Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 222 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 13, 249 total comments)

lina

i just ordered nutrisystem, i have diabetes and i would like to know if i can have regular diet.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 4:10 pm


Canalian

I used Nutrisystem when they had an office in Ontario, Canada.

Went to use the program again and was digusted by the service I received. My food never arrived, I was told that a new shipment would be sent to replace this but it never left the warehouse.

I was told 3 times on 3 different days that the food would "be sent today".

Four weeks later I still hadn't seen anything.

Ended up cancelling my order and will not consider this company again.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 1:58 pm


Jill Miles

Why did Nutrisystem close all satelite offices? I used Nutrisystem in Redmond Wash. and like it very much and would use it again if there was a office where I live now. I tied the mail system and it doesn't work. There are food I didn't like and talked twice with a person to send something different and they sent me the same thing both times so I quite it's a waist of money. I don't eat what I don't like. I throw it away. I'm looking to diet again but not with Nutrisystem. I don't like Jennie Craig and she has a office here where I live. To bad it isn't Nutrisystem. Mailing the food out and no one to talk to just doesn't work. Bad,Bad, Bad. :0(

posted Feb 8th, 2011 10:05 pm


Alison

I've lost 12 pounds in 3 weeks....so I have no complaints. The food is pretty tasty, there are only a couple of items that I could not eat but since I get to customize my orders, I'm just not going to order those again. Very satisfied!!!!

posted Jan 31st, 2011 9:47 pm


TB

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating.

posted Jan 21st, 2011 3:56 am


Carol

I just started and already have canceled. The food is horrible!! Not fit for a DOG!! Plus when I called to cancel they want to charge me a fee for not getting at least two shipments plus I never received my frozen food. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!! MARIE SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HERSELF FOR ENDORSING THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!!

posted Jan 18th, 2011 4:00 pm


Jeane

I tried this system. You need to buy their food, plus lots of other food as well. I couldn't eat the food because it has too much sugar, as I have type two diabetes. I can't eat the diabetic plan because it contains aspertane, which gives me migraines. This was not explained to me before I started, they just wanted to get me to buy into th eir program. I had to receive the two shipments, then they would not give me a full refund for the second shipment. This whole progam is nothing but a scam. They want your money!! BEWARE!

posted Nov 24th, 2010 4:35 pm


susana

Nutrisystem works you do lose weigh but, the menu realy needs improvment.

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 5:57 am


christine desper

what dose it cost?

posted Nov 16th, 2010 1:50 pm


Christine Correll

The problem with any diet is the food is not as good as the food that put all those pounds on you in the first place. The food is okay. They do have different plans. The price is okay. I like getting the bears for each of my ten pounds I have lost. I am going into my 5 month and have lost 39 pounds. Any diet takes alot of effort. I like the website it helps you keep track of what you have eaten for the day and so much more. The price is reasonable and you can do this all in the privacy of your home. So yes I give a thumbs up to this system.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 11:05 pm


tonymucho

the food is ok. I lost 15 lbs in 5 weeks so that was great

posted Nov 5th, 2010 10:49 pm


Margie Tollefson

I like the food, I will recomend this diet to my family and friends. I also like the fact that you don't have to prepare anything or measure, I can just grab and go if I wan't to. It's great !!!!

posted Oct 30th, 2010 6:25 pm


MO

I am so excited I decided to go on this diet. I was worried to begin with since the portion sizes were small but I am able to have a large salad which fills me up. After my first day I was so full I was almost worried, I now have a large salad with lunch and a small salad with dinner. Im sure I will get sick of the same salads soon enough, but for now, it's working. I have only been on the diet for 10 days but I have lost 13lbs and am feeling great. I still have about 70 to go so I'll cross my fingers I can finally do this and keep eating the foods given to me (which is really good by the way. I'd buy some of these foods if they were sold in stores).

posted Oct 28th, 2010 7:15 pm


Jan

Not very insightful review. Not very helpful

posted Oct 17th, 2010 8:19 pm


Mary

Okay so nutrisystemworks...however I do have to say this...the packaging, the food and the desserts make you crave food as they are not very good...I've done jenny craig and the food is so good that you don't really have too many urges to cheat. jenny craig also works but because of the processed foods, you get really bloated and do not go to the bathroom as often as you should so you feel like you haven't lost weight as your stomach is protruding. I have been taking allie with nutrisystem so I can't say if makes you bloated or not. Either way, you lose weight...I've lost 15 lbs. Stuck with the diet, took allie and walked about 4-6 miles three times a week.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 4:00 pm


JoAnn

I lost 11 1/2 lbs in 28 days and I only wanted 10, so it exceeded my expectations. Good food, never hungrey, and will try it anytime when needed.

posted Oct 15th, 2010 11:14 am


Laura

The food was very gross. I have tried Jenny Craig with success and Weight Watchers with success but 4 days on this food, I could not go on, it was just too disgusting.

posted Oct 4th, 2010 10:12 am


Ellen

6 days. 11 pounds!!! I only have 22 in total. The food isn't the best......Stay away from anything "alredo" or "cheesy pasta"....everthing else has been ok. But, you can't beat the results. I am shocked every morning when I weigh myself. Shocked. it works!

posted Oct 1st, 2010 6:46 pm


dianne warner

I tried the diet for one month and did lose 12 pounds. The food does not taste very good but I stuck with it determined to lose the weight. When my second month arrived I decided not to continue with the diet. I contacted customer service to cancel and told them I would be returning the box at my post office. They gave me the address of NutriSystem Returns, 1490 Nitter House Drive, Chambersburg, PA 17201 and then gave me a "return code number" (which was RMAC39169378) and told me to write the number clearly on the outside of the box. Well it was returned the first week in July and to date I have never been credited for the $299.00. I have called customer service several times since then and was lectured that I should have used UPS! That was their response. So, in my opinion I would not recommend this diet system. Or I would say "use at your own risk"

posted Sep 27th, 2010 6:38 pm


Leizelle

the food is nasty buy i lost weight

posted Sep 14th, 2010 8:19 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account