Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 22 reviews

HMR

A meal-replacement diet designed for those who are obese.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Health Management Resources, HMR, is a weight-loss and weight-management program, helping dieters lose weight with a combination of dieting and meal-replacement drinks. This long-term weight loss plan can be followed in a medical clinical setting as well as at home. The average weight loss while following the HMR Program is 50-60 pounds.

This very low calorie diet is designed for those who have more than 40 pounds to lose. HMR has more than 40 clinics across the country in which the dieter works one-on-one with a special HMR diet counselor.

HMR offers several programs that allow you to reach your weight loss goals through lifestyle education, personalized attention, nutritious low-calorie foods with an emphasis on long-term weight loss and health management.

The dieter typically begins on a six-week liquid fast comprised of HMR shakes and then loses additional weight on a medically-supervised low calorie diet that also includes special HMR products like shakes, meal-replacement bars, cereals, soups and supplemental grocery items like fresh fruit and vegetables.

The HMR program is designed to be followed for a minimum of six months and for as long as two years, depending upon how much weight needs to be lost.

HMR is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts and to date, more than one million people, and thousands of corporate employees, have participated in HMR’s scientifically-based programs .

PRO
  • Clinical weight loss with proven results
  • Medically supervised programs as well as at-home option
  • Helpful for those with large amounts of weight to lose
  • Locations available throughout the country
  • Created by physicians and healthcare professionals
CON
  • Meal replacement diets have not shown to be effective in the long-term
  • Very restrictive
  • Products contain fake or artificial sweeteners, which may cause side effects for some
  • May be cost prohibitive for some
  • Eating plan is very low in calories
DIET and NUTRITION

The dieter starts out by following a liquid diet for the first six weeks of the HMR plan. The liquid diet is comprised of HMR 100-calorie shakes that contain protein, vitamins and minerals and small amounts of carbohyrates. Daily calories range from 500 to 1000 calories while on this initial portion of the plan.

From there, the dieter is placed on a higher calorie diet that is done in the clinical setting or on their own, at home. Meal plans include HMR shakes, HMR entrees and certain supplemental fruits and vegetables.

The two clinic-based diet plans are The Decision-Free program, which includes a diet of HMR shakes, puddings, soups, entrees, bars and hot cereal and the Healthy Solutions program, which is for those who want to lose weight without medical supervision.

The Decision-Free program features weekly group meetings and weekly coaching calls with an HMR health educator.

The HMR at-home delivery program includes having your meals delivered directly to your home as well as the how-to materials so that you understand how the diet works. You receive delivery of your foods every two weeks automatically.

For all three programs the available foods and shakes are the same. Below are some of the featured foods:

  • Lasagna with meat sauce
  • Beef stroganoff
  • Turkey chili
  • Chicken pasta parmesan
  • Barbecue chicken
  • Bean and beef enchiladas
  • Five-bean casserole
  • Multigrain hot cereal
  • Chicken soup
  • Shakes
  • Peanut butter bar
  • Honey graham bar
EXERCISE

All of the HMR programs encourage an increase in physical activity. Those that are done clinically include education on how to incorporate and practice physical activity.

The HMR web site does offer a Walk-O-Meter which helps calculate the calories burned from various activities. This feature offers tips on how to begin an exercise program and sets the goal of burning 2,000 calories per week through physical exercise.

CONCLUSION

The HMR diet is a medically-supervised weight loss program designed for those who are obese or have more than 40 pounds to lose. This very low calorie diet will clearly result in weight loss, but its restrictive nature as well as its expense greatly undermine its potential for sustained weight loss.

Common Misspellings

hrmprogram.com, hmr weight loss, hmr lose weight, hrm programs


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, OPTIFAST, Medifast


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 22 total comments)

Mary

I lost 50 pounds in 4 months - then traveled to a 3rd world country while on the diet. When I didn't follow their advice to add fruits and vegetables, they kicked me out of the program - by registered mail.
"Medical supervision" is generally blood pressure every meeting, and meeting with a doctor who asks if you're drinking 8 glasses of water and exercising every day. You pay extra for the "medical supervision" - I had to order electrolyte testing on my own. Medical supervision is a joke.
I gained back 40 pounds very quickly after they kicked me out of the program.
Not nice people.

posted Sep 22nd, 2014 3:09 pm


Herbie7

I went on HMR in August 2012 and lost over 100 lbs! in one year. I was thrilled at first, then I started to notice that my hair had become thinner. Now I have about half the volume of hair that I used to have, and I've become anemic. I've had all kinds of tests and exams performed and need to see a hematologist next week! I can only hope that if HMR is the cause for my medical issues, that I haven't done serious harm to myself.

posted Jul 17th, 2014 11:33 pm


lisa

There are pluses and minuses with this program, more minuses than the other. The 70+ shakes, made with egg white protein, are excellent and help avoid allergic reactions from dairy-based shakes. They're expensive, but I know of no other egg-white protein shakes on the market. With fruit, you get remarkable smoothies. They even stir easily into puddings; couldn't be easier.

Other shakes contain TRANSFATS--what kind of health program is this? ----and the boxed foods are very bad. They taste canned, like the old chef boyardee ravioli, and they're not nutritious. A lot of money for highly processed soy protein and white flour. You can easily learn to cook and freeze single-serving meals of low-fat, high-quality protein, whole grains and veggies. Just track the calories per serving and you're set with much better food for a fraction of the money.

Almost everybody regains the weight. The maintenance program is not very effective, it's heavily scripted and designed to keep you buying their overpriced foods.

My advice: Buy the 70+ shakes on your own, use them for a meal replacement or two each day, and either join Weight Watchers or find a good nutritionist or, if you don't need that level of instruction, but rather a helpful diary keeping system and supportive "friends, "join myfitnesspal.com for free.

posted Jan 6th, 2013 10:31 pm


Duane C

I have lost over 175 pds on the plan

posted Jul 16th, 2012 9:17 pm


Lily Smith

This diet definitely is not for everyone, that's for sure and works a little differently than some of the posts state. Now, the decision-free version is either 5 shakes / day or 8/lactose free shakes a day but they do encourage you to eat the entrees, the cereal, or the soup as a shake substitute as often as you need or want to. I agree with other posters here that the shakes are great; however, I am a fussy eater and all of the entrees make me gag. That being said, i don't HAVE to eat them, so the program is working well for me anyway. I have had some digestive issues with this diet that have been pretty uncomfortable. By tweaking it here or there (I add a plain salad once a week or so to help digestion), it's manageable for now. I just hit my 1 month marker and am down 16 lbs (out of a total of 55 I need to lose). For me, that's a lot in one month so I am satisfied enough to give it a thumbs up here. Just be aware that it really isnt for everyone.

Oh and for those wondering about cost, it is way more expensive than it initially seems. Shakes are 40$/ box of 18. If you're on the 8 a day plan, do the math. Entrees 3.50. Also, the class fees, 'medical supervision' fees (i dont know what is actually being supervised but I am paying them..) etc really do add up. Just be informed when you make your decision.

posted Jul 9th, 2012 5:51 pm


Essie

I have lost 20 lbs. been on diet for 2 mts. The food & shakes are delicious, don't have to cook and life is good. Happy Summer to All looking forward to getting into a 2 piece swimsuit again yipee!

posted May 4th, 2012 2:50 am


Casie

This is a great program that WORKS. The food is quite good (the vanilla shakes are SOOO yummy) and after you get over the initial hurdle of adjustment (as with any diet), you are on your way to success. I lost 25 lbs in about 2 months. I recommend HMR to anyone!

posted Mar 31st, 2012 2:52 pm


Reviewer 60

I'm happy to say I've been on the HMR program for 6 months now and have found it works really well for me. I've lost over 60 lbs and have been very happy with the support and the options given in this program. It's definitely not for everyone so I would recommend attending a free information session. It was a great way to learn about the program, food and fees and I didn't find it to be a "hard sell" at all. For those who are arguing that this food and program are not "good for you", I'd just like to say that being obese is also not good for you. Many of us have health issues due to our weight and we need a push to get to a healthier place before we can start to make more refined distinctions regarding our diet. HMR was the push I needed.

posted Feb 21st, 2012 8:24 pm


Health Truth Seeker

How can you HONESTLY believe this is GOOD for you?!?!? It has ASPARTAME and HYDROGENATED OILS!!!! This is a waste of money, and more importantly it is dangerous to your health to use it. STOP IT NOW!!!!!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 10:44 pm


Fat Guy in a Little Coat

I'm currently doing the HMR Decision Free Diet (which is 5 shakes a day, plus at least 2000 calories of physical activity per week). Someone earlier referred to the Decision Free Diet along with entrees. HMR Decision Free Diet uses the shakes only, though you can eat an entree if you want. I believe the op @Candy is talking about the HMR Healthy Solutions program, not Decision Free.

If you're considering this diet, the best thing you can do is try and go to a local informational meeting. The meetings are free as far as I know. Meal replacement diets are effective, so I'm not sure what this review website is talking about. Having shakes can get old so you add variety to them in the form of sugar-free puddings or jello.

I'm keeping track of my personal HMR experience on my blog:

Good luck to everyone!

posted May 5th, 2011 7:54 pm


Awill

I've tried the Decision Free and took the classes for several months. I did okay and lost about 35 pounds. I decided to stop because my skin itched all the time. I believe this is due to the aspartame in the shakes. When I stopped drinking the shakes my skin stopped itching.
I did get going with eating lots more fruits and vegetables and exercise a lot more. I appreciate that emphasis of the plan. I no longer plan to purchase HMR mainly due to the high cost and the fact that the shakes makes my skin itch all the time. I will look at Weight Watchers online now.

posted Apr 19th, 2011 10:08 pm


Candy

I tried decision free, did not like the food except a couple of the entrees. i missed real food a lot and did not like to eat those boxed meals. Ive never taken a class. What I do is have 3 shakes a day with regular meals. Its the same thing as the decision free diet but instead of eating those boxed entrees i am making my own meals. The shakes are pricey at 21.50 a can which makes 12 shakes. I mix the shakes with milk instead of just water so it is a little thicker. The shakes are really tasty. I am unintentionally on a diet, i'm not doing this for the diet but because it tastes really good does not feel like i'm following a diet. When i intentionally follow a diet, i never make it through. But HMR is really tasty. I have not lost any weight. But I think I"m eating healthier. WIthout the shakes, I dont eat enough food.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 12:49 am


Pam

Healthiest and Safest Way I have lost weight without sacrifice or unrealistic physical fitness. The right calorie in and the right way for calories to go out!!!!

posted Apr 7th, 2011 10:08 pm


Chele

I'm going to an HMR informational mtg on Wednesday. I'm getting excited about losing weight. Not sure which route to go: decision-free or healthy choices... do they help you decide? Can you do decision-free as a "jump-start", then switch?

posted Apr 4th, 2011 2:41 pm


Jenni Chapman

It is good to see that a MAJORITY of people who try this program and actually follow through are doing well on it!
I have been on this program for 6 months and have lost 70 pounds! As you get familar with the program and how your body responds to it, you will be able to tweek the different meal replacement combinations. I eat 2 entrees and 6 shakes per day. I average more than 3500 physical activity points per week! I have found that I am sensitve to the sodium found in the soup and the carbs in the cereal....therefore I don't eat them. The peanut butter bars are to die for and can be blended in the skakes...tastes just like a peanut butter cup shake!!!!!

posted Mar 8th, 2011 12:18 pm


Mary Mumford

I have been on the program 3 days. I love it so far. I find it easy and filling.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 5:34 pm


Susan

Started HMR three years ago and I am maintaining a 150lb weight loss. The review is a little outdated (as someone else mentioned), there are two options, Decision Free and Healthy Solutions. Decision Free is all meal replacements - AS MANY AS IT TAKES TO KEEP YOU FULL. At 10-weeks - if you are ready - you gradually add back fruits and veggies and transition to the second option, Healthy Solutions. Healthy Solutions is 3 shakes, 3 entrees, and 5 fruits/veggies each day. Weekly classes are VERY informative, I scoffed at the idea that there was nutrition information I didn't already know (I was VERY knowledgable already) but I have absolutely learned new things/ideas/habits to help me maintain my 150lb weight loss. I am FIT, I love physical activity (never used to!), and just a few months ago completed my first half-marathon. HUGE thumbs up to this medically supervised weight loss plan!!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 3:28 pm


Marta

I lost 35 pounds with this diet. I like their foods and love their shakes. The support, education and monitoring is super. Unfortunately, I moved and didn't do the maintenance portion which teaches one how to reintegrate regular foods. I regained 25 of those pounds over the past 8 years. I tried restarting the program several times using just the foods but I don't stick with it.

I am looking forward to restarting the HMR at Home program with Phone Support. I heartily recommend this program but only if weekly phone or clinic classes are included.

posted Jan 1st, 2011 3:33 pm


lisa

Be aware that this website on HMR is badly outdated. The program is run quite differently now....no liquid-only fasting, they use a different shake as the basic component and use more than the shakes, etc.

posted Nov 12th, 2010 9:43 pm


L.

Very spendy. Lost 5 lbs. in eight weeks.
I told the lady several times it was too much food for me. She did not listen. Now I am doing Weight Watcher's and eating half that amount. Feeling better and losing weight. I would not recomend this program . Very dissappointed in it. The food over the coarse of the day has too much salt.

posted Aug 28th, 2010 11:58 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account