Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 24, 476 total comments)

chris

Which company is the best to buy the drops from?

posted Mar 14th, 2011 6:05 pm


tasha504

I brought my hcg drops from hcg ultra diet.com. I tested the hcg drops with a pregnancy test and the results was negative. Do this mean the hcg is fake?????

posted Mar 12th, 2011 1:09 pm


Mary Beth

Stacy and Jennifer,
I just ordered from a wonderful website. Very reliable and honest. Try gp hcg.

posted Mar 11th, 2011 8:18 pm


userfile
maggiedav

GQ - I would suggest no. You're only taking in 500 calories a day with food, why would you want to burn that off? The diet should only last 3-4 weeks, so it shouldn't be too hard to put your workouts on pause. If you realllly want to do something though, I'd stick to yoga or pilates.

posted Mar 11th, 2011 2:06 pm


G.Q.

Ok, this is my second day, I normally do weight lifting and a 30 minute. Can I still do that or no?

posted Mar 11th, 2011 1:19 am


userfile
maggiedav

I have been off the drops for 4 weeks now and have maintained my 20 lb weight loss. I have gone outside of the 2lb window on a few occasions, but have always gone back down. I'll admit, I'm not eating as healthy as I should. I've had fast food a few times, starches, etc. But I am VERY happy with how easy it has been to maintain. I am starting the drops again next week and I hope to lose another 15-20 lbs. I know everyone is different, but based on my own experience, the people that stop the drops and gain a ton back are probably eating all junk, all the time. Just be careful with what you eat, start being a little more active, and the weight shouldn't come back.

posted Mar 10th, 2011 11:46 am


Ronnie

Don't try this diet. I did and after getting off I gained back more than I weighted before. It is absolutely a bad diet.

posted Mar 9th, 2011 4:30 pm


lecasa

I started the HCG Diet through a clinic that was running a special. I was very skeptical but 15 days in and I've lost 15 lbs! My clothes are falling off me now and I hope to lose another 10 before I go into maintenance. Truly, the food is really hard to adhere to but the results are worth it. I haven't had any side effects - no headaches, hunger, etc. Feel great. The only downfall is that I've really had to cut back my running distance for exercise as I do not have the stamina for it.
I'm worried that I'll gain the weight back too. Has anyone had a problem keeping it off?

posted Mar 9th, 2011 12:50 pm


unbelievable

thanks candall...i did lose 4 of those pounds this morning on day 2 of phase 2 but i still don't want to start counting loss until i'm back to by starting weight before ph1. i'm feeling ok so far. little hungier today than i was yesterday but it's still morning and i've only had coffee.
will keep you updated.

posted Mar 4th, 2011 9:06 am


Stacy

The HCG diet injections are awesome! They worked when nothing else was and the fast results kept me pumped to keep going & not cheating. I want to do 1 more round to get down to my old weight (before having 4 kids in 5 years! LOL) However, the doctor I used makes you pay for his entire program again, which I don't need. I'm going to try some oral drops instead, but don't know which company to trust. Can anyone suggest a company?

posted Mar 4th, 2011 7:43 am


Candall

To Unbelievable: Don't Freak! MANY people gain eight or ten pounds on their loading days--it will all come off, quickly and easily, if you stick to the program. Don't try to tweak it, don't make substitutions, no you can't have turkey or broccoli. And good news, you do get to include those pounds when you calculate your losses. I didn't want to see what those gorge days did to the scale so I didn't weigh and now I regret it. Another good thing is that you obviously did some fine loading--smile--and that will help you get off to a great start. Usually the people who feel kind of hungry and headache-y for the first few days are the ones who didn't load properly.

Write me at candall@yahoo.com and tell me how it's all going.

Best,
Candall

P.S. Remember that you're not living on the 500 calories you're eating. You're zooming along on 2500-4000 daily calories that are circulating through your bloodstream, released from your fat stores. No wonder we have all that energy!

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 12:47 pm


Catherine Clarke

HCG allows you to eat only 500 calories a day. You cannot do that without the HCG. Obviously, it is the low calories that make you lose weight. And you have energy to burn the calories. Usually, your body just slows down when you restrict calories so you don't lose as quickly.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 9:34 am


unbelievable

HELP!!! started this march 1st....start phase 2 this morning...i'm so paniced because I gained almost 8lbs on load days....please reassure that this will come off quickly! I don't plan to count that 8lbs as part of my total weight loss because i would not have gained it if not for those 'gorge' days.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 8:46 am


Jennifer

Which brands of hcg drops do you reccomend purchasing - there are so many different types and brands - any reccomendations or websites to suggest?

posted Mar 1st, 2011 6:04 pm


Candall

Jean, the answer to your question--what to do following a cheat?--is to just keep going according to the protocol. You haven't ruined the whole program, you'll probably just have a smaller loss or maybe even a bit of a gain on the scale. And sometimes it will take a day or two for the cheat to show up. Just drink lots of water and keep right on going. This diet is amazing--you're going to do great!

Best,
Candall

posted Mar 1st, 2011 11:44 am


Candall

Oh, poor Betty, headaches are such a drag. Don't be walking around in pain, though, take a couple of aspirin. I agree with the post below that your headaches are the result of detoxing and should go away. Trudeau has a "detox and cleanse" phase in his version of the hgc diet (which I think he just flat out pilfered from Simeons P & I Protocol) but the truth is that P2 will detox you all by itself. The approved food list makes for very "clean eating."

I thought I'd rather not have coffee if I couldn't have coffee with that half cup of cream I always dumped in, but I only thought that for one day. Turns out black coffee is WAY better than no coffee at all. It's Day 29 for me now, I've lost 27 pounds and I happily start the day off with several cups of hot black coffee.
If you're not a coffee drinker, find something warm that you like to drink--green tea, homemade chicken broth, even warm water with a squirt of lemon. It's comforting to sip something warm.

Gatorade Girl: wow, you risked a cheat and it was that stuff? LOL. As you probably discovered, the trade off for the rapid weight loss is that there's absolutely no wiggle room at all. (Gatorade has a ton of sugar, btw.) You really have to get your head ready and be mentally committed to following the rules to the letter. For 23 days, you can do that!

Best,
Candall

posted Mar 1st, 2011 11:36 am


Kim Wookey

Started at 210. Taking real rx grade HCG I lost 44.5 lbs in 2 short rounds. I am now 20.5 away from my goal of 140! I plan on doing round 3 in May.

posted Feb 28th, 2011 5:17 pm


Cindy

Tomorrow will be 2 weeks that I have been on the hCG diet and I have lost 16 pounds! I look great and feel great. Someone asked a question about the headaches... for the first week the headaches really bothered me but now I have no headaches at all. I believe that my headaches were d/t caffeine and sugar withdrawl.

It sounds like some people on here could definitely benefit from reading the book "Pounds and Inches" by Dr. Simeons. Go to hcgloss.com for a link to the book. You should NOT begin this diet until completely reading the book. It's a short, quick read and very informative.

Someone also asked about what if you have a "little drink of Gatorade". This diet must be followed TO THE LETTER. Any deviation from the diet will either result in no loss for that day or possibly a gain, depending on how bad you cheat. Remember, when you cheat, you're only cheating yourself and setting yourself up for failure.

I tried this diet as a fluke and bought the drops on ebay. I was skeptical until I saw the scale dropping and dropping which was my motivation to keep going. Now I only have a little over a week to go on P2 and I am thrilled with my results.

Good Luck!!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 2:36 pm


Joyce

I have been on the HCG drops since January 23rd and have lost 20 pounds. I am ecstatic because I have been on countless diets before with very little results. This has worked for me. I feel I can maintain a consistent weight since I eat healthy already and will watch the scales every day.

posted Feb 27th, 2011 7:09 pm


betty

I just started the diet 3 days ago but my main concern is these terrible headaches, the drops do curb my appetite and everything its just these ugly headaches that discourage me so much, i just hate to be like this for a whole month. Any suggestions!!!

posted Feb 27th, 2011 1:18 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account