Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 221 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 13, 247 total comments)

Myra

I was excited to try Nutrisystem, but am very disappointed! The food is horrible and somethings smell like dog food. I tried to cancel my program, but they kept sending me orders monthly and charging my card. I tried to return these for a refund, but they make it very difficult to return. I am very upset and cannot believe all the celebrities who put their name under Nutrisystem.

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 12:15 pm


wendyw74

Fact of the matter is you will lose weight with nutrisystem but some of the food is not great. I think it is a good diet to get you in check then slowly move off of it. Need to exercise people as well!

posted Aug 25th, 2010 10:51 am


Laura

I rather like Nutrisystems. It took a lot of reading and reviews before I decided to try it. Like all diet plans some will work for certain people and not for others. I can truly say with some seasonings and veggies etc. the food is good. I have found some things not eatable however I choose not to order them in the future. I have had good success lost 8 pounds in 11 days and I am sure I will lose more. I am determined to stay with this program until I loose all the weight I need to loose.

posted Aug 23rd, 2010 12:54 pm


Janeth

NS Referral

posted Aug 12th, 2010 10:53 am


Tina Gressel

Ok. When I rec'd my shipment it was in little cheap packaging and NOTHING was prepared. You have to add the water to the soups/ you have to prepare the puddings and pancake mixes, etc. They say it's only $300 a month to eat which is cheap but YOU have to add the fruit and vegetables and nuts and dairy. Believe me, it's NOT cheap--only the taste of the food is cheap. Alot of it is gross or tastes like cardboard. So.... I call nutrisystem and tell them I will keep this month supply (and try to choke it down) but to cancel any future orders. They are going to charge me $52 to cancel--even though I was keeping the food. Originally it gave me a supposed $33 discount for 1 week of extra food- but they wanted to charge me $52 just for canceling. So I tell them I will just send it all back and they can reimburse me then which will cost me $18. Why would I keep cheap gross food that already cost $300 and pay $52 more? Go to a grocery store and get weight watchers foods or one of the others...and save yourself tons of money! and delivery charges!

posted Aug 7th, 2010 3:21 pm


Diane

I love it. It's convenient and easy. Before NS I couldn't lose a lb. I've been on it for 3 mths and have lost 16 1/2 lbs. Thank you NS!!!!!!!

posted Jul 10th, 2010 10:08 am


yasmine

The food is ok. the more important thing is i lost 10 pounds in 3 weeks! granted i did up my game in the gym

posted Jul 9th, 2010 1:52 pm


Betty Leach

I am amazed that I can lose weight on this program with no hunger, no cooking, no measuring, and no weighing. I am thrilled with the results. Been on NS one month

posted Jul 1st, 2010 8:52 am


bernadine starken

I have stopped the program and send back my last order which came to $299.00 I do not have a credit yet on my account. Please look into this.

posted Jun 28th, 2010 11:34 am


Marsha

I tried nutrisystem for about one month...well I could not get through the entire month, in fact I still have meals left over. I don't like that everything is processed and most of the food is really yucky. The other thing is that the foods are very high in sodium. The diet is expensive and you still have to buy additional supermarket items to supplement the diet.
If you can eat like this you may lose the weight, but for me a diet is a change in the way I eat forever, and I cannot eat like this every day of my life.

posted Jun 27th, 2010 3:53 pm


Lowell Hale

Sir;

The following is an email that I have sent to contacts at NutraSystem

Sir;
NutraSystem has made an unauthorized charge on my credit card in the amount of $416.91.
I had previously canceled any further orders .. couple months ago..
The operator I talked to advised that I should call Nutra System before
June 25 if I wanted to order at th then existing priceing..I chose not to reorder BUT Nutra System has chosen to charge me again...Cleverly doing it at late Friday so that the order would be 'in the works' for enough time so as to make it difficult for me to reverse
NOW..
Nutra System did the same thing on the last order I recieved..at that time I relented and kept the order.
This is the second time .
Unless you remove those charges imediately I will seek legal remedy.
Nutra System has proven to be a "shady" or "tricky" outfit that should never have access to anyones credit card info.
On Monday evening...after 6:00pm..if your charghes are not removed I will be relating this story and this letter on web places ..youtube...myspace..and any other site that reaches numbers of potential NutraSystem customers to make them aware of the dangers of letting out their credit card info to NutraSystem.
I want those charges to my credit card cancelled andI will do no further business with Nutra System.
If you try to send a shipment to me,..just know that II have moved and no longer live in Texas
.
.
SO, FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS,..
WHEN DEALING WITH NUTRASYSTEM..

.
"WATCH YOUR POCKETS"..as they say

posted Jun 20th, 2010 11:46 am


Arleigh

I thought this was an easy all inclusive meal plan. WRONG!
You have to buy lots of fresh veggies and fruit. I also suffer and so does my husband from Gas and loss of sleep due to going to the bathroom 3-4 times a night because of the liquid required. I hope it works because so far I am NOT impressed.

posted Jun 15th, 2010 9:38 am


Robert Callaway

there is a lot of the foods I just dont likeand this is not for me.It is costing me more than I can afford each month and I need to cancel my program now. Please do not ship any more food. I QUITE.

posted May 31st, 2010 5:20 pm


louie

I will take it meals delivered to to your door and I can lose weight

posted May 31st, 2010 11:10 am


Jen

Food is disgusting!!!

posted May 27th, 2010 2:40 pm


Kim

My husband and I started this diet on October 1, 2010. So far he has lost 100 lbs and has gone from a size 46 to a 36 and a XXXL shirt to a L shirt. I have lost 60 lbs and have gone from a size 18 to 8. There are a few foods that we don't care for but for the most part we like all of them. We can't believe how easy it has been and are being told by our friends that we have been an inspiration to them and they have now started NS.

posted May 20th, 2010 9:02 pm


val

The portions are just right and the food is edible. I am losing weight not a ton but lost like 6 pounds over two weeks.

posted May 12th, 2010 12:22 pm


JoeyCrack

Apparently the key to losing weight with any program is eating healthy and exercising. Within the first month of the program, I lost 20+ lbs. Nutrisystem helped me to maintain proper portion control, which helped me to lose weight that probably would not have come off with just exercise alone. More importantly than the scale reading is the fact that I feel great, and am no longer sweating of breathing hard after walking a short distance.

With Nutrisystem, I like the flexibility of being able to add your own fruits and vegetables. While on Nutrisystem, I also eat at restaurants, or cook my own foods on the grill, but I am more concious of portion sizes, or having the waiter remove unhealthy items such as mayo from a sandwhich.

I think that one of the problems that led to my own weight gain was feeling of no control over what I ate. Nutrisystem teaches you that you do have control over what you eat, and once you learn this, then you can sustain a healthy lifestyle.

posted May 8th, 2010 1:36 pm


rb

Lost 24 pounds. Kept it off for 2 years. Came back up to within 7 pounds of previous weight. Went back on, lost 15.

posted Apr 30th, 2010 11:52 am


st

i tried this diet twice. i did lose a little bit of weight, but couldn't really stand the food. the ham & bean soup, the chili's and the pizza i liked. other than that not really. i am not a gourmet by any means, eat a lot of frozen diet dinners, but this just wasn't my taste.

posted Apr 18th, 2010 9:31 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account