Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 25 reviews
High Protein Diet

High Protein Diet Review: Does it Work?

A promising diet ideal for weight loss or building muscle.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

A High Protein Diet is anoften advised way for people to help lose fat while still retaining or even gaining muscle. There are many different variations to this type of diet, but they all require higher amounts of protein.

Eating larger amounts of protein is often done by athletes, since protein is known to help regenerate muscle tissue. The amino acids found in protein also help to regulate many important body functions. This makes a High Protein Diet a very effective health strategy which has many benefits. There are many forms where protein can be introduced, and one of the easiest is the meal replacement. The highest rated high protein meal replacement diet was found to be 18Shake Diet. It combines a combination of 15 grams of duo whey protein, and it’s made with natural ingredients to help suppress appetite for hours. You can learn more about what 18Shake Diet can do when you click the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

High ProteinDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

Many different foods can be eaten on this type of diet, here are some of the most common:

Whey Protein: This is an extract found in the cheese making process. It’s rich in amino acids and is easy to digest. Due to the amino acid provided, it’s often added to meal replacements since it can help provide the sustenance of a full meal.It’s known to help muscle protein synthesis, which means it can aid the recovery and growth involved in exercise. This is why bodybuilders and athletes will use it often after a workout.

Examine.com also has this to say:

“Whey may be healthier than other forms of protein”

“very useful for hitting targeted daily protein goals”

This form of protein is not only easy for the body to absorb, but it’s seen as one of the best protein sources due to its all-around benefits.For a list of the highest rated diets, follow the link here.

Lean meat/Poultry/Seafood/Pork: For weight loss it’s typically advised to seek leaner versions of these foods. The benefits of this are that they don’t have carbohydrates, and instead offer a high protein  and satisfying meal.

There are also many different ways in which these types of foods can be prepared. Some of the leaner options that have reduced calories are seafood, chicken with the skin off, and defatted beef and pork.

Nuts and Seeds: Many different options are available in this list. Some of which contain more carbohydrates such as pistachios and cashews, and lower carbohydrate offerings that includes almonds, Brazilnuts, and macadamia nuts.

Seeds that are also high in protein include chia, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds.  It’s often suggested to limit these foods as they can be caloric when more than one serving is eaten.

They are also higher in fats than other protein sources.

Eggs: Not only is this a cheap food, but it’s rich in amino acids and can be cooked in many different ways. They are also easy to source in markets, and they can be boiled, fried, or added to baked goods.

Web MD has this to say about a High Protein Diet:

“may help you tame your hunger, which could help you lose weight”

Other scientific reviews have also shown how protein is far better than any other macronutrient for appetite suppression. One review published by the University of Texas Medical Branch found that:

“Several studies have suggested that higher protein diets may increase total weight loss and increase the percentage of fat loss”

“long-termadherence to a moderately higher-protein, energy-controlled diet… more likely to result in improved weight loss and management”

Not only did manystudies show protein suppressed appetite better and longer than other macronutrients, but it also was key in keeping weight from returning. The link provided here offers a list of the highest rated top 10 diets.

The standard recommended intake for protein according to the Food and Nutrition Board is:

• Women: 19 and above 0.66 grams of protein per pound of body weight for the average person. Pregnant women require extra protein.

• Men: Between 19 and beyond 0.66 grams of protein per pound of body weight. Athletes require more however.

For athletic people it is often advised to seek around 1 gram of protein for every pound of bodyweight. Reaching this targeted daily intake of protein is easy when one has introduces higher amounts of protein.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

High Protein Diet Quality of Ingredients

The kinds of foods one eats on a High Protein Diet can be healthy, especially if one chooses lean options and natural sources. There are different foods available such as natural meal replacements, lean meats, small portions of nuts and seeds, and other foods.

Eating these wholesome foods does have well rounded health benefits. They can help satisfy appetite, provide important amino acids and help to support weight loss. One quality way to introduce large amounts of protein is the meal replacement shake.For a list of the very best quality protein meal replacement diets follow the link here.

The Price and Quality of High Protein Diet

The price can vary depending on the kinds of foods one chooses. Typically one can find cheaper priced protein if one selects the right brands. There are options available for quick protein solutions such as meal replacements.

Overall the quality is great since protein is known to suppress appetite for longer. This means one can feel satisfied without needing to eat more food. In doing so, one does not have to spend excess money on expensive food options. It also takes away from the issues that other diets have, such as feeling deprived and wanting to eat more.

One study on a High Protein Diet which was run by the University of Cincinnati found:

“Diets moderately increased in protein… may have beneficial effects on body weight, body composition, and associated metabolic parameters”

Therefore it’s considered a very reliable way to lose weight and provide well-roundedbenefits.

Business of High Protein Diet

Different companies will offer varying levels of protein products. Determining whether or not a business is reliable relies on individual research. There are many different options available.

Many different kinds of foods can be eaten on this diet. There are businesses that sell protein rich meal replacement drinks as well. For a comprehensive review of the very best, click the link provided here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of High Protein Diet

Many have tried this kind of diet, here are some direct quotes from users:

“I’ve lost 30 pounds in 2 months. No hunger, no cravings”

“I am amazed. I have lost 15 pounds in 4 weeks”

“This way of eating is great for my lifestyle and I intend tostick with it”

“Loved it, the weight fell of, both my husband and I now have the bodies we had in our 20’s”

There are many benefits according to people who have tried a High Protein Diet. Many liked the freedom of having many tasty food options, and people did not mention that theyfelt deprived. The majority of users said the experience was easy, and that it did not feel like they were dieting.

Another major benefit was from people who said their appetite was suppressed for hours. They also added how eating out and at home was easy to do, there was no real sacrifice in adding more protein rich foods to one’s diet.

People enjoyed the variety in being able to choose different meals through the day which were richer in protein. This allowed for people to try different dishes based off of their favorite kinds of foods.

The list provided here has a comprehensive top 10 list of the very best diets.

Conclusion - Does High Protein Diet  Work?

A High Protein Diet is aneffective way to suppress appetite, provide weight loss, and promote long lasting weight reduction effects. There have been multiple studies which have proven this to be the case, and many users mention it’s an easy diet solution. People add how they never felt deprived, and that it was easy to start this kind of diet. There are also manyfood options available which can be prepared in numerous ways.

Our experts have rated many different diets and have concluded the most effective one for weight loss was 18Shake Diet. This is anall-natural , stimulant free, artificial ingredients free meal replacement shake and diet pills. It has a total of 15 grams of quality whey protein, as well as a nutritionalbalanced vitamin and mineral complex. Users have said it is easy to mix, tastes great, and promotes long lasting appetite suppression that lasts for hours. It’s also made up of high quality fiber and just one gram of natural stevia as a sweetener. 

18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This means one can return 18Shake within 30 days without any questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of 18Shake Diet click the link provided here.

How Does High Protein Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 4, 66 total comments)

sherrhonda

did anyone have bad stomach pains on IP

posted Oct 23rd, 2010 11:10 pm


Michelle

I am on day 2 of the IP diet. It has been a rough few days, but I want to stick it out as I have seen and talked to people that have had great sucess. I am feeling a little deprived, but I know it is because my body is looking for all the carbs and sweets It has been used to. It is good to read all the positive feedback. I plan to stick with it....Congrats to all you loosers!

posted Oct 23rd, 2010 3:13 pm


Lolita

Nancy, It sounds like you were off to a good start. I have lost every week since I started. The first week 13 then 5 then after that it has been 1 to 4 a week. On the weeks I only lost 1 it was because I didnt follow one of the rules totally. Like I wasnt getting all the water in, and actually on one of the weeks the lady who is monitoring me looked at my food journal and told me I wasnt eating enough. So I added in more romaine and that kicked me back into gear. Make sure you are not skipping any of the food..............

posted Oct 23rd, 2010 2:56 am


nancy

I started IP Sept 1,, first week 11 1/2lbs, second week 6 1/2 lbs.. now I seem to hardly loose at all...has my body stopped burning calories or what? Anyone out there ever have this problem?

posted Oct 20th, 2010 8:39 pm


Lolita

I just started week 10 of Ideal. I have lost 37 pounds and 46 inches. I hear what the gals are saying about feeling sick the first 3 to 4 days. If you can get past that.......... it does go away. I also had headaches and body aches but it only last a short time and looking back on that, those first few days of feeling like that was worth how I feel now. About into day 5 you get a burst of energy and a sense of well being from getting all that sugar out of your system. I have never eaten healthier in my life. This is a plan I can stick to.

posted Oct 13th, 2010 7:16 pm


Sarah

+

I am on day 7 of this diet. I go tomorrow for my weigh in.

I only experienced symptoms the first 4 days.

After my first my impression is that it is easy to follow. It takes planning and being organized. Most of the food was good. There were a few flavours I didn't like.

It is pricey but I think that keeps me from cheating, because I want to lose the weight and don't want to spend any more money than I have to.

posted Oct 11th, 2010 10:13 pm


Thatgirl

-

Started IP after being referred by a friend. The first day was fine, but that night and the next day I was very sick. Vomiting, headache, fever, body aches. I contacted the Dr. who distributed it to me and she told me to to a modified plan and add regular food in. Even after doing this, the IP food made me feel sick to my stomach. I didn't feel good and ended the diet after day 3. I am sure I lost weight, from being soo sick. But if I would have known how sick this diet was going to make me, I would have never done it. The food is not appetizing and the vitamins are like horse pills! I am going to instead switch back to a whole food vegan diet. I want my body to feel good about what I am putting in it!

posted Oct 5th, 2010 12:37 pm


Nita

+

My friend who used to love food as much as I do lost 80 pounds in nine months. She looks GREAT! I figure if she can do it, so can I. I am starting the diet tomorrow. When I consider all the meals I eat out per week and all the junk food I buy anyway, the price will be about the same; except I won't have all those medical bills down the road from obesity related illnesses. Cost? About $100.00 per week. Feeling and looking your best? I would say that is PRICELESS!!!

posted Oct 1st, 2010 11:51 am


Lolita

I am seven weeks into Ideal and have lost 35 pounds and 45 inches. The weight loss was very fast the first month and has slowed down to about 2 pounds a week no. The diet works if you can stick to it. As time goes on I have found it easier to work with my food selections. For anyone wanting to loose quickly, this is a great plan.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 8:35 am



juleless

I am on Day 5 of Ideal protein diet. I am having a hard time eating the 4 cups of veggies a day. It is a struggle since I only like a few things. I really like the Chocolate drink and dinner is good. The first few days were not so great, headache, diarrhea, nauseated, lightheaded. I guess this is the detox. Feeling better now but I am still pretty hungry. It is expensive around 100 a week and my weigh in is on Tuesday. We will see. I am craving real foods. This is gonna be tough. I need to lose 75 pounds.

posted Sep 18th, 2010 11:05 pm


Dee

Been on ID for 30 days. I have lost 21 pounds. No problems. Don't think about food much anymore.

posted Sep 17th, 2010 1:46 pm


Lolita

I have just completed my 3rd week on the Ideal Protein Diet. I am down 20 pounds and 30 inches. The first 3 days were awful. I had a headache and felt like I had the flu. I am sure it was due to detoxing from all the diet soda and carbohydrate foods that I usually eat. I woke up on the 4th day with energy and have felt good on it ever since. I have not cheated once. It is not difficult to do. I do however still have dreams of eating a pizza!

posted Aug 29th, 2010 11:53 pm


alhzav

Day 1 of IP diet. So far I don't feel hungry but have cravings for something sweet. I am hopeful that this will pass and I will be on my way to loosing 25 lbs...

posted Jul 27th, 2010 12:09 pm


Cajunbabe

+

Day seven and I am down 8 pounds. Im not hungry throughout the day at all. This way of eating is great for my lifestyle and I intend to stick with it. It is pricy between the packs you buy and then the salad and veggies you will be consuming along with the fish and lean meats, but its worth it to me. It has cut out alcohol and junkfood from my diet which is a good thing to be healthy. My blood preasure has also dropped from last weeks high. I love it!

posted Jul 19th, 2010 9:50 pm


Carrie

I'm considering this diet for my husband and I. We both have about 30/40 pounds to loose. I've heard it can be an expensive diet...how expensive are we talking about? Do you have to buy a lot of products from doctor or is it stuff you buy at the grocery store? How long have people kept the weight off?

posted Jun 30th, 2010 12:40 pm


:)

I was one of the first people to take on this diet, over 3 years ago. It is an excellent way to shape your way of thinking about what you consume and it really does change your eating habits for the rest of your life.
I have lost 70 lbs on this diet and I am sure that weight watchers could have done the same thing (granted, with more time than ideal protein) but I have found the diet that works best for ME and keeps me motivated.
This is by no means a "Starvation" diet as some people claim, I have never once been hungry over the course of it. There is a difference between hunger and cravings but once you have been on this plan for a few days, the cravings subside dramatically. It's like once you get the sugar out of your system, you don't really need it anymore.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 11:24 am


Gen

+

I've started Ideal Protein on the 4th of January and at the end of April I've achieved my goal of losing 40 lbs. Did like it and manage to maintain with effort though cause if you go back to your old bad habit of eating you'll return where you came from...so I'm doing it wisely by myself now and it's going well gain back like 2-3lbs not to worry about I'm now 130lbs and glad I made it and I'm very proud of myself so go for it girl you can do it too!!!

posted Jun 2nd, 2010 9:47 pm


Jennie

+

My husband, myself, and a sister are doing ideal protein, great results. It's not a tough as I imagined to go without carbs for an extended time. If you can afford it, do it!

posted May 20th, 2010 9:03 am


Mike G

+

After seeing three of the ladies in my office have success with the Ideal Protein, I am giving it a shot. I have just completed my 3rd week and I've lost 27 lbs. I was a junk food addict who ate a lot, and I was worried about not getting enough food or constantly being hungry. so far, I have been pleasantly surprised...I have more energy and all in all just feel better. I still have another 50 lbs to meet my goal, but I feel good that I'll be able to reach it on this program. It is pricy, but well worth it.

posted May 10th, 2010 9:41 pm


Debra

+

Loved it, the weight fell of, both my husband and I now have the bodies we had in our 20's, we are both in our late 40's. would recommend.....

posted May 4th, 2010 3:41 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

High Protein Diets may help you lose weight thanks to the satiating powers of protein. Different from the low-carb diets, but similar in the low glycemic count, High Protein Diets, when used in combination with exercise, have shown in clinical studies to take off excess pounds and fat while also controlling hunger and managing blood lipid levels.

The Dietary Reference Intake for protein currently suggests consuming anywhere from 10 to 35 percent of calories from protein. Experts recommend to consume about 120 grams of protein a day to receive the weight loss benefits.

Scientists aren't sure why protein seems to suppress appetite, but research does show promise that a diet high in protein with moderate carbohydrate consumption and regular exercise can effectively take off weight.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Studies show promise for weight loss success
  • Too many carbs can lead to a surge in blood sugar levels
  • Moderates appetite
  • Endorses an exercise plan
  • Strongly restricts the consumption of refined carbs
  • Can be followed by vegetarians
  • Ideal for body builders
CON
  • Carb cravings may be strong when diet is initially followed
  • No research yet on long-term success
  • Should not be followed by those with kidney disease
  • Difficult for vegans to follow
DIET and NUTRITION

The High Protein Diet calls for consuming about 120 grams of protein every day, or about 35 percent of daily calories. Carbohydrates should amount to no more than 50 percent of total calories and fat reduced to approximately 20 percent of calories.

In following the High Protein Diet, protein needs to be consumed at every meal and snack. In addition, high carb foods that spike blood sugar are restricted and replaced by carbs with plenty of fiber and slow-releasing sugars or starches.

  • Breakfast might be an egg white or whole egg omelet with a side of smoked salmon or turkey bacon.

  • Lunch might be a poached chicken breast on a bed of lettuce topped with other low glycemic vegetables.

  • Dinner might be grilled tenderloin and a side of steamed lentils and asparagus.

  • Snacks include low-fat cottage cheese, low-fat cheese sticks, hard-boiled eggs, edamame and yogurt.

EXERCISE

While specific exercise requirements might differ according to a particular High Protein Diet, regular physical activity must be performed on most days of the week in order to receive weight loss benefits.

CONCLUSION

The High Protein has shown significant promise in the initial clinical trials for reducing weight, controlling appetite and reducing blood lipids. With carb counts kept at a moderate level and fat content reduced as well, the High Protein Diet can support weight loss, particularly when coupled with a regular exercise program.

In order to rule out any contraindications, talk to your doctor before increasing your protein levels.

Common Misspellings

hihg protein diet, hi protein diet, high proteen diet, high protean diet, high protein deit, high-protein diet, protein diets, the protein diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, Prevention's Peanut Butter Diet, South Beach Diet, Atkins Advantage, Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Low-Carb Diet, Protein Power, Unjury, Body Building Diet, Biggest Loser Protein

Whats better than
High Protein Diet?