Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

Wii Fit

Nintendo creates a video game that replaces your gym membership.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Check out the Wii Fit Video Review.

The Nintendo Wii is one of the most revolutionary gaming systems available. While up and down arrows on a remote typically let you navigate a character on screen through mazes, dragons and underwater assaults, the Wii gives you real-time interactivity with a character you create yourself. Rather than sitting back in a beanbag for hours on end, the Wii not only encourages, but nearly requires, players to get up on their feet and move. Quite the opposite of traditional video games.

The Wii Fit is the newest game players can add-on to their Wii gaming machines. Using a balance board that plugs into the Wii, users can follow along and do real exercise like Yoga, Aerobics and Squats. These exercises concentrate on strengthening your core, and thanks to a pressure-sensitive board, you can watch yourself on screen. While the board is picking up your motions, it's also recording the number of calories you burn, monitoring your BMI and recording how your strength increases. Over time, you can look back at your progress.

The Wii not only makes a great fitness experience for yourself, but it's something the entire family can get involved with. While you weren't likely to haul your kids and spouse into your yoga or aerobics class, you can invite everyone into the living room for group-participation Wii Fit.

PRO
  • Encourages physical fitness
  • Broad range of activities
  • Easy for anyone to use
  • A fun way to incorporate more exercise into your daily schedule
  • Family-friendly
  • Encourages socializing via the Wii Channel
CON
  • Initial investment is kind of pricey, especially if you do not already own a Wii
  • Only one participant at a time, unless you buy multiple boards
  • Does not provide any diet or weight loss instruction
DIET and NUTRITION

The Wii Fit is solely a fitness video game and does not provide any additional weight loss guidance.

EXERCISE

It's practically in the name. The Wii Fit advises that users engage in 30-45 minutes of exercise each day in order to achieve best results. There are more than 40 fitness and strengthening activities available, these include:

  • Yoga
  • Muscle Stretching
  • Jogging
  • Push Ups
  • Step Aerobics
  • Balance games like ski jumping and heading soccer balls

The Wii Fit lets you record your non-Wii activities as well, to help paint a complete fitness picture for you. Things like walking, gardening, playing a sport or swimming all count, and should be added to your profile.

In October 2008, Jillian Michaels will release her own Wii game, which will utilize the Wii Fit balance board. Check out Jillian Michaels Fitness Ultimatum 2009.

CONCLUSION

The Wii Fit is such a perfect alternative to the gym for so many reasons. For many, it's easier to be at home then go out to a gym, making the Wii Fit a convenient exercise choice. It easily travels so you can take it on business trips or vacation. While the initial investment might be a blow to your wallet, over time, it will pay for itself; unlike expensive gym fees that you continually pay.

Also unlike the gym, you can get your entire family involved. The Wii Fit makes it easier than ever to commit to exercise regimen that is fun, effective and creates a social outlet for you, your family and friends.

No matter what your fitness philosophy may be, the Wii Fit is definitely worth your consideration.

Common Misspellings

We Fit, Wi Fit, WiiFit, Wii Fitness, Nintendo Wii Fit, Wii Sports, Wee Fit


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves, EA Sports Active, My Weight Loss Coach for Nintendo DS


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 25 total comments)

Chris

I got the Wii 3 days ago and the Wii Fit Board 2 days ago. I have lost 2 pounds in 2 days though I am sure it's mostly water weight.... obviously, like any exercise program, it will only work if you truly are serious and diet as well. The idea behind it is not that it is better than a gym, but that it is more convient and definitely more varied! You can "cycle" around an island, do boxing and yoga and aerobics, etc. It's like playing a game while getting fit. I love it and I look forward to getting up every morning, weighing in and doing my training! I think I finally found the right exercise tool for me!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 4:50 pm


Christina

im doing my senior project on the wii fit and how it has changed the way people see videogames.....so if anyone has reviews on the wii that you wouldnt mind me using in my paper please let me know&&be honest!!!! thanks:)

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 7:27 pm


Victoria Torres

me and my husband have been doing this for two weeks now. and in two week, we both lost 20 lbs together.(with healthy diet)..i tell all my friends about it. its great.

posted Jul 14th, 2010 5:20 pm


Gina

Purchased the Wii Fit Plus back in December. I never had a chance to use it until this past Sunday. I absolutely love it. I have no time to go to the gym and find it so convienent that you can use whenever you find a chance during the day. I can feel my abs tightening and it has only been 4 days. Great purchase!

posted Mar 18th, 2010 11:50 am


Carly

it is great!!!!! i love it.

posted Oct 6th, 2009 6:08 pm


Coral

Ive only used it for 5 days and I have already lost 1.3 Kg and It is deffinatly worth the money. I highly recommend it.

posted May 31st, 2009 6:26 pm



JimmyC

Do people really lose weight playing on the wii fit? I had it for a while and was bored of it almost immediately.

posted May 1st, 2009 12:11 am


Joy

This is the Best Thing Ever!!!
I have had it for 5 days & already lost 4 Pounds!!
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Mar 8th, 2009 7:43 pm


Morgan

I LOVE MY WII FIT!! My husband is in the Navy & is overseas right now--He sent me the Wii, WiiFit & a couple other games for Valentine's Day. I started about a week later & let me tell you--The results are AMAZING! And it doesn't feel like you're working out. I especially love Super Hula Hoop--I have been doing it in conjunction with an MP3 player with my favorite high energy music. I am literally watching my cellulite dissapear! That never happened before, no matter what excersize plan i was on--treadmill, even when i was walking 1.5 hrs a day with my husband before he joined the Navy. Something about that swirling motion has totally tightened my middle & legs.
I seriously love it!!

posted Mar 1st, 2009 5:33 pm


Ric

I have been using this since April 2008 and have lost 28 pounds by exercising 3 hours per day on free step. Its enabled me to get rid of my type 2 diabetes by going from obese to overweight and what great is Im still losing weight at about 2 pounds per week.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 6:03 pm


wiigirl

I have been using this for over a month. I can't believe the results. No more gym memberships for me! I don't care about the people that say it doesn't give a great workout. I wear a heart rate monitor as i use it! I know what it can do!

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 12:19 pm


Patsy

The best part of the wii fit in my opinion is the hoola hoop activity in the aerobic section. The whole family competed against each other and I worked extra hard on this one. I woke up the next morning and had a pleasant soreness from my neck all the way down to my thighs. Definitely a great work-out. As long as you don't cheat and you work hard during the games, you will get a great work-out! Thanks Nintendo!!

posted Feb 1st, 2009 5:23 pm


jess

I finally found the wii fit last week at walmart. They over charge online. My advance is to call walmart or target or something like that every day! Anyway, my husband and I love it. I have worked out 6 day feels my ad muscles already. Thats saying a lot since i recently had a baby. I lost about 2 pounds this week already as well.

posted Jan 8th, 2009 3:53 pm


Elizabeth

Wii fit takes away the mundane aspects of excercise

posted Jan 6th, 2009 3:50 pm


Star

I love this wii. It really gets you active!!!

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 8:24 am


lwomack

I love it! It is fun and it has my family challenging each other. I no excuse than to excersice.

posted Dec 28th, 2008 9:00 pm


neil

I got a Wii Fit a few weeks ago and lost 7lbs in the first fortnight, and I hate exercising.I think I've lost even more since then because my stomach and legs feel firmer. I'll be posting my results here for anyone who's interested.



posted Dec 3rd, 2008 5:24 am


Crystal

I purchased the Wii about a month ago because I suffer from anxiety and exercising keeps the endorphins going to the brain and helps with stress. I feel so much better when I use the Sports and Fit games. Although I am not overweight, I use it to strengthen my body and help my balance. Also, when I am using it, I think about nothing else. don't like video games in general so I was apprehensive. But I love the Fit and Sports games because I'm not just sitting and playing. They keep me moving. Way to go Nintendo!

posted Nov 28th, 2008 4:35 pm


Donna Henson

Used in conjunction with a weight watcher diet, I've lost 18 lbs since the first week of September, and gone down 2 pants sizes. It's fun, competitive and you get to build your own Mii.... an anime version of yourself. And I'm not a "small" person, and the Wii board holds me just fine. 12 thumbs up from me !!!!!

posted Nov 5th, 2008 4:00 am


Wii User

Been using Wii Fit for over a month now with excellent results. I have never felt so energized during the day. If you are looking at obtaining a Wii Fit this is where I purchased mine from.

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:02 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account