Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 45 reviews

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers weight loss of three to seven pounds per week. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Women can expect to lose three to four pounds per week while men can lose four to seven pounds per week on this program. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Diet is less than 1,000 calories each day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. This diet is high in protein overall. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick t the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 46 total comments)

Rebecca

the best diet plan I have ever been on with the best most consistent results!

posted Oct 25th, 2014 10:44 pm


Firsthand Experience

I have watched firsthand as my wife, 3 in laws and 6 others have gone on and used this diet.

Yes it works, but you do this ON YOUR OWN FOR MUCH LESS.

$4 per protein bar? $4 per protein shake? And they recommend you consume 3-5 of their $4 each products per day. That's $12-$20 per day! And that's not including your actual meals.

You can buy equivalent/better bars and shakes for $1-$2 per serving. Pure Protein. Sensible low carb, low sugar eating with lots of vegetables. That's it.

Do the math. My norther in law is spending almost $800 on just heir products. He could be spending $250.

I have run this diet by registered dietitians and nutritionists who liken this diet to a pseudo-Atkins. Not the best thing for your body. Plus all of the artificial sweeteners.

BodyTech "Ideal Protein" is here to make money - lots of it - off of people. RIP OFF and UNHEALTHY!

posted Sep 4th, 2014 8:58 pm


LisaV

Easy to follow. Weight comes off easily (even in your 40s/menopause). Food: some good, some not so much, but you just have to find what works for you.
Cheating will halt your loss (or show a lower number) I have cheated myself, but get right back on. I have lost 30 and continue to lose (goal is to lose 75 total)

posted Jul 8th, 2014 2:56 pm


Len

I started the program on October 8th 2013. 53 year old male. hit my target weight loos of 40lbs 2 weeks ago. Just starting Phase 3. This program was outstanding for me. I feel reborn. Al I can say is if you need to lose weight do it either on this program or choose something that will work for you. I'm excited to starting living again and enjoying a new healthy lifestyle. Good luck

posted Dec 27th, 2013 6:56 pm


Jena E

I have been the Ideal You program for 11 weeks and have lost over 30 pounds. I am female, age 55. Frankly, I had given up losing weight at my age but this has worked for me. A key to this program is finding a center with well trained coaches. At my center, the coaches are nurses who have personally be on the program. I certainly feel better; joint pain is gone. I didn't suffer from any chronic health problems prior to the program (no high blood pressure, diabetes) but I knew I was at risk. I have a long way to go but each week at my coaching session, I have lost weight and inches. The daily educational videos and recipe tips are awesome. I have learned a LOT about how my body works and what fuel it needs. It isn't the program for everyone but it is the program for me!

posted Dec 5th, 2013 2:53 pm


Sylvia

Ideal Protein – Buyer Beware – Deadly Health Risk – Testimonial
I joined up after hearing about those positive results. I completed an Ideal Protein 9 Page Patient Profile prior to my initial appointments which include my health history and all medications I was taking. At my appointment at a Chiropractic Office (Doctor) I met with a part time IP Coach, who had me review a video, performed a weight & BMI & water bio-impedance measurement(s), gave me some hand-outs, and selected boxed food and drinks to take for the upcoming week. I paid my consultation and food fees and then my meeting was complete. All was OK except I was told I had a -3 water deficit, and advised by the IP coach to drink more water.
Next week I weighed in, and lost 10 pounds, restocked my food, and paid my bill to the part time IP coach. Soon afterwards that day I was having severe abnormal neurologic and physical and mental changes and feeling I was going to collapse. My blood pressure went to 170/100 and pulse dropped to 55 or less. I contacted the Chiropractic Office for advice and there was no one available to answer my help call. I immediately drove to the local Emergency Unit and was treated for Acute Hyponatremia (water intoxication). I was drinking a lot of water because the IP coach told me I was dehydrated.
I spent two days in the local hospital and advised about the foolish decision I made doing this Ketosis type diet with my significant health history. I have only one kidney, take water pills (diuretic), controlled high blood pressure and antiarrhythmic meds, and stage II obesity. I could do just as good if I purchased their food from a Walgreens or CVS?
While in hospital my spouse contacted the Chiropractic office to get a refund on the food I had just purchased. She was told to bring the food products back to them, but was informed that I was to have reviewed the program with my medical physician (MD); that you only go to their office to pick out your food. Additionally I was informed later that the Ideal Protein Owners provide a Script of what to say or respond to certain questions they are asked of their customers (not patients of course).
My complaint is that I thought I was going to a Chiropractic Medical Office to go on a medically supervised weight loss program. I assumed that I was having a Medical Professional, a Chiropractic Doctor (with a fundamental knowledge of basic electrolyte and nutritional background); provide consultation, clinical assessment, and medical screening, on my entrance to the Ideal Protein Weight loss Program. This did not occur.
If true, a flag should have gone up with medical profile of one kidney, on a diuretic pill with hypertensive drugs, etc. I should have been instructed to wait one week either until the water deficit is gone, given a modified program to wean in to the ketosis, or denied access to the program, all due to health reasons.
This Ideal Protein program might be Ok if you’re young and healthy, but should be declined if you have health issues. You can’t rely on the distributors that sell the program, because they have scripts to deflect any responsibility and accountability.
Some people with similar experiences, as I have, contacted me to join them in legal action against all parties engaged in Ideal Protein medically unsupervised program, with scripted and un-accountable responses, where they occur.

posted Dec 2nd, 2013 9:49 pm


AL

This diet is a boot camp for your metabolism. If you commit a reasonable amount of time, you will lose weight, learn about your metabolism, and learn to appreciate vegetables. Once you achieve your goal, you are transitioned off of the packets of food and taught how to eat real food. After losing 45 pounds over three years on weight watchers, I needed help to lose the remaining 15 pounds that I needed to lose. I did the Ideal protein for two months and lost ten pounds. I stopped doing the program because I had a lot of travel planned. I have maintained my loss and will resume the Ideal Protein "bootcamp" when my schedule allows. I would not recommend doing this diet if you have to be away from home or your kitchen. Otherwise, it is a short term fix for a long term problem.

posted Oct 28th, 2013 6:05 pm


Nicole

I lost 23 lbs on my own and needed some help losing the last 18 lbs. I started Ideal Protein on May 29, 2013 and as of today (7/13) I lost a total of 19 lbs. It works great and it's so easy. I feel so much better and I have tons of energy. I would recommend this diet to anyone that has struggled with trying to lose weight.

posted Jul 13th, 2013 1:46 pm


Caroline

My husband and I started 2 weeks ago. At my first weigh in (a few days late) I was down 9.6 lbs and 11 inches. My husband was down 11 lbs and 5 inches. I went on it because of borderline high blood pressure and could not tolerate my cholesterol medication. My blood pressure is now in the normal range, my headaches have disappeared and have lost 2 dress sizes. Although much of the food I do not like, I have found some things that I do like and feel much better physically than I have in a long time. I would recommend this diet for people who are very committed (I have tried Weight Watchers and Jenny Craig and Atkins), and none of them have worked the way Ideal Protein has. I am aware that I will need to make long-term changes in how I eat, but now I find that it's easy to follow, as long as you plan ahead for what you plan to eat (vegetables and lunch and dinner and protein at dinner). You'll need to eat every 3 - 4 hours to feel OK; otherwise, you feel lightheaded. That aside, you are not hungry. I am glad that we are doing it, in spite of the expense. I have not had such loss nor felt this optimistic about being able to lose the way I am with any other diet.

posted Jul 13th, 2013 4:25 am


Karen

I have been on the Ideal Protein diet for 2 months now. I had lost 60 pounds on my own then stalled. When I got to the point where I was ready to get back on the horse I researched a few different diets. I went on Weight Watchers and actually gained weight. I then heard about Ideal Protein. I have to say it is amazing. It is not for the faint of heart. Like all weight loss, you have to want it and be willing to give up a bit to attain the rewards of the program. I am very happy I made this commitment. In 8 weeks I am down another 34 pounds and feel great! The support at the clinic I attend is amazing. I want to lose another 70 pounds and have no intentions of doing it by any other means then this diet; however, phase 1 is very restrictive and you have to be 100% committed and want to lose the weight or it is not for you. If you want to see fast results, if that what keeps you motivated as it does me, then this eating plan is the way to go.

posted May 26th, 2013 8:59 pm


Mya Chan

This diet works like a charm. Anyone who complains about gaining all the weight back and says that's why they don't like the diet is ridiculous. This diet does help you learn how to eat healthy, and if you decide to go back to eating junk all day, obviously you're going to gain weight! Also, if you follow the phases properly you will NOT gain a bunch of weight back when you start to re-introduce certain foods (that's why this diet has phases in the first place). Plus, everyone I know who has done this diet and loves cheated/had a treat every now and again during the first couple phases and still lost the weight. When you are eating a proper healthy diet as a way of life, having a cupcake or a couple pieces of pizza a couple times a month will not affect your weight. If you maintain the proper diet, you will not re-gain the weight. If you go back to your old poor eating habits, you will. Simple.

posted May 15th, 2013 12:53 am


Michelle

I started Ideal protein 4 months ago and dropped 53 lbs. The diet was easy to follow and food packs ok. I have had to make adjustments for this diet I cannot take the Calcium magnesium pills since they affect my bowels. Luckily for me my ideal protein clinic in situated within a naturopathic clinic. the naturopath was able to customize my supplements to help me deal with my bowels and identfied and treated a slow thyroid in the process. I have been extremely well followed and would recommend this diet to anyone.

posted May 8th, 2013 9:12 pm


Toni

I have been following the Ideal Protein protocol for 11 weeks and have lost 27 pounds of fat. My depression, chronic fatigue, heartburn, and achy joints have disappeared. I am now in the second phase of the diet and have gone down 4 sizes! I recommend this lifestyle change to anyone who is struggling with food addiction, especially sugar addicts.

posted May 4th, 2013 3:00 pm


Tina

I just started this program a couple of weeks ago.....am down 9 lbs and I can't believe how energized I feel.................the 2nd day was definitely the hardest and even though I am still in the beginning stages, I am motivated because I feel good!

posted May 2nd, 2013 12:31 pm


Lectra

It was the best ting iv ever put myself into. Iv lost 36 pounds and feeling amazing!!!!

posted May 1st, 2013 3:03 pm


Monica

I started this diet at the end of September 2012. I've lost 60 pounds since then. This diet works. I found some of the food intolerable, but then I just ordered the ones I liked instead. Everyone's tastes are different, and they do have a good variety of things. It is a cost, but when you start realizing you aren't buying all the junk food and eating out, it really isn't that expensive for the amazing results you can achieve. I highly recommend this diet.

posted Apr 1st, 2013 5:34 pm


Steve

Does Ideal Protein work for men? My mother-in-law started this program Jan. 2012, and has lost 100 pounds now. I'm impressed and am going to my consultation today to try this for myself. I'm curious though if it works well for men, most people I see in this forum are female.

posted Mar 26th, 2013 6:03 pm



Shelbie Leigh Carr

i highly recomend ideal protein especially for those people who have a lot to loose. i have been on program since October 17th 2012 and have lost 77.5 pounds. I still have a long road ahead of me but for once in my life I feel like the goal im hoping to achieve is actually attainable. Good luck to anyone trying to loose weight in any method they choose, its hard but its worth it!!

posted Feb 24th, 2013 11:09 pm


cliff

I started the IP program on Oct. 27,and have lost 71 pounds. Follow the protocol exactly and the weight will fall off. No cheating and you will be rewarded. Gotta go buy new clothes.

posted Feb 10th, 2013 10:14 pm


Disappointed

What a horrible diet! As well as the most expensive only to eat powders and chocolate bars. Full of artificial sweeteners that are very unhealthy! Stay away...

posted Jan 31st, 2013 9:57 am



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account