Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Health Related Diet Navigation    
User Rating

58%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 24 reviews

Gerson Diet

A controversial diet by Max Gerson that claims to cure cancer.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Gerson Diet is an alternative kind of diet therapy that claims to cure cancer and other chronic and degenerative diseases. Created by Max Gerson, a German physician, the Gerson Diet is a controversial eating plan that involves consuming a variety of raw vegetables in addition to performing castor oil and coffee enemas, administering hydrogen peroxide or the chemical ozone rectally and taking specific supplements.

While Gerson claimed to have assisted 50 cases cured from cancer and then went on to establish the Gerson Institute, his cases have been strongly rejected by the medical community, including the National Cancer Institute, for its unsubstantiated evidence. In addition, many people who followed the Gerson Diet became sick due to treatments and/or infected treatment intrustments.

PRO
  • Endorses a diet of vegetables and organic juices
  • Vegan friendly
CON
  • Treatment has caused non-cancer related infections
  • Does not lend itself to randomized controlled studies
  • Has not shown to be effective at treating or curing cancer
  • Very strict diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The diet of the Gerson therapy involves consuming a raw vegan and organic diet in addition to daily vegetable juices, enemas and dietary supplements like Vitamin C and iodine. All animal products are prohibited as well as alcohol, salt, food additives and unnatural ingredients.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise guidelines given.

CONCLUSION

The Gerson Diet is a highly controversial form of alternative diet therapy that claims to cure and treat cancer and other chronic health conditions. But its unsupported health claims and the grave danger that many of the plan's methods possess have caused it to be vehemently rejected by the medical community.

Common Misspellings

girson diet, max gerson diet, gersen diet, girsin diet, girsen diet, gerson deit, gerson cancer diet, gerson therapy


Related Diets: Vegan Diet, Detox Diet, Raw Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 44 total comments)

le

I agree with the other viewers, cancer is your body saying it needs to detox. chemo and radiation strip your body of good nutrients and depletes your immune system. I lost my father and cousin to cancer and if they would have found alternate methods like eating healthy, they would be alive. Medicine doesn't cure cancer. a good raw organic diet will strengthen your body, period

posted Aug 18th, 2013 1:58 am


cheryl johnson

I haven't tried the diet but am researching how to implement change sin my life. I have numerous health issues, not including cancer.
What I do know is that people should run away from anyone telling them that eating healthy can harm you. Even if it didn't cure cancer, it would be a good thing to do. As far as studies and testing go, look how many people are suffering and suing companies over medications and treatment that were tested. Common sense can't be tested.

posted May 15th, 2013 1:24 pm


Viv Dunn

Big Pharma are Bad Pharma, they only care about money. Times are changing, people are waking up. Chemo and radiation kills, not cancer.

posted Jan 15th, 2013 1:34 am


Jeannie

I like the diet, and hate the article. Two videos to watch and you can find them on Youtube. A Beautiful Truth and Dying to have known the Truth. Do your own research and keep in mind, the pharmaceutical companies are the ones that have the most to lose by people knowing the truth about this therapy. The medical community will OF COURSE reject it. It's far more profitable to keep us sick than to provide a cure or acknowledge that one even exists. After two years of research I am doing the therapy to try and cure my diabetes and the damage it has done to my body. Wish me luck.

posted May 20th, 2012 6:05 am


manuforti

perhaps this works b/c there is no poisens like msg

posted May 8th, 2012 5:37 am


Bobby

The Gerson method is amazing and has been PROVED many times over in every SCIENTIFIC way possible. The idiot that wrote the review has no idea what he or she is talking about. Continue to support the lying/money driven American Cancer society and all their horribley ineffective treatments..What a joke,..Open your eyes everybody..seriously.

posted Apr 30th, 2012 5:12 pm


Stacy

I had never heard of this "diet" until I saw a patient following it this week. She does not have cancer, but liver disease. She is now closer to hospitalization after following a regimen that has left her severely malnourished and with a probable B12 deficiency. I do not recommend this diet to people with catabolic diseases who require more calories and protein to survive.

posted Apr 25th, 2012 10:31 pm


Ted N

The article, as are many online, seem to have been written by one in bed with allopathic care at some level. Cut, burn, poison is such a fn joke people. To those who continue to kill off our population-Hell has a very special place for you, or it should. Healing is found in the Gerson Therapy and a few other solutions. From the folks who brought us bloodletting they lie to protect their own lies and care nothing for those they kill. Their "cure" will KILL you 65% of the time. FTW? Wake up folks-the solution already exists.

posted Apr 21st, 2012 2:22 am


lauren

Lie!!!!!!this is ridiulous! my best friends mother in law had stage 4 cancer and did this diet along with the medicines you can get just right over the border into mexico, and was healed. cancers live in an acidic state, and this diet goes back to the beg. God put the food on the earth the way it was because he knew what was best. do this diet. my husband and i are slowly doing it as our food runs out we are replacing it with the gerson approvd stuff and i already have more enegery and im less stressed. we do not have cancer and we do drink alchohol occass. and eat all organic meat. but i do know people who have been healed!!

posted Dec 21st, 2011 10:17 pm


Adam

Of course the greed of pharmaceutical companies would make it so they do not agree with this diet, because if it works (which many can say that it did for them) then they are out of jobs....go figure this article is negative; doesn't it all come down to corporate greed and how we can make more money even though it hurts and kills other people. This author of this article is probably caught up in this greed as well...

posted Dec 16th, 2011 4:27 am


mandy

I am so tired of people being so negative about the Gerson Therapy! Dr Max Gerson was a genius! This is proven to cure cancer and other diseases. the natural way. Lots of prescribed medication from a doctor causes cancer and have more side effects than benefits! i will never take a pill from a doctor! Holistic way is the way to go! do not believe this person's therory on the Gerson therapy Way. It works and it has been proven over and over and over and over!

posted Dec 3rd, 2011 4:26 pm


Eve

Have there been any contolled investigations reported in medical journals available to read to learn more about the Gerson Diet? I'm interested in seeing medical journal reviews, if any, from the European journals. Have there been any contolled investigations there?

posted Nov 9th, 2011 11:42 am


Why are people being paid to debunk the Gerson Therapy? I hope no one listens to the lies...Just drinking juice all day, half as required brought noticeable changes. They(medical/industrial elite) are most likely afraid that such zealous juice drinking may expose the chemicals in the food produce...and while searching for organic produce, it may be exposed there is rarely such a thing nowadays...Why are we letting them take the therapy too....Let's take back our organic belongings, into our gardens!!!! And they can suck it!!!!

posted Oct 13th, 2011 4:58 pm


jawjab flabbercake

It works if you work it

posted Sep 7th, 2011 9:39 pm


Dori

The Gerson therapy strives to put your body systems back into optimum condition by putting in only the most excellent micronutrients and also cleansing the toxins from your body. The premise is that as the body heals and strengthens it will begin to fight off the unwelcome things residing there.
I can see parts of this therapy (like the hallelujah acres 85% raw, 15% cooked) would be beneficial to maintaining excellent health and immunity. However since many of the people who seek out Gerson therapy are already so sick that the medical community has given up on them, it stands to reason that a large percentage of patients would succumb to the disease simply because the body could not be healed at such a late stage.
But imagine if we each took a green juice for breakfast , had organic salads, stirfrys, soups and stews for most of our meals. Celebrated special occasions with family by eating whatever was served, not being legalistic. We could maintain our health so that we would never need the drastic measures of the enemas etc. Another movie to watch is "Crazy, sexy, Cancer" This young woman cured her stage 4 cancer with this type of therapy and documented the entire process. I remember an early scene where she is crying in front of the camera drinking the juice. She eventually got used to it and now has a website called "crazy sexy diet"
There are many doctors who are now coming on board with this type of diet.
Mc Dougall, Campbell, Dean Ornish, Caldwell Esselstyn. All the research on free radicals and anti oxidants only support this way of living.

Even President Clinton went to a vegan diet after his heart surgery.

posted Sep 5th, 2011 11:17 am


theresa

wow, i can't believe the comment in the article that this caused a dangerous infection in many of the people practicing this therapy. I have been doing this therapy since Jan 2011. It has saved my life. I went to the gerson hospital in mexico in march and they are very caring and teach you what you need to know to safely do this therapy.

Some important steps you need to know when doing this therapy is, you may need to tweak it to your capability. For instance I can do only 2 ememas and 6 juices because I was very weak and had to be on the therapy for 6 mo. before starting castor oil. So, sometimes you have to take it slow.

And you have to have balance...DO NOT do the enemas without the raw juice. You need the nutrients when detoxing this much. Charlotte Gerson said its very important to do at least 3 juices for every enema you do. And the enemas are very important to detox and the coffee helps open up the bile ducts and releases the toxins from the liver so its not recycling through your body.

Also, its imperative to use only organic vegetables and fruit in the juices because it quickly absorbs into the body and you don't want to put pesticide from non-organic food back in, that would defeat the purpose of the juice.

If anyone doubts this diet, watch the movie, "Dying to have Known".

I know for me it works, everyone needs to research for themselves and do whats best for them.

But, at the very least, if done correctly--organic food and clean equipment, its a very effective and safe therapy.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 2:50 am


Paul

whoever wrote this article is an idiot, brainwashed sheeple. Gerson therapy works, we are healing (tumour already shrank) my wife's ovarian cancer. Only 4 weeks in and the results are incredible. The coffee enemas are an important part in addition to the juicing and sodium restriction. Soon raw dairy, low fat, will be added in.
Anyone should try this, especially if you have cancer or other disease.

posted Aug 8th, 2011 9:56 am


Anna

The Gerson Diet works. The supporting documentary film: "Dying to Have Known" explains it all. It is backed up with scientific evidence, proof, and testimonials from people including famous medical doctors, who have cured their cancer and are cancer free. The Gerson diet has worked for more than fifty years. People who have not tried it cannot speak for itself.

posted Jul 3rd, 2011 3:11 pm



lostnowfound

This Therapy has changed my life!! Don't knock this therapy till you try it or at least incorporate alot of into your life. Plus go to their website, email them or call the clinic..everyone you speak to is so friendly and helpful. They'll send you lots of info. But definatly watch "The Beautiful Truth" For more great info check these out "Dying to have known" "Dirt" "The Gerson Miracle"...
The Gerson Therapy "taught" me about food and how important what you put in your mouth IS. Now I look at all that processed junk as poison...oh how easily I could let myself focus on how yummy it tasted and how just one bite wouldn't hurt!! BUT I think you haven't worked this hard to change habits and to actually feel good!! I didn't realize how terrible I really felt all the time. I feel so good. I'm only 15 days IN!

posted Jun 9th, 2011 11:19 pm


ellie

this diet is killing my dad and completely eliminated the quality of his life. i hate max garson and the people who advocate and spread this absolute shite to desperate fearful cancer patients. his life has been a living breathing hell for the past 2 years doing this horrid "therapy". he has not gotten better only worse and the work and lack of nutrition required by this "therapy" has made him weak and achy as well as taken any joy out of the day. he is a slave to this horrid therapy that is KILLING him.

posted May 30th, 2011 4:19 pm



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account