Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 17, 337 total comments)

fattymcmuffin

i lost six pounds and i am on the free trial

posted Apr 10th, 2010 9:13 pm


Marilyn

This product does not work - NOT AT ALL. You are better served using SlimQuick or something like that. And they scam you for payment, offering it "free" to try, then charging you after all when you try to return it - even within the correct timeframe.

posted Mar 29th, 2010 5:50 pm


Mary - NYC

I've been on Sensa since January 2010 and did not lose one pound. So I stopped using it and joined Weight Watchers about 6 weeks ago and have since lost 4 pounds. Sensa doesn't work, but I have found some success with Weight Watchers.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 9:32 pm


Sue

hubby and I have been on sensa for 2 weeks now...he's lost 12 and I've lost 6 pounds of ugly FAT....we love it :))

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 3:10 pm


Dr. Robert Eckerley

After researching the names and IP addresses of those with a positive comment regarding Sensa, the addresses all point back to a corporate router. Hhhmmmm ... could it be the Sensa office?

posted Mar 21st, 2010 4:32 pm


Laura

It's all a scam, sensa doesn't do anything at all except clean out your wallet, just like every other diet product on the market today. Lose weight the old fashioned way....eat less calories and move more!!

posted Mar 18th, 2010 8:43 pm


The Dude

It's obvious most of these "thumbs up" reviews are written by company shills who claim we "don't understand" how it works. The company's own website even says you don't need to understand, that if you know how to use salt and pepper that's all you need to know - "just sprinkle it on, it's that simple".

Maltodextrin? Come on...

As has been mentioned, if this stuff works as they boldly claim, it would be on shelves at the store and flying off them. Enrolling people in an automatic program where the burden lies on the consumer to ensure the product is returned AND received is just plain dishonest.

posted Mar 18th, 2010 8:09 am


Kianso

Ripoff!

posted Mar 17th, 2010 4:33 pm


Kim

They ripped me off and wouldn't refund my money. I sent it in within two weeks of the "trial period" with the RMA they issued. A month later still no refund so I called and they pretended they never recieved the package nor issued the RMA number. Liars and theives!

posted Mar 17th, 2010 4:31 pm


Dr. David M. Berman

If it worked, it would sell everywhere and they would not be able to keep it on the shelves...its hype crap

posted Mar 15th, 2010 1:28 pm


Lorie

I received my trial order of Sensa 3 days ago in the evening after work. So I started using it on my dinner that evening. Wow! I couldn't even finish my dinner. I felt full. The next day my husband wanted to go to a buffet. I normally eat 3 plates of food. I was only able to eat one plate. I tried Sensa because I get very bad cravings and love to eat. I especially love carbs and sweets. I am now beginning day 4 and I feel great. I have no problems remembering to sprinkle either salty or sweet on my food. I've lost 2 lbs already. I believe it is a combination of the smell of the tastants, and what it does when you add to the food. I am definitely a very pleased, 47 year old, perimenopausal woman. Anything that helps with food cravings and over eating is OK in my book. Sensa may not work for everyone, but it is defnitely helping me with food cravings. When I can only take two small bites of ice cream, then I'm ready to push it away, I'm good with it!!

posted Mar 15th, 2010 11:10 am


Edie

Well, I am quite chagrined that I fell for the hype and ordered it, even though it is expensive and I am on disability. I sprinkled it faithfully on all my meals (which are healthy, btw) and I waited in vain to see a difference in my appetite and/or weight loss. Neither ever happened. However, I have spoken to many people for whom it did work. I believe the key lies in one's sense of taste and smell. I have had cancer and radiation, and for one entire year everything I ate or drank had a metallic aftertaste. I have recently gained 30 lbs. from lack of exercise due to my health. And we all know that if one doesn't burn off those ingested calories, he gains weight.
It is my belief that those of us for whom the product did not work have an altered sense of taste and/or smell, as that is the premise behind the product.
It is also interesting to note that almost `00% of the people whom I spoke with that had unsuccessful results were also smokers. We all know that smoking alters the taste of food, evidenced by the weight gain experienced after cessation - the food just tastes better.
I say hooray for those who have found success with Sensa! There is nothing better than the feeling of accomplishment achieved with weight loss.
Unfortunately, I am afraid I will never know it again...............

posted Mar 14th, 2010 7:07 pm


Paula

I have been watching ShopNBC today to check out this Sensa product because it's main ingrediet is maltodextrin derived from corn, (a very high sugar vegetable), and one article said it's derived from corn syrup and it was actually maltodextrose in Sensa, (I have no idea which is true, but either doesn't sound great for the body). Maltodextrin is used in many sugar replacement products, and I called and asked them if it was okay for diabetics and people with hypoglycemia... shopnbc didn't know and didn't even have the customer service number for Sensa. I just know that bottles of pure orange juice can say they have no sugar because it's got no sugar added but it can be deadly for a hypoglycemic as it's loaded with sugar known as fructose, but just as surely sugar as is sugar. I'm wondering about the post with the woman with the migraines. Potatoes don't have sugar, but they turn into simple glucose (sugar), right after we eat them. Sugar is one of the worst things for the body so I would like to know if someone knows the difference between Maltodextrin and Maltodextrose, no just the their opinion, but the real difference. It seems out of many boards I have visited there are just a few who benefit and most don't seem to benefit. It also contains two of highest common allergens: Soy and milk. Soy is also an estrogen percursor and most people don't know too much can throw off the body's hormonal balance eventually. I really want this stuff to be okay and work, but it doesn't sound like it from what I've been reading.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 8:38 pm


Drew

Chew your food slowly! Very slowly! 30 pr more times per mouthful. All natural!!

Send check or money order to me. You're welcome.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 12:14 pm


September

This is kind of off subject but I ordered some teeth whiting stuff. And like this, you are basically joining a club that sends you this stuff. Once I ordered the denta white, even though I got it after the trial period and cancelled, they charged my account anyway. Then a month later after I talked to my bank, they changed names, put in for a different amount and charged me again. MY ADVISE, USE A PRE LOADED CREDIT CARD FROM SAFEWAY!!!!!!!!! Don't give anyone your actual bank information. These people may be ok but the terms look too much like what I saw with dentawhite. That place has 86 aliases and several more products. Just be careful folks and if it works great. But if you want to really try it risk free, use a visa gift card so you are not unexpectedly out money. Some of these places sell your information and you wind up buying all kinds of stuff you didn't order.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 5:45 am


Tim W

Think about it - if the product was all they say it is, why wouldn't they offer the free sample with no follow-on shipments. If it clearly worked than people would naturally order more (after the free sample) as they are losing weight. Or least allow one to purchase 1 months worth, then decide to get more.

posted Mar 8th, 2010 12:20 pm


Fat Bastard

I have been on sensa for a little over 6 months now and I have not yet seen the results that I've been hoping for. I have been struggling with my weight for 7 years now and it seems like I always tell myself, my life will get better when I finally reach my target goal of 150 pounds, but I've never reached that goal, in fact the closest i've come was 165 pounds and to get to the point was like going through hell, then I ballooned again back up to 200 pounds. I plan to throw away the sensa sprinkle and just grind until I reach my target weight.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 7:39 pm


Tracy

I read all of these reviews last night after receiving sensa yesterday. I couldn't believe that it could possibly work. I started it this morning with my first meal. Wow, a couple bites into it, I could already feel a difference in eating. My nose felt tingly, and after just a few bites, I really didn't want to eat anymore. I agree that you need to eat sensibly and exercise. Sensa clearly says that as well. Nowhere does it claim to not exercise and eat better. It truly is there to help you realize what is a better potion size and to be more sensible about eating. I really believe it will help emotional eating, and over eaters. I am over weight and am extremely depressed over it. I don't eat terribly. I eat healthy, I detox, and eat a lot of fruit and vegetables. However my problem is probably lack of exercise, and that is due to being over weight, and depressed over it. This will help me start to lose weight, and then I will have more energy to workout. What a great concept. Don't knock it until you try it. Things aren't as easy as people make them sound, you can't just exercise and eat healthy with self-restraint. If it was that easy, then don't you think all of Americas would be skinny? I'm on day one, I will update as I go. I hope others don't just read all of the negative feed back. This isn't nearly as expensive as the other plans out there. It isn't cheap, but there is enough research out there done by this doctor to know its true.

posted Feb 28th, 2010 12:29 pm


Pammy

WOW! so I have just read the good,bad,and ugly. Most don't really understand what this product does when you sprinkle it on what you eat. " Your nerve receptors stimulate areas in the brain that are involved in satiety and trigger the release of hormones that suppress hunger and appetite". This isn't about the right foods , will power, exercise, and on and on. This product is about how you FEEL when you eat, after you eat, and cravings. You FEEL full and more satisfied on less food. You don't get that ravenous feeling between meals. And you won't crave that candy bar. This hopefully for most of us will lead to a better diet.
That said, your question would be how do I know? I have been on Sensa for 7 weeks and have had the pleasure of not being ravenous, not eating that candy bar, and filling totally full and satisfied on half of what I used to eat. I was one that could not handle the W.W. diet because I was always so hungry! Not now!!!!! I tell everyone, I truly think this is how really slim healthy people feel when they eat.
As if that was not enough you want to know how much I have lost, right? First I am well over 50, post menopausal, and not an exerciser, although I do ride a bike and walk. It is very hard for women like me to loose. But with Sensa I have managed to shed a fabulous 12.6 lbs!!!! thats 1.8 lbs a week, a very heathy way to lose. This is not a diet plan but tool to help you loose the weight.

posted Feb 20th, 2010 1:25 pm


Annie

I ordered Sensa off shopnbc....got it in the mail in record time and it has been awesome.....my friend and I have been using Sensa for two weeks now....we both have cut our intake by over half....I have lost 8 pounds and my friend lost 10 pounds...am going to keep going strong.

posted Feb 16th, 2010 4:33 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account