Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 22 reviews

P90X

One of the most popular workout DVDs for home fitness, by BeachBody brands.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2003
  • Founder: Tony Horton; Beach Body
  • Headquarters: Santa Monica, California
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: High intensity workout DVDs
  • Gender: Male, Female
  • Company web site: BeachBody.com
BACKGROUND

Tony Horton's P90X is a revolutionary system of 12 sweat-inducing, muscle-pumping workouts, designed to transform your body from regular to ripped in just 90 days. In addition to this system, you’ll also receive a comprehensive 3-phase nutrition plan, specially designed supplement options, a detailed fitness guide, a calendar to track your progress, online peer support, and other tools and services.

The unique feature behind the P90X system is an advanced training technique called "Muscle Confusion," which accelerates the result process by constantly introducing new moves and routines so your body never plateaus, and you’ll hopefully never get bored.

Whether you want to get lean, or bulk up, there are a variety of ways to mix and match the routines to keep you motivated for 90 days and beyond. Each of the twelve workouts differ in which areas of the body they target and the kind of exercise they include.

PRO
  • P90X can help to get in you shape
  • Can help to lose weight
  • Also includes a nutrition program
CON
  • Workouts may be too extreme
DIET and NUTRITION

P90X consists of a 3-phase eating plan that satisfies your energy needs and your taste buds. The goal of the nutrition plan is to identify what, when and how much you can eat so that you can still lose fat and get into the shape that you want to be in.

Phase 1 is the Fat Shredder phase in which you’ll be consuming a high protein and low carbohydrate diet in order to build muscle and shrink fat. Phase 2 is the Energy Booster phase where you’ll be eating both carbohydrates, protein and small amounts of fat in order to optimize your energy performance. Phase 3 is the Endurance Maximizer where you’ll be eating proteins, small amounts of fat and more carbohydrates in order for you to make your way through your final leg of this 90-day training journey.

EXERCISE

Exercise is the basis of the P90X. The workout system includes 12 workouts that over such areas as resistance training, cardiovascular exercise, and core-conditioning. You are encouraged to do a workout a day while taking rest days according to the P90X training guidelines. In addition, the P90X Calendar helps you to set your workout goals, track your progress, and stay motivated.

CONCLUSION

The P90X workout system is a complete program of intense exercise and a stringent diet plan that is designed to get you in athlete-style shape in just 90 days. If you love to work out and love the burn of an exercise challenge then the P90X workout system may be just the solution for you. But if you get more use out of your gym membership card as a book marker then you might want to look elsewhere for a program that will help you to meet your health goals.

BeachBody Brands Slideshow

View BeachBody Brands Slideshow

Misspellings

P 90 X, P90 X, px90, px 90, px90 diet, p90 x diet, p90, 90x, p90 x, x90


Related Diets: Bob Harper, Jillian Michaels, Hydroxycut, Abs Diet, Body Building Diet, Hip Hop Abs, Insanity Workout, Mens Health Personal Trainer, P90X Plus, P90X Results and Recovery Formula 30-Day Supply (25 Servings), P90X2, Supreme 90 Day, Work Out with Jackie Warner


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 49 total comments)

Scottish Gerry.

I have had 2.5 years off of work as a result of a motorcycle accident and had a metal plates installed in my shoulder (2 surgeries), I started the workouts 6 weeks ago, believe you me, if you give this program your all you will see results, there is no doubt about it, however it's not for the feint of heart you must give it your all then some,

Due to muscle deterioration in my right shoulder I have to use a chair for the overhead bars, so if your overweight you might do the same,

I've lost 9lbs and I'm down a notch in my belt I really could go down another, but I'll give it another week or two, my biceps are almost back to where they were before my accident, and even though I'm still over 14lb's overweight my stomach is hard as a rock, I just need to loose a wee bit more before a six pack appears, like I said you will have to give it your all, if it's difficult for you to get motivated, DON'T DO IT, and BRING IT!



posted Jun 11th, 2010 6:42 pm


Kevin

I am on day 85 of my frist round of p90-x rite now. This is with out a doubt the greatest work out i have ever done in my entire life. Im 15, but i have on of the best bodies here in CT thanks to p90-x
its more difficult to follow the nutrition plan due to going through puberty still and the need for more food. but...i was able to get the results i wanted
i started at the 15 lbs bands
and now im on the 40,45,50lbs bands. and its all thanks to this program. once this is over, im going to go onto p90-x doubles, then move up to P90-x plus. i thank beach body for the results that i have witnessed occur in my body.
:)
-Kevin

posted Mar 31st, 2010 10:22 am


William Patterson

P90x is for real! When I heard about it I just thought it was like every other workout program. Tonight is day 14 and I have lost 31lbs and my energy is through the roof!! My man boobs are firm, my love handles are almost gone and I can finally see the muscles in my legs that I have not seen since high school. If you are worried it is too extreme, it is, but get it anyway. Starting out you may not be able to finish the full hour but eventually you will. P90x is truly an amazing scientific way to look and feel great!!!!!!!

posted Mar 17th, 2010 9:29 pm


allen

Me and my wife started the program.
so far by just doing the first day all i can say is wow ive never really busted my lol.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 9:22 am


DawnS

Very hard, but great results - LOVE it!!

posted Mar 1st, 2010 8:02 pm


mel

Can anyone who has bought the program tell me if the diet is compatible for a vegan?

posted Feb 28th, 2010 11:47 pm


Joe

I love p90x I am on day 17 and 6.5lb down When I started I was 160lb I am back down to 154 and 1 inch off the gut the results come so quickly it keeps you motivated to keep going

posted Feb 16th, 2010 3:59 pm


jen

I just started the P90X, and I absolutely love it....at least so far. The workouts are great and really give you a hard workout. As for the diet, that is alot of food to consume. We eat very clean as it is, with one cheat meal a week, usually on a Sunday. But the diet is very expensive to follow. We decided to continue to do our normal clean eating, but just make sure we get our 3"s of protein, carbs etc in daily. There are alot of recipes i will still stick to, like the salomn, pesto sauce....yummy!!! But if you have the $$ and time to make the meals everyday, then do it. Planning your meals for each day is very hard. I am in the kitchen at least 2 hours a night cooking dinner for the night and preparing for the next day. Other than that, I am addicted to the P90X and absolutely love it.....I would definately reccommend it to anyone.

posted Jan 14th, 2010 2:33 pm


Ashley

I just purchased the P90X program and cannot wait to get started!! My husband and I saw it advertised on TV the other night and were both sitting there with our jaws on the floor. He's a prior US Marine who's 6'0"/185 lbs looking to bulk up, and I'm a 5'5"/198 lbs looking to loose the extra flab and fat that having 2 children brings. This is definitely something that will work for us both. Since we have the kids we need something we can do in the house. I have to say all the stories on the website are so inspiring. This is a LONG time coming!!! :) Wish us luck!! Good luck to everyone!!!

posted Sep 28th, 2009 7:45 am


ian richards

HI i must say that this program is very good i try to buy the de but you were out of stock.
can u tell me if i can order the set and get it in grand cayman iland ,i realy want to look good and fel good thanks

posted Sep 10th, 2009 2:15 pm


cal

Bought the p90x on craigslist for 75 bucks. After my Guieness beer & candy bash I plan on starting it on Sunday. I am 48 & 30 lbs over weight. If I can do it anyone can. To the person in Egypt, you can get the DVDs on Ebay as well, there were some good deals there.

posted Sep 4th, 2009 7:30 am


Chris

So can anyone type the diet plan! That would
be awsome

posted Aug 20th, 2009 8:02 pm


joann bradley

I bought the p90x on tuesday and I cant wait for it to arrive. I have worked out in gym for years. I need to lose 15-20 lbs and tone up. My eating is okay but eat when Im bored . Im hoping that this can get me back on track to my old body that I had a few yrs ago.
Does anyone have any advise about the program?

posted Aug 19th, 2009 3:28 pm


jennifer

I will be starting P90X here shortly. I guess you can say, I took the easy way out and just copied one of my friends DVD's. Money is really tight for me...But unfortunately, I do not have any info on the diet palns etc. Can anyone help me out. I am in serious need to start this program, health reasons being the number one reason. Based on all the reviews on this program, I rally want to give this my all which means I need the diet plan as well. If anyone can help me out, it will be greatly appreciated.

posted Aug 3rd, 2009 3:03 pm


animeeyes

This is my second week doing the program and I love it! I tried Power 90 before and it was great but nothing compares to P90X. The nutritional plan is so easy to follow even if you don't have time to cook. Do not waist your money if you are not ready to commit.

posted Jul 28th, 2009 6:46 pm


strick

Heck, I'm only on day 2, but I tell you what. I am feeling muscles that I have never felt before!! :-P I love the videos. I'm not following a diet plan (I'm 145lbs and already semi athletic and toned, I'm just using it to help me quit smoking. The Plyometrics routine... and smoking, no bueno ;-)

Good luck to everyone that tries this diet/workout. I'm lovin it!

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 2:57 pm


userfile
Jackwelch

This is all the rage. My wife loves the px90 diet

posted Jul 21st, 2009 10:19 am


Veronica

i just had a baby 6 months ago so i was looking to get fit again. i have been nursing since birth and walking an hour a day since nov 08 (6 weeks postpartum). but i was only losing about a pound a month, which was really frustrating.

I just started week 4 of p90x. i have lost 5 pounds so far (avg 1.5 lbs/week). i have also noticed a big change besides the scale, i am getting a ton of tone, it's awesome. i even take breaks on the weekend, when my schedule gets hectic and i can't find time to work out. but i'm still seeing results.

it is a lot of protein to start out though, but i eat protein shakes and vegetarian stuff to avoid too much meat. i recommend it for people who are seriously wanting to get fit and prepared to work for it. you can't get results for free.

posted Apr 6th, 2009 4:33 pm


Frank

I am going on week 11 and although I haven't lost tons of weight, maybe 5 lbs, I can tell a huge difference in strength and tone over my entire body. If you stick with this program and just give an effort, not do every rep or every exercise, you will see some type of result. Also, I haven't even been following the diet except for the 6 meals a day plan, which I was already doing, which may explain the low weight loss amount. What I like the most is that everyday there is a different workout, it never gets boring, which I can't say about the gym. This program is for people who want results but are also willing to work their off.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 8:48 pm


Sheena

I started P90X 2 weeks ago. All I can say is wow. I don't know if it is the diet or the dvd's but I already can see a difference. I had a c-section 10.5 months ago and have been trying to get my pre-birth body back. I was scared that it would never been the same. I only had 10 lbs to go but it might have been a million with how my body looked. I am already fitting in my clothes better. With only 2 months till summer I am really excited to see how far I can go. I can finally see my stomach getting flatter and for someone with a 10.5 month old it feels really good.

But don't kid yourself if you want a better body you are going to have to work your off for it. You can't cry and eat cake...that me off. You want to look good get off your butt and do the work everyone else has to do to get results. There is no magic pill people.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 7:45 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account