Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 206 reviews

Sensa

The Sensa diet claims to be as easy as a sprinkling your food to lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1996
  • Founder: Dr. Alan Hirsch
  • Headquarters: McLean, Virginia
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Supplement that sprinkles on food
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Also known as "The Sprinkle Diet," Sensa is an easy to use dietary supplement that aids in weight loss. Rather than having to take pills like most dietary supplements, Sensa Tastants are a product that you sprinkle on your food. You can use Sensa on your snacks as well. You don’t have to make any big changes to what you eat, but with Sensa you eat less.

The product is designed to work with your sense of smell and claims to make you feel full faster which leads to eating less. As you eat, smell and taste receptors send messages to your brain. These messages release hormones that tell you when it’s time to stop eating. This process is called Sensory Specific Satiety.

Sensa works with your body’s natural impulses to help you avoid hunger and intense cravings. Sensa has no calories and no sugar or sodium. The product is gluten-free as well so those with food allergies can still take it.

Even though there is a clinical study behind Sensa, the study was done by Hirsch himself and is not considered scientifically valid. But in his study of 1,436 men and women, the participants lost an average of just over 30 pounds in six months without making any changes to their diet and exercise program. That is also the claim made by the website, namely that you can lose 30 pounds in six months by following The Sprinkle Diet.

There is currently a deal for those that want to try Sensa. You can try the product for 30 days and return it if you are not satisfied for a refund. The product is marketed as a solution that helps you lose weight without dieting. Sensa was created and developed by board-certified neurologist Dr. Alan Hirsch. He is the nation’s leading authority on the science of smell and taste. Although you don’t have to change your diet with this program, those who have had dramatic results used Sensa with a diet and exercise regimen.

One of the top benefits of Sensa aside from the weight loss would be that it claims not to change the taste or texture of your food. When you start the program there are two different Tastants for salty and sweet foods. You also get a video that guides you through how to correctly use the program.

There are very few side effects with Sensa partly because the ingredients contained in the product are common ingredients you would find in other foods.

PRO
  • No pills to take
  • Can be used on all types of foods and snacks
  • Based on science to make you feel full with less food
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Eat regular foods and no need to count calories
  • Helps eliminate cravings
  • Easy to use at home or on the go

CON
  • Promotes losing weight without making any changes to diet or exercise
  • Sensa is tasteless to most people; some may be able to taste the product
  • Product has not been approved by the FDA (ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list)
  • Some complaints about customer service and refund process
  • Not appropriate for those who are lactose-intolerant because the product contains milk
INGREDIENTS

Sensa contains Maltodextrin (Derived corn in the U.S.), Tricalcium Phosphate, Silica, Natural and Artificial Flavors, FD&C Yellow 5, and Carmine. Sensa also contains Soy and Milk ingredients.

ADMINISTRATION

Sensa asks that all people who try their product and are on medication speak to their primary care doctor before starting anything. They are not qualified to give out any medical advice, meaning they can't tell you if Sensa is right for you based on a particular disease or medication regimen. This product is not FDA approved but the ingredients are on the FDA GRAS list. GRAS means generally recognized as safe. Keep your doctor in the loop about anything you plan on doing.

Sensa is sprinkled all over the surface of your food just before eating it. The Tastants marked “Salty” are sprinkled on all foods that you would typically use salt and pepper or a savory seasoning for meat, fish, pasta, most vegetables and starches. The Tastants marked “Sweet” are sprinkled on sweet foods like fruit, pastries, desserts and cereal. The words “Salty” and “Sweet” do not mean that the actual Tastants contain salt and sugar, or that they will make your food taste salty or sweet – it’s just a way to describe the type of food to use it on.

Sensa can be purchased in savory or salty flavors, like cheddar cheese, onion, horseradish, ranch dressing, taco, and Parmesan cheese or as sweet flavors, like cocoa, spearmint, banana strawberry, raspberry, and malt.

Sensa should not be used on liquids or liquid foods like soup or stews.

DIET and EXERCISE

One of the biggest draws for most people with Sensa will be that you can get results from the product without changing your habits. However, if you want to get results faster it’s advised that you incorporate a sensible diet and exercise regularly. Sensa does work to reduce cravings and make you feel full on less food.

You are encouraged to use Sensa on every meal or snack you eat as well as to keep portions in moderation.

CONCLUSION

Sensa offers a product that really sounds too good to be true. You sprinkle the Tastants on your food, eat less and lose weight. Most of the bad comments you hear about this product involve the recurring charges on your credit card and being placed into an auto-ship program. If you do decide to try Sensa, remember that your results can be enhanced if you include a sensible diet and start exercising regularly. And check with your doctor first, especially if you take any medications.

Sensa is unlikely to be your magic pill to weight loss, but if it somehow promotes you to eat less and with more mindfulness then perhaps it's worth it.

Common Misspellings

Censa, Sensea, Sensah, Sinsa, Tastants, Tastents, Sensa Diet, sansa, sensaa, senses, sensi, the sprinkle diet, sprinkle diet, the spinkel diet


Related Diets: CalTrap, Sensa No Diet No Hunger Weight Loss System


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 17, 337 total comments)

Beth

Just another weight loss gimmick that didn't work.

posted Jun 15th, 2010 9:08 pm


Jeffery

Well, I can understand the mixed feelings. But I feel this may be an overall experiment to ultimately learn how to control one's behavior or habits. Consumers will be buying and doing things against their will. LOL

I don't think anything works better than finding the right balance between eating and exercise.

posted Jun 13th, 2010 12:17 pm


Brenda

This really works for me. I am on the third month. It helps me eat less and be satisfied with what I eat. I don't crave snacks as much and have self control to eat healthy foods. I plan on continuing the program even when I meet my goals to help maintain my weight.

posted Jun 13th, 2010 1:57 am


Diana

A) Sensa IS NOT on the FDA approved list because it is considered a food product.
B) There have been reported side effects. Diarrhea, vomiting, headaches: even liver damage from what I've read thouroughly. Besides that, one of the ingredients being used in sensa, maltodextrin, is one of the worst things you could put in your body.
C)Congrats! You don't change your lifestyle while on sensa.Supposedly you lose weight. Then what happens? You stop using sensa and gain all the weight back because, OH YEAH, this diet program never taught you how to eat, rather, it tricked your senses during the time you sprinkled it on your food. So, you mean to tell me you have to sprinkle this stuff on it forever?
D) Claiming that no one has died from sensa is kind of absurd since this product, again, is fairly new.
E) Stating that Sensa corrects your brain into how much food you intake is not at all a true statement. While on sensa, yes it MAY make you full faster BUT again it will probably only work as while you're using it. Stating that it corrects your eating disorder is like saying your fat will just melt away. NOT TRUE.

Come on guys. The only way one can lose weight and keep it off is to LEARN how to eat healthy and to EXCERSIZE. What good will it do for you to quickly lose weight if you won't ever understand how to keep it off and to all around keep your self healthy.

posted Jun 12th, 2010 11:39 pm


kim

it didn't work for me and my hubby. In all fairness, we had caught a virus and could not taste much for 2 weeks. We tried it for undThey are supposed to have a 30 day refund policy. We called to let them know it didn't work and i had to call back twice and speak to another rep for them to honor their own policy. I paid $80 for a 2 month supply. We cancelled our auto ship with them as wel. Going to be ging to Planet Fitness more often.

posted Jun 9th, 2010 9:21 pm


Joshua

Few things people haven't said correctly one here:
A)Sensa is on the FDA GRAS list.
B)There are not any side effects.
C)You do not have to change your lifestyle.
D)No one had died from using Sensa, if so, why would it still be sold?(duh?)
E)When has fat ever "Magically" melt away? For those of you whom do not know, it's not your stomach that tells you your full, it's a your brain. With alot of people who become "overweight", something in the brain that affects when you get full is working improperly. Sensa corrects that problem, so you get full faster, eat less, have fewer cravings, and that's how you lose weight.

Oh, and Dr. Robert Eckerley, researching IP adresses is not a proper way of looking into matters. However, go ahead and check mine, I have Charter Communications and I'm on my home computer. Also everyone, don't say "waste of money" if u try it for 2 weeks to a month and don't see results. If you are 50 lbs. overweight or more, then your weight is constantly fluctuating. Truth is, you did lose weight but didn't notice. Have a good day. =)

posted Jun 5th, 2010 10:45 am


lovrgirl

i just ordered this product today! and after all this negativity im kinda seconded guesing this! i think i might reserch this a lil more before i actually start taking this! and if im not fully okayy with it i WILL send it back! you people are scary-n me

posted Jun 4th, 2010 12:22 am


Samantha

For all of those people suggesting that you use Slimquick or some other drug out there, you're crazy. The people that created Sensa never said that this had a stimulant in it. It's supposed to help you reach the point of satiety. With that in mind, it doesn't take a genius to figure out that you won't lose weight by just eating less. It doesn't have to be written in bold print that weight loss takes exercise as well. For those looking for the fat to magically melt away try lipo. For the others willing to work hard, all it takes is a good diet and plenty of exercise. And if Sensa works for you, then it works. Trashing it and suggesting a drug filled pill just makes you look silly.

posted May 26th, 2010 7:09 pm


Jane

I've been using Sensa for a little over a week, and I have only good things to say about it so far. Not everything works for everybody, but Sensa seems to be doing the trick for me. I am definitely eating less. In fact, sometimes I have to make myself eat because I'm just not hungry. The nightmares these people are having getting refunds is discouraging, however. I purchased the 6-month supply, and am planning on continuing the program for 6 months, barring unforseen medical problems.

posted May 25th, 2010 2:19 pm


Veronika

Beware of the not so free trial! But the product itself worked well for me - just order directly for a one time order rather than the free trial.

posted May 24th, 2010 4:57 pm


saved me money

thank you everyone who gave a thumbs down iam glad i didn't thow away my money thanks

posted May 18th, 2010 11:26 pm


karl

people this product is not a fat burner, its to help you eat less. if you sit on your ass all day and use this stuff, ofcourse your not gonna loose weight. You need a workout program no matter what you do, what you take, and what you eat. Why are theyre so many idiots in this world.

posted May 7th, 2010 11:20 am


A C

Didn't really get to try the product properly but it is definately a $$ SCAM, once you get in, you can't get out.

posted May 3rd, 2010 12:34 pm


lochnest

I was extremely skeptical about this product. No more. I lost 5 lbs the first week and am continuing to lose way. There are two rules you must follow: sprinkle on everything you eat, and EAT SLOWLY. If you do these things, you will lose weight.

posted Apr 27th, 2010 2:41 pm


Carolyn

My husband and I started it a week ago. We love it. He has lost 12 lbs already and I lost 5lbs. Its easy and we love that we still can eat what ever we want. Just smaller portions.

posted Apr 27th, 2010 9:02 am


SensaSucks

TOTAL RIPOFF!!!!!!!!! Reports HAVE indicated that consumers using Sensa DIED WHILE USING Sensa(NOT confirmed YET) so you may wanna reconsider your choice in weight loss b4 using this product. If you dont mind spending a small fortune NutriSystem DOES work quite well. The Atkins diet works extremely well. Whatever your choice may be for weight-loss just make sure that A)The products FDA approved, B)The product is safe for YOU and that the side effects arent dangerous, C)The product you DO choose isnt going to RIP YOU OFF.....Good luck and happy dieting

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 12:01 am


Rick

Sensa didn't work for me! And I too am upset to be taken by the slick sales pitch of the Sensa spokes people!

One great example given here is, if Sensa was so successful why isn't it at the CVS stores, Walgreens, K-Marts, Wal-Marts with this product selling off the shelves?

It's because it rarely works! It must be a subliminal subjective thought idea, to make you think you'll lose weight by sprinkling your food and some do lose, but many don't!

posted Apr 20th, 2010 11:13 am


christina

This does not work. Do not buy this product. I have been using it for a while and have not lost any weight. Two thumbs down.

posted Apr 12th, 2010 2:09 pm


Lisa

Waste of money

posted Apr 12th, 2010 1:46 pm


Sara

This stuff is garbage! Don't waste your money!

posted Apr 12th, 2010 1:41 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account