Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 71 reviews
Freshology

Freshology Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

A frozen meal delivery diet with endorsement from Dancing With the Stars.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Freshology is a weight loss meal delivery system that provides gourmet low calorie meals. They ship worldwide and emphasize meals low in carbohydrates but rich in lean protein and healthy fats.

The meals are portion controlled, frozen, and made to be easy to eat. There’s a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, and dessert offered up to 3 times a week. Different calories are offered depending on your specific goals and sex. Our review experts analyze many diets and they found the most effective to be the 18Shake Diet. It offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake and a fat burning diet pill. For more information on the 18Shake Diet, click on the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Freshology Ingredients and Side Effects

There’s no mention of the kinds of specific ingredients added, only on the actual food. Here are some sample food choices:

• Roasted Chicken breast with fajita style vegetables, open faced beef slider with lettuce and cheddar cheese, scrambled eggs with cheddar and chicken apple sausage.

The calories range from the following amounts in the accelerated weight loss program:

• Men: 1,450 to 1,750 calories.

• Women: 1,250 to 1,450 calories.

2 different options are offered, a premium and classic menu. The classic only allows changes to the kinds of meat and seafood protein you’d like, while the premium allows for more alternations.

The premium also allows one to change up to 5 proteins and 5 non protein foods.

For a list of the top ranking weight loss diets, click on the link here.

An issue with the calorie limit is that this might be too extreme for some. The NHS, a UK organization which provides health information reveals that the calories needed vary:

       • Men: 2,500 a day.

       • Women: 2,000 a day.

Therefore women would be receiving less than 750 calories while men would be 1,050 calories less at the lowest offering. This is extreme and may promote side effects such as:

       • Muscle, bone, and tissue loss.

       • Headaches, ill feelings, and mood swings.

       • Nausea, stomach pain, and difficulty relaxing.

       • Fatigue, depression, and insomnia.

• Loss of energy, feelings of illness, and low blood sugar.

• Loss of vitamins and minerals, increased risk for illness, and need to supplement with vitamins and minerals.

Severe caloric deprivations can also be extremely difficult to follow. While they can promote weight loss it’s often not advised as long term approach. Often when one severely restricts calories any lost weight is often quickly returned.

The intended convenience of Freshology is a good thing, but one is paying for small portioned meals that are low in calories. Whether or not it’s satisfying enough is difficult to determine. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Freshology” section, there were issues with the quality of food.

Click on the link provided for a comprehensive list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Freshology Quality of Ingredients

Due to the lack of nutrition facts list its unknown exactly what kinds of ingredients will be used. The official website does state that there’s natural protein without hormones and steroids.

Still, it’s unknown if there’s heavy use of sweeteners, sodium, artificial additives, or any processed ingredients. It’s important to know what is used in order to truly determine the overall quality.

The meals are low in carbohydrates and calories, and calories are something that is greatly reduced while on this diet. While this can help with weight loss, any low calorie meal plan would also offer the same effects. For a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, follow the link here.

The Price and Quality of Freshology

The pricing depends on the length of service one chooses and what option is selected. Here are the pricing for 30 days’ worth of meals for the accelerated weight loss option:

       • Classic: $47.95 per day.

       • Premium: $57.95 per day.

Some customers have also remarked that shipping can cost up to $35 per full daily meal, which is almost the cost of the entire food package a day.

This is incredibly expensive and averages to $1,438.50 per month for the basic classic offering and $1,738.50 for the premium.

No mention is given about what kinds of ingredients are used either, so it’s impossible to determine if only natural unprocessed additives are used. The list of the top ranked weight loss diets is featured in this link.

One can prevent the high price by making one’s own foods, and there would also be less of a concern with the inconsistency of meals. Some customers have had issues with the quality of foods after they were heated.

Business of Freshology

The company is also known as Freshology and their contact information is:

Phone Number: (877) 893-7374

Email: CustomerService@freshology.com

Some customers did complain about issues with delivery and with the lack of attention about specific foods choices. These customers added how they asked specifically for a specific kind of meat only to find something they didn’t want.  

Delivery times were at all kinds of hours for people. One customer remarked how he was delivered meals at 1 am.

The company began in 2005 and they are based out of Southern California. They became popular as celebrities started to use their meal programs.

There is very little information available about the company practices and whether or not they deal with customer issues in a timely manner.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Freshology

Here are select reviews from users:

“most of the food is just mushy and gross. Meat is bland and rubber like. Salads are basic”

“food quality was over salted and plain gross”

“It is gross. Ended up dumping a lot of the food because it was inedible”

“found that the food was bland, boring, tasteless, and inedible”

While there were positive reviews, many users felt that the food does not taste very good. There were issues with consistency as some meals came out good, but at times there was issues with it not turning out edible once heated.

People often remarked how they were disappointed at the high cost of shipping and of the foods themselves.

It’s easy to tell from looking at the company’s pictures and then images posted by customers, that the quality is a lot different than what’s advertised. The list of the best weigh loss diets is featured via the link.

There were also negative experiences from users who felt that the meals either didn’t help to promote weight loss or that they were unsatisfying as to not be a long term solution. Some remarked on how they were unable to make the food appealing as it was often described as goopy, mushy, bland, or unseasoned.

Conclusion - Does Freshology Work?

Freshology provides different gourmet meals that are low in calories and carbohydrates in order to promote weight loss. The concept sounds interesting but many customers mentioned the food wasn’t very good. Many found it inedible and greatly overpriced. The company also fails to mention what ingredients are used, so this makes it impossible to determine the overall quality. Both the high price and inconsistency of meals were often issues customers had.

In reviewing weight loss diets our review experts have concluded that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective for weight loss. It’s made up of a stimulant free fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Both are made with quality all natural ingredients fee of binders, colors, preservatives, and artificial additives. Users have left glowing reviews and before and after photos to showcase their own weight loss results.

Every ingredient is produced in a GMP certified facility to ensure routine quality inspections. This allows for 3rd party inspections to ensure every batch is made in a clean and safe environment. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link here.

How Does Freshology Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Freshology
  • 33 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 4, 64 total comments)

sualan

my husband and i signed up for freshology, not for the diet plan and to lose weight but rather to eat more healthy. also, we are both small business owners and are very busy, so we thought that getting food delivered was the way to go.

here are my thoughts on the food. i like the breakfasts. i normally am very rushed in the morning, so it was convenient. the food was good but found that there wasn't enough variety. seemed like a lot of eggs and sausages. the lunch was normally a salad which was usually tasty but again, the variety wasn't there. the dinners were just okay. tonight i had a basic chicken breast, rice and eggplant - fairly bland. got another shipment today and it's chicken again... i must say though that the quality of meats is very good!

not sure i will sign up for freshology again...unless i have a major time crunch.

posted May 13th, 2010 3:18 am


Rachel

-

I was really looking forward to receiving these meals, especially after reading so many of the positive reviews (all with exclamation points at the end...interesting). I am not a picky eater, but these meals were very bland and not at all worth the cost. Every lunch consisted of spinach leaves, a few tidbits of chicken and/or canned beans and soggy vegetables. The dinners were okay, but for the cost I would rather cook the meals myself. In addition, I found their customer service reps to be condescening - if you call to ask questions AFTER you purchase, they talk down to you and rush to get off the phone. I won't be renewing with them, which is unfortunate as I had very high hopes. Save your money and try out another diet delivery service like ChefByRequest or Bistro MD!!

posted Apr 29th, 2010 1:34 pm


Jenna R.

+

For anyone else like me who travels allllll the time on business, and ends up eating out alllll the time you know its pretty easy to start packing on some pounds. That's why I LOVE Freshology. I have an apartment in LA and NYC and I can get the GetSlim program in either city whenever I want to shed a little weight. Definitely worth the price- cheaper than my meals out!

posted Jan 15th, 2010 6:00 pm


Curvy girl

Waste of money! I tried the :Fresh Lite" program for about 1 month. Portions are small and salty. While the breakfast and dinner is delicious, it's not worth it. You're eating the same type of food daily. Example: Breakfast: Fruits with protein and carbs (Blackberries and raspberry, 1 sausage and whole wheat pancakes) YUMMY! Lunch: 5 days a week is usually a salad with some sort of beans (at $40 a day, that's a $10 dollar salad ,5 days a week = $50 for salad). What's so hard about throwing some spinach together with some canned beans and some grilled bell peppers. That's really what it is all the time for lunch. Dinner: Protein with veggies, rice or some sort of potato. Usually pretty good. Dessert: Usually some sort of bom bom. Nothing to rave about. If you stick to what they give you, you will slowly lose the weight due to the portion control. That's if you can stick to it because I was starving! Honestly, if you watch your calories and what you eat, you can do it on your own for a fraction of the price and you can teach yourself how to eat right. If I was to choose, Weight Watchers is the way to go. Nutrisystem=dog food.

posted Dec 12th, 2009 5:24 am


Annie

+

Just about every meal was quite yummy.

posted Nov 27th, 2009 7:54 pm


Dakota

+

I just got my first order of food today and I have to say that it does taste good. which was a main concern for me. The food is not frozen so there's no waiting to defrost it. Anyway, I like the way they have it color coded and organized! I'm on day one so i'll report back when i finish my two weeks. Thanksgiving is around the corner and i plan to skip thanksgiving dinner. I just can't deviate from my "get skinny" plan! LOL i've indulged enough thanksgiving dinners to spare this one. I'm sure if i see pounds dropping i won't even care. Oh and i'm working out 30 mins cardio and 30 min weight training too.

posted Nov 18th, 2009 6:29 pm


Nina

+

This is the best food by far than any other program available-and I tried them all. When I lived in LA, I had it delivered daily. The food was amazing and different everyday. It was like a restaurant would send me meals with all my dislikes taken into consideration. I moved to Texas for two months and they sent me Get Slim. I was afraid to get "Fresh Food" in the mail, but I have to say, the fruits and vegetables were amazing. I received steak, and fish dishes that I would order if I went out to dinner.

I lost 25 lbs the first 3 months I was on the program and just stayed with it to maintain my weight. It seems costly, but once I realized that between my morning latte and $20 dinners, I was actually saving money and eating well all day. Didn't have to think about what to buy, prepare, cook or clean. for my lifestyle its the perfect answer to keep myself healthy long term.

I would say try it and see if you like the food, convenience etc. If anything, you definitely learn the portions of food you SHOULD be eating. I love Freshology and I am really glad I gave it a try.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 4:17 pm


Cali

Ok, it's nearly 2 weeks and I lost 5 lbs on this Freshology deit. I figure 2 glasses of water with each cup of coffee should be ok? I just made that up but it works for me. They say no coffee but that's really hard for me. I wanted to give it the time before stepping on the scale and I need to say it's pretty darn good. Sometimes I eat things I never tried before that look weird, but it taste good so I do it . Tomorrow is my 1st excercise class! I'm commited.

posted Oct 14th, 2009 2:03 pm


cali

+

Hi Sophia,

I know it's from August and you might not see this post ever but for anyone who can't sleep at night like me... and is up late at night shopping and doing random emails - (I'm nervous about all my wedding details) Anyway, I just posted about how much I'm really enjoying this diet. This is a low sugar diet and the sugars they do use are all natural like agave and brown sugars. The desserts are also low sugar but really great. I just had the flourless chocolate cake and it was so good. I have it with my coffee in the morning instead of at night - I can't give up the coffee - sorry Freshology I know you suggest no coffee, but I just can't yet. The dessert with coffee after breakfast is just really good. The mid day snack is always healthy like a veggie snack or something. I asked the sales person about the sugar content and she explained it really well. She really knew her stuff. I'm only posting this because I'm so happy to finally find something of quality! Plus, I can't sleep - to much coffee! :) so I say just give them a call and ask questions. Hope this helps.

posted Oct 12th, 2009 6:03 am


Rosie

+

I'm 45 years old and I have a 7 yearold and for some crazy reason I could not lose the tire around my belly. I always thought I ate fairly well, because I was never overweight in other areas just this darn belly fat. Yes, I do excercise and do sit up's but that's hard for me because it hurts my neck and lower back. I have a few back issues to start with... Anyway the point is that I have been on a few diet delivery programs because I work very long hours. The problem is I don't know how to cook diet foods with low unsaturated fats that taste good, nor do I have the time to figure it out. All of these posts about Freshology look outstanding, and I do know someone who did the daily service in LA who just loves it. I need more feedback on Getslim because I live in New Jersey. I did try the Zone and well, that was not for me. I also tried a Chefs something or other once and that was not for me either. I was looking for something with a better food quality.
Dee, your post is the most detailed and helful. can you tell me anything about the quality of the food? I mean you are eating it so it must be ok, or even good? I'm willing to pay more for shipping if the food is good because then I know I can stick to something for more than a few days to give any diet a chance to work for me. For me it's all about the taste. Hope to hear from you? Thx Rpsie

posted Oct 11th, 2009 12:52 pm


Morris

-

Anyone notice the sudden spurt of brief, grammatically correct, very positive but a little vague comments about Freshology that started appearing on blogs and diet sites about two months ago? I started getting it on my blog on an old post. I think that Freshology has hired astroturfing consultants. Anyone know how to get in touch with the FDA.

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 11:23 pm


Terry

+

I'm on the Fresh Lite program, my husband is on Fresh Dining, and we just signed our children up for Fresh Lunchbox. I love what its doing for our family!

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 5:08 pm


Kelly Richardson

+

I love hearing about all these celebrities on it, I'm on it too and it just makes me feel like such a star!

posted Sep 21st, 2009 10:23 pm


Anne

+

hands down the best diet i've ever tried!

posted Sep 17th, 2009 9:25 am


Tessa

+

Cant get enough of it- each meal is so different and delicious and its doing magic for those last few stubborn pounds I absolutely could not lose. Every one is noticing the results and I'm receiving so many compliments on my fit new body.

posted Sep 11th, 2009 1:39 am


Sarah K

+

Freshology has helped me to lose the pounds that just wouldnt fall off after my last pregnancy. I started the Fresh Mommy program which is specifically directed towards pre and post natal women. Its not only a safer diet for breast feeding, but its an easier diet when I am always on the run as a new mom. Freshology is really great!

posted Sep 2nd, 2009 11:38 pm


Jessie F.

+

Before trying this diet I was skeptical about how it would turn out because there are tons of diet programs out there that promise all sorts of results. That being said, I couldn't be happier with how its turned out. Within the first week, I lost 5 pounds, and it motivated a whole lifestyle change. The portion controlled meals teach you how to eat right and feel good about yourself and what you eat. As they say, you are what you eat, and so when you're eating healthy, you feel healthy!

posted Aug 29th, 2009 1:39 pm


Linda Allen

+

I know a number of people that Freshology has been a success with. Because of their results i just signed up for the Get Slim program (their newest/nationwide program). If I have the slightest bit of success that they did I will be very happy because they have all lost and kept off tens of pounds!! I didn't believe that any of these diets actually worked, but from first hand experience I now know that this one does.

posted Aug 17th, 2009 6:56 pm


Sophia Wittmann

I haven't tried this product, but I am seriously considering it - not to lose weight, but for the sake of convenience (e.g., even though I'm a woman, I'd want to be on the 1800 calorie per day plan). I would love to have healthy well-balanced meals every day that I do not have to prepare on my own. However, I am hesitant about this program in large part because the sugar content seems ridiculously high. I can't believe I'm supposed to eat a dessert every day. I would prefer to exchange it for a healthy, low sugar snack. Did anyone else think the daily sugar content was too high? I get the whole "controlled calorie" thing, but I don't want calories coming from a source like dessert, or maple syrup with my pancackes that probably already have sugar in them!

posted Aug 3rd, 2009 3:14 pm


Kristy

+

Great! By far the best home food delivery there is. The food is actually fresh! Being from the Dallas area there is nothing like this around, except for that nasty nutrisystem program where you have to literally add water to the food before eating it. Im not suggesting I took astro-physics, but isnt that what atronauts eat?

posted Jul 29th, 2009 2:57 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jennifer Lopez, Ricki Lake and Dancing with the Stars' Cheryl Burke and Chaz Bono are devoted fans of Freshology, a meal delivery program that brings fresh-frozen, low-calorie meals to your door weekly.

Gone are shelf-stable and powdered foods of competitive meal delivery brands. With Freshology, they prepare healthful portion-controlled meals, freeze, and ship. Your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and desserts are covered for a week - all you do is heat and eat. They offer five different programs to suit your individual needs, but all meals are created to help you lose weight.

Here's how the service works: Select from one of six programs - FreshDining, FreshLite, FreshMommy, Freshology Gold, or GetSlim with the Stars - and then choose how frequently you want to receive meals. Each plan includes a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and dessert. You don't need to supplement with any other foods while eating on the Freshology diet.

You can expect to lose 1-3 pounds per week while adhering to the Freshology eating plan. Plan prices vary according to the selected program, how often you receive meals, and upgrades.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • A convenient way to eat healthy
  • May upgrade for organic foods or wild-caught fish
  • Meals are portion-controlled
  • Vegetables included in each meal
  • No need to supplement with additional fresh food
CON
  • Not a long-term healthy-eating solution
  • Does not teach you how to prepare your own healthy meals
  • No fitness guidance
  • Name/branding suggest fresh meals - they are frozen weeks in advance of shipping
  • No cooking instructions provided
  • No nutrition facts for meals provided
  • No ingredients for meals provided
DIET and NUTRITION

The Freshology service is a low-calorie, portion-controlled and low-glycemic eating plan. Daily calories range from 1200-1400 for women and 1800-2000 for men. Standard fare includes plenty of fresh vegetables and lean proteins. Every meal is created by Freshology's 5-Star chefs and there is a 60-day menu rotation so that you'll eat a variety of different meals. Upgrades for organic foods, wild-caught fish, and all-natural meals are also available.

While Freshology's brand name, as well as their marketing, imply that fresh meals are prepared and sent to you - that is not the case. The GetSlim With the Stars meals that we tried in January 2013 were frozen, similar to any other meal delivery diet we've tried. Our frozen meals were delivered the first week of January and labeled as prepared November 12, 2012, and December 1, 2, 3, 2012.

The packaging displays which meal an entree should be consumed for - breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is no other information provided. It is very disconcerting that nutrition facts labels and ingredient labels are not included on each meal package, or within the shipment at the very least.

A sample day on Freshology would look like this:

  • Breakfast: Tomato Spinach Egg Stack

  • Lunch: Whole Wheat Penne with Eggplant and Sauteed Spinach

  • Dinner: Shrimp Jambalaya

  • Dessert: Mini Raspberry Cheesecake

While following Freshology you are advised to limit caffeine, alcohol and sugary or diet beverages and just rely on drinking water. A daily multivitamin and fish-oil supplement are also encouraged.

EXERCISE

You should exercise at least three days a week while on the Freshology program, but there are no specific guidelines for a fitness regimen.

CONCLUSION

If you want to eat and get trim like Hollywood's celebrities, then Freshology, a meal delivery program that features low-calorie, portion-controlled meals, is one way to accomplish slimming down after a pregnancy or dropping a few pounds for bikini season. A bevy stars endorse the program, including Katy Perry and Pink, as well as having a Dancing With the Stars-themed line of meals.

In comparison to competitive brands, Freshology doesn't live up to the promises of fresh foods, as they deliver the same pre-made frozen meals as everyone else. They also fall short of their competitors by exclusing nutrition facts and ingredient labels from their meal packaging and shipments. The long-term cost and its lack of instruction for teaching you how to prepare your own healthy meals are two main drawbacks. But the meals themselves are flavorful, feature seemingly quality ingredients, and can be satisfying if weight loss is your goal.

Common Misspellings

Freshlogy, Freshilogy, Fresh-ology, Fresh Dining, Frechology, Freshology Diet, Fresh Diet, Dancing With the Stars Diet

Related Diets: Bistro MD, Diet to Go, Nutrisystem, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Fresh Dining, Jenny Direct, LighterLife, Susan's Healthy Gourmet, Zone Delivery, Dancing with the Stars, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Freshology?