Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

83%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 64 reviews

Freshology

A frozen meal delivery diet with endorsement from Dancing With the Stars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jennifer Lopez, Ricki Lake and Dancing with the Stars' Cheryl Burke and Chaz Bono are devoted fans of Freshology, a meal delivery program that brings fresh-frozen, low-calorie meals to your door weekly.

Gone are shelf-stable and powdered foods of competitive meal delivery brands. With Freshology, they prepare healthful portion-controlled meals, freeze, and ship. Your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and desserts are covered for a week - all you do is heat and eat. They offer five different programs to suit your individual needs, but all meals are created to help you lose weight.

Here's how the service works: Select from one of six programs - FreshDining, FreshLite, FreshMommy, Freshology Gold, or GetSlim with the Stars - and then choose how frequently you want to receive meals. Each plan includes a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and dessert. You don't need to supplement with any other foods while eating on the Freshology diet.

You can expect to lose 1-3 pounds per week while adhering to the Freshology eating plan. Plan prices vary according to the selected program, how often you receive meals, and upgrades.

PRO
  • A convenient way to eat healthy
  • May upgrade for organic foods or wild-caught fish
  • Meals are portion-controlled
  • Vegetables included in each meal
  • No need to supplement with additional fresh food
CON
  • Not a long-term healthy-eating solution
  • Does not teach you how to prepare your own healthy meals
  • No fitness guidance
  • Name/branding suggest fresh meals - they are frozen weeks in advance of shipping
  • No cooking instructions provided
  • No nutrition facts for meals provided
  • No ingredients for meals provided
DIET and NUTRITION

The Freshology service is a low-calorie, portion-controlled and low-glycemic eating plan. Daily calories range from 1200-1400 for women and 1800-2000 for men. Standard fare includes plenty of fresh vegetables and lean proteins. Every meal is created by Freshology's 5-Star chefs and there is a 60-day menu rotation so that you'll eat a variety of different meals. Upgrades for organic foods, wild-caught fish, and all-natural meals are also available.

While Freshology's brand name, as well as their marketing, imply that fresh meals are prepared and sent to you - that is not the case. The GetSlim With the Stars meals that we tried in January 2013 were frozen, similar to any other meal delivery diet we've tried. Our frozen meals were delivered the first week of January and labeled as prepared November 12, 2012, and December 1, 2, 3, 2012.

The packaging displays which meal an entree should be consumed for - breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is no other information provided. It is very disconcerting that nutrition facts labels and ingredient labels are not included on each meal package, or within the shipment at the very least.

A sample day on Freshology would look like this:

  • Breakfast: Tomato Spinach Egg Stack

  • Lunch: Whole Wheat Penne with Eggplant and Sauteed Spinach

  • Dinner: Shrimp Jambalaya

  • Dessert: Mini Raspberry Cheesecake

While following Freshology you are advised to limit caffeine, alcohol and sugary or diet beverages and just rely on drinking water. A daily multivitamin and fish-oil supplement are also encouraged.

EXERCISE

You should exercise at least three days a week while on the Freshology program, but there are no specific guidelines for a fitness regimen.

CONCLUSION

If you want to eat and get trim like Hollywood's celebrities, then Freshology, a meal delivery program that features low-calorie, portion-controlled meals, is one way to accomplish slimming down after a pregnancy or dropping a few pounds for bikini season. A bevy stars endorse the program, including Katy Perry and Pink, as well as having a Dancing With the Stars-themed line of meals.

In comparison to competitive brands, Freshology doesn't live up to the promises of fresh foods, as they deliver the same pre-made frozen meals as everyone else. They also fall short of their competitors by exclusing nutrition facts and ingredient labels from their meal packaging and shipments. The long-term cost and its lack of instruction for teaching you how to prepare your own healthy meals are two main drawbacks. But the meals themselves are flavorful, feature seemingly quality ingredients, and can be satisfying if weight loss is your goal.

Common Misspellings

Freshlogy, Freshilogy, Fresh-ology, Fresh Dining, Frechology, Freshology Diet, Fresh Diet, Dancing With the Stars Diet


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Diet to Go, Fresh Dining, Jenny Direct, LighterLife, Nutrisystem, Susan's Healthy Gourmet, Zone Delivery, Dancing with the Stars, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 61 total comments)

london

A remark to someone who posted about fb stuff? I can't believe your comments to be true. I love their fb and have had friends buy fresh dining based on my recommendations and they thoroughly enjoyed it. I even won 3 free days on their facebook contest. They were so nice and everything is always pretty and on time. So sorry for your issue but doesn't seem to be the norm. Ask for Jenn she's the girl who takes care of me and gave me great tips.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 2:26 pm


London

A must note! Im 15 days into Fresh dining and loving the program. I lost 7 pounds! I got 28 days and happy to continue. I read the review here and tried fresh dining years ago before they became freshology and I must say its so much better now - the taste of the food and service. This chef stands out.
Top of the line for me! Thanks for the support freshology! Thanks for your great service and the healthy food you deliver to my home each day.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 2:14 pm


reina

Oh, and I forgot to mention, they delete any negative feedback on their facebook page so don't believe everything you read about them.

posted Jun 8th, 2011 10:58 pm


reina

I had a HORRIBLE experience with customer service after one of my packages was not delivered. Do Not expect a prompt response if your food does not arrive when it is supposed to. Do Not expect friendly customer service if you do have a problem. Do expect to pay for food that never makes it to your home. That being said, the food's not half bad and the diet works if the food is actually delivered on time. I really wanted to stick to this program but could not continue after the costly delivery problems i experienced. Overall a terrible experience despite a good (though overpriced) product.

posted Jun 8th, 2011 10:54 pm


Sissy

I'm on Fresh dining by Freshology which was recommended by a friend who lost weight on it and so I said ok I'll try it to. Im in a week now and lost 4 pounds. The food is so much better than expected, it's really good. Im sticking to it for 3 more weeks. I could do this forever if I could afford it. I just started walking again with my same friend. It feels good.

posted Apr 23rd, 2011 1:21 pm


Kyra

Used this 2 years ago after being very sick and on prednisone. I needed to lose 20 lbs...used it for 3 weeks and lost 12 but had to stop because they sent me food with nuts a few times even though I was a nut ALLERGY client. They credited me and I had to quit do to safety concerns and my poor health. NOW I am signing up to lost 10 lbs and look forward to it. I feel well and don't have to be so fearful of the nut problem due to my health being so well,now. I really like most of the food and thought it seemed like a good amount. It is regular food so it tastes good and is not processed food. I liked the new things I tried and had no trouble staying full - I looked forward to the next meal, though because I liked the food. It costs A LOT so this will be a short term thing for me then I will eat fresh food and maintain the weight loss myself. It's so hard to lose and cut the calories - now I don't have to think about it with the meals prepared and delivered. I'm so busy and have to make meals for my family. Hardest thing was finding space in my fridge to keep all of the meals... I recommend it - it works and I really did like it a lot.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 6:14 pm


Lisa

Diets in review really helped put me on the right diet. I found Freshology here after trying 2 other diets and I finally get what people say about it. My oh my it's so much better. It is more $ so I held out, but it's real food not diet food, and great. I put my mom on it now for 2 weeks. We are both happy! xx

posted Feb 12th, 2011 9:35 am


Laura Figaro

I ordered it for two weeks, and I was so looking forward to it, but most of the meals I had to throw away, because of little or no taste. I had a clear been soup today I threw out. Yesterday it was a pork with a sage gravy. And the desserts were very small.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:46 pm


Darian Braun

For sure the best food out there form any of these services. Lots of imitators but it seems one original.

posted Dec 30th, 2010 3:40 pm



Michelle Pogas

I love it! I lost 30lbs and feel amazing.

posted Dec 24th, 2010 1:49 am


Michelle P.

I love it! I lost 30lbs and feel amazing.

posted Dec 24th, 2010 1:43 am


Monica

The program is - eh. Quite expensive and not all the meals are tasty, I mean, some are good .. but most of the meals are just plain yucky. Dinners and the desserts were probably the most tasty. Portions are so small you have to lose weight because you're STARVING. Oh, well .. a fool and his money are soon parted as the saying goes.

posted Nov 15th, 2010 7:24 pm


Jackie

I'm one of those girls who takes care of everyone but myself and soooo a few things were lacking attention (ie.my weight). I really needed to do something about it, but I never have the time because I'm always running with my kids, my job, taking care of the house etc etc etc. The list goes on as I'm sure so many of you know. My mother-in-law suggested I try Freshology after my recent pregnancy to lose those extra couple of pounds. I didn't do the Fresh Mommy program because after weighing the options, (and considering my personal financials), GetSlim Silver seemed like the best fit. Besides the consistent weight loss i've seen, the best part about it is the CONVENIENCE. Its like the power-mom's dream come true. The food is delicious and the most difficult part about it is resisting eating the rest of the weeks food ahead of time.

posted Nov 12th, 2010 11:07 pm


ruby

I'm on my third day of the GetSlim Sliver. It's frozen food and because of the ice crystals that form, a lot of the food is too watery. Also the salt content has been over recommended levels. The portions are so small, but I guess I'm getting used to it. I'm committed to losing 25 lbs so I'm going to stay on this plan. I wish I could afford the Fresh (not frozen) food!!

posted Nov 11th, 2010 2:09 am


Fran

I loveeeeeeeeeeee this program! It looks great and it is just so easy. I was worried that it was going to taste bland and diet foodish- but I was so surprised. I don't have to do anything except eat this food! Lost 8 lbs in 1 week and counting...and it tastes incredible!

posted Aug 10th, 2010 8:45 pm


London

Wow! I've been on Freshology and the food is great. I ordered it to lose a few pounds for a wedding (which I did) and then stayed on 3 times a week just for the convenience. I love it so much I put my mom on it because she had knee surgery and this is easy for her to heat. She just loves it. We do Getslim Frozen. The meals do arrive frozen and there has been great variety. Sometimes my mom and I trade desserts. She's loves chocolate cake and I take her cookies. I say if you like good food this is a wonderful option. We highly recommend Freshology.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 7:52 am


Rosa

Buyer Beware! There is no quality control at Freshology. If you read the labels, the calories don't add up to what is stated on the label, so how do you know what you're really eating? To make matters worse, the grams stated on the label do not match what is inside the package - in most cases the actual meal is significantly less than what they say is in the meal. So if people lose weight, it's likely because the portions are much smaller than what is stated on each meal's packaging.

I've tried both the Lite program and the frozen program, and both are overpriced. The frozen program ships in one very large shipment, and the meals on the top of the package were no longer frozen. I also don't have enough room in my freezer for 21 frozen packages so I had to throw food out to accommodate the 7 days worth of food they sent me.

posted Jun 16th, 2010 1:50 pm


sualan

my husband and i signed up for freshology, not for the diet plan and to lose weight but rather to eat more healthy. also, we are both small business owners and are very busy, so we thought that getting food delivered was the way to go.

here are my thoughts on the food. i like the breakfasts. i normally am very rushed in the morning, so it was convenient. the food was good but found that there wasn't enough variety. seemed like a lot of eggs and sausages. the lunch was normally a salad which was usually tasty but again, the variety wasn't there. the dinners were just okay. tonight i had a basic chicken breast, rice and eggplant - fairly bland. got another shipment today and it's chicken again... i must say though that the quality of meats is very good!

not sure i will sign up for freshology again...unless i have a major time crunch.

posted May 13th, 2010 3:18 am


Rachel

I was really looking forward to receiving these meals, especially after reading so many of the positive reviews (all with exclamation points at the end...interesting). I am not a picky eater, but these meals were very bland and not at all worth the cost. Every lunch consisted of spinach leaves, a few tidbits of chicken and/or canned beans and soggy vegetables. The dinners were okay, but for the cost I would rather cook the meals myself. In addition, I found their customer service reps to be condescening - if you call to ask questions AFTER you purchase, they talk down to you and rush to get off the phone. I won't be renewing with them, which is unfortunate as I had very high hopes. Save your money and try out another diet delivery service like ChefByRequest or Bistro MD!!

posted Apr 29th, 2010 1:34 pm


Jenna R.

For anyone else like me who travels allllll the time on business, and ends up eating out alllll the time you know its pretty easy to start packing on some pounds. That's why I LOVE Freshology. I have an apartment in LA and NYC and I can get the GetSlim program in either city whenever I want to shed a little weight. Definitely worth the price- cheaper than my meals out!

posted Jan 15th, 2010 6:00 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account