using Sensa for six days now. I can't say that I have lost any weight, however, I can honestly say that it has DECREASED my appetite. I am sure that if this continues, I will be able to have success with this product.

posted Mar 11th, 2011 1:53 pm


Jody

I have only lost 1 pound in 3 weeks but have been walking a lot so I don't know if it was the sensa or not. However, The product made my face break out with bumps & dried spots. I stopped the product & my face is clearing up. I do nut think this product is something that I can use. I would like to cancel this product.

posted Mar 10th, 2011 2:11 pm


Sushi

IFFBIFFY, you can buy this at ShopNBC, not QVC or HSN

posted Mar 7th, 2011 12:39 pm


Paul

Into month 3 now. I have lost 17 pounds of my 30-pound goal and feel great. People at work have commented "You've lost weight, haven't you?" Gotta love that. Sensa is easy to use and now it's just a habit so it's not hard to remember to use it on everything I eat. At 57 years of age, it is not easy to lose weight, but Sensa makes it easy. I now have no doubt that I will reach my goal of losing 30 pounds.

posted Mar 6th, 2011 12:45 am


Pat

I found it funny that people are afraid of the ingredients. These same, shocking ingredients are found in many foods. For instance:

"Carmine dye is often used in foods that come in bright, vivid colors such as fruit drinks, popsicles and children's candy. It is also sometimes used in yogurt and alcoholic drink mixes. Other than foods, carmine dye can also be used in products that aren't meant for consumption but must be safe for consumption, such as colored lip gloss."

Tricalcium phosphate is a combination of calcium and phosphate compounds. Both compounds are regularly found in nature and are essential for proper human bodily function. Tricalcium phosphate can be found in foods, toothpaste, porcelain, antacids, and fertilizers. Calcium supplements prescribed to treat calcium deficiency also contain tricalcium phosphate. This mineral is generally considered to be safe to use.

It took me two minutes to learn that the food industry is already feeding us rocks and bugs. So, when you think of it in context, Sensa is no worse than a popsicle.

posted Mar 1st, 2011 9:06 am


Shantell

Only first day trying it. I skipped the whole "trial period" mess and just bought the first 2 month pack at GNC for $89, figured if it didn't work, I wouldn't have repeated charges to my account. So far I noticed I don't really taste it, haven't had any side effects yet, but did notice I was fuller faster. So far so good. Keep ya posted.

posted Feb 26th, 2011 10:19 pm


lady938

I just purchased today, will keep u informed.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 9:59 pm


Lindsey

Side effects are absolutely awful...I've been on it for three weeks. Didnt notice much at first...then started gettin real sick to my stomach...Then i thought i had the flu because my body was in so much pain. It affected my vision and made me extremely dizzy. I have never felt so sick and i have not slept in a day. I layed in bed last night with my boyfriend and just cried because i could not move. I have stopped it and the symptoms have subsided a bit...still in a lot of pain however with a horrid stomach ache!

posted Feb 18th, 2011 8:56 pm


Kari

I ordered Sensa last night (the free trial) and after reading all of the issues with returning or canceling membership as well as the whole sprinkling bugs on your food thing, I decided to call and cancel it. I was even okay with fighting with canceling my auto shipment until I read what Carmine was and the thought of that would make me want to eat less without even sprinkling it on my food. Thank but no thanks Sensa. I used to work for Jenny Craig and think I will go back to that, even though it is really expensive. The food is great and having a consultant help you through and give you accountability is awesome. The only reason I thought about something else was the price but I don't really want to pay for bugs on my food if that is what is really is...Anyway, good luck to everyone!

posted Feb 14th, 2011 1:48 pm


sparksst

I have struggled with my weight all my life. I haved a hard time with cravings and just not feeling full. I have been using Sensa for 10 days. Not consistently I might add, and I have lost 5lbs. I haven't exercized or changed my diet. I noticed in the first week that I would place my order for the same amount I always did. However, Just in the first week I noticed that I couldonly eat 75% of what I use to. I don't care what it is made of.. It's clearly safe and also effective. The money is well worth the effortless weight loss. I was 322lbs starting. I'm at 317 now. When I get below 300 I will start walking. I wanted to see how well this works on it's own before I skew the results with walking.

posted Feb 11th, 2011 3:47 pm


Paul

I've been using Sensa for about a month (just started my month2 package). I have lost 8 pounds without doing anything except sprinkling Sensa on all my food. I don't really measure my weight loss by pounds, though, but rather by the way my clothes fit. I was about 28 pounds overweight when I started the program, and my 36" waist pants were uncomfortably tight. Now they fit just fine. That is what's important to me. Now my next goal is to get back into my 34" waist pants.
Sensa just makes me feel full faster. Instead of two large pieces of pizza, I just eat one. Instead of two hot dogs, I just eat one. I have not been hungry or felt deprived since I started on Sensa. Unlike most people, I can taste the Sensa, but it doesn't taste bad at all. I have tried to lose weight before, but the problem was that I would overeat without really meaning to. Sensa just makes you not want to overeat because you feel like you've eaten about twice as much as you really ate. Great product, no side effects.

posted Feb 8th, 2011 7:29 pm


grace

We do sell it at GNC and have even been given samples to try. The boss tried it and said it does work - she did eat less the meals she used the samples. But some of us are wondering what the ingredients really are and I am holding off trying it until I know. Also when dealing with call into the TV deals, it's a good idea to have a small temporary credit card that they can't get any more off than you authorise.

posted Feb 4th, 2011 6:48 pm


Kathy

I have been using Sensa for 8 days. I have lost 3 lbs. I bought my 1st two months in the GNC store.
I researched this product for a month before I tried it. I really think it works. You cannot taste it but, it seemed to me like it took the taste of the other food away some - not all, but, a little. And, as I was eating food, I tried to pay close attention to how I was feeling and when I had enough, I quit eating. It doesn't necessarily make you so full - if you get to that point, you will feel a bit ill. It makes you just not want to put any more in your mouth. I have one shaker at home and one in my purse. Not hard for me to remember to use it cause I am trying to lose weight. I started working out again about 3 times a week. I read that it takes women a bit longer to see better results. Will write more as I go along.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 10:57 pm


Mary-Beth Frazee

Confused on the "subscription" before my trial period was up. I understood they would not "sign you up" until the free trial period ended. What's the purpose of a free trial - if they sign you up immediately - very confused.

posted Jan 26th, 2011 1:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account