Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 152 reviews
Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers rapid weight loss while sparing lean muscle mass. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss. Ideal protein is not a high protein diet.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Calorie count is between 1,000-1,100 calories per day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick to the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method

How Does Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste
  • Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 148 total comments)

Mama G

-

Overview of Ideal Protein:
It does work. The only reason I did this program is because I saw 3 men turn from “football, husky bodies” into basketball lean, healthy bodies.”

Pros:
you eat LOTS more veggies and salad than you probably normally would in your regular habits.
If you like a no-brainer (I don’t have to think about major meal planning) then this may work for you.
You drink at least 64 oz of water everyday.
There are aprrox 78 packaged food to choose from.**
Ketosis is a real scientific process the body does when given the “right” foods for the process.
Meet with a IP Coach each week until weight is lost and transitioned back to “real” eating.

Cons:
EXPENSIVE. $300 start up, then you buy $70-$90 of the IP foods/supplements each week, plus all the veggies ~4-6cups/day and fresh protein ~8oz/day.
**If you are lactose intolerant or have a dairy allergy there are less than 20 items that don’t contain dairy/whey. Most products use soy or milk derived protein sources. I wish I had known this before I signed the dotted line.
The ‘coaching’ videos are vague and, in my opinion useless. I believe they keep the videos that way to “protect’ their formulas/research.
Forget exercise :( I’ve lost SO MUCH muscle strength in the past 4 wks :( Boo!

Be sure to read the ingredients & nutrition labels (when they are listed). Even their fancy salt has sugar added to it. Yeah I know sugar in the salt?! What?!

I am losing weight, but am thankful I only have 20lbs overall to lose. I won’t be doing IP again. May 2016.

posted May 12th, 2016 11:03 pm


Mary

+

I really like the IP diet so far. It's only been 5 days but I am not hungry at all. I have been on many diets over the years, including the medi weight loss one which is quite similar to the IP except half the price. That was the only diet that I lost over 20 lbs.

posted May 6th, 2016 4:52 pm


Lynne H

+

I just passed my 3rd week mark on IP diet. It has been hard, but I'm committed to it and have found ways to make it more manageable for myself. I just turned 53, weighed 237 at my first weight in, and I'm insulin resistant which makes this a must for me. Being on the verge of being full blown diabetic I knew I had to do something. This is working for me. It is hard at times, but when you stop and think about it, it's just teaching you to eat correctly so you can be healthy. I have lost 12 pounds in the 3 weeks I've been on it. Yes it is a little pricey on the food, but once you are past Phase 2 that cost will drop.
If you are having a hard time, do a little research on eating all natural, go to the website for "The Truth About Cancer" it all ties together. Some of the information I heard on their docu series tied right in with what IP is teaching you about eating right.
If the lunches are too bland, try eating half of your night time protein at lunch each day along with the IP protein (I usually incorporate the Sea Salt Crips or a pudding), then eat the other half of your 8 oz portion at night with your 2 cups of veggies. Yes you will still be hungry, drink water. It took many years for your body to get used to your eating habits, it's going to take a while for it to get used to not having so much food in it. Good luck.

posted May 3rd, 2016 2:44 pm


Britney

+

I am a 21 year old college student. This January I hit the biggest I have ever been at 224. I was devastated, before I had tried slim fast, Jenny Craig, beach body and weight watchers. Non of them had worked for me. I started ideal protein, and 3 months later, I have lost 42 lbs. I feel great and I have never been this small. I'm at my half way mark. The support and constant heath monitoring makes this the only diet that I will ever recommend to anyone. It is more pricey than others and takes alot of time. There is no fruit and some of the pre-packaged food lacks in taste, but once you find things you like, it is easy to stick with.

I grew up in a house where every night was fast food. I am learning to cook healthier meals, and to think about what I'm puting in my body. Look up recipes and ask your advisor if you have any questions. This is a great diet and I have had nothing but success.

posted Apr 29th, 2016 6:40 am


Malinda

+

The diet concept makes sense and produces results. I've been on a similar diet with a competitor and had great success. But the high cost of the Ideal Protein food makes this program unsustainable. My monthly food bill is three times higher than it normally is ($1000.00 per month!!). I will not be able to complete this diet to my conclusion simply because it costs way too much. I'll put in the 16 weeks I've already paid for then move on. Hopefully this program will help me get close to my goal before I'm forced to leave.

posted Apr 25th, 2016 8:22 pm


Trudy

+

I am just finishing my second week on the IP diet. My coach, who is also a friend and,neighbour, lost 132#. She looks amazing!! I am diabetic, type 2 and was having a difficult time getting my readings out of the double digits and for the past almost 2 weeks, I haven't had a double digit reading at all. My doctor will be amazed when he sees me in 3 months as he was threatening more diabetic pills or needle. Oh, I lost 5# the first week 😊

posted Apr 24th, 2016 12:51 am


Mario Mancheno

+

I have lost 20 lbs in 5 weeks, ideal protein protocol diet really works!
I love eating, but I'm over 50 year old and I want to look good and be alive to see my grandkids .

posted Apr 9th, 2016 12:44 pm


Mike

+

Amazing program! Lost 45 lbs and have kept it off for five years now. Really gave me an understanding of weight management and life style. Highly recommend this program!

posted Mar 23rd, 2016 6:27 pm


Rapjr

My wife and I started together thru our doctor. After two weeks, I realized the meals were bland, not fulfilling and too dang expensive for both of us. With some research, I was able to calculate my needs, plan meals and do my own version. My wife stick to IP. I lost 7 lbs on IP over two weeks. Then I lost 11lbs on my versions first week- and was definitely more fulfilled than on IP. I went from 225lbs to 170lbs in 4 months, Bp dropped from 140/95 on meds to 115/69, off meds. IP and similar low carb/sugar lifestyle is definitely not for everyone! It's hard to stay resolute, honestly. I've gained most back over three years, but I'm in my forties and travel for work....so, I started again, March 9, 2016 and have lost 17lbs already. Bp today @ doctor was 118/82...No meds. SUGAR, Dunkin donuts flavor coffee and Pepsi are my nemesis! So overall IP is awesome for loss, if you can stick to it.

posted Mar 22nd, 2016 1:19 am


Deana

+

I've been on this diet for 10 weeks now, lost 38.2 pounds, and have never been on a diet in my 40+ years of dieting that has this low amount of caloric intake that I've NOT cheated on. This diet is easy, I have an abundance of energy, feel awesome, and think I can actually see this diet all the way through to the end.

posted Mar 6th, 2016 6:46 pm


Dee

?

What is the average daily sodium intake and recommendation on phase one of the IPD? What is the average amount of sodium intake on phase one of the diet? What is the recommended amount?. Told to use salt generously and bought the salt supplement.

posted Feb 18th, 2016 5:04 pm


Heidi

?

How much will it cost per month and how many prepackaged meals a day will I eat? ideal protein diet with meal packets

posted Feb 6th, 2016 3:15 pm


Juan De Jesus

This is the best diet I've ever been. I've lost 35 pounds in less than two months. Now discipline is the main factor in anything that you get into. My muscles pain went away and I can say that I'm a new person today.

posted Feb 3rd, 2016 2:57 pm


maria

+

This is "The Diet", never been able to get rid of cellulite before and now I have. I'm a healthy and loving it!

posted Jan 26th, 2016 7:22 pm


Marie Conroy

+

Just completed my first week on IP and lost 5 pounds. First couple of days were rough. I felt very tired and weak but passed by day 4. Never really hungry. The shakes, bars and snacks are ok. The soups and other meals are gross, I just can't choke them down so struggling a bit with what to eat for lunches. I have 30lbs to go which I hope I can achieve by end of April. Can't imagine eating these packaged foods for much longer than that.

posted Jan 22nd, 2016 5:44 pm


Nancy B.

+

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy B.

+

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy Birthman

-

I was on Ideal Protein Diet twice! First time I lost 83# went through the four phases. Once off it I craved sugar so badly gained most of the weight back. Tried again, got so sick of the diet food I stopped. Have gained all weight back plus 13# more. It seems all the reviews I've read about I.P diet does not have anyone that has been off the diet very long, and does not use any of I.P. Food once off! And it is so expensive, I can't believe I spent that much money!

posted Jan 21st, 2016 12:28 pm


Julie thomas

?

flyingjthomas@gmail.com I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:29 pm


Julie thomas

I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




text

Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!

Whats better than
Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method?