Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 281 reviews
Hydroxycut

Hydroxycut Review: Does it Work?

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Hydroxycut is a weight loss brand that’s available in different forms, with common ingredients such as green coffee bean. They often use this ingredient to show that within 60 days, people lost 10.95 pounds versus a placebo.

The intended benefits of this brand are increased fat loss, energy, and enhanced metabolism. For their caffeine brands, they advise to start with just 1 capsule a day, then eventually building up to 2 capsules twice a day. Their Hydroxycut blend is a proprietary formula featuring fruit, green coffee, and saffron. In this review you’ll learn about the surprising company history, what customers have to say about it, and whether or not it’s a good weight loss supplement. The top 10 diet pills are featured in this comprehensive list.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Hydroxycut Ingredients and Side Effects

Robusta Coffee Extract (45% (Chlorogenic Acid)

Papaya

Blackberry

Saffron Extract

Caffeine Anhydrous

Maqui

Amla Extract

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Dicalcium Phosphate Dihydrate

Pre-gelatinized Starch

Stearic Acid

Titanium Dioxide

Polyethylene Glycol

Talc

Croscarmellose Sodium

Magnesium Stearate

Silicon Dioxide

 

 

Robusta Coffee Extract (45% Chlorogenic Acid): Unroasted Robusta coffee, which is a species of coffee bean known for its higher bitterness and acidity.

It’s intended to help improve metabolism and control blood sugar. It can potentially cause side effects that include:

  •  Insomnia, nausea, and agitation.
  •  Anxiety, rapid heart rate, and difficulty concentrating.
  •  Restlessness, ringing in the ears, and headaches.

A study is provided by the manufacturers to show how effective this ingredient is versus a placebo.

The study was funded by a company who sells this extract, so there’s a potential for bias. In this study they took 50 volunteers and made them follow a low calorie diet.

Other unbiased studies have shown this ingredient to be ineffective for weight loss. Examine.com adds:

“seems weakly to moderately effective (on fat loss)”

It’s possible the only reason for fat loss is due to the caffeine.

Saffron Extract: Plant extract that’s used in cooking, as well as a way to improve mood and reduce sickness. Though there isn’t sufficient studies about its use. Web MD adds:

“There isn’t enough information to know how saffron might work”

“Taking large amounts of saffron by mough is POSSIBLY UNSAFE”

Possible side effects include:

  • Yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  •  Poisoning.
  •  Vomiting, bloody diarrhea, and numbness.
  •  Death.  

When taken at large amounts there have been cases of people dying from this.

Caffeine Anhydrous: Dehydrated form of caffeine that stimulates the central nervous system, it increaseses energy and metabolism.

A full serving of Hydroxycut Pro Clinical, their flagship brand, has 400 mg per daily serving. This is the maximum allowed limit for caffeine, and due to this, the company mentions:

“Do not take within 5 hours of bedtime”

“Consume 8 to 10 glasses of water per day”

This is to avoid both insomnia and dehydration. They also advise to not take any other stimulants, since it would likely raise the risk for serious side effects. Though on its own, it can potentially cause:

  •  Anxiety, agitation, and pain in the chest.
  •  Rapid heart rate, tremors, and jitters.
  •  Cardiovascular damage, insomnia, and restlessness.
  •  Dehydration, headaches, and mood swings.

Caffeine also has limitations, as Examine.com adds:

“Habitual caffeine use leads to tolerance. This means the effects of caffeine will be diminished… where the only benefit a user experiences is caffeine’s anti-sleep effect”

Therefore, caffeine must be only taken for short periods before it loses its potential weight loss effects.

Certain people are much more sensitive to caffeine, and that’s why it’s advised to slowly introduce this brand, and to not take more than just 1 pill to start with.

Maqui: A berry found in parts of Latin America, it’s used to help with weight loss. However, Web MD adds:

“There isn’t enough information to know if maqui is safe”

The possible side effects are also not known.

Amla Extract: This fruit has been used to lower bad cholesterol, and to provide antioxidant support. Though Examine.com adds:

“there is not enough evidence to recommend Amla for any particular purpose”

There have also been cases of people experiencing liver damage.

For better options for weight loss, you can find the very best diet pills brands by clicking here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Hydroxycut Quality of Ingredients

Ingredients like amla, maqui, and saffron have not been thoroughly studied and it’s unknown if they would affect weight loss.

Then there’s the added caffeine and green coffee bean which are the key active ingredients. Caffeine can be replaced with coffee or tea for cheaper and green coffee bean hasn’t shown any valuable weight loss effects. Studies have shown it to be either ineffective, or weak in its possible weight loss effects.

For the kinds of ingredients used, the lack of clinical studies for some ingredients, and the unknown side effects of certain additives, this mixture is a poor choice for weight loss. There are far too many unanswered questions to determine what the formula might do.

The Price and Quality of Hydroxycut

Sales are not offered via the manfaucturer, but they do suggest multiple online and in store 3rd party retailers.

Amazon.com sells one 150 capsule bottle for $28.56.  At the maximum dosage of 4 capsules a day, this lasts for a total of 37.5 days. This makes the daily cost for supplementation 76 cents.

Though inexpensive, many of the ingredinets in this are either innefective for weight loss, not yet proven, or can be replaced.

There’s a high amount of caffeine in this which isn’t a long lasting source for weight loss. It may also provide side effects. Stimulant free options for long lasting weight loss are available if you click here.

Caffeine at 400 mg is roughly 4 cups of coffee. That’s why special considerations must be put in place to help protect against side effects. Still, the key active ingredients in caffeine and green coffee bean extract aren’t enough to suggest both reliable and safe effects.  These two ingredients can also be replaced for much cheaper.

Business of Hydroxycut

The owners of this brand are Iovate Health Sciences Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (888) 334-4448

Address: 381 North Service Road West

                   Oakville, ON, L6M 0H4 Canada

Email: info@iovate.com

The company has been in trouble with both the FDA and FTC.

The FTC fined them $5.5 million dollars for making false advertising claims about their supplements. This included stating that their brands had positive health benefits, and because of this, they were required to refund customers who bought supplements from them.

The FDA also sent them a warning letter due to:

“liver toxicity associated with the use of multiple versions of the dietary supplement Hydroxycut”

“Agency has concluded that the ingestion of the dietary supplement Hydroxycut presents a severe potentially life-threatening hazard to some users”

This forced the company to schedule a mandatory recall on all Hydroxycut on the market. There were 23 reports of severe health problems due to this supplement, and one person died from it.

After this, in 2012 and 2013 there were still incidents of heart problems and ulcers associated the use of Hydroxycut.

They currently have 6 complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. This is due to issues with service, the products, and a lack of communication from the company.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Hydroxycut

Here are select reviews from online customers:

“I really don’t have any effect using this product”

“Made me feel super sick and dizzy”

“It’s mostly a glorified caffeine pill”

“I had severe nausea, abdominal pain and felt like my stomach was on fire”

Amazon.com currently features 535 complaints. It’s often mentioned from customers that they experienced side effects, as well as a lack of weight loss.

Common side effects experienced by users include nausea, stomach pain, anxiety, rapid heart rate, restlessness, anxiousness, agitation, and some experienced difficulty breathing.

Many also said this is basically just a caffeine pill, and that it had no noticeable weight loss effects.

Conclusion - Does Hydroxycut Work?

The key features to notice about this brand are the company history, and the kinds of ingredients used. Many customers have failed to see any weight loss benefits, and people describe it as a caffeine pill. This is likely because the only ingredeints in this that might have a weight loss effect are caffeine and green coffee extract. There’s not enough in  this to suggest it would help benefit people. The company has also had to recall Hydroxycut due to serious health concerns. There’s also a lot of caffeine added to this, with a full serving providing the maximum recommended dosage strength for caffeine.

Stimulant free options are available, and the 2016 supplement of the year is called  Sletrokor.

There’s only natural ingredients added to this blend, with the ability to suppress appetite, increase metabolism, and improve mood. Many users have left great testimonials showcasing how effective and safe it is. This supplement has no artificial ingredients, preservatives, or stimulants of any kind.

You can try Sletrokor risk free since they offer a 30 day money back guarantee. Anyone can see for themselves what this brand has to offer.

How Does Hydroxycut Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Hydroxycut
  • 36 /100



Wikipedia

Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 40, 798 total comments)

Teri30

Day 2 and loving these, No side effects but I'm still on the one pill, saturday I switch to 2, I'll weight in on wednesday. Watching what I eat and started my exercise plan today.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 2:45 pm


Elizabeth

I LOVED IT. I LOST 108 PNDS IN A YR!

AWESOME

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 1:16 pm


mary

i have been taking it for almost 2 weeks, since i only weigh myself once a month (( i find this very effective)) im not sure if it has really increased my fat loss, but it has for sure decreased my appitite alot. reading the reviews I see alot of side effects, although the bottle does say not to take it 4 hours before bedtime I have not experienced anything negative. Maybe because I bought the caffine-free. Well Ill keep you updated! I have only been taking it two times a day, so the pills are lasting a little longer, but twice a day isthe most I eat. Sometimes Iwill only eat once and Im fine.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 10:11 am


virgogirl

I been taking for a week and nothing! i been getting cravings but that could be my time of month thing.. but nothing changed. I take it with water and eatting healthy and exercise 6 days a week and burn 1,000 calories each workout . No weight loss yet.. so anyone can relate please let me know what to do??

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 9:41 am


Sharie

+

I have taken this for a week now and I have found that this is working for me. I have 2 kids and I was always coming home and going to be with only a, "hi, kids", "by kids". This was not the way I was going to keep on living my life. It is great outside they need to be out there having the fun I used to when I was little...so i was going through my moms' medicine cabinet and saw Hydroxycut. She did only have enough for a week so i decided I could try this and then see how it goes. The first night was a little bit rough. I though I was going to puke or run a marathon. I couldn't sleep that night, but woke up extra early the next morning, and did not fell well at all, I still felt like I was going to get sick. Once the day started and I took my second dose I was all better, going outside, exercising, and eating right! I can't believe within a week I have lost 4-5 lbs. I am not at all hungry for greasy, yucky food that I used to love and eat all the time. I am watching calories, and not drinking any kind of pop. I am loving this. I can see changes already and I need to go to Wal-mart to get some more. I give this an A++

posted Jan 21st, 2009 10:23 pm


sydney

I took hydorxycut a while back and it seemed to work, I am thinking about trying again, but I am wondering if I stick to it and lose the weight I want, and stop taking it, but keep working out , will all the weight I lost from hydroxycut come back?

posted Jan 21st, 2009 10:04 pm


Claudia

+

I love this pills. I take them for 2 months and loose my 10 pounds then I get off them. It helps me when I fall off the wagon when life gets to busy.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 4:08 pm


mary

very effective in controling my appetite

posted Jan 21st, 2009 2:25 pm


Teri30

Today is the first day I have already taken one pill and feel full of energy, My starting weight is 171 LBS and I'm 5"2 I'll keep you posted on results. What is your schedule like for taking the pills thru out the day. How is everyone else doing with this plan.? My goal is 30lbs.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 1:13 pm


Dezzy

hello, it has been a week already and i do fell my body changing but i dont get that much energy i do feel tired at times and sometimes its really hard to go to sleep does anyone else have that problem?

posted Jan 20th, 2009 6:52 pm


Ayla

I am an 18 year old college freshman who as always been athletic in high school and in college. I have noticed that after my first semester my diet has been horrible. I have tried to change it but it is very hard to do. I am 5'5" at 175 and really want to loose about 10-20lbs, not too much because I still play soccer. I wasnt sure if hydroycut was for me. I dont know all the side effects and dont want to take something that can harm me. Just wanted to know what everyone thought and if it was a good idea to purchase and try.

Thanks!

posted Jan 19th, 2009 2:45 pm


Trish Stafford

-

For some reason this product made my throat itch, then burn, then hurt like I had strep throat. I followed the directions exactly, but after two days of pills, my throat was on fire, with mucous production and hoarseness. I thought I was coming down with something. I stopped taking the pills and my throat stopped hurting. Weird. So I thought maybe it was just a coincidence, and I tried the product a few days later. Exact same throat problem happened again. It did give me more energy. It curbed by appetite, but if I missed a dose I would be ravenous with hunger and eat WAY too much. My waist did look slimmer faster when I combined the pills with diet and exercise. However, considering my experience, I will not be using this product again.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 11:36 am


Alison

I have been taking Hydroxycut for a few months and it has worked good (lost 2 dress sizes) but just recently I also stated the Hydroxycut Max for women drink mix. The Hydroxycut Max or the combination of the two is making me dizzy, have extreme tiredness, very bloated and feel itchy. I dont think the Hydroxycut Max is worth how expensive it is..

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:37 am


trina

I purchased HC Caffeine Free from Walmart yesterday, it was $18.88 for 60 pills. After reading all the reviews I am kind of worried about taking it. I have 3 children and dizziness and passing out is not an option. Is it because they are taking another kind? Someone please reply will good information.

posted Jan 18th, 2009 11:34 am


Donna

-

Started Hydroxycut Max yesterday and I feel very sleepy, dizzy and itchy. Took hydroxycut 15 minutes before my workout and almost passed out on the treadmill from dizziness and tiredness. Will continue to use it for a couple of more days to see if the side-effects dissapear...

posted Jan 17th, 2009 11:13 pm


Alene Rodriguez

+

i realy get lots of energy end it helps curve my hunger

posted Jan 17th, 2009 11:01 pm


Dezzy

+

Hello, I just actually started us this product for two days now and I think its actually working im not as hungry as I was and i love that i have so much energy now! I mean yea the first day i started taking it i was a little dizzy and i counldnt go to sleep but i think it was cause this is the very first time i have ever taken a diet pill before so im hoping this one works!!!well goodluck to everyone taking it!!!!!

posted Jan 17th, 2009 2:29 pm


Amy

lost about 20 lb with Hydroxycut, with a diet and exercise program. When I stopped taking it I gained 5 lb back, but lost it again. I tried many other diet pills in the past and feel that Hydroxycut works the best! Its important to watch your food intake, exercise and drink lots of water.

posted Jan 17th, 2009 1:31 pm


virgogirl

Just started today! For months have personal trainer and work out 6days a week and diet cut down with no cheese,pasta,cracker,cereal. Lost little weight but shape has changed. Maybe this will help

posted Jan 17th, 2009 7:14 am


Tyger

I am a 35 year old male. I am 5' 7", weigh 207 lbs., have 34% body fat. I carry all of my fat weight in my belly and waistline (40"). I have always been a skinny person, but over the past 5 years I have neglected diet, exercise, and I smoke/drink regularly. Obesity has crept up on me and I am making a change. My goal is to reduce my body fat to 20-25% and have a 36" waist. I like my size, so if I can convert fat to muscle, weight is not as much of an issue for me.

I began taking Bikram Hot Yoga last Sunday as a step towards my goal. The workout is very intense and I enjoy the challenge. I have never sweat more in my life. Working the poses in a 112 degree heated room and maintaining poses that push the body is having a positive effect on my body and mind.

So I thought, "Hey, why don't I try to jump start my fat loss". So I read many of the reviews and did some research. I purchased Hydroxycut yesterday and began taking the pills this morning. So far I have not felt any negative symptoms other than my reaction to caffeine...I get a little sleepy or light headed.

I have noticed a loss of appetite and that I am consuming lots of water. This is good considering I usually eat fast food and drink diet soda. So I guess I will see what happens. Although I am not sure how to gauge the effectiveness of the pills since I am practicing a hard form of exercise.

If I notice any considerable results, I will report this information. Perhaps to help anyone considering taking this product. The reviews helped me to an extent. I am sure there are guys like me that want to look like they did in their 20's again.

Oh yeah, I also looked into my diet. I wrote down all the calories for my favorite foods and beer beverages. If I stick to daily exercise burning calories and have less of an appetite, I can still eat some of my favorite foods, but in smaller amounts and in moderation. Beer will be the tough one.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 5:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

PRO
  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
CON
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time

  • Contains caffeine

INGREDIENTS
  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy
ADMINISTRATION

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.

DIET and NUTRITION

There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.

EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,

Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32

Whats better than
Hydroxycut?