Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

27%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 83 reviews

Jillian Michaels Fitness Ultimatum

Join Jillian's hard-hitting weight loss boot camp right on your Nintendo Wii console.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Fitness guru and trainer on NBC's super famous The Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels has developed her own Wii fitness game called Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum. The games, which include 2009, 2010 and now the new 2011 versions, feature bootcamp-style workouts that you can select based upon your fitness level and workout preference.

Jillian also lends her voice to motivate you with her own fitness and lifestyle tips so that you can get the most out of your workout. As a strong proponent of getting in regular exercise, Michaels has created this game in order to stay current in the media fitness industry and combat the obesity epidemic of this country.

PRO
  • Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum series encourages exercise
  • Selection of workouts contain a variety of workout choices to choose from
  • Jillian Michaels is a well-known and well-respected fitness expert
  • Allows you to track your own workout progress with the resolution based monitoring system
  • Can be used from your own home
  • Nintendo Wii can be a positive fitness tool for the entire family
  • Offers first-person fitness with a story based mission where you shut down an evil drug corporation
  • Work out your entire body to reach your ultimate fitness goals
  • Enhance your results by adding the Wii Balance Board or Wii MotionPlus
  • Includes a high intensity mode to burn fat faster
CON
  • Must have a Nintendo Wii game player
  • May not appeal to those who don't like video games or tech gadgets
  • Initial release seems to have glitches
DIET and NUTRITION

Jillian's Wii game contains lifestyle tips that include healthy-eating tips and advice.

If you're looking for more of Jillian's specific brand of dieting- check out her complete online diet and fitness program, or the Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, which delivers her inspired recipes to your home.

EXERCISE

Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum Wii fitness series whether the 2009, 2010 or new 2011 edition challenge you as you improve your overall workout capacity from your own home. In using your Wii balance board, select the kind of workout, length of time and intensity level you prefer. The 2009 edition features a selection called Party Mode, in which you compete with another individual for a predetermined amount of time. And the 2010 series features a "Fitness Resolution" in which you plan your six-month workout routine with a training schedule and an "Exercise with Jillian" component which provides you with a one-on-one game with a 3D avatar of Jillian Michaels that demonstrates pre-made or custom routines.

The latest 2011 version of the game includes a high intensity workout mode to allow you to burn fat faster than ever. This new version also includes a Mission Mode where you work with Jillian to shut down Cureall, an evil food and drug corporation.

The games also include motion-based activities like ladder climbs, rowing and monkey bars. In addition, you'll get to track your progress by entering your own personal data as you work your way through the game.

CONCLUSION

Jillian Michaels is no stranger to fitness. In keeping with the current trend of fitness, she has developed her own Wii game, called the Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum. Now with three editions, the 2009, 2010 and the 2011 versions, this interactive video game allows you to exercise as hard as you want to and as long as you want to from the comfort of your own home, while being led by an expert. It also allows you to compete with others and track your own personal progress- both of which are important motivators for maintaining a consistent exercise routine.

If you've never been a fan of video games or workout videos, then this product may not be right for you. Then again, it might be a chance to mix-up your monotonous workout and try something new.

Common Misspellings

Jillien Michaels, Jillian Michaels Wii Game, Jillian Michaels Wii Fit, Jillian Michaels Ultimatum, Gillian Michaels, Jillian Michael, Jillian Michaels Fitnes Ultimatum, Jillian Michaels Fitness

Learn More About Jillian Michaels

View About Jillian Michaels Slideshow


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels, Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, Biggest Loser Wii Game, EA Sports Active, My Weight Loss Coach for Nintendo DS, Wii Fit


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 5, 87 total comments)

MIchelle

I am a huge fan of the wii fit, and thought this game would be a challenge for me, and I could incorporate it into my workout routine. I tried it yesterday and am very disappointed. I could not figure out the boxing at all. The screen offered no direction. Same with the dodging of the punching bags. NO matter what I did, my character didn't dodge.

I exercise regularly, and I am a bit sore today from the workout, but it was mediocre to say the least.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 9:33 am


Ann

I agree with everyone on here. The only work out I get is log jumping and running. The tire jump, hand car pump and the grenade throw actually are terrible. I am doing what they tell me to do and my person on screen doesn't move a bit. I get frustrated!

posted Jan 1st, 2009 11:11 pm


denise

not to thrilled with it. bad instructions, can't get the hand movements to work.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 9:50 pm


Tracy

I got this game for x-mas. I know that the person doesn't always move with your movements, but it's what you put into it. I do all the activities to my fullest ability and have fun with it. It's better than doing no exercise at all- I played it for an hour straight (all 4 levels/types) and really pushed myself-- and I was sore. I am an extreme couch potato, so that explains alot... but it's better than sitting on the couch doing nothing! Mine wasn't that unresponsive-- I used the wii board with it and got it to register my movements pretty well-- however some of the events won't do anything, but others do respond good. It's all what you put into and expect. I did not expect it to woop my butt in shape or lose like 10 pounds or anything... come on it's a video game! It's a fun way to get up and moving though!!!

posted Dec 31st, 2008 4:48 am


Randy C

Just got the Wii Fit for x-mas. I was going to buy this game, but after reading all of these reviews, I have also changed my mind like others. That is too bad..was looking for something more robust than Wii Fit game included.

posted Dec 29th, 2008 5:59 pm


CJ

The only exercise I managed to get it to do is the train car thing, but I doubt doing squats as fast as you can is good for your knees. I can't get the dodging, log jumping or boxing to work at all. I move all over the place and my guy just stands there doing nothing.

posted Dec 29th, 2008 4:28 pm


Amanda

The remote is unresponsive....I can't get the log jumping to work.....I'm upset that the run is so sluggish regardless of what you do...WII Fit runnnnsss...when you run and jog when you jog...This peace always is jogging....

I'm upset that your avatar does not respond to your motion....and what is up with the balancing log that you don't have to even move and it shows you losing balance and walking...REALLY...what a joke....HIGHLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this game!!!

posted Dec 29th, 2008 3:39 pm


Carol

I have to agree with all the bad reviews on this game. I have never been so disapointed with a purchase from a celebrity endorser. Doesn't work correctly at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Dec 26th, 2008 7:53 pm


Char

Received this game for a Christmas Gift as I had asked for it. I wish I would have read these reviews first. Total Rip-Off. Don't waste your money. The Wii Fit disk that comes with the balance board is much better.

posted Dec 25th, 2008 5:54 pm


benanna52

Should have read the reviews. I can't get it to work. The only thing I can make it do is run and it doesn't even mimic my moves. Rip off!!!!!

posted Dec 25th, 2008 2:11 pm


Fran

hated it. tried to return it and am know stuck with it. A waste of $40. The program is unimaginative, doesn't respond well to the remote and not motivating.

posted Dec 25th, 2008 11:48 am


Patty

I was doing the log balance. I sat on the couch and put the controller on the table and the player was still moving. What's with that!!!

posted Dec 25th, 2008 11:15 am


Barb

TERRIBLE! I have had it for a couple of months and have yet to get it to respond and it doesn't have any instructions!

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 11:53 am


Jaime King

I previously wrote a review and while I haven't changed my mind, I wanted to let you all know what I figured out.

The avatar does not move with you. It does not mimic your motions. It was not created like the Wii Fit game where it does what you do.
Here's a VERY IMPORTANT COMPONENT to the game. As you're in an activity- say running, ot the car pump, you'll see a green rectangular indicator on the bottom left side. This is a "power" indicator- the more the Wii remote moves, the fuller the gauge will be and the computer will automatically do the moves for you. When this guage is empty your avatar does nothing, when you pump the remote like you are shaking up chocolate milk or have a sever case of parkinsons, you'll see the guage fill up. It assumes you are doing the correct motions with great voracity and that is how you will burn calories.

That's all I figured out so far. Not a great design, but hey, I'm no software engineer. Good luck.

posted Dec 21st, 2008 5:01 pm


Jaime

Like the concept, but I wish I had found this comment page before purchasing. The graphics aren't great, but you can change the music up a bit- too bad it's tunes from no one you've heard of. There are too many glitches- can't throw the grenades, can't pick up your legs for the tire run, the dodging of the puching bags does not work, etc. All that I actually have gotten to work is the running warm up and cool down- and I can do that outside for free. If you're gonna try it, be prepared for disappointment- and buy it used.

posted Dec 21st, 2008 4:07 pm


Emily Webb

I bought this game and I HATE IT! I cannot do the Dodging and I feel like there is a better way to work out. I gave this game 2 weeks of doing it every day. I like my Treadmill and Wii Fit Game better. (I have since bought Jillians DVD and Like that much more.)

posted Dec 12th, 2008 7:49 pm


Jeanne

As most of the reviewers I was ready to be challenged more after using the wii fit. I am absolutely disappointed with this game. The graphics are horrible, the controls don't work right - it is not fun at all. I'm hoping to get a refund at Target but it doesn't sound like that is a possibility. What a rip of to the consumers!! Like one person said, just run around the block and you will get a better workout.

posted Dec 10th, 2008 8:34 pm


Karrie

This game needs to be recalled. It's glitcy, unresponsive and as a result completely unmotivating. The concept is great, but should never have gotten past quality controls. This game is a complete rip off and we should all get our money back for buying it. Hope the game company gets a clue and takes care of this ASAP!

posted Dec 6th, 2008 11:31 pm


Laura

I alos bought this game thinking it would be great to workout with Jillian what a disappointment, mine also keep freezing up an dcould not get the controls to work properly on the tires or grenades hoping they will give me a refund.

posted Dec 4th, 2008 10:23 pm


Kir

This game sucks !!! I love JIllian Michaels and the fact that she would endorse a POS game like this is incredible! It's boring, unmotivating and half the time it doesn't work!!! I'm returning mine tonight after buying it yesterday...... what a waste of money!

posted Dec 4th, 2008 4:01 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account