Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 142 reviews

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers rapid weight loss while sparing lean muscle mass. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss. Ideal protein is not a high protein diet.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Calorie count is between 1,000-1,100 calories per day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick to the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 137 total comments)

Heidi

How much will it cost per month and how many prepackaged meals a day will I eat? ideal protein diet with meal packets

posted Feb 6th, 2016 3:15 pm


Juan De Jesus

This is the best diet I've ever been. I've lost 35 pounds in less than two months. Now discipline is the main factor in anything that you get into. My muscles pain went away and I can say that I'm a new person today.

posted Feb 3rd, 2016 2:57 pm


maria

This is "The Diet", never been able to get rid of cellulite before and now I have. I'm a healthy and loving it!

posted Jan 26th, 2016 7:22 pm


Marie Conroy

Just completed my first week on IP and lost 5 pounds. First couple of days were rough. I felt very tired and weak but passed by day 4. Never really hungry. The shakes, bars and snacks are ok. The soups and other meals are gross, I just can't choke them down so struggling a bit with what to eat for lunches. I have 30lbs to go which I hope I can achieve by end of April. Can't imagine eating these packaged foods for much longer than that.

posted Jan 22nd, 2016 5:44 pm


Nancy B.

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy B.

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy Birthman

I was on Ideal Protein Diet twice! First time I lost 83# went through the four phases. Once off it I craved sugar so badly gained most of the weight back. Tried again, got so sick of the diet food I stopped. Have gained all weight back plus 13# more. It seems all the reviews I've read about I.P diet does not have anyone that has been off the diet very long, and does not use any of I.P. Food once off! And it is so expensive, I can't believe I spent that much money!

posted Jan 21st, 2016 12:28 pm


Julie thomas

flyingjthomas@gmail.com I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:29 pm


Julie thomas

I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:26 pm


Sumrana

Combined Super HD Fat burning Capsule with my ideal pro town Diet Just started this diet today, was the hardest tiring nauseated day , But also a mixed feeling of just amazing!! The feeling to be able to have self control and knowing I don't have any unneccessery processed foods and sugar in me feels excellent !! My question is I used to take cellulosis super HD fat sculpting capsule once a day and want to know if it's safe to continue with this diet, I feel it will work so much better but don't want a reverse effect or any health issue. Please let me know only if you are sure, I read some where the combination of a fat burner with IP is great ! Thank

posted Jan 17th, 2016 4:36 am


Heather

The structure was very helpful for me. The education has helped me keep the weight off. I love the 4 phases. My coach was amazing. Also, I like that it is based in real science and provided by an actual healthcare provider.

posted Jan 15th, 2016 7:12 pm


Marina

I am in my 40's and have always struggled with my weight. I would manage to lose 20lbs here and there but gained back 40lb. When I saw a co worker melting away I had to ask what was going on. She introduced me to Ideal Protein and I knew this was my last shot at finding something that was going to work for me. I started on June 9th, 2015 and today I am proud to say I have lost 75lbs!!! It was a lot of self control, but my weight coach always made it fun and found me different recipes that I can make and I never felt like I was missing out! In fact, this program was a HUGE eye opener of how badly I used to eat. I have not been this small since way way before I got married and had kids. I am so glad I made this commitment and I will never eat the same again!

posted Jan 14th, 2016 6:49 pm


Susan Grim

I just started this week and lost 7 lbs! It was fun and not hard. Lookiing forward to the 3-4 lbs a week. No Cheating is my goal!

posted Jan 8th, 2016 3:09 pm


Alyssa

Lost 25 pounds in 2 months and learned how to keep it off! Great program that everyone should try!

posted Jan 6th, 2016 2:24 pm


Maggie

It is an extremely effective diet but there is in misinformation in the description. The low calorie allowance launches a very powerful metabolic response that is safe, is a natural appetite suppressant (which is why people report not being hungry after the first week or days) so it is not as if you were starving your way through it. Your fat stores contribute a lot of calories so you are living off of those, the reduction in exercise is to prevent high intensity aerobics but walking and yoga are fine.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 7:00 pm


Marcia

The center piece of the diet, and the part that leads to life long good health habits, is consuming four cups of selected vegetables and 8 oz of lean protein each and every day. The IP products are for supplementing protein intake while in ketosis. Although tasty, they are by no means the entire focus of the plan. The gradual reintroduction of dairy, grains and fruits in the one month phase off leads to a solid, long term eating plan that will promote health and keep the weight from returning.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 6:50 pm


Elizabeth

First diet in 20 years that actually WORKS! Zero exercise, great protein products to choose from, and best of all .... belly bulge is gone along with back fat and muffin top!!! This is every women's best friend! (back pain, skin condition, and digestion issues I was having have gone away as well.) This is more than just a diet - IT'S LIFE CHANGING. Oh and did I say the chocolate drink mix is AMAZING!! (drinks, protein bars, chips, pasta, soup, pancakes, oatmeal, omelets, puddings, brownies.... oh my the options are endless)
Thank you Ideal Protein

posted Jan 5th, 2016 5:45 pm


Elizabeth

First Diet in 20 years that has worked for me!!! The products are AMAZING and there is so much variety.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 5:28 pm


Ana

Ideal was the best thing I ever did for my health. Correction on your comments. You don't eat prepackaged meals, you supplement with three of their protein per day. So example I would pick a soup but then add shrimp to it. You learn what you should eat to lose weight. Once you're in ketosis (takes 3 days) you shouldn't be hungry. I wasn't. Got to my goal weight in 5-months.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 3:18 pm


Lisa

I love this program and have been able to maintain my 37lb. weight loss for the past year. I am past menopause and didn't think my body would respond to any diet very well, but after setting out to lose 15 lbs. I was amazed to learn that Ideal Protein did indeed work very well for me. I am healthier than I've been in years, and my doctor was amazed at my bloodwork. The losing phase of the program is very restrictive, but by eliminating the carbs you are also eliminating the cravings that we all have. The continued education throughout the program becomes very motivational and helps keeps us focused on the end result - overall better health! Like any diet, if we return to our old bad eating habits after losing the weight, we will regain. The education on maintenance is quite a different strategy from other programs and makes it easy to eat "normally" and yet healthy. I'm thrilled that Ideal Protein came into my life and my husband's as well.

posted Jan 2nd, 2016 6:11 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account