Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

83%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 64 reviews

Freshology

A frozen meal delivery diet with endorsement from Dancing With the Stars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jennifer Lopez, Ricki Lake and Dancing with the Stars' Cheryl Burke and Chaz Bono are devoted fans of Freshology, a meal delivery program that brings fresh-frozen, low-calorie meals to your door weekly.

Gone are shelf-stable and powdered foods of competitive meal delivery brands. With Freshology, they prepare healthful portion-controlled meals, freeze, and ship. Your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and desserts are covered for a week - all you do is heat and eat. They offer five different programs to suit your individual needs, but all meals are created to help you lose weight.

Here's how the service works: Select from one of six programs - FreshDining, FreshLite, FreshMommy, Freshology Gold, or GetSlim with the Stars - and then choose how frequently you want to receive meals. Each plan includes a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and dessert. You don't need to supplement with any other foods while eating on the Freshology diet.

You can expect to lose 1-3 pounds per week while adhering to the Freshology eating plan. Plan prices vary according to the selected program, how often you receive meals, and upgrades.

PRO
  • A convenient way to eat healthy
  • May upgrade for organic foods or wild-caught fish
  • Meals are portion-controlled
  • Vegetables included in each meal
  • No need to supplement with additional fresh food
CON
  • Not a long-term healthy-eating solution
  • Does not teach you how to prepare your own healthy meals
  • No fitness guidance
  • Name/branding suggest fresh meals - they are frozen weeks in advance of shipping
  • No cooking instructions provided
  • No nutrition facts for meals provided
  • No ingredients for meals provided
DIET and NUTRITION

The Freshology service is a low-calorie, portion-controlled and low-glycemic eating plan. Daily calories range from 1200-1400 for women and 1800-2000 for men. Standard fare includes plenty of fresh vegetables and lean proteins. Every meal is created by Freshology's 5-Star chefs and there is a 60-day menu rotation so that you'll eat a variety of different meals. Upgrades for organic foods, wild-caught fish, and all-natural meals are also available.

While Freshology's brand name, as well as their marketing, imply that fresh meals are prepared and sent to you - that is not the case. The GetSlim With the Stars meals that we tried in January 2013 were frozen, similar to any other meal delivery diet we've tried. Our frozen meals were delivered the first week of January and labeled as prepared November 12, 2012, and December 1, 2, 3, 2012.

The packaging displays which meal an entree should be consumed for - breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is no other information provided. It is very disconcerting that nutrition facts labels and ingredient labels are not included on each meal package, or within the shipment at the very least.

A sample day on Freshology would look like this:

  • Breakfast: Tomato Spinach Egg Stack

  • Lunch: Whole Wheat Penne with Eggplant and Sauteed Spinach

  • Dinner: Shrimp Jambalaya

  • Dessert: Mini Raspberry Cheesecake

While following Freshology you are advised to limit caffeine, alcohol and sugary or diet beverages and just rely on drinking water. A daily multivitamin and fish-oil supplement are also encouraged.

EXERCISE

You should exercise at least three days a week while on the Freshology program, but there are no specific guidelines for a fitness regimen.

CONCLUSION

If you want to eat and get trim like Hollywood's celebrities, then Freshology, a meal delivery program that features low-calorie, portion-controlled meals, is one way to accomplish slimming down after a pregnancy or dropping a few pounds for bikini season. A bevy stars endorse the program, including Katy Perry and Pink, as well as having a Dancing With the Stars-themed line of meals.

In comparison to competitive brands, Freshology doesn't live up to the promises of fresh foods, as they deliver the same pre-made frozen meals as everyone else. They also fall short of their competitors by exclusing nutrition facts and ingredient labels from their meal packaging and shipments. The long-term cost and its lack of instruction for teaching you how to prepare your own healthy meals are two main drawbacks. But the meals themselves are flavorful, feature seemingly quality ingredients, and can be satisfying if weight loss is your goal.

Common Misspellings

Freshlogy, Freshilogy, Fresh-ology, Fresh Dining, Frechology, Freshology Diet, Fresh Diet, Dancing With the Stars Diet


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Diet to Go, Fresh Dining, Jenny Direct, LighterLife, Nutrisystem, Susan's Healthy Gourmet, Zone Delivery, Dancing with the Stars, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 4, 61 total comments)

Curvy girl

Waste of money! I tried the :Fresh Lite" program for about 1 month. Portions are small and salty. While the breakfast and dinner is delicious, it's not worth it. You're eating the same type of food daily. Example: Breakfast: Fruits with protein and carbs (Blackberries and raspberry, 1 sausage and whole wheat pancakes) YUMMY! Lunch: 5 days a week is usually a salad with some sort of beans (at $40 a day, that's a $10 dollar salad ,5 days a week = $50 for salad). What's so hard about throwing some spinach together with some canned beans and some grilled bell peppers. That's really what it is all the time for lunch. Dinner: Protein with veggies, rice or some sort of potato. Usually pretty good. Dessert: Usually some sort of bom bom. Nothing to rave about. If you stick to what they give you, you will slowly lose the weight due to the portion control. That's if you can stick to it because I was starving! Honestly, if you watch your calories and what you eat, you can do it on your own for a fraction of the price and you can teach yourself how to eat right. If I was to choose, Weight Watchers is the way to go. Nutrisystem=dog food.

posted Dec 12th, 2009 5:24 am


Annie

Just about every meal was quite yummy.

posted Nov 27th, 2009 7:54 pm


Dakota

I just got my first order of food today and I have to say that it does taste good. which was a main concern for me. The food is not frozen so there's no waiting to defrost it. Anyway, I like the way they have it color coded and organized! I'm on day one so i'll report back when i finish my two weeks. Thanksgiving is around the corner and i plan to skip thanksgiving dinner. I just can't deviate from my "get skinny" plan! LOL i've indulged enough thanksgiving dinners to spare this one. I'm sure if i see pounds dropping i won't even care. Oh and i'm working out 30 mins cardio and 30 min weight training too.

posted Nov 18th, 2009 6:29 pm


Nina

This is the best food by far than any other program available-and I tried them all. When I lived in LA, I had it delivered daily. The food was amazing and different everyday. It was like a restaurant would send me meals with all my dislikes taken into consideration. I moved to Texas for two months and they sent me Get Slim. I was afraid to get "Fresh Food" in the mail, but I have to say, the fruits and vegetables were amazing. I received steak, and fish dishes that I would order if I went out to dinner.

I lost 25 lbs the first 3 months I was on the program and just stayed with it to maintain my weight. It seems costly, but once I realized that between my morning latte and $20 dinners, I was actually saving money and eating well all day. Didn't have to think about what to buy, prepare, cook or clean. for my lifestyle its the perfect answer to keep myself healthy long term.

I would say try it and see if you like the food, convenience etc. If anything, you definitely learn the portions of food you SHOULD be eating. I love Freshology and I am really glad I gave it a try.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 4:17 pm


Cali

Ok, it's nearly 2 weeks and I lost 5 lbs on this Freshology deit. I figure 2 glasses of water with each cup of coffee should be ok? I just made that up but it works for me. They say no coffee but that's really hard for me. I wanted to give it the time before stepping on the scale and I need to say it's pretty darn good. Sometimes I eat things I never tried before that look weird, but it taste good so I do it . Tomorrow is my 1st excercise class! I'm commited.

posted Oct 14th, 2009 2:03 pm


cali

Hi Sophia,

I know it's from August and you might not see this post ever but for anyone who can't sleep at night like me... and is up late at night shopping and doing random emails - (I'm nervous about all my wedding details) Anyway, I just posted about how much I'm really enjoying this diet. This is a low sugar diet and the sugars they do use are all natural like agave and brown sugars. The desserts are also low sugar but really great. I just had the flourless chocolate cake and it was so good. I have it with my coffee in the morning instead of at night - I can't give up the coffee - sorry Freshology I know you suggest no coffee, but I just can't yet. The dessert with coffee after breakfast is just really good. The mid day snack is always healthy like a veggie snack or something. I asked the sales person about the sugar content and she explained it really well. She really knew her stuff. I'm only posting this because I'm so happy to finally find something of quality! Plus, I can't sleep - to much coffee! :) so I say just give them a call and ask questions. Hope this helps.

posted Oct 12th, 2009 6:03 am


Rosie

I'm 45 years old and I have a 7 yearold and for some crazy reason I could not lose the tire around my belly. I always thought I ate fairly well, because I was never overweight in other areas just this darn belly fat. Yes, I do excercise and do sit up's but that's hard for me because it hurts my neck and lower back. I have a few back issues to start with... Anyway the point is that I have been on a few diet delivery programs because I work very long hours. The problem is I don't know how to cook diet foods with low unsaturated fats that taste good, nor do I have the time to figure it out. All of these posts about Freshology look outstanding, and I do know someone who did the daily service in LA who just loves it. I need more feedback on Getslim because I live in New Jersey. I did try the Zone and well, that was not for me. I also tried a Chefs something or other once and that was not for me either. I was looking for something with a better food quality.
Dee, your post is the most detailed and helful. can you tell me anything about the quality of the food? I mean you are eating it so it must be ok, or even good? I'm willing to pay more for shipping if the food is good because then I know I can stick to something for more than a few days to give any diet a chance to work for me. For me it's all about the taste. Hope to hear from you? Thx Rpsie

posted Oct 11th, 2009 12:52 pm


Morris

Anyone notice the sudden spurt of brief, grammatically correct, very positive but a little vague comments about Freshology that started appearing on blogs and diet sites about two months ago? I started getting it on my blog on an old post. I think that Freshology has hired astroturfing consultants. Anyone know how to get in touch with the FDA.

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 11:23 pm


Terry

I'm on the Fresh Lite program, my husband is on Fresh Dining, and we just signed our children up for Fresh Lunchbox. I love what its doing for our family!

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 5:08 pm


Kelly Richardson

I love hearing about all these celebrities on it, I'm on it too and it just makes me feel like such a star!

posted Sep 21st, 2009 10:23 pm


Anne

hands down the best diet i've ever tried!

posted Sep 17th, 2009 9:25 am


Tessa

Cant get enough of it- each meal is so different and delicious and its doing magic for those last few stubborn pounds I absolutely could not lose. Every one is noticing the results and I'm receiving so many compliments on my fit new body.

posted Sep 11th, 2009 1:39 am


Sarah K

Freshology has helped me to lose the pounds that just wouldnt fall off after my last pregnancy. I started the Fresh Mommy program which is specifically directed towards pre and post natal women. Its not only a safer diet for breast feeding, but its an easier diet when I am always on the run as a new mom. Freshology is really great!

posted Sep 2nd, 2009 11:38 pm


Jessie F.

Before trying this diet I was skeptical about how it would turn out because there are tons of diet programs out there that promise all sorts of results. That being said, I couldn't be happier with how its turned out. Within the first week, I lost 5 pounds, and it motivated a whole lifestyle change. The portion controlled meals teach you how to eat right and feel good about yourself and what you eat. As they say, you are what you eat, and so when you're eating healthy, you feel healthy!

posted Aug 29th, 2009 1:39 pm


Linda Allen

I know a number of people that Freshology has been a success with. Because of their results i just signed up for the Get Slim program (their newest/nationwide program). If I have the slightest bit of success that they did I will be very happy because they have all lost and kept off tens of pounds!! I didn't believe that any of these diets actually worked, but from first hand experience I now know that this one does.

posted Aug 17th, 2009 6:56 pm


Sophia Wittmann

I haven't tried this product, but I am seriously considering it - not to lose weight, but for the sake of convenience (e.g., even though I'm a woman, I'd want to be on the 1800 calorie per day plan). I would love to have healthy well-balanced meals every day that I do not have to prepare on my own. However, I am hesitant about this program in large part because the sugar content seems ridiculously high. I can't believe I'm supposed to eat a dessert every day. I would prefer to exchange it for a healthy, low sugar snack. Did anyone else think the daily sugar content was too high? I get the whole "controlled calorie" thing, but I don't want calories coming from a source like dessert, or maple syrup with my pancackes that probably already have sugar in them!

posted Aug 3rd, 2009 3:14 pm


Kristy

Great! By far the best home food delivery there is. The food is actually fresh! Being from the Dallas area there is nothing like this around, except for that nasty nutrisystem program where you have to literally add water to the food before eating it. Im not suggesting I took astro-physics, but isnt that what atronauts eat?

posted Jul 29th, 2009 2:57 pm


Libby

I've been on the Getslim program from Freshology now for 2 weeks and I lost 7 lbs. I love this program because the food tastes great and it comes with easy directions. The meals are color coded in the order to eat them. They are for sure fresh tasting to me. I've tried every diet delivery in NY, and most of the daily deliveries are more expensive and not so good. I can't find one local delivery that lives up to the product they promote. After reading the Dancing With The Stars Article about Lil' Kim, I decided to try an out of state service she was on, and So far I'm really happy with Getslim so I'll stick to it and let you know my final results at the end of the month. Oh, and the flourless chocolate cake desserts and the smores are soooooo good! Kim, I'm right behind you girl! XO

posted Jul 12th, 2009 2:17 pm


Stacey

I tried this service in New York & was very unhappy. I had been on others where I got delivery every day. Getting my food in the mail is just very unappetizing. If you are looking to do something like this I would suggest you find a company that delivers fresh daily to your door & not via FEDEX

posted Jun 21st, 2009 5:05 pm


Dee

I am on my fourth day of the Freshology GetSlim plan. The food is shipped twice a week and arrives in a huge box labeled Freshology Get Slim. I receive food for three days in each shipment. Each day has a breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. There are no snacks or water shipped with the food. Before I ordered, I called customer service because I do not eat pork or shellfish. While it is not very clear on the website, the program DOES offer vegetarian or other customizeable meal options. The customer service is very friendly. Once I had to leave a message and someone called me back the same day just as promised.
The food is fantastic. It is very fresh and there is a lot of variety. In each shipment are print-outs of each day's menu, along with very specific nutritional information and ingredient lists.
I must say I do feel hungry still but I am hoping that is because I was just eating too much before and my body is still getting used to the Freshology plan. The literature I received said that I can add one snack a day and that the snack can have no more than 100 calories. I think if I were able to add another snack of 100 calories during the day, I would feel more satsified.
Also, I was concerned about the sodium content of the meals and I have calculated the sodium for each day's meals and it appears that the sodium count usually hovers between 1500 mg to 2000 mg a day.
The desserts are terribly puny. I am sure that is the point, but I would almost rather have a fruit salad and some jello and skip the puny dessert. The desserts are very tasty though.
Overall, I am very pleased with how the food tastes. It alwaysarrives and tastes fresh and I like the variety of the menu. My experience with customer service has been excellent. I wish the company would offer some free shipping promotions on orders of 14 days but it appears that they only offer those promotions on the 28 day program. The program is unfortunately quite costly and with shipping, costs over 600 for 14 days.
I will post another review after I have been on the program for 14 days. Hopefully, I won't still be hungry.

posted May 17th, 2009 7:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account