Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 17, 337 total comments)

Deb

I too was scammed. I called to cancel and was charged again on my Credit Card. I wrote a letter to cancel - again continued charges. I tried to cancel on line but the website said multiple times over a period of nearly two months that the link wasn't available. I emailed - no response and still another shipment and charge on my credit card account. I called again after the second series of level one was again sent to me. I finally got it cancelled after the third and fourth shipment of the second series was sent to me and charged to my account.



I have 10 months of unused product that is nothing but a scam. Multiply this by the charges to my Credit Card that they would not stop charging. I finally got them blocked on my credit card. Someone should start a class action suit. I would join in.



SCAM... and expensive Scam.

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 5:34 pm


Dia`

What chemical is in this? Looking over the reviews, I can see that people who have stomach issues or IBS should stay clear of it. It also can cause some mental (foggy) issues. What are the chemicals in it that cause the issue? Is this like taking posion?

posted Jan 1st, 2012 9:03 pm


michele

I WAS GONNA BUY THIS AND WAS EXCITED ABOUT THIS PRODUCT.. NOT ANY MORE... I WOULD BE FEARFUL TO USE THIS... THANKS FOR THE REVIEWS.. THERE IS MORE NEG THAN POSITIVE.... IM A DIBECTIC AND A CANCER SUR.. I DONT WANT ANY MORE HEALTH PROBLEMS...

posted Dec 23rd, 2011 5:43 pm


Kimberly

Here is my honest review and experience with sensa.

Although I lost 4 lbs in 2 weeks which is ok, I had "severe" dizziness, my head was spinning, I was nauseous, had intestine pains that were somewhat severe, I was feeliong that it made me feel forgetful and making me have memory issues like I could not think straight. I am still having it this week. Could not even think of my friends names, I was also having headaches, pain in my head and neck area and it lowered my heart rate to 59-60 when I am normally 80. After 3 days of quitting I am starting to not be as dizzy but I feel completely drained and exhausted like I am drugged or something. It did make me feel very full after consuming and it did keep me feeling full but at what cost? I know there are some dyes and soy in it that do not have to be in it. Not to mention silica is not something we should eat really, even if it is a mineral.
I forgot to mention that I kept waking up all night long and could not seem to feel comfort although I am unsure why.

posted Dec 22nd, 2011 3:06 am


happy with sensa

WOW!!! I'm surprised to hear all of the negative comments... I was referred to Sensa for my mom by a good friend.
My mom order it in Oct 2011 & never had a chance to use it because she was in the hospital & had surgery. We called in early Dec 2011 to cancel ,return & get our money back. They told us that the Oct shipment was beyond the return date & gave us half our money back, they gave us an advance refund for the Nov shipment we were going to ship back. When my mom get better she will call back & order again... Customer Service treated us very well. I don't understand the negative comments, my friend has lost weight and never said anything about having any side effects.

posted Dec 10th, 2011 5:30 pm


f is for fenomenal

This is a fairly simple process actually:
1. The greedy fast-food (and many restaurant chain) companies offer you the lowest quality, highest fat content food they can -cheaply- process.
2a. Americans consume as they were acculturated to do (through corporate advertising), resulting in widespread obesity, detrimentally affecting our nation's youth.
b. However, we are also acculturated that a 90-pound anorexic model is the epitomy of beauty, and that all women should attempt to assume this "ideal."
3. The greedy weight-loss corporations then seize upon this conflict by telling you whatever you want to hear that will make you buy their product. (Repeat 1-3)

So basically, the same people -in the end- get paid to make you overweight, just to tell you how overweight you are and guilt-trip/sucker you into buying a product that's made out of sand, insects(!?), or whatever the current hyped-up diet fad may be. They've been lining their pockets all the way to the bank for as long as these social constructs existed, and the richer they get, the more power you give them....talk about corporate greed

I digress, but you'll never find happiness looking outward for some fabled (insert "ideal" here): true happiness lies within, and once you are able to love you for YOU, you'll be surprised how many issues (including one's weight) begin to fall in place and work themselves out. Just be yourself!!!! -viva la revolucion-

posted Nov 26th, 2011 7:23 am


Kristin

Almost immediately after using Sensa, I got horrible stomach and respiratory problems. I, like an idiot, kept using it. After about three weeks, the only thing I lost was a lot of hair and money. Thank God, GNC has a good return policy. This stuff is really not healthy.

posted Nov 8th, 2011 6:03 pm


Aimee

Sensa is clearly not for everyone, but to know weather it works for you or not is basicallt to try it for yourself. I found it was easy to cancel and I always do read the terms and conditions clearly. Its free for 30 days, you cant go wrong... it either works for you or not, if not, send it back... if it does will then you cant put a price on health these days.

posted Oct 25th, 2011 4:09 pm


Melanie

First - Silica, when used as a flow agent, is not the same as the silica gel found in the packets. The packets, if not doped with moisture indicating agents, are non toxic. They react with strong acids, a.k.a. stomach acid and cause irritation to the resperatory trac. comparing this to the silica in sensa bears no comparison. When used as a flow agent, (for powdered foods, not just Sensa) the silica is not doped with moisture indicating chemicals. Coloidal silica is also used as a fining agent in wine and juice.
Sensa contains milk. says on the package. if you are experiencing nausea, vomiting etc. could be because you failed to read the ingredients, are lactose intolerant and are reacting to that.
If your temples are turning purple, i would bet that it is a coincidence that it was brought on by the sensa 5 minutes after it was taken.....
I have had nothing but good luck with the customer service, etc. I made sure that i read every single page of the website prior to ordering. 30 day trial and the amount that was going to be charged to my card - its in there. The auto pay - its in there. its the only way to pay - says so on the site. you cancel when you don't want any more sensa....
As far as the former employees......i have seen the same thing, WORD FOR WORD on several different forums by about roughly 10 different people....doesn't leave much room for credibility when 10 people copy and paste something. Wouldn't you think that they would calmly, informatively, and intelligently advise people not to use the product, rathar than going postal in a forum?
I have had two major surgeries in less than a year, both keeping me off my feet for two months and then for 4 months. Hence, a weight gain of 30 pounds because of restricted activity. Sensa allows me to slowly lose the weight, maintain my current exercise/activity (which is minimal due to collapsed discs) and still eat with my family. ANY diet program can have side effects, which is why it is so important to thoroughly research something prior to using it........

posted Oct 25th, 2011 12:25 pm


Glaoria

When I ordered for first time i told THe lady NOT TO put me into the program to be re-sent evry so many weeks..... I DID NOT AUTHORIZED TO CONTINUE CHARGING INTO MY CC AND TO SEND ME ANOTHER BOX. I need refund to my cc and to know how do I send back the new box it was received on Saturday.

posted Oct 24th, 2011 11:44 am


Nazi

I used it just one day and I though I am going to die at night !It was a very bad experience for me with lots of side effects ,headache , stomach pain, and my throat pain at the same time.
I still feel bad and I have to go to doctor,
please don't try it!

posted Oct 21st, 2011 4:03 pm


jacqui

can you use sal and sugar with sensa?

posted Oct 9th, 2011 3:47 pm


torres007

Just makin your food smelly and nasty for you to eat. nd then you dont want to eat cus your food is nasty. Wow sounds like a good diet..

posted Oct 7th, 2011 1:24 am


ahamed

i want it but how

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 1:07 am



Stephenie Cruzan Harrison

i am so sick after using sensa. I used sensa for 9 days, I have never been so sick in my life. I stopped using it exactly 8 days ago and am still just as sick. wondering if others who got sick experienced being sick even after a week after stopping? Really scared and wondering if i need to go see a doctor.

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 1:06 pm


Dena

FEARFUL FOR MY LIFE! Five min after taking sensa, my temple and head turned purple and was so swollen I felt like my ears and temples would explode!! Once 911 came to save me, I still haven't felt okay again. Now a week later chronic ear pain, purple swollen temples, and a swollen face remain! I'm having chest pressure & can't get ahold of any sensa personal! I'm scared!! I cry all the time now!

posted Sep 21st, 2011 12:00 pm


nan

the chemical in sensa thats messin people up in silica its use as a fresh saver in shoes and stuff that clearly states on the little packs of "NOT FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION"
look it up

posted Sep 15th, 2011 1:24 am


samy

Thank you for the warnings. I thinking on buying it, but not anymore.....thanks.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 8:55 pm


Janon Imous

THIS PRODUCT AND THE COMPANY IS A SCAM!!! I USED TO WORK FOR THEM, I KNOW IT ALL. IT DOES NOT CAUSE WEIGHTLOSS, IT MAKES UR FOOD SMELL NASTY SO YOU DONT WANT TO EAT IT. THE COMPANY WILL SCAM YOU. WE WERE TOLD AS SALESPEOPLE TO AVOID TELLING CUSTOMERS THEY WILL BE CHARGED 60.00 A MONTH NON-STOP. YOU CANT CANCEL, GO AHEAD AND TRY CALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE YOU WILL GET THE RUN AROUND. IT IS A LIE AND SCAM YOU WILL BE CHARGED EVEN IF YOU DO THE TRIAL IT AINT FREE NO MATTER WHAT. ITS OVER PRICED PLACEBO SALT

posted Sep 9th, 2011 4:48 pm


Don

It will make u lose weight-Just check your wallet after two weeks-I was told I would be billed every 2 months; they billed me twice in 3 weeks-but sent no product. Isn't this consumer fraud???

posted Sep 7th, 2011 12:10 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account