Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 17, 337 total comments)

E lederman

Sensa made me thirsty and gassy. No weight loss. Very disappointed. Want my money back.

posted May 11th, 2012 5:23 am


Jennifer Gibson

I started using Sensa in January and have lost 26lbs as a result. Since I've started using it, I have literally cut what I was eating in half, and haven't had any more of the severe stomach pains I was having when I use to over eat. I have never had any problems with the autoship program either, The 89.95 is taken out every 2 months like it is suppose to, and there have never been any additional charges. I usually contact thier facebook page when I have questions, and someone always answers me right away. Also they have an online community that provides ways to track calories and put together grocery lists, etc... If you watch the dvd that comes with the starter kit, they tell you right then, that although you don't need to make major food changes, it's not an excuse to go hog wild and eat whatever you want. I've found Sensa is a great way to get you started on feeling full on smaller portions, then incorporating healthier choices over time.

posted May 3rd, 2012 9:00 pm


Retha Taylor

what is the phone number for sensa?

posted Apr 30th, 2012 5:40 pm


gloria

how many time a day can you eat sensa?

posted Apr 29th, 2012 9:23 pm


Julie D.

I think Sensa works great! If you read the book that comes with it, you would know that it does not work for all people right away, it can take a few weeks. For me, it worked right away, I ate half of what I normally would have the very first try. I only have 10 pounds to lose but I am confident it will come off. I have no cravings for food and I feel full for hours after just eating a banana. I have not gotten sick or felt bad in anyway. I have been using it for 1 week and put it on everything I eat. I do not taste it, but I sure do feel full fast with no desire for snacking! LOVE this product! Also, I bought mine from GNC not from a website!

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 8:40 pm


Sheer on

Honestly this has to be the worst thing I've ever saw. I saw commercials and said by its only $4.95 so I'll try it and so I got on line and put in my order. Then when I look at my bank account I see they charged pretty much $100 and then I call about it and they said they were refunding it and it would be back in there in 24 hours and here we are at almost 72 hours and still haven't received my money. Seriously do not order this it's all a scam.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 4:51 am


moe

======) suck on it Sansa,,, i tried the 4,99 trailer and then they took 90$ from my bank account without even letting me know, also their customer service is sucks,, they wont answer you ever, they took almost 180$ from my bank account, and the only way to stop them is to go get a new account number,,you Sansa

posted Apr 15th, 2012 5:45 pm


Anna

The Sensa Costumer Service is TERRIBLE! I am writing this review here because you dont have the option on your webpage and I can imagine why... so hard to edit out negative comments. I all due respect I would like to tell all the new Sensa customers to be careful about using this product. I ended up paying S&H for my free trial and postage to sent it back and still got charged full price only later to be brushed off by the customer service representatives... I got robbed, be careful when you return the product to double check EVERYTHING and make sure you are not getting charges you should not be paying for!

posted Apr 3rd, 2012 3:08 am


PAT KEFFER

I DO NOT WANT ANY MORE ORDERS. tHIS DOES NOT WORK FOR ME.

posted Mar 21st, 2012 12:26 am


maryann

Want to really lose weight the healthy way? READ the book by Dr. Michael Aziz The Perfect 10 Diet it's about eating real food compared to all the fake and process food. On how all the fake and process foods keep you overweight. How all the fake and proceess food mess with your hormones. Let me know what you think The book will open your eyes on what all the process food does.

posted Mar 13th, 2012 3:10 am


Priscilla

This was the worst product that I have tried ever. I should have stuck to good ol exercise and eating healthy. I was charge almost $90 for a product that doesn't work. When I called for a refund I was blamed for the charge for not cancelling on time. I received tons of emails from sensa but never once was reminded of this payment. I also wondered why my cramps were extremely severe one month, after reading some of the comments I now know why. Do not use this product it's a scam and a hoax. You will be charged then will have to pay to ship it back and wait 6-8 weeks for that refund.

posted Mar 7th, 2012 2:11 am


Denise

I have been using Sensa for about 3 weeks and I have found that it does curb my appetite. I can taste the "sweet" sprinkles but it is pleasing to me. No bad side effects. So far I am pleased with the product and plan on continuing it.

posted Feb 21st, 2012 5:21 pm


Luana

I love it and everyone I have gotten to use it has lost weight. I am disabled and I can't workout like a normal person but I sprinkle sensa on everything I eat and in the first month I have lost 10LBS. I have 113 more pounds to go but sensa really helps with those cravings you get after you eat and go back for more. I cut my food ibn half and I have no more cravings to go back for seconds. I don't eat even half of what I used to because I don't have those nasty crvings for food'I eat a high fiber diet and I am not much of a meat eater so once in awhile I will eat meat but I do get my protiens from nuts or peanut butter. It really does work but you need to give it a chance and like any other diet cut down on your intake. I will show you before and after pictures from 253lbs. to 203lbs. and then after I lose the next 50lbs It should take me until January of next year to lose 123 lbs. and then you will see my final picture. So cheer me on and you will hear from me March 15 to see how much I have lost in my second month. I hope I gave you some helpful hints.

posted Feb 17th, 2012 10:31 pm


William

If you want to feel deathly ill when dieting, then this is the product for you! This product gave me HORRENDOUS stomach cramps and made me vomit. This is yet another diet scam and yet another capitalist ploy to make money off of suckers like us. I found the only way to diet is to go to the gym and eat smaller, healthier portions. I lost 50 pounds just by doing that!

posted Feb 14th, 2012 12:39 pm


Concerned

First of all Sillica which is an ingredient in Sensa is Silica is a common additive in the production of foods, where it is used primarily as a flow agent in powdered foods, or to absorb water in hygroscopic applications. It is the primary component of diatomaceous earth which has many uses ranging from filtration to insect control. It is also the primary component of rice husk ash which is used, for example, in filtration and cement manufacturing. So with it absorbing water in your body your losing water weight. Maltodextrin is easily digestible, being absorbed as rapidly as glucose, and might be either moderately sweet or almost flavorless. It is commonly used for the production of sodas and candy. It can also be found as an ingredient in a variety of other processed foods. So this stuff has nothing to do with science or the smell. I also ordered and have headaches and stomach aches.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 7:06 pm


Jeff

This is a scam, there are hundreds of fake review websites for it written by company shills.

posted Feb 6th, 2012 9:13 am


Lilia

i just placed in order 10 minutes ago....
please cancel my order as of right this moment don't want it anymore...

posted Feb 1st, 2012 4:50 pm


JS

I was swindled by Sensa's radio ad after a night of drinking- and ordered 6 months worth. I used it all since I wasted the $350 plus on it-- and it accomplished NOTHING. Both in the short term- it won't make you eat less ANYTIME. It's a waste of time sprinking it on the food. And, obviously, in the long term - if swindled into buying a large supply- you will be no better for it. What amazes me is that this product is still allowed to be sold--but I realize it's not the only scam in this scam -filled, corporate fraud country of SCAMerica- the most pathetic place on Earth!

posted Jan 14th, 2012 1:29 am


ruth

i started to get migraine headaches after using sensa i rather be fat then have those lol .....please check with your doctor to see if its good for u i am returning it tomorrow after getting my RMA # hopefully i get my money back :.)

posted Jan 11th, 2012 3:58 am


Sue

Trying SENSA purchased from Costco and so far I think it is helping me not to think about and eat foods between meals. I have been a member of WW for over 4 years and cannot seem to lose weight - although I have been trying - sometimes less than others. It is very discouraging to keep doing what I'm supposed to do (weighing, measuring, drinking plenty of liquids, exercising, watching sodium, fats, etc) only to have lost NOTHING or even gain after a dinner out or a few Holiday snacks. So here I am once again trying yet another solution. Last year is was The Belly Buster Diet which was a complete failure. I spent a lot of money on the books and all the foods and lasted for a month or so - but when there was no real weight loss, I gave up. So I figured, what have I got to lose? $40 for a month of SENSA to sprinkle on my foods and eat the same thing I usually eat (per the WW recommendations). I'm down 1.6 in the first two days. Hopefully by the end of this week there will be a few pounds lost...and if I can keep it off and/or add to the loss for the following week then I'll be happy. I'll post back to this site in a month to let you know how it's going.

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 7:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account