Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

28%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews
IdealShape

Ideal Shape Shake Review: Does it Work?

Use hypnotherapy along with other elements to lose weight and keep it off.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Ideal Shape is a weight loss shake  made with a hunger blocking ingredient said to produce potent results. The website claims that unlike other shakes, this one has the appetite suppressor already inside its formula.

It contains over 50% of the recommended daily allowance of vitamins and minerals. There’s also just 2 grams of sugar added depending on the flavor, of which there are 7 different varieties. This includes chocolate, chocolate cream pie, vanilla, strawberry, orange cream, mocha, and cookies n’ cream.  This comprehensive review will go over the quality of the ingredients, its taste, what it can do in terms of weight loss, and whether or not it’s a safe and healthy mixture of ingredients. For your convenience a list of the top 10 meal replacements is available if you click here.  

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Ideal Shape Ingredients and Side Effects

Whey Protein Concentrarte

Whey Protein Isolate

Sunflower Oil Creamer

Maltodextrin

Inulin

Potato Protein Extract

Dicalcium Phosphate

Natural and Artificial Falvor

Cellulose Gum

Magnesium Oxide

Salt

Sucralose

Ascorbic Acid

Vitamin E

Copper Gluconate

Biotin

Potassium Chloride

Niacinamide

Vitamin A Palminate

Calcium Pantothenate

Acesulfame Potassium

Electrolyte Iron

Bromelain

Papain

Amylase

Protease

Lipase

Cellulase

Lactase

Zinc

Cyanocobalamin

Folic Acid

Potassium Iodide

 

Artificial Flavor: This man made ingredient is added to help provide a unique taste profile to this shake. It can be extracted from many different things, and this includes common allergens such as soy, wheat, and corn.

Cellulose Gum: This thickener and binder is added to many items such as laxatives, toothpaste, and paper products.  A study by Nature, the international weekly journal of science found that this ingredient:

“was associated with microbiota encroachment, altered species composition, and increased pro-inflammatory potential”

“might be contributing to an increased societal incidence of obesity/metabolic syndrome and other chronic inflammatory diseases”

This additive showed a possibility for causing weight gain and inflammation which could lead to serious illnesses.

The study concluded with the idea that the possible reason for increased obesity is ingredients like this in the American diet. This additive is a cheap binder which is often only found in processed foods.

Potato Protein Extract: This ingredient is made to help reduce appetite. Though considered safe, a study on its weight loss effects have been disproven according to the European Food Safety Authority, which reviewed a patented version of this ingredient. They found that a:

“cause and effect relationship has not been established between the consumption of Potato Extract and reduction of body weight”

This means that it’s yet to be proven as an effective weight loss ingredient.

Sucralose: An artificial sweetener which is approcimately 320 to 100 times much sweeter than regular sucrose.

This ingredient has been shown to be potentially dangerous. The Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health adds:

“exerted numerous adverse effects, including reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH and enhanced expression levels of P-gp”

P-gp will be released by the body only when a potential toxin enters the body. Also, this ingredient reduced the amount of healthy microflora. This is needed in order to help support a stable and functioning immune system.

It’s unknown what kinds of long term effects this may have on health. Reduced microflora can be a potentially damaging issue that harms overall health.

Acesulfame Potassium: Calorie free artificial sweetener which is around 200 times sweeter than sucrose.

Though this ingredient is added to help have a lowered effect on blood sugar, a study featured in the Hormone and Metabolic Resaerch journal found that it:

Acesulfame K not only acts as a sweetener, but in higher does, can also induce insulin secretion”

Another study conducted by PLOS One found that it:

“could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

So this ingredient may potentially cause metabolism disorders, and it does have a noted effect on blood sugar. Its effects on changing brain chemistry may also be a potentially serious problem. It’s unknown how this affects long term health.

Ideal Shape Quality of Ingredients

There’s only 100 caloris per serving, and 11 grams of good protein in whey. The issue is that more protein would have been better, also there’s a mixture of 3 artificial ingredients, 2 of which have been shown in clinical studies to be potentially unsafe for overall health.

There has also been the issue with sucralose and cellulose gum potentially increasing the risk for either obesity or disease. Both of these ingredients have been shown in studies to have alarming effects on health. They might have a damaging effect on brain health as well as the immune system.  These cheap ingredients are only added to substitute other additives. They don’t have an improved effect on health, and they’re often only found in cheap and processed foods.

People have also complained about the taste due to the articial sweeteners, so it’s clear they add a noticeable amount to this shake.  As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Ideal Shape” section, there was major concern from customers about the harsh overly sweet taste.  There are better options available via the top 10 list of the best weight loss shakes.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Ideal Shape

A container of 30 servings sells for $49.99 when purchased via the manufacturer. If taken at the advised 2 shakes a day maximum, the daily cost would be $3.33.

Since there are binders and artificial ingredients added to this, it reduces the overall quality of Ideal Shape. There’s a possibility for damaging effects on health, as well as a potential increase for obesity. Many of these ingredients are cheapo additives which are used to substitute more wholesome ingredients. This includes cheap binders, artificial flavors, and artificial sweeteners.

The major problem with these kinds of additives is that it’s unknown what kind of an effect they might have long-term. Also, for the price paid, this shake is not a very well-priced brand.

 To see which meal replacements made it to the top 10 list, click here.

Business of Ideal Shape

The company goes by the name of IdealShape LLC and they can be reached via the following.

Phone Number: (800) 515-0896

Address: 777 S Auto Mall Dr. Suite 111

                   American Fork, Utah 84003

Email: customerservice@idealshape.com

The company has a few complaints against the customer service:

“called three separate times requesting a refund… no return (sic)”

“company hasn’t disclosed the exact amount of lead levels contained in their product”

People were disappointed to learn that the shakes they ordered contained unknown levels of lead. This contaminant can potentially cause organ damage, coma, seizure, and even death.

The company fails to explain why lead is necessary in these shakes. It’s not a common ingredient that any other meal replacement has, and it’s potentially fatal.  Lead is sometimes found in certain weight loss products and shakes due to the manufacturing of certain ingredients. It’s unknown which of the additives in Ideal Shape is the reason for added lead.

Returns are also only offered for purchases more than $74.99.  Though there are complaints online from people claiming the company does not honor their return policy.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Ideal Shape

Here are some reviews from online users:

“it does not seem to curb my appetite”

“I ended up throwing it away without even tasting it”

“This shake is disgustingly sweet!”

“This did not suppress my appetite, I was shocked to feel the opposite, I was very hungry”

Many people were concerned to find no appetite suppression or weight loss benefits.

There were also many who found this shake far too sweet. People were concerned witht the amount of artificial sweeteners added, and there was issues with the cloyingly sweet taste.

Some could not finish the entire container due to the taste. Complaints were had by people who found that it didn’t taste natural in any way.

Conclusion - Does Ideal Shape Work?

When deciding on whether or not to try Ideal Shape, it’s important to look over all the available information.  This shakes has artificial ingredients, and many customers were concerned to learn that lead is also found in these shakes. People often mention that they couldn’t drink this shake, due to the overly sweet taste from the artificial sweeteners. These kinds of additives have shown the potential to be damaging to overall health.

A better solution for weight loss is possible through 2016’s meal replacement of the year called 18Shake.

This weight loss shake has 15 grams of quality whey protein, a potent appetite suppressing fiber, a healthy amount of vitamins and minerals, and no added fillers, binders, preservatives, or stimulants. Customers often remark on how easy it is to mix, the good flavor, how it’s a satisfying meal, and its benefits for weight loss. These are the reasons why this shake won the 2016 meal replacement of the year.

18Shake is also backed by a full 30 day money back gurantee. Returns are allowed on any purchases within this 30 day window with no questions aksed. To learn more about 18Shake, you can click here.  

How Does IdealShape Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste
  • IdealShape
  • 28 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)

Ladykourtnee

how many days does 1 idealshape meal replacement last

posted May 15th, 2016 5:43 pm


Janet

?

Where can you buy Ideal Shape without ordering it? Is there a place you can buy Ideal Shape without having to order it? I would like to get started right away, but don't want to have to wait on shipping, as I'm excited after reading all the comments.

posted Apr 27th, 2015 6:15 pm


Melani

?

ANyone reccomend snacks to help with hunger? I started using the shake yesterday and the taste is AMAZING! Everyone says they are satisfied with it yet I still feel VERY hungry...? perhaps my stomach needs to shrink before I feel "full" but I was wondering what kind of snacks are recommended to help with hunger if any. I just had a baby 4 months ago and have about 30 to lose just don't want the feeling that I may eat my arm off ;) Thank you in advance!

posted Feb 7th, 2015 8:19 pm


Cyndie

I didn't realize it has artificial sweetener in it. Artificial sweetener doesn't agree with me. I actually feel like I crave sugar after eating or drinking something with artificial sweetener. I gave my product to a friend because she wanted to try it. I won't be re-ordering! Artificial sweetener is NOT good for you.

posted Aug 12th, 2014 5:13 pm


K Smith

+

I have lost 163lbs using the ideal shape products since May 27th, 2013 -- this product works. I have a shake for breakfast (vanilla, with 8 oz unsweetened almond milk, 10 - 15 frozen blueberry's, 3-4 frozen strawberry's, blend then add 2 cubes of ice and blend again. taste is great and keeps me full for 3 hours after consumption - provided I drink a full glass of water after the shake. Oh and the Meal Replacement bars are also very good.

posted Jun 10th, 2014 7:10 pm


Barb

I like the reviews on Ideal Shape and decided to try it. I love it. I am over 60 and find it hard to lose weight now. I am a lifetime member of weight watchers too. I really like using Ideal Shape. It really does help curb my apetite. I have been on it less than 3 weeks and have lost about 12 lbs so far. I am so encouraged that this will be the "one" that will get to me to my goal once and for all. Tastes really good. I use almond mild with it and add fresh fruit to the vanilla. The chocolate is great on its own! Worth every dime. I purchased the 3 vanilla + 1 Chocolate order and I plan to use it all the itme. I have not used the pills yet.

posted May 19th, 2014 12:21 am


Barb

My husband and I started Ideal Shape about a week ago. I am 30 lbs overweight. I loved the reviews and I am glad I purchased it. The taste is wonderful and we add fruit to the vanilla to kick it up for a change. I look foward to the results as I feel pretty good that this is what I have been loking for in a meal supplement! Good luck with your weight loss.

posted May 4th, 2014 9:34 pm


Charlene

+

I absolutely love the Ideal Shape plan.. It is so easy to follow with 2 shakes a day. I feel full for about 3-4 hours. The shakes are the best meal replacement shake I have ever had. They taste like a milk shake. I have been on the plan for 2 weeks and have 50 pounds to lose. I haven't weighed myself, but everyone is noticing that I am losing. I feel so much better as well. I plan on ordering the 2 month supply with the additional fat burners for accelerated weight loss. The products are also one of the most inexpensive plans around. Simply the best.

posted Jul 16th, 2013 7:31 pm


jandj

+

I just started this diet. I have lost 5 pounds in 5 days. I'm at 1250-1450 calories a day. I mix my 2 shakes a day with frozen fruit and a fresh banana, I eat 1 meal a day in the middle of the day and keep it to lean meat and veggies, I eat one piece of chocolate (bite size) a day, and if I am still hungry I eat 25 pistachios. It's too new to see what will happen. But I look forward to my shakes and stay comfortable. Not full, but comfortable. So far it's the easiest diet I have been on.

posted Jan 5th, 2013 3:08 am


Chrystal

@Olgalucia You can't compare apples to oranges. The problem with your comment is that you have three different people, three different bodies, three different metabolism, and three different activity levels. It is an unfair judgement to say Ideal Shape produced the least amount of weight loss in your trial. To make it a fair trial you need to do one month where all participants are on X, then the following month switch, then the following month switch. I guarantee you will all see different results on each of the products because of your different bodies. Some of you could be insulin resistant and not even know it. So many medical things go unnoticed and could also explain the lessor loss. Also, unless you are babysitting the other two all day, you really don't know what they are doing for exercise and what they are shoving in their mouth.

posted Jul 25th, 2012 1:11 pm


Stacey

+

I was striving for a fairly accelerated weight loss of at least 12 pounds in apprximately 40 days. I am an avid exerciser and I didn't want to lose muscle in the process. I am doing 2 shakes/day and supplementing with a meal and snacks to achieve 1200 calories/day. I have a shake for breakfast and one for dinner. I like both the chocolate and vanilla, but I do favor the chocolate. I am content after drinking the shake for about 2 hours and my hunger kicks in. I'm certain it kicks in so quickly because of the caloric burn due to my workouts. I am 16 days into my plan and am definitely seeing the results.

posted Jul 18th, 2012 11:01 pm


Jove

+

Works super well. I was actually surprised at how well it kept me full.

posted Jul 17th, 2012 4:30 pm


TXGator

Love Ideal Shape! I've been using the shakes for a few months now and it's definitely helped me to lose weight. I'm trying to make a lifestyle change - eating healthier and exercising. I find the Ideal Shape shakes really help to curb my hunger. I was doing Slim Fast before and Ideal Shape is heads and tails better for controlling my appetite than Slim Fast was!!

posted May 15th, 2012 7:38 pm


Olgalucia

Sorry to disappoint many of you. 2 Friends and I started using the shakes: Visalus, Herbal Life and I did IdealShape. After 1 month of doing everything by the book, I lost 4 lbs, Visalus friend lost 6 lbs and Herbal Life friend lost 11 lbs. The difference? I have no idea. It doesnt work for everybody and all bodies are different. My best guess: do exercise and don't over eat. (by the way all 3 have good flavors)

posted Mar 30th, 2012 11:06 am


Steph33

+

love this. I have used idealshape for a while and am in love with it

posted Jun 1st, 2011 5:53 pm


JayCee

+

Sounds wild... Ill try anything to lose weight!

posted Jun 1st, 2011 5:42 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

IdealShape is a weight loss program involving a dietary supplement shake, supplements, brain training exercises and an eBook. The meal replacement shakes include Slendesta Hunger-Blockers to help you curb your appetite. You can get the shake mix in vanilla or chocolate flavors. The supplement that comes with the IdealShape system is ResveraShape which is specifically formulated to increase your weight loss. Resveratrol is one of the key ingredients that helps you lose fat, build muscles, increase energy, stimulate your metabolism, reduce cravings, and increase your overall feeling of well-being. The eBook that comes with your IdealShape program is their revolutionary plan to transform you into IdealShape.

You use this eBook to create the perfect exercise plan to meet your weight loss goals. You can also use the eBook to help you with nutrition and supplement guidance. The last element of the IdealShape program is the Brain Food and Mastering the Mind CD series. This CD uses hypnotherapy to help remove some deep rooted behaviors that could be counterproductive to your weight loss goals. It is guaranteed to work and will help remove the negative associations you might have with proper diet and exercise.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

PRO
  • Approaches diet and exercise from every angle
  • Includes elements to help curb your appetite
  • Several success stories
  • Acknowledges that there is no magic pill for weight loss
  • Web site includes extensive information on all products
  • Works on the psychological area of weight loss as well as physical
CON
  • Some may still believe that the meal replacement and supplements will make them lose weight without dieting or exercise
  • Must stay on the program for several months to progress with the CD series
INGREDIENTS

The ingredients for the chocolate meal replacement are as follows:

  • Vitamin A
  • Calcium
  • Vitamin D
  • Thiamin
  • Niacin
  • Vitamin B12
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Iodine
  • Zinc
  • Chloride

The ingredients for the ResveraShape supplements include:

  • Resveratrol
  • Green tea extract
  • Caffeine Anhydrous
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Kelp
  • Grapefruit powder
ADMINISTRATION

For the meal replacement shake, mix one level scoop of IdealShape shake with 8 ounces of skim milk or water and mix in a blender or shaker bottle. Replace one to two meals per day with the shake to control cravings and accelerate weight loss. Be sure to eat at least one balanced meal per day.

For the ResveraShape capsules, take one tablet with 8 ounces of water early morning and early afternoon. Do not exceed more than two capsules per day.

DIET & EXERCISE

Diet and exercise are important staples for achieving weight loss results with the IdealShape program. You are given proper diet and exercise guidance through the eBook that comes with the program. It is recommended that you eat five to six times per day to speed up your metabolism. To lose weight, you should cut 300 to 500 calories daily from the amount of calories your body needs each day. You get to create your own meal plan so that you’re no eating foods you don’t like. You also get a cheat day each week where you can eat freely. For the days that you are on the program, the eBook offers some sample meal suggestions and a few recipes to help you out. There are some general rules to follow for success:

  • Do not go to the grocery store without a plan
  • Eat 5-6 times per day at evenly spaced times
  • Eat your meals uninterrupted and slowly

The exercise program is carefully outlined so that you can lose weight effectively. There are five target areas that the program focuses on for exercise. All of the exercises are simple and convenient and you can do them at home or at the gym. The five components include foam rolling, active stretching, resistance training, core and cardio. Within one workout you can incorporate all five elements. There is a calendar showing which elements you should complete on a given day in case you don’t want to do them all in one workout. There are photos within the eBook showing how to execute all of the moves. Below is a workout sample and how long you would spend on each element:

  • Foam rolling – 10 minutes
  • Active stretching – 10 minutes
  • Resistance training – 12-15 minutes
  • Core – 10 minutes
  • Cardio – 20-30 minutes
CONCLUSION

IdealShape is not your average dietary supplement plan. Many supplements and shakes tell you to follow a proper diet and exercise plan, and leave it up to you to figure out what that is. IdealShape gives you the tools to be successful including a hypnotherapy CD, complete diet and exercise details, meal replacement shake and weight loss supplement pills. This product includes the complete package to allow you to lose weight and keep it off successfully. You can combat negative thoughts you have towards eating healthy and exercising with the CD. Everything you need is included and the product is reasonably priced.

Common Misspellings

ideally shape, ideals shape, IdealShapes, shape ideal, idolshape

Related Diets: Slim Fast 321, Think and Be Thin , Body For Life

Whats better than
IdealShape?