Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 270 reviews
Plexus Slim

Plexus Slim Review: Does it Work?

Drink your way thin with this powdered mix.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Plexus Slim is a weight loss drink that’s made to produce results without losing muscle. There’s natural ingredients added which are intended to help lower blood sugar, cholesterol, and lipids.

The package claims it’s the “Most Natural Way To Lose Weight”. It’s also made to help reduce appetite and improve one’s will power over the foods they choose.  They even add that the average time to see weight loss effects is around 2 weeks. In this review we go over all the important details surrounding Plexus Slim. You’ll learn whether or not it’s effective for weight loss, the company history, and what you can expect.  To learn about which shakes made it to the top 10 list, click here.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Plexus Slim Ingredients and Side Effects

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine)

Garcinia Cambogia Fruit Extract

Alpha Lipoic Acid

Polydextrose

Citric Acid

Natural Flavors

Beet Extract

Stevia Leaf Extract

Luo-Han-Guo Fruit Extract

Guar Gum

Chromium Polynicotinate

Silicon Dioxide

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine): Unroasted coffee beans which contain levels of chlorogenic acids and caffeine.

It’s meant to help improve blood sugar and metabolism. It’s unknown what the milligram strength is for caffeine. This may potentially cause side effects that include:

  •   Nervousness, anxiety, and mood swings.
  •   Ringing in the ears, agitation, and headaches.
  •  Irregular heartbeat, cardiovascular problems, and high blood pressure.

 

The FDA has also targeted companies that make weight loss claims which have not been proven about green coffee bean. The FTC has also charged companies who make unproven weight loss claims.

Examine.com has also reviewed this ingredient and concluded:

“weight reduction seems quite unreliable”

“does not appear to be as potent as some other supplements”

This ingredient hasn’t been well studied enough and it’s possible that the only reason some have experienced weight loss is due to the caffeine.

Alpha Lipoic Acid: Fatty acid that helps in metabolizing energy.  It’s created by the body, and can be extracted from meats and some fruits and vegetables.

Those with diabetes are advised to be careful with this ingredient as it might significantly reduce blood sugar.  Examine.com also adds:

“long-term, relatively high-dose ALA treatment is liver toxic in mice”

Not many long-term studies have gone into this ingredient. But the one study that was performed did show a possibility for toxic buildup in the organs.

Polydextrose: Synthetic extract of glucose. It’s used as a soluble fiber source and also helps to substitute sugar.

In processed foods it will often replace fats, sugars, and starches. A study on its effects showed side effects even in low amounts. According to the Royal Hallamshire Hospital:

“Polydextrose is unlikely to be an alternative laxative… because of the unacceptable levels of flatulence”

This ingredient led to gas and stomach problems.

Though it’s also claimed to help with improving digestive health due to its fiber, the European Food Safety Authority concluded:

“cause and effect relationship has not been established between the consumption of Polydextrose and maintenance of normal defecation”

Not only did this ingredient show the possibility for side effects, but it’s not a very effective fiber source.

Luo-Han-Guo Extract: Fruit that’s used as a low calorie sweetener, often added to help reduce the total amount of sugar. It’s also shown to relax the bowels, and reduce bacteria in the intestines.

According to Drugs.com:

“No trials have been conducted to establish appropriate dosage”

Due to the lack of studies, it’s unknown what kind of an effect this ingredient might have.

Guar Gum: Thickener extracted from the seeds of the guar plant. It’s often added to processed foods as a cheap thickener.

Since it can swell up to 20 times than normal, it’s known to potentially cause blockages in the throat and intestines. Other possible side effects include:

  • Gas, diarrhea, and nausea.
  • Loose stools, and choking.

To prevent the possibility for choking, it’s often advised to take it with enough water. The FDA banned weight loss pills made with this ingredient due to health concerns, related to swelling and blockages in the body.

Certain people also have an allergic reaction that can cause rashes, difficulty breathing, and other symptoms.

You can discover the best shake brands for weight loss by clicking here.

Plexus Slim Quality Of Ingredients

There are only 4 ingredients added for weight loss, and 2 0f them are already found in many foods. Chromium polynicotinate and alpha lipoic acid both aren’t necessary in the average person, as a deficiency would be noticeable.

There’s Garcinia cambogia fruit extract which is effective for weight loss, though it’s important to know how much chlorogenic acid is provided.  Without knowing the full strength of this extract, it’s unknown if it will have a powerful enough weight loss effect.

Another ingredient used is green coffee bean extract which has added caffeine in unknown milligram strengths. Green coffee bean has not been proven to be effective for weight loss, and that’s why the FDA and FTC have filed complaints against companies who claim this ingredient is effective.

The rest of the ingredients include sweeteners, stabilizers, and ingredients for coloring. Since only one ingredient has been shown to be a good additional additive for weight loss, the majority of ingredients serve no beneficial fat burning purpose.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Plexus Slim

A 30 day supply sells direct from the manufacturers for $84.95.  This is an expensive price considering there are only 4 active ingredients. This breaks down to a daily price of $2.83.

Since two of the ingredients are often found in whole foods in sufficient amounts, only 2 additives in this are for weight loss. This isn’t a very fairly priced brand. It’s far too expensive for what’s offered. If you’re looking for cheaper alternatives you can click here.

The major issue with Plexus Slim is that its only useful ingredients can be sourced for much cheaper elsewhere. There’s no information about the strength of the garcinia cambogia to determine what kind of an effect can be expected.

Business of Plexus Slim

The company is owned by Plexus Worldwide, LLC and they are a multilevel marketing company. They can be reached using the following contact details:

Phone Number: (480) 998-3490

Address: 9145 E Pima Center Pkwy

                   Scottsdale, Arizona 85258

They currently hold a C rating on their Better Business Bureau page. This low rating is due to the 680 customer complaints. Here are some quotes from people who didn’t enjoy their experience with the company:

“This company charged my checking account… without authorization”

“They do not answer their phone”

“can’t even get a refund because they won’t answer phones or repond online”

“I have canceled my membership several times and they keeo charging me”

There were hundrerds of complaints against the automatic billing practices.  Many were also disappointed to find that they couldn’t contact the company, and that they fail to answer any emails or voicemails.

People have gone months with continual charges, without being able to cancel. These charges are filed against customers credit cards without due notice.

The FDA has also cited the company for making unproven health claims about their supplements.  The official website was loaded with false information that the FDA required them to take down.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Plexus Slim

Reviews for a multilevel marketing company can be deceptive. There are sellers of this brand that earn a commission off sales. There’s a few websites which claim Plexus Slim is effective, but they will often end with a sales pitch to join the company.

Here are some customer reviews found online from real users of Plexus Slim:

“Plexus Slim tastes absolutely horrible”

“felt jittery and totally exhausted”

“Nothing changed. Besides having to pee way more in the morning and my heart beating so fast”

“I haven’t lost any weight”

Side effects were often listed from real people who used this brand.  This includes symptoms such as headaches, insomnia, jitters, rapid heart rate, and anxiety.

Also, through there’s a claimed 60 day money back guarantee, many mention they couldn’t reach the company, and that they aren’t able to schedule a return.

Conclusion - Does Plexus Slim Work?

There’s a lot to consider about Plexus Slim. Not only is it expensive, but many people have complained about a lack of a money back guarantee, side effects, and no weight loss benefits. Many of the ingredients added to this also have no proven weight loss effect. There are better solutions for weight loss available.

The very best meal replacement out of 2016 is 18 Shake. It’s made only with all natural ingredients, no fillers, high amounts of protein, and balanced amounts of vitamins and minerals. These are the main reasons why many customers have rated this brand as their favorite for weight loss. Many users have given it rave reviews by saying it tastes great, mixes easy, and helps with appetite suppression.

You can discover more about the benefits of this shake by clicking here.  There’s a full 30 day money back guarantee offered, with returns offered with no questions asked.

How Does Plexus Slim Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste
  • Plexus Slim
  • 33 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 17, 326 total comments)

Karen

Does anyone feel like they will puke if they eat? I'm having trouble getting hungry and eating. I've taken PS w/ accelerator for 6 days and have lost 3 lbs. so far. I can't eat though.

posted Feb 6th, 2013 4:29 pm


MArie

+

I have been on it for one weekl and lost 13ibs! i love it

posted Feb 3rd, 2013 8:31 am


Sabrina

+

I have 3 friends currently using PS and PS Accelerator. They have each lost a significant amount of weight, 26, 28, and 17 lbs, respectively. They are all African American women over 42 yrs. old. They have not had any ill health effects. I have placed an order will begin the weight loss journey with them. I will update my status in 30 days.

posted Jan 7th, 2013 2:44 am


Roxanne

+

Hi, I began my journey with weight loss on July 9th 2012, when a friend introduced me to Plexus Slim...I started taking the product and am currently still taking the product. I changed my eating habits, added Zumba classes and walking into my routine and very proud to say that I'm down 73 pounds and have gone from a 20 plus size to a regular 13.

posted Jan 5th, 2013 11:29 pm


Amee Eastman

+

I love Plexus Slim! I've been taking it since July 16th 2012 and as of Dec. 18th 2012, I've lost 34 lbs. Most imporantly I feel so much better from getting relief from my Fibromyalgia pain! I'm completely amazed by how much less pain I have and I have more energy!
You can follow my journey at my blog: http://plexusjourneywithamee.blogspot.com/

posted Dec 22nd, 2012 2:23 pm


Jennifer

+

I love Plexus Slim as well as the other Plexus products! I feel healthier than ever :))

posted Dec 22nd, 2012 1:15 pm


Monica Gross

+

Awesome product! It really works well. I did not feel like I was tearing up my system and I lost weight and lots of inches.

posted Dec 22nd, 2012 12:15 pm


Ashlie

+

I absolutely love this product!! It has helped me and my family all lose weight and get healthy! I've shown the ingredients to several doctors and they've all said they see nothing at all wrong with this product!! I recommend everyone try it :)

posted Dec 22nd, 2012 4:32 am


Jack O'

-

3 months on plexus and I have GAINED weight......very unhappy. The money I spent on this I could have joined a gym! 0 out of 10

posted Dec 21st, 2012 1:40 pm


Pat

+

So far I have lost a pants size without making any real changes to my diet, excpet the fact that I want less to eat and don't crave certain foods like before. I can only imagine how well I'll do once I change my diet and bpin to exercise.

posted Dec 17th, 2012 1:51 am


Ana

+

I am not a large person and lost 3 pounds the 1st week!

posted Dec 7th, 2012 2:50 pm


Pete

Cornbreadhighway

Congratulations on you and your mom's weight-loss success! Please keep us all posted.

posted Jul 22nd, 2012 6:02 pm


Cornbreadhighway

Just a normal person ordering PS through my mom. So I don't have to deal with anyone asking me to join. My mom doesn't either as she has call waiting. I have searched and searched for REAL review so I thought I would put my own. I am a SAHM with 3 children. I don't exercise or eat to healthy. When my scales tipped to 190 I was aghast I had let myself go. My 10 year anniversary is coming up this month, by the way, and know it was coming I started PS a few months ago. As a side note my aunt who is not an ambassador and does not do any work for PS takes it as well and has dropped over 50 lbs. So back to my story, I wanted to be a little trimmer for my anniversary and get my stomach shrunk and back in control. The very first day I took it I was miserable. Dizzy, lightheaded, felt like I would puke and pass out had to lay down most of the day. I was ready for this though because my SIL had taken other diet pills and felt similar. So I got through the first day thinking, NOPE I am not taking this. The next morning I felt fine and I thought well I will give it one more try. I did. And absolutely nothing was felt! No dizziness, no light headed, not anything. So I was jazzed about it. I have skipped taking it a few times for a few days in a row and it is always the same. That first day back on it is not so fun, but the next day is absolutely fine. Also the best part is I have gotten my eating habits under control and also have lost 30 pounds!!!!!! I have 2 months of PS left and I will not be ordering any more. NOT because it does not work, but simply because I don't want to spend the money, I have gotten my eating under control and I personally don't want to do diet pills my whole life. I always maintain well using Weight Watcher or Calorie Counting. So from an average joe over hereâ?¦..I love the product and it works well for me.

posted Jul 19th, 2012 6:18 pm


Leslie's

+

Follow me as I start my new diet plan!!
I ran into a friend today that I hadn't seen in good while...they had lost a lot of weight and I had to ask what they did as I have been trying to lose with not results for a while. They told me about Plexus and here I am trying to decide if this would be good for me.

I am 45lbs over weight and have had HBP for years and now i'm also taking Crestor for cholesteral. I also take meds for the high blood pressure. I'm 54 and want to get rid of the medications ASAP!!! I seek to live a thinner healthier life now!

I am going to use the drink and not the pills (Bcuz I think that's what causes dizziness)....I will go over my blood work with my doc before starting to get my numbers to compare them in 3 weeks..TBC
Yes I will post a before, during and end results pictures...

posted Jul 8th, 2012 8:29 pm


Pete

Madeline

Not much a person can add to your post. In my opinion, you and your Doctor are "Right On"!!!! These uninformed Ambassadors who try to shove this junk down people's throats, not even realizing the consequences makes me sick. They are suppose to be making so much money, why can't they pay for your medical bills. It;s been proven 98.5% of people in most MLM programs lose money. It is a mathematical hoax, and mathematically proven by many experts. In my opinion, the reason people get into this type of program is two fold. They're either disperate, uninformed, or both.

posted Jul 6th, 2012 2:36 pm


Madeline Witt

-

I am a 60 year old female and not computer savory so do not get on internet much. My daughter found this site for me doing a search. I may get clobbered for my "testimony" but need to tell no matter the onslaught. I took this product along with the booster accelerator, and after a few days, I woke up and the room was spinning. The dizziness lasted the entire day & through the night till my husband insisted on taking me minor emergency clinic.. The physican asked questions and I explained the new diet product I had been taking. I had the accelerator with me and when the doc looked at the bottle, he told me to stop taking the product. A few days later, the dizziness ceased. If you will look at the warning sign, which the distributor did not tell me about, you will read the cautions. What ires me is that the distributor now claims she holds no responsibility for my medical bills as per the disclaimer on her webpage. I would highly advise anyone contemplating this product to research before just taking the word of the sellers, who are in it for the money. Stick with reputable retailers. This product has not been fully tested and hold no solid evidence as to it's claims of weight losses other than testomonies from those selling. I am sorry if this offends anyone. I am telling it only as it happened to me. Thank you.

posted Jul 5th, 2012 8:28 pm


Justin

-

Everyone,

If you don't believe Pete, believe me. I have a sister in the hospital right now fighting for her life because she took ONE Accelerator for the FIRST TIME. She has severe cerebral hemorraging and appears to have had a stroke. Her symptoms appeared within an hour or so after taking it. The only reason I am here is because I was investigating this product after finding out that she had taken it just before being rushed to the Emergency. BEWARE, and thank you Pete for warning people.

posted Jul 1st, 2012 2:52 pm


Pete

Hey Angel

Hope you are doing well. I am a biologist and worked in marketing for a major pharmaceutical company for 33 yrs. i also was VP over marleting for a bank in N. Louisiana. Not bragging, but you ask for my credientals. I don't believe any product lives up to the hype some people put on this product My goodness it's nothing more than a vitamin in which you can buy any of the ingredients in Wal-mart for pennies on the dollar. And you want to pay 70-80 dollars for a product with not an ounce of clinical data to back it.

And if you have read my post I
really don't attack PS, I attack the method through which it is distributed. If you look at the marketing design, it is so easy to see what most MLM cpmpanies are, and that is a pyramid scheme disguished by a product. Look around and just notice who are making the MOST money, the people that got in on the scheme early. It is proven that 99% of participants in MLM where recruitment is the main focus LOSE money. I am now retired, and after seeing family and friends conned out of thousands of dollars decided to devote my time as an advocate against MLM. In reality I could care less about PS because with my marketing experience, no product last forever, and it will fall on its own weight. But, that is a whole new book.

Hope this answers your questions, and I really do feel for the people that have bought into this. TIME is their best and only ally.

posted Jun 28th, 2012 7:23 pm


Angel

Pete...

I wasn't going to respond to you but, you've finally said enough to make me bite the hook...

You say you're a biologist and that you may be... emphasis on "MAY"... I have to question this because, you have posted many, many times on several Plexus review sites. When do you sleep? Apparently not much because you certainly have a lot to say.

I have to ask... why are you are you trying so hard to turn people away from this product? There are so many other products on the market you could be cyber picketing. Why the interest in pushing people away from Plexus Slim?

posted Jun 28th, 2012 4:32 am


ranada peterson

+

i luv it...i only lost a few pounds but i hope i can lose about 80 :)

posted Jun 17th, 2012 10:25 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: David Brown
  • Headquarters: Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Accessibility: Online or through a representative
  • Diet Type: Diet supplement drink mix
  • Gender: Male and female

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Plexus Slim is a powdered dietary supplement that is mixed with water to help you burn calories and fat while on the go. It contains no caffeine or stimulants and is meant to be used in conjunction with a regular diet plan.

Plexus Slim also claims to help you obtain healthy blood sugar, cholesterol and lipid levels and is considered safe for those with diabetes.

To take this supplement you simply pour it into a bottle of water 30 minutes before a meal and drink.

The products' two plant extract concentrates - chloregenic acid and oxypregnane steroid glycoside - work to provide effective "slimming and beauty benefits" thanks to antioxidants that are reportedly twice as potent as those found in dark chocolate.

Studies have also shown the caffein acid in chlorogenic acid contains high antioxidant levels that help limit the oxidation of lipids in the liver. And the oxypregnane steroidal glycoside helps with appetite control because it sends signals to the brain to tell the body it's full.

Plexus Slim claims the effectiveness of its product has been clinically proven. A 30-day supply of costs $84.95, but preferred customers - those who agree to receive a monthly recurring auto-shipment - pay $79.95.

Ingredients include: Chloregenic acid (plant extract), citrin K, alpha lipoid acid, oxypregnane steroidal, polydestrose, citric acid, natural flavors, beet root and grape skin extract, stevia extract and lo han extract.

Makers of Plexus Slim say users can expect to see results in as little as two weeks.

PRO
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Claims to be safe for diabetics
  • Contains natural ingredients
  • Can be conveniently mixed with water
  • May help to jump-start a weight loss plan

CON
  • Can be a bit expensive compared to similar products
  • Must buy a 30-day supply to get free sample
  • Diet and exercise are mentioned, but not heavily incorporated with Plexus Slim
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Weight loss claims are likely exaggerated
  • Natural does not always mean safe
INGREDIENTS
  • Chlorogenic acids
  • Oxypregnane steroidal glycoside
  • Low Glycemic Index Fructose
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Beet Root
  • Stevia
  • Lo Han Fruit
  • Grape Skin
  • Carmine
  • Rosmarinic Acid
  • Hydroxcycinnamic Acid
ADMINISTRATION

Pour into a 12-ounce glass or bottle of water and drink 30 minutes before a meal. Plexus Slim should be consumed only one time throughout the day.

DIET and EXERCISE

Changing your eating habits is recommended for optimal results with Plexus Slim. The product contains natural appetite suppressants, and basically you are told to listen to your body. Ordering smaller meals at restaurants and eating smaller portions is the extent of the dieting advice.

For exercise, you don’t have to incorporate any exercise to see results. It is mentioned that if you incorporate 20-30 minutes of exercise each day, your results will be seen a lot faster.

CONCLUSION

Losing weight can mean different things to different people. Some people desire to lose five or ten pounds while others have much larger amounts to lose. Using Plexus Slim might be a great added boost to help you reach your goals. While it gets bonus points for its convenient powdered mix which can be easily added to any bottle of water for a quick appetite suppressant and its natural ingredients, Plexus Slim is not a long-term solution weight and its all-natural ingredients may not equate to being safe for your health.

Talk to your doctor before using this product, particularly if you have diabetes.

Common Misspellings

plexis slim, plixis slim, plexas slim, plexusslim, plecksus slim, plexuss slim, plexxus slim

Related Diets: EFFER-THIN, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, SlimShot Diet, SlimSplash, Wu-Yi Pixie Pack, Acai Easy Drink Pack

Whats better than
Plexus Slim?