Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

83%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 65 reviews

Freshology

A frozen meal delivery diet with endorsement from Dancing With the Stars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jennifer Lopez, Ricki Lake and Dancing with the Stars' Cheryl Burke and Chaz Bono are devoted fans of Freshology, a meal delivery program that brings fresh-frozen, low-calorie meals to your door weekly.

Gone are shelf-stable and powdered foods of competitive meal delivery brands. With Freshology, they prepare healthful portion-controlled meals, freeze, and ship. Your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and desserts are covered for a week - all you do is heat and eat. They offer five different programs to suit your individual needs, but all meals are created to help you lose weight.

Here's how the service works: Select from one of six programs - FreshDining, FreshLite, FreshMommy, Freshology Gold, or GetSlim with the Stars - and then choose how frequently you want to receive meals. Each plan includes a breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and dessert. You don't need to supplement with any other foods while eating on the Freshology diet.

You can expect to lose 1-3 pounds per week while adhering to the Freshology eating plan. Plan prices vary according to the selected program, how often you receive meals, and upgrades.

PRO
  • A convenient way to eat healthy
  • May upgrade for organic foods or wild-caught fish
  • Meals are portion-controlled
  • Vegetables included in each meal
  • No need to supplement with additional fresh food
CON
  • Not a long-term healthy-eating solution
  • Does not teach you how to prepare your own healthy meals
  • No fitness guidance
  • Name/branding suggest fresh meals - they are frozen weeks in advance of shipping
  • No cooking instructions provided
  • No nutrition facts for meals provided
  • No ingredients for meals provided
DIET and NUTRITION

The Freshology service is a low-calorie, portion-controlled and low-glycemic eating plan. Daily calories range from 1200-1400 for women and 1800-2000 for men. Standard fare includes plenty of fresh vegetables and lean proteins. Every meal is created by Freshology's 5-Star chefs and there is a 60-day menu rotation so that you'll eat a variety of different meals. Upgrades for organic foods, wild-caught fish, and all-natural meals are also available.

While Freshology's brand name, as well as their marketing, imply that fresh meals are prepared and sent to you - that is not the case. The GetSlim With the Stars meals that we tried in January 2013 were frozen, similar to any other meal delivery diet we've tried. Our frozen meals were delivered the first week of January and labeled as prepared November 12, 2012, and December 1, 2, 3, 2012.

The packaging displays which meal an entree should be consumed for - breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is no other information provided. It is very disconcerting that nutrition facts labels and ingredient labels are not included on each meal package, or within the shipment at the very least.

A sample day on Freshology would look like this:

  • Breakfast: Tomato Spinach Egg Stack

  • Lunch: Whole Wheat Penne with Eggplant and Sauteed Spinach

  • Dinner: Shrimp Jambalaya

  • Dessert: Mini Raspberry Cheesecake

While following Freshology you are advised to limit caffeine, alcohol and sugary or diet beverages and just rely on drinking water. A daily multivitamin and fish-oil supplement are also encouraged.

EXERCISE

You should exercise at least three days a week while on the Freshology program, but there are no specific guidelines for a fitness regimen.

CONCLUSION

If you want to eat and get trim like Hollywood's celebrities, then Freshology, a meal delivery program that features low-calorie, portion-controlled meals, is one way to accomplish slimming down after a pregnancy or dropping a few pounds for bikini season. A bevy stars endorse the program, including Katy Perry and Pink, as well as having a Dancing With the Stars-themed line of meals.

In comparison to competitive brands, Freshology doesn't live up to the promises of fresh foods, as they deliver the same pre-made frozen meals as everyone else. They also fall short of their competitors by exclusing nutrition facts and ingredient labels from their meal packaging and shipments. The long-term cost and its lack of instruction for teaching you how to prepare your own healthy meals are two main drawbacks. But the meals themselves are flavorful, feature seemingly quality ingredients, and can be satisfying if weight loss is your goal.

Common Misspellings

Freshlogy, Freshilogy, Fresh-ology, Fresh Dining, Frechology, Freshology Diet, Fresh Diet, Dancing With the Stars Diet


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Diet to Go, Fresh Dining, Jenny Direct, LighterLife, Nutrisystem, Susan's Healthy Gourmet, Zone Delivery, Dancing with the Stars, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 62 total comments)

Claire

I've used there Silver program last year and lost 40lbs. Recently, I found myself in poor health and gained some weight due to meds and inactivity. I'm starting their Gold program. I loved them before and have no doubt it will be just as good this time. Also, they used to print nutritional labels, but now it is emailed. My customer service rep Dana is AMAZING!

posted May 25th, 2014 12:00 am


elie

Just did the edge for 1 month and it works! Food is good and price worked for me.

posted Jan 23rd, 2013 2:47 pm


Angie

I really love Freshology. The only downside in my opinion is the price-it is pricey.
I have done several different programs over the years (FreshMommy, The Edge, GetSlim and the A la Carte options they used to have.) I've lost weight with all of them. The food is healthy, fresh and clean. I feel like Freshology helps to reset my eating habits. It gets me used to proper portion sizes and removes a lot of the over-processed foods I tend to gravitate towards. FreshMommy was very helpful in helping kick start my baby weight. I had tons of healthy food to support the calories needed for breastfeeding and working out.
I've also done DietsToGo-and while I did lose weight-I did not like it nearly as much as Freshology.

posted Nov 28th, 2012 10:12 pm


Ann Hooper

I just want some free information about the program.

posted Jul 3rd, 2012 5:56 pm


Connie

Thus far the taste and texture of the food absolutely do not justify the cost (home delivery nationwide option). I have also used Diet To Go and would rate them far higher on taste and texture as well as menu flexibility.

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 1:14 pm


Seattle Dieter

I ordered 10 days (2 work weeks) of Freshology Silver, and overall I've been impressed with the quality and taste of the meals (and I'm a pretty picky eater!). I'm a week and a half in and have lost 6lbs with little effort and some cheating (a business breakfast, dinner with my husband, and of course weekends off).

Pro's: convenience (simply throw two packs in your bag and run out the door to work), taste, frozen entrees allow greater flexibility if you have to skip a meal, dessert

Con's: variety (I ordered the "no red meat" option, and my second week I received two of the same dinners I had the 1st week), no "ala carte" option, yogurt doesn't defrost well

Note: On the whole I'm a pretty healthy eater, am at a healthy weight, and I exercise at least 3 times a week

posted May 16th, 2012 3:46 pm


Sissy

One month of eating the fresh dining plan helped me lose 14 pounds and really liked the food and service. I love the new menu items like frittata scrambled eggs and my favorite meals are the breakfasts. Lots of good assortments. Oh and the dinners, yes really good. Looking to loose 10 more this time!

posted Apr 14th, 2012 2:41 am


Lib

The fresh dining is yum.
It works.

posted Jan 22nd, 2012 5:28 am


Michelle

I lost 30 lbs on freshologys fresh program last year and it changed my whole life. I've been able to keep it off. The gold meals are my favorite and the best service. The variety is very good. Lots of assorted natural fruits-veggies and fresh fish and savory meats. Cooked the way I like it. My blood pressure is better and I learned portion control. I'm doing another 14 days for the new year. A refresher. I would recommend this to everyone who is serious about their health and good taste.

posted Jan 4th, 2012 8:50 am


PJ

I forgot to add that for the last two weeks at least every other day the veggie was asparagus. The variety was poor. I like asparagus, but not so much. Portions were small, even the salads, one lunch must have had only 5 pieces of lettuce, a little more lettuce might have held me over longer during the day.

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 9:24 pm


PJ

I tried them for 28 days, I found that they are not as flexible with dislikes as some of the other services. The food was spicy at times (Cayenne laced French Toast) and the flavor of the food tended to be more sour or savory than I like. I prefer the Zone type diet that has less fruit to spike my sugar levels. There are other out that that will customize to your tastes without costing you more.

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 9:15 pm


Morgen

freshology fresh meals are my go to for weight loss every May and January. When I need to drop 10 pounds fast with food that is better than what I eat at home, I order freshdining and gold when Im traveling. You lose weight without diet food, its real food.

posted Dec 26th, 2011 7:36 pm


brenda

I don't cook and shopping is blah. These meals really save my life. I am losing weight, my knees don't hurt anymore. I feel so much better. No, not cheap, but I found that nothing good in life is. You can eat healthy for less, but then you need to do it yourself. I could never do it so well. When I cook its a disaster. best! I loving the food and the service.

posted Dec 23rd, 2011 8:13 am


Elie Creo

By the way, did I say before that all the meals have been delicious and they offer vegetarian options. However, I enjoy the steak, shrimp, chicken, salmon and pasta dinners... there are so many varieties.

posted Dec 22nd, 2011 7:38 am


VanityDog

That is the last thing I want is a big hunk of animal carcas with my meal.

posted Dec 22nd, 2011 4:09 am


patsi

The whole Idea of a bunch of fresh fruits and vegetables topped with a big hunk of animal carcas is a huge oxymoron. Any vegan knows that you dont need one bit of animal to be healthy; you dont have to murder anything, and you dont have to take away milk from baby calves either. Become a conscious eater and consumer and the world would be a better place without all the hype about diets.

posted Dec 22nd, 2011 3:58 am


Elie Creo

The food is fresh and arrives in high tech packaging that keeps it cold. The meals came color coded and the menus sent online with my welcome packet. This is round 3 on FreshDing. It works. Tonights dinner was a juicy lean steak, grilled broccolini and mixed winter squash. I had a chocolate flour less cake for dessert. Love!

posted Dec 20th, 2011 7:22 am


nkr

food is neither fresh nor tasty, nor even that healthy. just a good way to manage your calories and portions, but that isnt enough to justify the price.

posted Oct 21st, 2011 11:10 pm


anne marie

I thought there were better options available regarding Gourmet diet delivery systems through http://dietdeliveryprograms.net/gourmet-diet-delivery/ that just seemed to lack in other information sources and even company sites.

posted Oct 21st, 2011 8:33 pm


lori

Absolute nightmare experience with Freshology and their customer service. Multiple packages were not delivered due to problems with shipping and had my diet derailed multiple times. Despite successful weightloss when the food did arrive, the overall experience was horrible. Do not expect refunds or overnight deliveries if your food does not arrive!!!

posted Sep 11th, 2011 11:29 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account