Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 71 reviews
Freshology

Freshology Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

A frozen meal delivery diet with endorsement from Dancing With the Stars.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Freshology is a weight loss meal delivery system that provides gourmet low calorie meals. They ship worldwide and emphasize meals low in carbohydrates but rich in lean protein and healthy fats.

The meals are portion controlled, frozen, and made to be easy to eat. There’s a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, and dessert offered up to 3 times a week. Different calories are offered depending on your specific goals and sex. Our review experts analyze many diets and they found the most effective to be the 18Shake Diet. It offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake and a fat burning diet pill. For more information on the 18Shake Diet, click on the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Freshology Ingredients and Side Effects

There’s no mention of the kinds of specific ingredients added, only on the actual food. Here are some sample food choices:

• Roasted Chicken breast with fajita style vegetables, open faced beef slider with lettuce and cheddar cheese, scrambled eggs with cheddar and chicken apple sausage.

The calories range from the following amounts in the accelerated weight loss program:

• Men: 1,450 to 1,750 calories.

• Women: 1,250 to 1,450 calories.

2 different options are offered, a premium and classic menu. The classic only allows changes to the kinds of meat and seafood protein you’d like, while the premium allows for more alternations.

The premium also allows one to change up to 5 proteins and 5 non protein foods.

For a list of the top ranking weight loss diets, click on the link here.

An issue with the calorie limit is that this might be too extreme for some. The NHS, a UK organization which provides health information reveals that the calories needed vary:

       • Men: 2,500 a day.

       • Women: 2,000 a day.

Therefore women would be receiving less than 750 calories while men would be 1,050 calories less at the lowest offering. This is extreme and may promote side effects such as:

       • Muscle, bone, and tissue loss.

       • Headaches, ill feelings, and mood swings.

       • Nausea, stomach pain, and difficulty relaxing.

       • Fatigue, depression, and insomnia.

• Loss of energy, feelings of illness, and low blood sugar.

• Loss of vitamins and minerals, increased risk for illness, and need to supplement with vitamins and minerals.

Severe caloric deprivations can also be extremely difficult to follow. While they can promote weight loss it’s often not advised as long term approach. Often when one severely restricts calories any lost weight is often quickly returned.

The intended convenience of Freshology is a good thing, but one is paying for small portioned meals that are low in calories. Whether or not it’s satisfying enough is difficult to determine. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Freshology” section, there were issues with the quality of food.

Click on the link provided for a comprehensive list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Freshology Quality of Ingredients

Due to the lack of nutrition facts list its unknown exactly what kinds of ingredients will be used. The official website does state that there’s natural protein without hormones and steroids.

Still, it’s unknown if there’s heavy use of sweeteners, sodium, artificial additives, or any processed ingredients. It’s important to know what is used in order to truly determine the overall quality.

The meals are low in carbohydrates and calories, and calories are something that is greatly reduced while on this diet. While this can help with weight loss, any low calorie meal plan would also offer the same effects. For a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, follow the link here.

The Price and Quality of Freshology

The pricing depends on the length of service one chooses and what option is selected. Here are the pricing for 30 days’ worth of meals for the accelerated weight loss option:

       • Classic: $47.95 per day.

       • Premium: $57.95 per day.

Some customers have also remarked that shipping can cost up to $35 per full daily meal, which is almost the cost of the entire food package a day.

This is incredibly expensive and averages to $1,438.50 per month for the basic classic offering and $1,738.50 for the premium.

No mention is given about what kinds of ingredients are used either, so it’s impossible to determine if only natural unprocessed additives are used. The list of the top ranked weight loss diets is featured in this link.

One can prevent the high price by making one’s own foods, and there would also be less of a concern with the inconsistency of meals. Some customers have had issues with the quality of foods after they were heated.

Business of Freshology

The company is also known as Freshology and their contact information is:

Phone Number: (877) 893-7374

Email: CustomerService@freshology.com

Some customers did complain about issues with delivery and with the lack of attention about specific foods choices. These customers added how they asked specifically for a specific kind of meat only to find something they didn’t want.  

Delivery times were at all kinds of hours for people. One customer remarked how he was delivered meals at 1 am.

The company began in 2005 and they are based out of Southern California. They became popular as celebrities started to use their meal programs.

There is very little information available about the company practices and whether or not they deal with customer issues in a timely manner.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Freshology

Here are select reviews from users:

“most of the food is just mushy and gross. Meat is bland and rubber like. Salads are basic”

“food quality was over salted and plain gross”

“It is gross. Ended up dumping a lot of the food because it was inedible”

“found that the food was bland, boring, tasteless, and inedible”

While there were positive reviews, many users felt that the food does not taste very good. There were issues with consistency as some meals came out good, but at times there was issues with it not turning out edible once heated.

People often remarked how they were disappointed at the high cost of shipping and of the foods themselves.

It’s easy to tell from looking at the company’s pictures and then images posted by customers, that the quality is a lot different than what’s advertised. The list of the best weigh loss diets is featured via the link.

There were also negative experiences from users who felt that the meals either didn’t help to promote weight loss or that they were unsatisfying as to not be a long term solution. Some remarked on how they were unable to make the food appealing as it was often described as goopy, mushy, bland, or unseasoned.

Conclusion - Does Freshology Work?

Freshology provides different gourmet meals that are low in calories and carbohydrates in order to promote weight loss. The concept sounds interesting but many customers mentioned the food wasn’t very good. Many found it inedible and greatly overpriced. The company also fails to mention what ingredients are used, so this makes it impossible to determine the overall quality. Both the high price and inconsistency of meals were often issues customers had.

In reviewing weight loss diets our review experts have concluded that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective for weight loss. It’s made up of a stimulant free fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Both are made with quality all natural ingredients fee of binders, colors, preservatives, and artificial additives. Users have left glowing reviews and before and after photos to showcase their own weight loss results.

Every ingredient is produced in a GMP certified facility to ensure routine quality inspections. This allows for 3rd party inspections to ensure every batch is made in a clean and safe environment. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link here.

How Does Freshology Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Freshology
  • 33 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 64 total comments)

anne marie

I thought there were better options available regarding Gourmet diet delivery systems through http://dietdeliveryprograms.net/gourmet-diet-delivery/ that just seemed to lack in other information sources and even company sites.

posted Oct 21st, 2011 8:33 pm


lori

Absolute nightmare experience with Freshology and their customer service. Multiple packages were not delivered due to problems with shipping and had my diet derailed multiple times. Despite successful weightloss when the food did arrive, the overall experience was horrible. Do not expect refunds or overnight deliveries if your food does not arrive!!!

posted Sep 11th, 2011 11:29 pm


elie Creo

+

Read about it, tried 2 weeks of the fresh dining daily delivery and I'm hooked. Its all about the flavor for me and this wins.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 11:20 am


london

+

A remark to someone who posted about fb stuff? I can't believe your comments to be true. I love their fb and have had friends buy fresh dining based on my recommendations and they thoroughly enjoyed it. I even won 3 free days on their facebook contest. They were so nice and everything is always pretty and on time. So sorry for your issue but doesn't seem to be the norm. Ask for Jenn she's the girl who takes care of me and gave me great tips.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 2:26 pm


London

+

A must note! Im 15 days into Fresh dining and loving the program. I lost 7 pounds! I got 28 days and happy to continue. I read the review here and tried fresh dining years ago before they became freshology and I must say its so much better now - the taste of the food and service. This chef stands out.
Top of the line for me! Thanks for the support freshology! Thanks for your great service and the healthy food you deliver to my home each day.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 2:14 pm


reina

-

Oh, and I forgot to mention, they delete any negative feedback on their facebook page so don't believe everything you read about them.

posted Jun 8th, 2011 10:58 pm


reina

-

I had a HORRIBLE experience with customer service after one of my packages was not delivered. Do Not expect a prompt response if your food does not arrive when it is supposed to. Do Not expect friendly customer service if you do have a problem. Do expect to pay for food that never makes it to your home. That being said, the food's not half bad and the diet works if the food is actually delivered on time. I really wanted to stick to this program but could not continue after the costly delivery problems i experienced. Overall a terrible experience despite a good (though overpriced) product.

posted Jun 8th, 2011 10:54 pm


Sissy

+

I'm on Fresh dining by Freshology which was recommended by a friend who lost weight on it and so I said ok I'll try it to. Im in a week now and lost 4 pounds. The food is so much better than expected, it's really good. Im sticking to it for 3 more weeks. I could do this forever if I could afford it. I just started walking again with my same friend. It feels good.

posted Apr 23rd, 2011 1:21 pm


Kyra

+

Used this 2 years ago after being very sick and on prednisone. I needed to lose 20 lbs...used it for 3 weeks and lost 12 but had to stop because they sent me food with nuts a few times even though I was a nut ALLERGY client. They credited me and I had to quit do to safety concerns and my poor health. NOW I am signing up to lost 10 lbs and look forward to it. I feel well and don't have to be so fearful of the nut problem due to my health being so well,now. I really like most of the food and thought it seemed like a good amount. It is regular food so it tastes good and is not processed food. I liked the new things I tried and had no trouble staying full - I looked forward to the next meal, though because I liked the food. It costs A LOT so this will be a short term thing for me then I will eat fresh food and maintain the weight loss myself. It's so hard to lose and cut the calories - now I don't have to think about it with the meals prepared and delivered. I'm so busy and have to make meals for my family. Hardest thing was finding space in my fridge to keep all of the meals... I recommend it - it works and I really did like it a lot.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 6:14 pm


Lisa

Diets in review really helped put me on the right diet. I found Freshology here after trying 2 other diets and I finally get what people say about it. My oh my it's so much better. It is more $ so I held out, but it's real food not diet food, and great. I put my mom on it now for 2 weeks. We are both happy! xx

posted Feb 12th, 2011 9:35 am


Laura Figaro

-

I ordered it for two weeks, and I was so looking forward to it, but most of the meals I had to throw away, because of little or no taste. I had a clear been soup today I threw out. Yesterday it was a pork with a sage gravy. And the desserts were very small.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:46 pm


Darian Braun

+

For sure the best food out there form any of these services. Lots of imitators but it seems one original.

posted Dec 30th, 2010 3:40 pm



Michelle Pogas

+

I love it! I lost 30lbs and feel amazing.

posted Dec 24th, 2010 1:49 am


Michelle P.

+

I love it! I lost 30lbs and feel amazing.

posted Dec 24th, 2010 1:43 am


Monica

-

The program is - eh. Quite expensive and not all the meals are tasty, I mean, some are good .. but most of the meals are just plain yucky. Dinners and the desserts were probably the most tasty. Portions are so small you have to lose weight because you're STARVING. Oh, well .. a fool and his money are soon parted as the saying goes.

posted Nov 15th, 2010 7:24 pm


Jackie

+

I'm one of those girls who takes care of everyone but myself and soooo a few things were lacking attention (ie.my weight). I really needed to do something about it, but I never have the time because I'm always running with my kids, my job, taking care of the house etc etc etc. The list goes on as I'm sure so many of you know. My mother-in-law suggested I try Freshology after my recent pregnancy to lose those extra couple of pounds. I didn't do the Fresh Mommy program because after weighing the options, (and considering my personal financials), GetSlim Silver seemed like the best fit. Besides the consistent weight loss i've seen, the best part about it is the CONVENIENCE. Its like the power-mom's dream come true. The food is delicious and the most difficult part about it is resisting eating the rest of the weeks food ahead of time.

posted Nov 12th, 2010 11:07 pm


ruby

I'm on my third day of the GetSlim Sliver. It's frozen food and because of the ice crystals that form, a lot of the food is too watery. Also the salt content has been over recommended levels. The portions are so small, but I guess I'm getting used to it. I'm committed to losing 25 lbs so I'm going to stay on this plan. I wish I could afford the Fresh (not frozen) food!!

posted Nov 11th, 2010 2:09 am


Fran

+

I loveeeeeeeeeeee this program! It looks great and it is just so easy. I was worried that it was going to taste bland and diet foodish- but I was so surprised. I don't have to do anything except eat this food! Lost 8 lbs in 1 week and counting...and it tastes incredible!

posted Aug 10th, 2010 8:45 pm


London

+

Wow! I've been on Freshology and the food is great. I ordered it to lose a few pounds for a wedding (which I did) and then stayed on 3 times a week just for the convenience. I love it so much I put my mom on it because she had knee surgery and this is easy for her to heat. She just loves it. We do Getslim Frozen. The meals do arrive frozen and there has been great variety. Sometimes my mom and I trade desserts. She's loves chocolate cake and I take her cookies. I say if you like good food this is a wonderful option. We highly recommend Freshology.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 7:52 am


Rosa

-

Buyer Beware! There is no quality control at Freshology. If you read the labels, the calories don't add up to what is stated on the label, so how do you know what you're really eating? To make matters worse, the grams stated on the label do not match what is inside the package - in most cases the actual meal is significantly less than what they say is in the meal. So if people lose weight, it's likely because the portions are much smaller than what is stated on each meal's packaging.

I've tried both the Lite program and the frozen program, and both are overpriced. The frozen program ships in one very large shipment, and the meals on the top of the package were no longer frozen. I also don't have enough room in my freezer for 21 frozen packages so I had to throw food out to accommodate the 7 days worth of food they sent me.

posted Jun 16th, 2010 1:50 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jennifer Lopez, Ricki Lake and Dancing with the Stars' Cheryl Burke and Chaz Bono are devoted fans of Freshology, a meal delivery program that brings fresh-frozen, low-calorie meals to your door weekly.

Gone are shelf-stable and powdered foods of competitive meal delivery brands. With Freshology, they prepare healthful portion-controlled meals, freeze, and ship. Your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and desserts are covered for a week - all you do is heat and eat. They offer five different programs to suit your individual needs, but all meals are created to help you lose weight.

Here's how the service works: Select from one of six programs - FreshDining, FreshLite, FreshMommy, Freshology Gold, or GetSlim with the Stars - and then choose how frequently you want to receive meals. Each plan includes a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and dessert. You don't need to supplement with any other foods while eating on the Freshology diet.

You can expect to lose 1-3 pounds per week while adhering to the Freshology eating plan. Plan prices vary according to the selected program, how often you receive meals, and upgrades.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • A convenient way to eat healthy
  • May upgrade for organic foods or wild-caught fish
  • Meals are portion-controlled
  • Vegetables included in each meal
  • No need to supplement with additional fresh food
CON
  • Not a long-term healthy-eating solution
  • Does not teach you how to prepare your own healthy meals
  • No fitness guidance
  • Name/branding suggest fresh meals - they are frozen weeks in advance of shipping
  • No cooking instructions provided
  • No nutrition facts for meals provided
  • No ingredients for meals provided
DIET and NUTRITION

The Freshology service is a low-calorie, portion-controlled and low-glycemic eating plan. Daily calories range from 1200-1400 for women and 1800-2000 for men. Standard fare includes plenty of fresh vegetables and lean proteins. Every meal is created by Freshology's 5-Star chefs and there is a 60-day menu rotation so that you'll eat a variety of different meals. Upgrades for organic foods, wild-caught fish, and all-natural meals are also available.

While Freshology's brand name, as well as their marketing, imply that fresh meals are prepared and sent to you - that is not the case. The GetSlim With the Stars meals that we tried in January 2013 were frozen, similar to any other meal delivery diet we've tried. Our frozen meals were delivered the first week of January and labeled as prepared November 12, 2012, and December 1, 2, 3, 2012.

The packaging displays which meal an entree should be consumed for - breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is no other information provided. It is very disconcerting that nutrition facts labels and ingredient labels are not included on each meal package, or within the shipment at the very least.

A sample day on Freshology would look like this:

  • Breakfast: Tomato Spinach Egg Stack

  • Lunch: Whole Wheat Penne with Eggplant and Sauteed Spinach

  • Dinner: Shrimp Jambalaya

  • Dessert: Mini Raspberry Cheesecake

While following Freshology you are advised to limit caffeine, alcohol and sugary or diet beverages and just rely on drinking water. A daily multivitamin and fish-oil supplement are also encouraged.

EXERCISE

You should exercise at least three days a week while on the Freshology program, but there are no specific guidelines for a fitness regimen.

CONCLUSION

If you want to eat and get trim like Hollywood's celebrities, then Freshology, a meal delivery program that features low-calorie, portion-controlled meals, is one way to accomplish slimming down after a pregnancy or dropping a few pounds for bikini season. A bevy stars endorse the program, including Katy Perry and Pink, as well as having a Dancing With the Stars-themed line of meals.

In comparison to competitive brands, Freshology doesn't live up to the promises of fresh foods, as they deliver the same pre-made frozen meals as everyone else. They also fall short of their competitors by exclusing nutrition facts and ingredient labels from their meal packaging and shipments. The long-term cost and its lack of instruction for teaching you how to prepare your own healthy meals are two main drawbacks. But the meals themselves are flavorful, feature seemingly quality ingredients, and can be satisfying if weight loss is your goal.

Common Misspellings

Freshlogy, Freshilogy, Fresh-ology, Fresh Dining, Frechology, Freshology Diet, Fresh Diet, Dancing With the Stars Diet

Related Diets: Bistro MD, Diet to Go, Nutrisystem, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Fresh Dining, Jenny Direct, LighterLife, Susan's Healthy Gourmet, Zone Delivery, Dancing with the Stars, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Freshology?