Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

54%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 39 reviews

BodyBugg

A high-tech gadget that once helped the Biggest Loser contestants monitor weight loss.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Body Bugg is new device that helps you keep a 24-hour watch on how many calories you burn and consume in a single day. It is one of the devices that was worn by the members of the fall 2008 team (Season 6) of the reality television hit series, “Biggest Loser.” The device has also earned rave reviews from the magazine, Popular Science.

Here is how Body Bugg works: It is a small bandlike device that is worn on your upper arm throughout the day. It calculates how many calories you are burning by recording your activity level, including just walking to and from your car. It does this by measuring specific information such as your body temperature and your pre-recorded information such as your weight, height, age and more.

Each night, you upload the information from your Body Bugg onto your PC, document what you ate for the day and then you learn what your caloric deficit or surplus was for that day in order for you to meet your weight loss goal. Based upon your goal, the Body Bugg will tell you how many calories you need to consume in order to reach that goal. The Body Bugg updates your information once a minute giving you accurate readings for what your caloric output is throughout the day.

The Body Bugg interprets calorie burn using a system called "sensor fusion." This process involves collecting a range of body-data using multiple physiological sensors instead of a single sensor, which is what other calorie estimation devices such as pedometers and heart rate monitors rely on. It's this multi-sensor approach that enables Body Bugg to "see" the your activity level (whether you are sitting, sleeping, jogging, walking, etc.) that makes Body Bugg such a reliably accurate device for calorie expenditure estimation.

PRO
  • Body Bugg is an accurate device for measuring how many calories burned during the day
  • Instant and continuous feedback helps keep motivationhigh
  • Stay on track with weight loss goals
  • Makes you accountable for your weight loss and calorie expenditure
  • Takes guesswork out of estimating how much you need to eat and how much you need to exercise in order to lose weight
  • Used by Biggest Loser contestants during season 6 of the show
CON
  • Body Bugg is not a Mac-supported device
  • Does not include a specific diet and exercise plan
  • Cost is definitely an investment; ongoing subscription fees
DIET and NUTRITION

The Body Bugg does not include a specific diet plan for you to follow. The armband itself tracks the calories you burn, but not the calories you eat. Your calories consumed are calculated by the Body Bugg interface based on your weekly body mass change. To better stay on track of your calorie input, the program also offers an easy-to-use food log so you can monitor the calories you eat throughout the day.

EXERCISE

There are no exercise requirements while using the Body Bugg device. It is your responsibility to create an exercise program. The amount of calories burned during these sessions are then recorded onto the device and displayed on the arm band for you to see. constantly recording how many calories you are burning and consuming during your day.

CONCLUSION

The Body Bugg is a diet tool but it is not a diet per se since it does not come with any dietary or exercise guidelines. For individuals who love numbers and want to lose weight, the Body Bugg is a convenient and efficient way for someone to monitor their caloric expenditure all the time. But for those who do not want to be responsible for another high tech device, then this latest in diet technology is probably not right for you.

Common Misspellings

Body Bug, Bodybug, Body Bugg, The Body Bugg, Bodybugg Armband, 24 Hour Fitness BodyBugg, Apex BodyBugg, Biggest Loser BodyBugg


Related Diets: The Biggest Loser At Home Program, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, BioTrainer, Fitbit, Fitrainer, GoWear Fit, My Weight Loss Coach for Nintendo DS


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 50 total comments)

caroline

For Canada you can get the BodyMedia which is the same product as the Bodybugg and I love mine. They ship to Canada and Registration and food items are excellent.

posted Dec 31st, 2009 5:24 pm


CT

I'm having the same problem as a few other people!!! I can't register my bodybugg which means I CAN'T use it!! What a joke! And, the reason I can't register it is because I live outside the US and when you select a different country outside of the US, it still wants you to select a state! However, you can't select a state once you select another country.

I've emailed them numerous times to fix their website with no reply! I think I will have to make up an address in the States to use this product!! What a waste of money and time this thing has been so far!!

posted Dec 28th, 2009 1:52 pm


Christina

Like it, but major problem is they don't allow you to track SUGARs!! I have emailed the company to include this item, i know it's a simple program modification. I won't renew as all I track is my carb & sugar intake. They're missing the boat.

posted Dec 23rd, 2009 2:33 pm


Charisma

The Body Bugg works great. I have lost 20 pounds already using it.

posted Oct 17th, 2009 11:50 pm


Laura

The subscription is about $10 a month or $100 a year. I love it, I lost alot of weight the first time I used it then I quit using it and got back into my old routine. So last week I straped it back on and am much more aware of what I eat and how much more exercise I need to do.

posted Oct 5th, 2009 5:13 pm


sandra

The bodybugg website it unacceptably slow. The look up feature for food is painfully slow. A lot of times, I can't even use the website because it's so slow or it's simply not responding. The device and cocept are great, however the power is lost when you get such unacceptable performance with the website.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 1:10 pm


elissa

I bought my body bugg on ebay 169 bucks with the arm band.....its the older gray model......I love it! It is the biggest reality check! I was always like "I don't know why I can't loose weight I am not eating that much/very active.....this little gadget puts it in perspective! Reality sits in once you do this a day or 2 on your normal routine!

posted Jun 9th, 2009 5:49 am


Nicole

Check this out, it has the same exact product for cheaper, you just don't enter your food into the Web site.

posted Apr 29th, 2009 12:51 am


Victoria M

I agree with you Cheryl! Their technical support customer service is just plain AWFUL!!!! I will no longer be referring friends to get the BodyBugg because of the horrible service I've received. I love my BodyBugg, when it actually works, but HATE HATE HATE the technical support.

posted Apr 13th, 2009 11:21 pm


Tamika

absolutely love the bodybugg v3. lost 32lbs in only 13 weeks. Love love love this

posted Mar 12th, 2009 2:00 am


Bonnie Raimy

The Body Bugg is now Mac friendly, isn't it? That's what the website says.

posted Feb 19th, 2009 9:09 am


Lisa

Love it! It takes the guess work out of dieting. The big unknown was always "how many calories have I burned?". Now I know exactly how many. Love the website and the breakdown of your nutritional intake. It is withhout a doubt the best diet/fitness purchase I have ever made.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 6:31 pm


Krissy

I LOVE IT!!! I had my second baby in September and decided to get a bodybugg shortly there after. I love how it takes all the guess work out of losing weight. I'm still nursing, so this is great for keeping track of my calories so that I don't cut back to much...another great feature is the online nutritional tracking. At the end of the day I can look over the list of foods I ate for the day, and see the nutritional break down (carbs, fat, sodium, fiber and more!!). Plus I use to spend an hour everyday at the gym doing a step class...the bodybugg showed me just how little calories I was actually burning. So now I've altered my routine and am burning a ton more calories, without feeling wornout by the end of the day!!

The only bad thing is the battery, I started out using a regular battery and it would only last about a week, but now I use a extended life battery made by energizer. My battery will last nearly three weeks!!

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 9:50 am


srey

true video "All about Bodybugg"

posted Jan 6th, 2009 10:27 pm


June6168

Don't have one, but I'd like to look into it. Does anyone have a web address for purchasing or do I need a particular store?

posted Jan 6th, 2009 9:33 pm


Fiona

HI.. I am disappointed with the bodybugg.. I bought the bodybugg and the digital device thinking that I would not use the online monthly fee. That I would use one of the many food log programs like daily plate for logging food. I intended to use the digital device to take out my burnt calories and the steps and enter that into a spreadsheet with the calories from the food log website.
issues
There is no battery indicator on the device and I chew through a battery every week.. I guess i could just change the battery every Monday and be done with it.
The bodybugg has a lot of functions to alert you to different things.. I set mine up to reminde me to get up from my desk and stretch twice a day.
I also set it up with my weight and how many calries that i wanted to burn and what my exercise level was to be.. standard stuff and mandatory..
But of course once you set them up they dont get changed if you lose weight or make any other life changes. You need to re subscribe for a while so that you can adjust the base settings.

posted Jan 6th, 2009 12:07 pm


Atamika

I LOVEEEE IT!!! What a wonderful system. I love being in control of things and the body bugg helps me to control the one thing I suck at maintaining.... My weight. This is such a great device.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 5:44 pm


Robin

Cheryl, I'm having the same problems. Received the bodybugg but can't register it and can't get in touch with anyone at technical support.

posted Dec 29th, 2008 9:40 am


Cheryl

Their customer service is awful. First I received my Bugg and couldn't register it. After waiting on the phone for 1 hour I gave up. Didn't find out till I called different number that tech support was not there that day. Next day called tech support waited 20 minutes to get disconnected. Called again about 5 minutes finally talked to my first real person. Yeah, well don't get to excited, he told me my serial number is not in the system they sent some out without being scanned and they would contact me in a COUPLE DAYS to fix it! I hung up with him furious of course called customer service it rang about 15 times got a recording to leave a number and they will call back. I still haven't heard a thing! They are quick to take your money but you can wait to get what you pay for. So I don't know if I like it or not and will probably box it up and send it back. Good luck to the rest of you.

posted Dec 26th, 2008 12:15 pm


ebyoungva

Well all I wanted for Christmas was a Bodybugg and MAN did Santa come through! After my divorce I have over 100 lbs. to lose and I am stoked to get to using this puppy TOMORROW! Of course my trainer will be jealous and he'll want one..but with 4% body fat I don't think he'll need it. 2009 is going to be my year, with the Bugg, my trainer, my Wii FIT, and my gym, I'm going to get this weight OFF FOR GOOD! I feel like I'm eight again and I just got my first Nintendo! Okay, so I'm acting like a little kid, but this thing is ingenious. The price drop for the new version and the fact that it's so small is also fabulous! I put it on when I got it and I was wearing a short-sleeved top and you can't see it at all. WONDERFUL! I plan on wearing it 24-7 until I'm at my goal..well, not in the shower of course, but other than that absolutely! I am so excited!

posted Dec 25th, 2008 8:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account