Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 51 reviews

The Biggest Loser At Home Program

Learn to follow the Biggest Loser diet and fitness plan at home with this convenient online program.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2004
  • Founder: NBC Studios
  • Headquarters: New York, New York
  • Stock symbol: CMCSA and GE
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, low-calorie
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels, Bob Harper, Dolvett Quince, Anna Kournikova, Alison Sweeney
BACKGROUND

Since 2004, NBC’s Biggest Loser, one of America’s favorite reality weight loss shows, has inspired people across the country to lose weight. With the Biggest Loser Club, the official weight loss program of the Biggest Loser, you can follow the same diet and fitness plans the contestants follow in the comfort of your own home.

In 2014, The Biggest Loser Club re-released under a newly designed platform, making it easier, faster and more fun to use.

The improved platform includes all-new meal plans and recipes, additional walking and running programs, and a revamped food and exercise tracker. In addition, all of the Biggest Loser Club’s tools are now available for your smartphone and tablet. An express six-week weight loss plan, motivating weight loss progress charts and a food database with 200,000 entries have also been added.

Your membership to the Biggest Loser Club includes access to all of these features as well as the network of support provided by the Biggest Loser community, contestants and experts.

Users should note that, according to Biggest Loser trainer Bob Harper, you will not see the same dramatic results the contestants see. The contestants are in a highly controlled environment for 12 weeks or more, focusing on diet and fitness without the typical stress of daily life, such as work, chores and family. With more 600,000 pounds lost, though, the Biggest Loser Club shows promise to help people lose weight.

PRO
  • Diet and fitness plans from the show featured
  • Biggest Loser trainers, experts and contestants available for support
  • Monthly online meetings available for motivation
  • Weight loss progress charts available for motivation
  • Meal plans, shopping lists and recipes included
  • Global food database available with 200,000 entries
  • Workouts included
CON
  • Users not likely to see same dramatic results as the contestants see on the show
  • Meal options are not easily swapped
  • Cannot plan meals around food allergies or disliked foods
  • Shopping lists are large, intimidating and seemingly expensive
  • Workouts are not easily swapped
  • Current members lost data for original food and exercise tracker
  • Not ideal for people who want to lose weight on a smaller budget
DIET and NUTRITION

The diet and nutrition plans featured on The Biggest Loser Club are calorie- and portion-controlled for weight loss. By following the recommended meal plan for each day, you will not have to count calories because the platform does it for you. In addition, an integrated food tracker makes adding your meals to your weight loss journal easy.

Whether you choose the regular or the vegetarian meal plan option, you will eat three small meals with various snacks throughout the day.

A typical day on the non-vegetarian meal plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Bran cereal with berries and nonfat milk and a cup of tea
  • Lunch: Whole wheat salad sandwich with hummus spread and a nonfat latte
  • Dinner: Grilled lamb with a potato and mixed vegetables and a glass of nonfat milk
  • Snacks: Fresh fruit, low-fat cheese, brown rice cakes and vegetable sticks

Each weekly menu comes with a customizable shopping list. The automatic shopping list lets you choose how many people you’re cooking for and lets you deselect any food items you already have before loading. The shopping lists are large and intimidating, though, while also possibly costing more than the average person would spend on a weekly menu.

If you do not like a particular meal in your plan or if you cannot find a key ingredient needed for dinner on Thursday night, The Biggest Loser Club provides a massive database of its calorie- and portion-controlled recipes to choose from, including:

  • Sweet No-Skin Potatoes
  • Corn Fritters with Smoked Salmon
  • Easy Shrimp Curry
  • Caramel Banana Split

The Recipe Index sorts its recipes into meal categories, such as breakfasts, lunches and main dishes, and is easily searched. However, the Biggest Loser Club platform does not provide a way to swap meals from the Recipe Index into the weekly menu. In addition, the Recipe Index is not integrated into the food tracker so all tracking must be calculated and entered manually. The Biggest Loser Club does not make suggestions for meal swaps for people who might not enjoy a certain food item but does provide swapping guidelines.

EXERCISE

The exercise plans featured on The Biggest Loser Club are not as intense as the exercise plans contestants follow on the show and are customized to be integrated into your daily life.

Step-by-step instructions for each exercise plan and support from Biggest Loser trainers help you ease into fitness. For example, instead of exercising three times a week, you will begin with as little as two workouts a week, which you can do at the gym or at home. In addition, the integrated exercise tracker makes it easy to add you workouts to your weight loss journal.

The Biggest Lose Club exercise plans feature:

  • Workout videos featuring Biggest Loser trainers
  • Programs to help you prepare for the Biggest Loser Run Walk, a new feature
  • Beginner through advanced level workouts

When you set up your Biggest Loser Club exercise plan, you will choose between the Biggest Loser At Home program and the Biggest Loser Run Walk program.

The Biggest Loser At Home program includes walking and toning exercises for beginners and for intermediate and advanced workouts featuring workout videos with Biggest Loser trainers. A typical week following the Walk and Tone Beginner exercise plan looks like:

  • Monday: 20-minute walk
  • Tuesday: Active rest*
  • Wednesday: Power Sculpt (workout video)
  • Thursday: Active rest
  • Friday: Yoga for Weight Loss (workout video)
  • Saturday and Sunday: Active rest

*Gentle exercises, such as walking, stretching or swimming, are recommended on active rest days.

The Biggest Loser Run Walk program includes walking and running exercises to prepare you for 5K and 10K races and for half marathons. The first option in the exercise plan is the Walk to Run program. A typical week following the Walk to Run exercise plan looks like:

  • Monday: Active rest
  • Tuesday: Alternating walking for one minute and running for one minute for 10 rounds
  • Wednesday: Runner’s Power Sculpt (workout video)
  • Thursday: Alternating walking for one minute and running for one minute for 10 rounds
  • Friday: Active rest
  • Saturday: Alternating walking for one minute and running for one minute for 10 rounds
  • Sunday: 40-minute walk
CONCLUSION

The Biggest Loser has inspired people across the country to lose weight, and with the Biggest Loser Club, you can follow the same diet and fitness plans the contestants follow on the show.

The improved platform provides easy-to-follow weekly meal and exercise plans that take the guesswork out of preparing meals and counting calories as well as tools and motivational charts to keep you going. The program promises to ease you into eating right and moving more with its customized weight loss solutions but does not promise that you will see the same dramatic weight loss results seen on the Biggest Loser.

While the detailed diet and fitness plans are easy to follow, the cost of the membership as well as the cost of getting a potential gym membership and purchasing expensive food items might be prohibitive to some people who want to lose weight on a budget.

Common Misspellings

biggest looser, biggest looser, biggestloser, bigest loser, biggest loser culb, biggesloserclub.com, biggest loser diet, biggest loser's club, biggestloserclub.com

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser: The Workout: 30-Day Jumpstart, Bob Harper, Bob Harper: Are You Ready!, Jillian Michaels, Jillian Michaels: Making the Cut, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Believe It, Be It, Biggest Loser Cookbook, Biggest Loser Simple Swaps, Biggest Loser Success Secrets, Fat Chance, Kim Lyons: Your Body, Your Life, The Biggest Loser Complete Calorie Counter, The Biggest Loser Family Cookbook, Biggest Loser Wii Game, Biggest Loser Resort



Wikipedia

''The Biggest Loser'' is an American reality television show that began broadcasting on the NBC network on October 19, 2004. The fifth season began January 1, 2008. As of April 2008, NBC is casting for a sixth season.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 9, 171 total comments)

I agree with the ohrets who complain about the auto shutoff feature causing the scale to turn off much sooner than it should. So far it hasn't been a major issue for me as I tend to weigh one thing at a time. If that worked as it should I would rate this scale 5 stars. I've used a Soehnle scale and a Salter scale. MY Soehnle scale (12+ years old) still works but the one button on/off/tare operation is a real pain. My Salter scale died after less than a year and I went to a big local chain store to

I agree with the ohrets who complain about the auto shutoff feature causing the scale to turn off much sooner than it should. So far it hasn't been a major issue for me as I tend to weigh one thing at a time. If that worked as it should I would rate this scale 5 stars. I've used a Soehnle scale and a Salter scale. MY Soehnle scale (12+ years old) still works but the one button on/off/tare operation is a real pain. My Salter scale died after less than a year and I went to a big local chain store to buy a replacement. They had about 8 scales, various brands in stock. I tested each of them and with the exception of one scale (that weighed in 2g increments, not 1g like the rest) every one gave the same reading. This Biggest Loser scale was the cheapest and I liked the raised glass platform that allowed me to see the readout easily. I saw no reason to spend a lot more money on the other scales. I plan on buying another to keep at work. I have to be careful about weighing food for accurate carb counts (Type 1 diabetes) and I trust this scale as much as those other expensive brands.

posted Feb 13th, 2012 10:36 pm


BLstacy

love biggest loser products and diet plans! Yah for new years resolutions!

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 6:37 pm


jammie dennison

i want to be on the biggest loser

posted Sep 27th, 2011 11:55 pm


Okay I'm convinced. Let's put it to aocitn.

Okay I'm convinced. Let's put it to aocitn.

posted Sep 8th, 2011 11:06 pm


userfile
dawnd

Love the biggest loser such an inspiring show.

posted Aug 25th, 2011 5:53 pm


Gramma224

Rulon wasn't obeying the rules so that is why they gently allowed him to leave. It was very nice of them to do so.

I'm sorry Cindy about your health issues. I know it is very difficult to do any exercising when you are in pain. I have a very bad knee and each time I get gung-ho on exercising, it gets so bad that I can't do it. I need to do water aerobics, but it is out of the question for me right now. And since you are so limited with your budget, it wouldn't work for you either. There is so much out here on the internet that you really don't need to buy any books, dvds, or video. Just look for the free stuff that is available. And just move anyway that you can, whether is it in a chair (chair dancing) or walking through your house. Know someone who walked off 65 pounds just walking around her house each day. She has severe pain but she said that she is in pain if she doesn't do anything, and in pain if she did, so she chose to walk with the pain. She reads or alks on her cell phone. She follows the BL program as to eating. Hope you have a good day!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 7:14 pm


Cindy

I absolutely love the BL!! Watch it all the time. I think it was Sam who said that he used to sit on the couch and watch BL instead of getting up exercising while watching it...I do that. However, I have severe degenerative arthritis in my spine & have had 1 surgery and b4 2nd 1 could be done, the discs ruptured. Now it is happening again. I am very limited on what I am able to do tho the drs tell me I can do whatever I want. Please help? I wish I could afford the food/books/dvds, etc but I haven't worked in 3 yrs. Also, I was wondering what happened to Roulon in the last season? Y was he not on the finale? Did I totally miss something???

posted May 25th, 2011 10:38 pm


Walter

First let me start by saying that the biggest loser show has improved the life of many people that at one point were at their peak of their career or in life. And for some unknown reason they let life take the best of them and get pushed by choice into many forms of depression or denial which moved them to see food as comfort. The show has moved people form the couch to a more interactive family lifestyle and it??s clearly shown by their reaction, attitude and outlook on life that your show has truly been a lifesaver. Being a Soldier for the better part of my life and always being active has given me a much healthier and stronger life. But now that I have been injured I still try to maintain a good regiment and have inspired people to not let themselves go and do see your show as a good benefit to humanity. Sure it??s good in your pocket, but you serve a much higher purpose and that is help people
Now, for the bad points that the biggest loser show has continue to allow and dominate the seasons past, present and even future ones (hope not). I have noticed that the show moved towards a clear game tactics, which completely moved the show more into a DRAMA show rather than a benefit to humanity. Of course everyone in the show does need help, but it??s clearly that there are ones that do need more than others. I have seen a lot of game play and it??s now time for the producers or the people that can make decisions to stop it. Sure it makes for a good TV and ratings go through the roof. But if there is ever a time that conscience comes to mind for everyone concerned and clears the injustice that the greedy contestants show just to make their move into a chess game to position the pons for easy win. You will see that allowing those bigger contestants to stay will make for a more dramatic event and fulfilling show.
I know this is not the place to post this note, but I just didn??t know where to send it and I am sure that you can send it to the right people. Thank you for your attention and hope that I will receive either a positive or negative response

posted May 25th, 2011 7:02 pm


Brenda Turnbaugh

I have lost 114# on this website! It is great for support and the Experts are fantastic! It is simply based on a healthy diet and exercise plan! If you have tried all the magic pils and fad diets? It is time to get REAL! Diet and exercise is the ONLY thing that works long term, and here you learn how to balance that and have a large support group just waiting to share your journey with you, YOU just need to take that first step and reach out to them! Good Luck!

posted May 11th, 2011 4:37 pm


Kim

This program is not useful at all and the company operates to rip people off. BEWARE if you sign up for an introductory membership you are responsible for canceling it on your own or you will be charged a rate that is nearly twice what you paid. It's a scam - no email notification or anything. They basically are operating on the premise that people don't check their bank account charges.

posted Apr 29th, 2011 8:47 pm


suel j

price couldn't be beat! easy to use online.

posted Apr 7th, 2011 3:36 pm


Flynn

Couldn't have been happier w/ my results w biggest loser club. Liked the online access, not having to mess w meetings.

posted Apr 7th, 2011 3:35 pm


gina

Can you tell me if there are any openings at the Utah location for either March, April, or May 2011? I am VERY much interested in coming to the ranch in the VERY near future if avail.

Thanks
Gina Vendetti

posted Feb 21st, 2011 7:08 pm


Hazel Grippando

I enjoy watching the show and see how people are losing weight. But there is one thing that I would like to know is how someone with above the knee amputee lose the weight without doing the types of exercises that are on the show. I am very limited to exercise and I really need some help with how to lose weight when I am basically in a wheelchair all day. I do the exercise that I was shown when I came home from the hospital. But I need some info to help me get the weight off.

posted Feb 11th, 2011 6:30 am


Shannon

Hi my name is Shannon I am 23years old and a mother of two beautiful little girls and am married to the most wonderful man! I want to find out how to get on the biggest loser! I am 5'3 and weigh 263lbs... I have gained 100 lbs since me and my husband first started dating. I really need to take control of my life! Not jus for me but for my husband and girls! If anyone has any 411 on how to get on the show please le me know!!!!

posted Jan 20th, 2011 4:30 am


77745werica

Im 12 my family and "friends" make fun of me for my weight. 250 pounds.. It kills me to feel this way. But it is. I want to lose weight and keep it off. They should have a kids biggest loser... Welll Bye

posted Jan 17th, 2011 9:47 pm


erik pitts

i really need you guys to help me i have a 31yrs olds brother who is dying because of his weight. he is 31yrs old and he weighs around 350's lbs since his weight problem it has caused him to have heart problem and on top of that he's a dietbetic . im prayer to god and also to u guys could u please save my brothers life. in the mist of all of this he has two children that loves there daddy dearly but as of this point he is not able to take care of them he cant work because of his health n weight problems so if anyone can help me save my brother and give him back his life where he can become productive and back to norm and i would be so grateful love his caring sister lisa

posted Jan 5th, 2011 3:04 pm


fooddiaryuser

Start of by using a Little Black Book-Daily Food Diary...then what is on the Boggest Loser site will make more sense. Good luck Brian!

posted Dec 19th, 2010 8:40 pm


kimberlysaechao

hi im kimberly i wanted some info on the resort that you were talking about on your page about the one were there are no cameras on you hope you can get back to me asap becasue my husband life is in danger he over weight and has heath problems thank you

posted Dec 17th, 2010 2:20 am


TRUDY HALL

DEAR MR. HARPER,
TRUDY IS A CONSTINT WATCHER OF THE BIGGEST LOSER. TRUDY REALLY LIKES YOUR SHOW.. HOW DOES TRUDY SIGN UP FOR THE BIGGEST LOSER CLUB? TRUDY LIKES HOW YOU ENCOURAGE EACH CONTESTENTS ENCOURAGE EACH OTHER TEAM MEMBERS..
TRUDY NEEDS A TEAM MEMBER THAT WOOD TELL HER THAT TRUDY YOUR DOING GOOD OR A BUDY THAT CAN ENCURAGE ME WHEN TRUDY IS EXERSIZING AT THE YMCA.
SINCERELY YOURS
TRUDY SUSAN JOYAL-HALL

posted Dec 13th, 2010 10:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account