Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 25 reviews
High Protein Diet

High Protein Diet Review: Does it Work?

A promising diet ideal for weight loss or building muscle.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

A High Protein Diet is anoften advised way for people to help lose fat while still retaining or even gaining muscle. There are many different variations to this type of diet, but they all require higher amounts of protein.

Eating larger amounts of protein is often done by athletes, since protein is known to help regenerate muscle tissue. The amino acids found in protein also help to regulate many important body functions. This makes a High Protein Diet a very effective health strategy which has many benefits. There are many forms where protein can be introduced, and one of the easiest is the meal replacement. The highest rated high protein meal replacement diet was found to be 18Shake Diet. It combines a combination of 15 grams of duo whey protein, and it’s made with natural ingredients to help suppress appetite for hours. You can learn more about what 18Shake Diet can do when you click the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

High ProteinDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

Many different foods can be eaten on this type of diet, here are some of the most common:

Whey Protein: This is an extract found in the cheese making process. It’s rich in amino acids and is easy to digest. Due to the amino acid provided, it’s often added to meal replacements since it can help provide the sustenance of a full meal.It’s known to help muscle protein synthesis, which means it can aid the recovery and growth involved in exercise. This is why bodybuilders and athletes will use it often after a workout.

Examine.com also has this to say:

“Whey may be healthier than other forms of protein”

“very useful for hitting targeted daily protein goals”

This form of protein is not only easy for the body to absorb, but it’s seen as one of the best protein sources due to its all-around benefits.For a list of the highest rated diets, follow the link here.

Lean meat/Poultry/Seafood/Pork: For weight loss it’s typically advised to seek leaner versions of these foods. The benefits of this are that they don’t have carbohydrates, and instead offer a high protein  and satisfying meal.

There are also many different ways in which these types of foods can be prepared. Some of the leaner options that have reduced calories are seafood, chicken with the skin off, and defatted beef and pork.

Nuts and Seeds: Many different options are available in this list. Some of which contain more carbohydrates such as pistachios and cashews, and lower carbohydrate offerings that includes almonds, Brazilnuts, and macadamia nuts.

Seeds that are also high in protein include chia, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds.  It’s often suggested to limit these foods as they can be caloric when more than one serving is eaten.

They are also higher in fats than other protein sources.

Eggs: Not only is this a cheap food, but it’s rich in amino acids and can be cooked in many different ways. They are also easy to source in markets, and they can be boiled, fried, or added to baked goods.

Web MD has this to say about a High Protein Diet:

“may help you tame your hunger, which could help you lose weight”

Other scientific reviews have also shown how protein is far better than any other macronutrient for appetite suppression. One review published by the University of Texas Medical Branch found that:

“Several studies have suggested that higher protein diets may increase total weight loss and increase the percentage of fat loss”

“long-termadherence to a moderately higher-protein, energy-controlled diet… more likely to result in improved weight loss and management”

Not only did manystudies show protein suppressed appetite better and longer than other macronutrients, but it also was key in keeping weight from returning. The link provided here offers a list of the highest rated top 10 diets.

The standard recommended intake for protein according to the Food and Nutrition Board is:

• Women: 19 and above 0.66 grams of protein per pound of body weight for the average person. Pregnant women require extra protein.

• Men: Between 19 and beyond 0.66 grams of protein per pound of body weight. Athletes require more however.

For athletic people it is often advised to seek around 1 gram of protein for every pound of bodyweight. Reaching this targeted daily intake of protein is easy when one has introduces higher amounts of protein.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

High Protein Diet Quality of Ingredients

The kinds of foods one eats on a High Protein Diet can be healthy, especially if one chooses lean options and natural sources. There are different foods available such as natural meal replacements, lean meats, small portions of nuts and seeds, and other foods.

Eating these wholesome foods does have well rounded health benefits. They can help satisfy appetite, provide important amino acids and help to support weight loss. One quality way to introduce large amounts of protein is the meal replacement shake.For a list of the very best quality protein meal replacement diets follow the link here.

The Price and Quality of High Protein Diet

The price can vary depending on the kinds of foods one chooses. Typically one can find cheaper priced protein if one selects the right brands. There are options available for quick protein solutions such as meal replacements.

Overall the quality is great since protein is known to suppress appetite for longer. This means one can feel satisfied without needing to eat more food. In doing so, one does not have to spend excess money on expensive food options. It also takes away from the issues that other diets have, such as feeling deprived and wanting to eat more.

One study on a High Protein Diet which was run by the University of Cincinnati found:

“Diets moderately increased in protein… may have beneficial effects on body weight, body composition, and associated metabolic parameters”

Therefore it’s considered a very reliable way to lose weight and provide well-roundedbenefits.

Business of High Protein Diet

Different companies will offer varying levels of protein products. Determining whether or not a business is reliable relies on individual research. There are many different options available.

Many different kinds of foods can be eaten on this diet. There are businesses that sell protein rich meal replacement drinks as well. For a comprehensive review of the very best, click the link provided here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of High Protein Diet

Many have tried this kind of diet, here are some direct quotes from users:

“I’ve lost 30 pounds in 2 months. No hunger, no cravings”

“I am amazed. I have lost 15 pounds in 4 weeks”

“This way of eating is great for my lifestyle and I intend tostick with it”

“Loved it, the weight fell of, both my husband and I now have the bodies we had in our 20’s”

There are many benefits according to people who have tried a High Protein Diet. Many liked the freedom of having many tasty food options, and people did not mention that theyfelt deprived. The majority of users said the experience was easy, and that it did not feel like they were dieting.

Another major benefit was from people who said their appetite was suppressed for hours. They also added how eating out and at home was easy to do, there was no real sacrifice in adding more protein rich foods to one’s diet.

People enjoyed the variety in being able to choose different meals through the day which were richer in protein. This allowed for people to try different dishes based off of their favorite kinds of foods.

The list provided here has a comprehensive top 10 list of the very best diets.

Conclusion - Does High Protein Diet  Work?

A High Protein Diet is aneffective way to suppress appetite, provide weight loss, and promote long lasting weight reduction effects. There have been multiple studies which have proven this to be the case, and many users mention it’s an easy diet solution. People add how they never felt deprived, and that it was easy to start this kind of diet. There are also manyfood options available which can be prepared in numerous ways.

Our experts have rated many different diets and have concluded the most effective one for weight loss was 18Shake Diet. This is anall-natural , stimulant free, artificial ingredients free meal replacement shake and diet pills. It has a total of 15 grams of quality whey protein, as well as a nutritionalbalanced vitamin and mineral complex. Users have said it is easy to mix, tastes great, and promotes long lasting appetite suppression that lasts for hours. It’s also made up of high quality fiber and just one gram of natural stevia as a sweetener. 

18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This means one can return 18Shake within 30 days without any questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of 18Shake Diet click the link provided here.

How Does High Protein Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 66 total comments)

Lolita

On the fruit question. You go without sugars, natural or artificial until you loose the desired weight. You then get all food groups back in certain combination and with portion control.

posted Mar 7th, 2011 7:30 pm


Mike

This diet works great! I've lost about 22lbs in 4 weeks. My target is only a few weeks away. I've continued to maintain a pretty intensive training schedule of 10-12 hours per week. When I'm done I will have dramatically improved my performance, feel better, and be healthier. No it's not and easy diet. but no diet is. but I'm at least not hungry most of the time, I'm seeing dramatic results, and I know that when I'm a little hungry, I just visualize lbs melting away and suck it up a little.

posted Mar 7th, 2011 2:27 pm


Sharon Traylor

How long do you go without fruit, certain vegetables etc. My daughter is trying and has lost weight but yesterday she was having shakes and felt sick.

posted Mar 7th, 2011 8:59 am


Lolita

I have to agree with the last lady. In short my story is............. I lost 55 pounds in the first 4 months, that was 3 months ago. I have maintained that exact weight only fluxuating by 5 pounds up and 5 pounds down depending on what i eat through the week. I am 47 and have had a weight problem all my adult life. I now feel like I have that under control. This plan works.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 11:04 pm


Anne Marie

+

For all those who are asking about working and cost let me say this. i started this diet after being on weight watchers for a year and half and only losing 30 lbs. My best friend did it and lost 90 lbs and ton of inches and wears a size 2 jeans! I have lost another 34 lbs making my total loss 61. I gained 3 lbs back in the transistion. This diet works. I have tried everything else. Yes the first week is expensive but that is 6 boxes of food, sea salt, supplements and shaker. After that it goes down depending on what you get. But stick with it. and if you are on the first few days and feel sick it is detox. stick with it. cry if you have to. i did. and i made it thru. i hope this helps anyone who needs it.

posted Feb 27th, 2011 9:40 pm


maryb0826

I'm now on IP and have been successful. I have made creamed cauliflower and it is a great comfort food. Try spray, 0 everything, parkay, and sea salt on it. Also, Walden Farms, is 0 everything, calorie, carbs, sugar, they have salad dressing ketchup and bbq sauce. I tried a few dressings before I found one I liked, it's creamy bacon. I found them at Walmart.

posted Feb 6th, 2011 2:24 am


MT

+

I love the ip, I actually started it before Turkey day but got so busy with something that I even stopped taking my meds. I have now been back on it for about 4 weeks and have lost between 7 - 2.5 lbs per week. I slipped on the 2.5 lb week. When I was sick one week I was taking cough syrup and nyquil without thinking about all the sugar in it.

posted Feb 6th, 2011 2:10 am


Tina

sgorny - you are so right! Gary Taubes has it so right! And congrats to you for your accomplisment!! I started on this diet at the beginning of January 2011 and today I put on a pair of jeans I have not been able to wear for two years!! People @ work are on a different diet and are having little to no success. I am forever glad I found something so successful plus it has helped alleviate alot of my stomach problems.

posted Feb 5th, 2011 1:24 am


sgorny

I have been on the IP diet for 7 months, with a bit of a break from Thanksgiving to New Years. From May 18 2010 to December 18 2010, I lost 100 pounds. I regained a little over the holidays, but started back on January 2nd, and now am at 106 pounds total lost. I plan on staying on Phase 1 for another week, then 2 weeks of Phase 2, then 2 weeks of Phase 3, because I want to "finish it right." I ate some pretty high carbs when I was off, and those definitely raised my blood sugars & started putting weight back on.

I think that by finishing the diet out fully (not jumping off), and then trying to limit carbs later, and by getting on the scale daily and continuing to exercise, I should hopefully be able to maintain my loss.

My high weight was 313 (1/13/07), I weighed 297 on 9/29/09, started IP at 264 on 5/18/10, and now weigh 158. I'm 5'9" tall, and would like to keep my weight between 150-155, with a max of no more than 160.

Here's hoping I've found a way to do it!

Also, I recommend reading "Why We Get Fat (and What to Do About It)" by Gary Taubes. It explains why the IP diet works. And knowing why you have to eat as you do makes it easier to keep on track. Plus, it will help with how to eat after you finish the diet.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 6:47 am


Rebe

Is there anyone who has been off of the ID progam for say, 6-12 months. Have you gained the weight back? I am fearful of taking the time and effort and spending the $ only to have it all come back. Only into the diet 9 days so far so good.

posted Dec 12th, 2010 9:06 pm


Lolita

Susan, I was really anal about the same thing. I waited to start into phase 2 cause I was so scared to start gaining. I am still loosing slowly even in phase 2. I know many people who are maintaining in phase 4 for the past 2 years. Just listen to the directions from whoever is supervising you.

posted Dec 10th, 2010 4:07 am


Susan

I am 47 years old and have been doing IP for almost two months. I've lost 29 pounds, which is considerably more than I've ever lost with other diets. I am concerned about going to the other phases because I do not want to gain it back.

posted Dec 10th, 2010 1:52 am


Isabella

-

It's been over a month since I stopped the Ideal Protein diet. Still my hair is falling out. I visited a dermatologist and was told that it's probably temporary but not sure how severe it will become. Up until the day the first pony tail fell from my scalp there were no signs of hairloss. It was sudden. One day fine next horrible. Becareful.

posted Dec 8th, 2010 2:24 pm


Lolita

+

I have just finished 15 weeks on Ideal. My goal in the beginning was to loose 40 pounds, I have now lost 55 pounds. This plan really works if you follow the program. After a while it just becomes "how you eat" not a "diet". I have people all the time offering me things and I am around treats all the time in my job, although tempting my new saying is that nothing taste as good as being thin feels.

posted Dec 4th, 2010 8:17 am


Matt

We are 4 days into the Ideal Protein diet and it has been tough. Your body gets used to the foods with Sugar and carbs. We went to the scale this morning and I have already lost 4 lbs. That was motivation enough. The headaches and stomach pain is gone and I feel good. We are going to keep with this and see where it takes us. It is expensive but in the end I am sure it will be worth it.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 2:17 pm


Isabella

-

Ideal Protein took the weight off 60 lbs in less then 4 months. Now it's taking my hair all of it is just falling out from the shock to my system. Before going on this diet I asked everyone involved if it had hair loss side effects and was reassured it was healthy its alll protein it wont do that! The diet doesnt the shock to your system does. Beware of Ideal Protein diet. It works well but 3-4 months in your hair falls out.

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 7:48 pm


donna

+

I am on the diet and all cravings are gone once I got off sugar and carbs OMG I feel soo much better I have 90 pounds to come off and have lost 17 very easy. It is great

posted Nov 9th, 2010 12:21 am


elle

+

Into my 3rd mth with a 25 pound loss!!!!- I worked very hard on weight watchers and at the gym with less result--I have a thyroid problem and yet this diet has worked!! Nothing feels better than looser clothing and people saying "you're looking good!! It is worth the $ for me--

posted Nov 6th, 2010 12:32 pm


Lolita

Thanks for the advice on continuing through all the phases. I just reached my goal and actually passed it. My goal was 40 pounds and I have lost 45 pounds in 13 weeks. I am hesitant on moving into phase 2. It is a little scary leaving what i know works. I am excited to get to phase 4 because it sounds like we get one free day and i'd love to throw a pizza in my free day. Susan I am wondering what you did after phase 1. Did you go straight to phase 4 or not do any phases at all?

posted Nov 3rd, 2010 9:19 pm


Susan

I did the Ideal Protein diet through an Ideal Protein clinic at an OB-GYN office. In Phase I, I shed about 27 pounds in about four months and I looked fantastic. However, I never completed the second, third or fourth phases of the Ideal Protein protocol. Now it is a year later, and I have every last pound back on my frame. I am so depressed. I am thinking of doing the diet again, but following it fully and completely--from start to finish. :(

If you are doing IP and have been successful, please let me be a warning. You really need to finish out the FULL protocol.

posted Nov 3rd, 2010 5:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

High Protein Diets may help you lose weight thanks to the satiating powers of protein. Different from the low-carb diets, but similar in the low glycemic count, High Protein Diets, when used in combination with exercise, have shown in clinical studies to take off excess pounds and fat while also controlling hunger and managing blood lipid levels.

The Dietary Reference Intake for protein currently suggests consuming anywhere from 10 to 35 percent of calories from protein. Experts recommend to consume about 120 grams of protein a day to receive the weight loss benefits.

Scientists aren't sure why protein seems to suppress appetite, but research does show promise that a diet high in protein with moderate carbohydrate consumption and regular exercise can effectively take off weight.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Studies show promise for weight loss success
  • Too many carbs can lead to a surge in blood sugar levels
  • Moderates appetite
  • Endorses an exercise plan
  • Strongly restricts the consumption of refined carbs
  • Can be followed by vegetarians
  • Ideal for body builders
CON
  • Carb cravings may be strong when diet is initially followed
  • No research yet on long-term success
  • Should not be followed by those with kidney disease
  • Difficult for vegans to follow
DIET and NUTRITION

The High Protein Diet calls for consuming about 120 grams of protein every day, or about 35 percent of daily calories. Carbohydrates should amount to no more than 50 percent of total calories and fat reduced to approximately 20 percent of calories.

In following the High Protein Diet, protein needs to be consumed at every meal and snack. In addition, high carb foods that spike blood sugar are restricted and replaced by carbs with plenty of fiber and slow-releasing sugars or starches.

  • Breakfast might be an egg white or whole egg omelet with a side of smoked salmon or turkey bacon.

  • Lunch might be a poached chicken breast on a bed of lettuce topped with other low glycemic vegetables.

  • Dinner might be grilled tenderloin and a side of steamed lentils and asparagus.

  • Snacks include low-fat cottage cheese, low-fat cheese sticks, hard-boiled eggs, edamame and yogurt.

EXERCISE

While specific exercise requirements might differ according to a particular High Protein Diet, regular physical activity must be performed on most days of the week in order to receive weight loss benefits.

CONCLUSION

The High Protein has shown significant promise in the initial clinical trials for reducing weight, controlling appetite and reducing blood lipids. With carb counts kept at a moderate level and fat content reduced as well, the High Protein Diet can support weight loss, particularly when coupled with a regular exercise program.

In order to rule out any contraindications, talk to your doctor before increasing your protein levels.

Common Misspellings

hihg protein diet, hi protein diet, high proteen diet, high protean diet, high protein deit, high-protein diet, protein diets, the protein diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, Prevention's Peanut Butter Diet, Atkins Advantage, South Beach Diet, Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Low-Carb Diet, Protein Power, Unjury, Body Building Diet, Biggest Loser Protein

Whats better than
High Protein Diet?