Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 17, 337 total comments)

Carolyn Walker

This company is a complete ripoff! I ordered the product, was displeased with it, and called to cancel. I thought I was done with them until the next month when I got a $90 charge on my credit card. They had charged me for the second month, but had not told me they would do that if I did not send it back to them. It does not say so on their website either. I am sorry I ever responded to their ad for their ridiculous product.

posted Jun 16th, 2009 11:37 am


Jaycee

Jaycee, not to burst your bubble, but there are 1000's of products that are not technically approved by FDA. Do you take a multi-vitamin? Only full on pharmaceutical drugs go through an approval process, many of which take millions and years to do. Most companies a side from big pharma can't afford the process. The other issue is just because the drug went through a NDA (new drug application) doesn't mean it's safe. There are thousands of drugs on the market that kill everyday. If you ever obtain adverse event reports from pharmaceutical companies you'll know that thousands of people die from drugs. Remember viox? The drug that was pulled from the market? It was so called "fda" approved.

posted Jun 9th, 2009 9:39 pm


peg

Sensa does not claim to be a "miracle" product. However, it does do exactly what it says it will do..make you feel full faster and satisfied longer. The ad says you can eat the foods you like, not anything you want. They do advocate a healthy diet and exercise. I just finished my 4th month and have lost 33#'s. I am a real person who had a real weight problem. I still have a ways to go, but Sensa has been an awesome aid to help me lose the weight, once and for all. If you haven't tried it, please don't knock it. And if you have tried it and it didn't "work" for you, please don't knock it. It is not a miracle drug, just an aid to teach you portion control. It is up to you to stop eating when you start to feel full.
No, I am not a company shill, but I am a very satisfied customer. I am passionate about this product and what it has done for me and others that thought they could never win the battle of being over-weight. I would like to thank Dr. Hirsch, for noticing that our sense of smell is directly related to our ability to lose or gain weight. The tastants in Sensa do enhance your food, you eat less, because you are satisfied sooner and lose weight as a result. Sensa makes perfect sense.

posted Jun 8th, 2009 9:42 pm


jaycee

To add insult here, this Sensa product has not been FDA approved and you are all ingesting something that will eventually cause you cancer. Do your research before falling for a miracle weight loss strategy.

posted May 29th, 2009 12:05 pm


andrea

After three weeks I have lost five pounds, Im trying to go from 160 lbs to 140 lbs. I will review again in a few weeks. The thing is, is that I kept trying to set up certain amount of calories at certain times of the day for years now, and I just cant ever stick to my "new way of eating", but since Ive been using sensa, Ive stuck to it better than ever, Im not sure why, I do still get hungary before my next meal but Im able to wait and Im able to stop at my calorie amount. I think the problem most people are having is that sensa is claiming that you dont have to change anything, but really you do, and using sensa to help you change your eating habits is how Im doing it.
From, Ramona CA

posted May 27th, 2009 3:53 pm


bex

I have been using it for a week and have lost 5.5 lbs...so....not sure what to say.

posted May 26th, 2009 2:15 pm


Lyhn

I was considering trying it but was a little skeptical. That's for helping me make up my mind. I will NOT be trying this product.

posted May 23rd, 2009 7:57 pm


Clare

I've been using sensa for four months now I've actually gained weight as sprinkling everything!! Not useful for me

posted May 21st, 2009 1:33 pm


cora

This company is in cahoots with raw minerals makeup, same scam, free trial for 30 days, they charge you 14.95 plus shipping and when you return product within the 30 days, they charge $90.00

posted May 11th, 2009 3:41 pm


Todd

I like the stuff and I have lost 19 pounds in 14.5 weeks. My wife is doing almost as good! We love the stuff and would rcommend it to anyone!

posted Apr 24th, 2009 11:43 pm


jd

I haven't tried it yet, but will buy it on ebay then won't have to worry about autoship or any commitments

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 12:10 pm


Jim Jones

I enjoy it

posted Apr 19th, 2009 5:08 pm


Tinkerbell53

I gained 5 pounds using sensa . Two month supply. I dint see any change. money down the drain. I went back to calorie counting it works better for me. And I feel bad because my family and friends make jokes of me.

posted Apr 18th, 2009 5:27 pm


Tinkerbell53

I feel bad because I told my family and friends about Sensa weight loss and now they laugh about me because I gain 5 pounds using Sensa on two month supply. I order it on HSN.

posted Apr 15th, 2009 12:40 pm


disgruntled

They are a scam. After you sign up you can expect telemarketers on your cell phone 24 hours a day!!!!!
This is what you can expect:
CJ on August 22, 2008
They had called me and finally I was able to talk to someone on the otherside. They had given me the 1 800 613 6942 number and had advised me to speak to them about getting my number removed. I advised the CSR that I was speaking to that I had already consulted a CSR and his Supervisor about having my number removed.

The CSR at the Gas Rebate Center told me that it would take 30 days to have my number removed. At that point I had asked to speak with the supervisor because I had tried all means necessary to try and get ahold of them by calling them and leaving a message to call back, calling insurance services and requesting from a supervisor to remove the number, writing and submitting a complaint to fcc, and calling the contact centre where I brought a product from tv and had them go to my account and put me on the do not call list (wasn't even aware that my number would be given out but called the [rimary source of how the Gas Rebate Center got my number in the first place and sorted it out).

Anyway after the CSR from the Gas Rebate Center had spoken to me she had connected me to her supervisor just as I had requested. I had spoken to the supervisor and explained to her all the abandoned silent and dead end calls that I was getting, totalling 11 calls in less than 4 days. I told the supervisor that I had tried everything I could in my power to reach them and because of that, I didn't want to wait 30 days and had requested to have my number removed immediately. She advised me that she will have it removed immediately based on everything I went through. I will also call my phone company and have this number blocked.

If you manage to get through to someone on the other line, request to speak with the supervisor and inform them of your situation and request that the number be removed immediately as due to everything that has happened. On most of the websites I have been too discussing this case, people have been complaining that they were told that it takes 30 days to have their name removed from their list. If you have been through alot of headaches over trying to resolve this issue then 30 days just won't cut it, so if you can speak with the supervisor at the Gas Rebate Center to get your number removed from their list immediately.

Just another reminder, if you want to file a complaint about Telemarketing, Prerecorded Messages and Do-Not-Call, just go to this
I had posted information on this earlier

Thanks everyone for your time and consideration

Kelsey on January 6, 2009
They keep calling me & when i go to answer they hang up. they call every half hour pretty much. it's really annoying & i hope someone finds out who they are cause they never stay on the phone to tell me what they are calling for.

Chris on March 19, 2009
ditto on the remarks/comments regarding this "telemarketing terrorist" - I never acknowledge who I am, take their name & number and inform them I'll call back once I "check them out" - indeed, they are extremely aggressive. Alternatively, you can mess with their heads (if you have the time) by leading them to believe you will participate in their program and vascillate about giving a commitment. I don't have the time for that particular approach but it is very effective in combating most any telemarketer. The hang ups that some people stated they received were most likely due to the recording delay time. If you stay on, they will respond after approx 3 "Hellos". And great info from CJ re: form 1088! Thanks!

twinleee on April 8, 2009
This AGI company at 616-980-4031 is so totally unbelievable. They have been calling me starting 8:00 am til 9:00 pm every 20 minutes on my cell phone first telling me that they have a special offer and if i choose not to participate i can press 1 then enter my telephone number. Originally this company was calling me every other day now its daily @ every 20 minutes (I have the call log)I have tried to have my number removed and wait the 30 days but the calls have increased. Any suggestions please?

posted Apr 15th, 2009 8:13 am


Christi

I am on my second day on Sensa and I love it! My appetite is half what it normally is. I normally eat two eggs, sausage, and a pancake for breakfast on Sunday, but today was only able to eat one egg and a piece of sausage.

posted Apr 12th, 2009 8:58 pm


Beno

I am just now trying it and you can get your money back in 30 days and stop the auto billing if it doesn't work for you. I figure if it doesn't work for me within 30 days, I will cancel - worth a try. I am just like the women who posted good success with it - I am 56, had my son 18 years ago, and cannot get this extra 10-15 pounds off - I eat very good food, just too much of it. So far it is curbing my appetite so looking forward to any results within the next couple of weeks.

posted Apr 12th, 2009 5:49 pm


lakeshorelaw

A scam. "Ivy" who posted on March 28th is probably a company shill. No one is going to lose much weight in 16 days and notice she claims she does not weigh herself. I'm going to be watching this board periodically for other scams. My law office files consumer class actions.

posted Apr 12th, 2009 5:37 pm


karen

DO NOT Order this junk! You are being conned by this company. They won't give you an on line address where to send back the junk and will charge you 89.00 for a months supply. It does nothing ! You have a 60 day supply, but have to return it in 30 or you pay! Better Business Bureau should look into this!

posted Apr 11th, 2009 9:13 pm


terri

Did not work at all! This is a big scam! Don't fall for it!
In there letter they tell you to use it consistently for 30-60 days to get results. I used it for 30 days and called to return my product with the "so called" 30 day money back guarantee. They would not honor the guarantee because I was 2 days late in calling. $135.00 plus shipping later is a hard lesson to learn! The rep would'nt even let me talk to another person to discuss the problem.

posted Apr 7th, 2009 1:15 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account