Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews

Center for Medical Weight Loss

Comprehensive weight loss plans tailored for you.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) are physician-directed weight loss programs. Located throughout the entire country, Centers for Medical Weight Loss offer a customized and medically-supervised approach to losing weight.

Every Center for Medical Weight Loss physician has received extensive training and is highly qualified in the field of medical weight loss. Whatever your reason for wanting to lose weight, The Center for Medical Weight Loss will match you with a dedicated doctor who will help you pinpoint and ultimately reach your weight loss goals.

You receive individual attention from the beginning of your program through its end, set realistic goals and expectations that meet your dietary and lifestyle needs, and you are assured a safe and effective way to lose weight.

Here's how it works: Once you an express an interest in the Center for Medical Weight Loss via phone or email, you have an initial consultation with a CMWL doctor. Your CMWL Doctor will learn all about your current weight loss goals and other factors such as your medications, individual body composition, and personal motivations that make you different from everyone else. From there your CMWL Doctor will give you a personalized plan at the end of your consultation and assign you to one of the three CMWL weight loss programs.

Those programs are:

  • Accelerated or Accelerated Plus: A six-week plan that includes one-on-one visits with your CMWL doctor as well as medical tests to monitor your weight loss and a high-nutrition calorie-controlled food plan. The Accelerated Plus plan also includes vitamin regulation.

  • LCD or Modified LCD: The Low Calorie Diet (LCD) is a high-nutrition calorie-controlled plan your doctor will prescribe for you and monitor closely. The Modified LCD plan is the same plan but your evening meal may contain more calories.

  • Appetite Suppressant: This plan uses an appetite suppressant as a way to jumpstart a weight loss program.

In a study of 349 individuals, 99% of the patients that followed the CMWL program of a low calorie diet and individual counseling with CMWL physicians did have a weight loss from their starting weight. The length of time these individuals were on the program varied from one month up to a year.

Anyone who is unhappy with their weight, from those who are obese to those who just want to lose 20 pounds can enroll in the CMWL program. If you are interested in weight loss surgery, the Center for Medical Weight Loss plan can help prepare you for the procedure by helping you to lose weight.

PRO
  • Customized for you
  • Supervised by a medical doctor
  • Recognizes that there is no quick-fix to weight loss
  • One-on-one consultation creates accountability as well as serving as motivating support
  • Numerous locations throughout the country
CON
  • Some plans include prescription medications
  • Insurance plans may or may not cover costs of program and/or medication, if needed
  • If a CMWL location is not near you, then you can't utilize the program
  • No pricing information available on the website
DIET and NUTRITION

The three different CMWL plans contain different diet plans. Each weight loss plan comes with clear instructions on what to eat, how much to eat and when to eat.

Most of the plans are typically very low in calories ranging from 800 to 1,200 a day. In addition, you are requested to drink the company shakes and nutrition bars and, in some cases, prescription appetite suppressants. As you approach your weight loss goal, food is gradually re-introduced into your diet.

In the Low Calorie Diet, several nutrition-rich liquid diets, meal replacement formulas, protein bars and soups are consumed as a way to lose weight. .

The Appetite Suppressant plan involves the use of FDA approved prescription diet pills to curb the appetite and jump-start the weight loss process.

In addition to diet, behavior modification is also encouraged as a way to manage healthy lifestyle behaviors over the long-term. Each CMWL diet is also accompanied by individualized counseling in order to monitor weight loss progress, make diet adjustments when necessary and offer continued and personalized support.

EXERCISE

Exercise is an important part of any successful weight loss plan. An exercise plan will be thoroughly discussed and planned with your CMWL doctor upon evaluation of your current health status, current fitness level, lifestyle needs and weight loss goals.

CONCLUSION

Center for Medical Weight Loss is a medically-supervised weight loss program with locations all across the country. Its one-to-one support and guidance from a medical doctor assures you that you are receiving expert care as you work to lose weight and improve your health. Just be aware that plans do involve eating CMWL bars, drinks and shakes and some plans call for taking prescription medications as a way to help jumpstart a diet plan.

Common Misspellings

center for weight loss, center for medical weight los, center for medical weight lose, center for medical weight lost, medical weight loss center


Related Diets: My Weight Loss Team, Quick Weight Loss Centers, WebMD Weight Loss Clinic, Weight Watchers


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)

Grace

this is the BEST diet I've ever been on. I don't understand anyone who doesn't like it. If you choose the right doctor, you WON'T be disappointed. I walked in, they put me on the coolest scale I've ever seen and showed me how my body is regarding water weight, muscle (haha), and fat. I didn't think I could afford the plan, but I only had to buy the products for a few weeks, so I decided to go for it. I'm down 33 pounds in 8 weeks! Ok, i know that's not like losing 100 pounds, but it was nice to have to go shopping for new pants!

I told my sister who also went to a doctor, but not my doctor. She is in TX and she didn't like him. So she went to a different one and clicked with the doctor there. IT'S ALL ABOUT PERSONALITY. the diet is the same, but you have to feel comfortable with the doctor and staff.

Is it expense? yes... I'm paying $160 per week. It includes the food. But after paying HUNDREDS of dollars on stupid diets over the years, I'm DONE playing with that.

So I look at it as, hey, I can spend money on frozen food with a thousand milligrams of salt or I can listen to my doctor. works out almost the same $$.

posted May 22nd, 2013 4:49 pm


Betty

I have been reading everyone's review and almost everyone say's the same thing about this program. In my opinion I don't think the program is at fault I blame the doctors. I went to a doctor in Orlando, FL his address is 30 Remington RD Ste 2 Oakland FL. I am giving u his address because I want everyone to be very careful when going there. I went in the office and of course everyone was very nice. Before I even did anything I asked them how much was the consultation and their response was don't worry it will be free for the consultation. When they measured my height they said I was 5'5 and not 5'6 when I said no I'm 5'6, only because I went to my regular doctor the other day and I was 5'6, the nurse said hahaha I try to tell people that also. Then she proceeded to take my blood pressure which she said was high. Just so you know I only went for 3 days and all they did was weigh me, which I had to pay for separately, take my blood pressure and did a diagnosis on me. After the diagnosis I was told that I had a sleep disorder. When I told them I didn't want the machine for the sleep disorder they drilled me about buying their food which came up to $350.00 a WEEK. I went to my original doctor to confirm everything and sure enough she told me I didn't have any type of high blood pressure the problem was they used the wrong cuff on me boy was I mad. When I finally cut them off I got a nice BIG letter from them saying I owed them over $500.00 >:( when I called to ask why they said it was the consultation I said I thought it was free they said no they didn't even try to cut it down instead they said oh well just make payments.
SUCH A THIEF.....anyways
I am now seeing another doctor who isn't like them at all all I pay is $100.00 a month for the pills, b-12 shot, and the consultation.

JUST BE CAREFUL everyone just like how there's good people and bad people there's also good doctors and bad doctors.

posted Apr 16th, 2013 10:13 pm


Chuck

I was on a nine week program and signed up for a 30 lb wt loss. I did lose 17 lbs. Happy for that but then hit a wall and did not lose after that. I was constantly pressured to purchase more products and I did purchase a few but to me they made no difference. To them following the diet is not enough. When I signed up I they were very vague about the product purchases. Medical ??? I saw no doctor there during the nine weeks. I saw some nice people in white coats but I am certain they were not doctors or RN's. Because of my insistence to not purchase products they did not check my food journal for at least the last few weeks. THEY ARE IN THE BUSINESS TO GET YOU TO SPEND $$$. Once again I am happy with the weight loss and I do have the diet and booklet to continue on my own now. I would recommend only to those with the warning that you will have to pay a lot and you still might not lose all the weight you planned. Other than that go somewhere else.

posted Apr 5th, 2013 12:37 am


Danice

It is a good plan, if you can afford it. The center provides behavioral modification as well. I see the medical director and owner of CMWL and he is terrific. If you choose a CMWL, make sure you decide which physician is best for you. Remember if you stick to it, then it will work. Theres three different programs, which I think is helpful for the people who can not manage food and have a lot of weight to loose, to the person who needs moderate assistance, to the person who can just do it on their own with guidance. It is costly, but not as much as all the fast food and junk we purchase!

posted Dec 3rd, 2011 11:35 pm


CA

I was sincerely looking forward to this "physician assisted" Weight Loss Clinic; however, I never met the physician on my initial consult. Instead, a nurse, I assume, ushered me to a room, told me, very abruptly, to take off my shoes and socks and get on the scale, put my back against the wall to get my height which another person from another room echoed "Back Against The Wall." I could not believe how unprofessional they were! I was getting angry and considered walking out, but I had a paid upfront and didn't want to see my money wasted. We went back to an exam room where she took my blood pressure and told me that I had high blood pressure which was a first! I told her I had just been to the doctors the week before and 2 weeks before that and no one stated I had high BP. She looked at me as if I was lying. She walked out of the room. I was steaming at this point and REALLY wanted to leave but another person was going to come in and I thought I would give her a chance. She came in and immediately wanted my medical history. I told her that I would rather not go into all of my medical history when I did not know if I could afford the program and I would like to know what they offered first. If I decided to go with the program, I would gladly give all of my medical history. She was not happy about my request, I could see it in her face and hear it in her tone. "Well, we need to peel you like an onion to find out what plan is best for you." I said, "You offer 3 plans that I am aware of, is that correct?" She said, "Yes." Then she got the paper out and went over the 3 plans. Basically, I could go on a 800 calorie diet which is monitored. Supposedly this is a diet that people in a coma are on that sustains them. She stressed that I could not do this on my own and that it was important to have a physician monitor you with this. I guess so!! Now, I know why the blood work and the frequent visits are so necessary! The 2nd plan is a shot they give you called a Lipo shot and B12 injection, which helps melt abdominal fat and the 3rd plan is an appetite suppressant. You can pick and choose or use in conjunction with each other. This nurse was a bit nicer after chatting a while, but my overall experience was very negative and I would NEVER recommend the office I went to based on my experience. It is very expensive to go on this diet, and you would probably do as well if not better on other weight loss plans. I think if these doctors want to supplement their income and add weight loss to it by opening these PWLCs, they need to take it seriously and hire people who actually want to work with overweight individuals and treat people with more respect. One thing that is handy is a printout of your weight, BMI and how much fluid is in your body, how much your legs weigh and belly. It's an interesting breakdown, but they also use a scare tactic by giving percentages of your likelihood to have cervical cancer, and other cancers based on your weight. Most people who are going to weight loss centers know the danger in being overweight or they wouldn't be taking the time and spending the money to go there and frankly, those who don't know are probably better off not knowing in my opinion. I walked away with more anxiety than what I started with which was a quite a bit. I ended up going to my doctor again and I could tell he was annoyed as he said, based on my BP histories, I do not have high blood pressure and you cannot diagnose high blood pressure with one reading. Oh! and another thing, they had my height as 1/2 inch shorter than what my height norally has been, had that re-checked, too and I haven't lost any height! In a nutshell, the center I went to was like going to a haunted house--a real nightmare. This information is based on my experience and I truly hope that if you decide to check them out, you have a better office with better staff who actually care about you as an individual and not treat you as I was treated. It was a big disappointment and I wish I had not gone.

posted Nov 13th, 2011 12:19 am


Rita

I love it. It's the first time in my life that I've lost weight on any diet. Now it is a life style. I've learned how to eat properly and didn't realize I have some pretty awesome looking legs!! I'm thankful for all the chocolate I get to eat with the pudding nutrients and am never hungry. I consider the expense an investment that I can live with for the rest of my life.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 8:58 pm


Jennifer

West Bloomfield, MI: I hated this diet! It was the most expensive diet EVER and there were no phone calls or follow ups at all. The receptionists were in charge of giving me shots. The doctor, in Michigan, would not write me scripts to a pharmacy but you had to fill them there because she knows she wasn't being legit. I took the meds to my doctor who FLIPPED out and said it was like putting speed in your body and could cause a heart attack. She was giving out meds to girls who truly looked anorexic. I paid a lot of money to her and no one called when I stopped going. In addition, the doctor was creepy and would ask, "Have you been a good girl or a bad girl?" I honestly can't believe this place is still in business. I was very upset by the entire experience.

posted Aug 11th, 2011 9:49 am


DJ

I had first heard of CMWL from my Mother who was trying a new healthy eating program for my sister because she was very overweight. I live out of state but when I came home to visit my family in Michigan I was shocked at what I saw with my family. I just saw my Mother in March when she came to visit me for my birthday and just last week when I went to visit she has lost almost about 20 lbs, and my sister has lost 27lbs. It is not a hard plan to follow as long as you prepare your meals upfront. My mother has a great way of doing this by planning the meals for the week on Sunday. I started doing it as well, and I have already lost a couple lbs in 9 days. Now I have always been active in the gym and ran alot and I have never felt like I have in the past couple days ever! I am going to stick to it, I think its great!

posted Jun 24th, 2011 1:59 pm


shelly

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! I am a first time mother that works full time and this is not a diet for busy people. I have always been a healthy eater so after gainin a lot of weight during my pregnancy I thought this would take off my weight fast...WRONG! When I went to sign up they told me that this wont take up alot of time out of your day and that these meals are quick and easy to make and very affordable... NOT REALLY! I work 40 hrs plus a week and with the meal plan suggested for me there is not time for me to spend time with my daughter because when Im not working I'm preparing meals for myself or for the week! Sofar since I have been on the plan I lost 7pounds in over a MONTH when told I would be down 20 by now and I have been sticking to the plan as given.... Dont even get me started on how they gouge you for the fricken nutirents you have to eat thoughout the day and making you constantly rush to the grocery store since fruit and veggies dont last longer than 5 days! They also make you pay for a class to take after your done with your plan so you dont gain your weight back and dont give you enough food for your plan so you are likely to buy more products from them! Now that I'm off I have been losing more weight doing it my own way than listening to those money gougers! IF you have a busy life and not much
EXTRA time on your hands DONT EVEN THINK about doing this DIET!!

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 9:53 am


Jordan

I just went for my initial consultation at the Center for Medical Weight Loss in West Bloomfield, MI, and I have to say that the experience was horrible. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating EXCEPT for the doctor, whoc spent our whole initial consultation trying to upsell me on the next SUPER expensive plan instead of paying attention to the plan I was already on and talking to me about my needs. Then, in front of my family, also there for the livingsocial deal, she revealed personal medical information that I specifically requested not be mentioned (I'm 22, so as a legal adult I'm entitled to doctor-patient confidentiality). It was a terrible experience!

posted Jun 15th, 2011 7:07 pm


Ann

One of my friends lost over 120 lbs on the program. She said it saved her life, which I think it did. She was headed down a path towards disease and disability due to being overweight, but the program turned it all around for her.

posted Mar 18th, 2011 10:57 am


pl

I was on the plan for approximately 4 months, lost 40 pounds. I was on the accelerated plan for six weeks (you drink the shakes and 1 bar a day--nothing else except to drink plenty of water). Surprisingly, I was not hungry at all!!! Yeah, shocked me, too, but the shakes are delicious and the bars (especially the chocolate brownie bars) are very good. Just eat them slow and savor them. Lost 24 pounds. Then I went onto the LCD (low calorie diet). You drink two shakes, eat one bar, and a 500 calorie meal. Found this to be a little more difficult because when I went back to eating food, I wanted more than 500 calories! I did; however, lose 16 more pounds. Because of $$$ and some serious back problems, I went off of it.....thought I could handle it myself--gained back 8 lbs. I am thinking of going back on the accelerated. I want to get back to 150 lbs, so I have to lose 30. That might do it for me.

posted Mar 13th, 2011 7:01 am


jl

a whole different category of weight loss thank you!!

posted Mar 6th, 2011 2:08 pm



Cheryl Brennan

This program worked for me and i LOST 80 lbs in 24 weeks and am now working on keeping it off.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 6:24 pm


Marty

I was on the CMWL diet and lost 22 lbs in 24 days. It was not hard to stick with as I don't eat much anyway. The shakes (vanilla) were very good and some of the bars were ok. However,the hype about medical advise and supervision is just that - at least in my case. There was about 5 min spent with the dr who basically wanted me to fill in my order for the following week. The diet is very expensive - $650 for one month. That is why I am now looking for something else. I loved the diet but could not afford it. When I had to stop 6 lbs came back immediately. I had felt great because of the loss of excess water but now realize you can't stay on something like this forever......especially at the cost.

posted Sep 10th, 2010 5:02 am


Carrie

Here are some success stories from the center for medical weight loss in Tennessee:

posted Aug 1st, 2010 2:55 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account