Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 8, 142 total comments)

Tracy

I guess everyone has their own opinion! I love The Fresh Diet. I have tried many diet deliveries in the past & nothing I have compares to this service. I would say 90% of my meals are great. When getting 3 meals & 2 snacks every day from this company & most of them being great I would say that's good. I also have had no problem with customer service at The Fresh Diet!

posted Jun 21st, 2009 5:02 pm


Deborah

Sorry Fresh Diet, but I have to agree with Harry and Steve. I live in Los Angeles, and perhaps the service here is not on the same track as other parts of the country. The food I received looked nothing like Lorraine's. In fact, I wish there was a way to upload the photos I took documenting my 5 day experience to this website along with the comparison shots from the Fresh Diet website and Lorraine's. They are not even remotely related! I also called and emailed Fresh Diet requesting sodium information of their meals, and subsequently they were unable to supply that information. I did receive one (1) email back from a customer service rep after I sent a photo of a meal, telling me she agreed there was a problem but no solution was suggested except contacting "the kitchen manager ASAP". I unfortunately received mini-portions of food, all documented, throughout my experience and was more than happy my 5 days were up. I originally learned of the program by watching "The View" and again, my meals were nothing compared to Sherri's.
Unfortunate to say the least, but I'm happy for Sherri and wish her the best on her weight loss endeavors.

posted Jun 17th, 2009 1:51 pm


It's time For a Change!!!!

As posted earlier, I started the Fresh Diet 5 days ago. Here is the feedback thus far......

The program is actually laid out really well. Days 1 and 2 I found myself hungry in the mid afternoon and late evening. But by day 3 - I am full all day long. It makes it a bit difficult to want to eat.....but that is par for the course when you usually only eat 2 meals a day.

The food is well prepared, portions are fair (some just right and some surprisingly more than expected). At day 5 I am down 2 1/2 pounds (mostly water weight I assume).

Net -Net I choose this program because it was least like a diet. It was a program that could get me back to portion control, eating the right foods, and multiple meals a day. It isn't a long term plan (expensive and hard with a family you still need to cook for) but it is a great kick start. As always you need to exercise too!

I will try and provide feedback again at 15 days. I know others feedback about the program is what made me give it a try and L's blog was great with the pics of what the program acually gave you.

posted Jun 6th, 2009 8:31 am


It's time For a Change!!!!

So after much review of the Fresh Diet I have opted to give it a try. This is one part of a lifestyle change......I will be tryign to comment on my experience with the program - begininng June 2nd

posted Jun 1st, 2009 7:54 pm


Stacey Kaufman

Re-signed up for the Fresh Diet this week after being off it for over a year. I must say that they are better than before. I have tried many of these services & Fresh Diet is definitely the leader! Thanks for helping me loose & keep of my weight!

posted May 24th, 2009 3:05 pm



Zalmi Duchman

Lorraine,

Thanks for the great words! I have checked out your blog & it is amazing! Keep up the good work & we will keep up the good food!

posted May 15th, 2009 7:07 pm



Lorraine Wolfe

Been on The Fresh Diet for 6 delivery days (no weekend deliveries for me). So far, everything has tasted amazing and arrived at my doorstep on-time. I wish I could stay on this delivery program indefinitely, but alas, it's kind of expensive. I'm keeping a blog of TFD meal reviews along with photos of my meals at http://mimicplay.blogspot.com, so if you want to see some of the food I've received during my days on the diet, head there and check out my opinions! My customer service rep, John, has always been very friendly, helpful, and easy to get ahold of. The guy always returns my phone calls and emails. I can't express how pleased I am with this program.

posted May 15th, 2009 2:05 am


Mardia Ramos

Harry & Steve are crazy! I have tried other diets & nothing compares! We love The Fresh Diet

posted May 1st, 2009 2:58 pm


Fresh Diet Customer Service

In response to Harry & Steve. I am sorry you have had a bad experience with our company. I can tell you that we have top notch service especially our customer service. It is very hard for me to believe that you were unable to contact any of our reps. We have had thousand of very satisfied clients over the last 3 years & I am certain you will not find a better service out there! Have a great day!

posted Apr 30th, 2009 7:39 pm


Steve

TErrible service and really bad food. They have no clue what the customer wants nor do they care. No customer support and the food isnt even diet!

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 8:16 pm


Harry

This has been a very bad experience for me ..not only was food deliveded several times on days it was not suppose to be.. I have been waiting for 2 weeks to get my money back after trying to cancel ..... After repeated unreturned calls to the " sales" concierge and the accounting department .. I have run out of patience and will be filing formal complaints with the Fla. Dept of Consumer affairs..
As far as the food.. it was gnereally way underportioned but OK . With several exceptions.. One day i received the vegetables for my meal with no steak ( dinner ) another time I got a pastrami sandwhich that was 90% white globbs of Fat.. I took pictures of it and sent them in .. no one called me back.. They did however eventually credsit me for these meals.. Do your self a favor and run as fast as you can away from these people .. It is nowhere near worth the money ..!!!!

posted Apr 20th, 2009 2:21 pm


Fresh Diet Fan

Big fan of the Fresh Diet. My sister turned me onto them 8 months ago. I have tried other programs & no one has better customer service.

posted Apr 14th, 2009 12:20 am


Michael Hagar

All of these great comments below & guess what THEY ARE REAL! I have tried EVERY diet delivery service in NYC & The Fresh Diet is CLEARLY the best. See for yourself!

posted Feb 28th, 2009 8:11 pm


Laura

I can't believe how awesome this diet is. I used to eat out several times a week because I didn't have the time or patience to cook different things. Now, I find that I don't even want to eat out!
It is also helping me to understand the correct portion size and food mix. Great lessons for the future.

posted Feb 27th, 2009 9:09 pm


sars

I'm on the Fresh Diet Chicago I"ve been on it for three weeks. Sometime the food is great other times is frankly awful. I've been given raw fish, mistakes in the ingredients, things left out, or dislikes included. Stay away from fish dishes and get prepared for a lot of chicken. Customer service is not that good because they not to respond when you have a negative comment.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 2:08 am


Tim Anthony

Great service! Been on for 3 months in LA

posted Jan 31st, 2009 9:26 pm


Alex

Yuuummy food. Great not to have to think what you will eat... and they give you excellent desserts!!!

posted Jan 11th, 2009 11:59 pm


Sonja

I gave the meal delivery a good review in December. Since then, the portions have gotten very inconsistant. One day I will get a nice size omlet and the next time, I will get a one egg omlet that barely covers the vegetables. I called customer service to let them know and all they did was increase my protein to almost double. This did not keep the meals in the zone balance. I am very knowledgeable about the zone eating plan. You can not increase the protein and not increase the carbs and fat. I think the food is delicious but they need to work out the consistant portions. I was planning to stick with the program for 5 months, but for the price it is not worth it.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 4:03 pm


Greg J

I live in Chicago & have used The Fresh Diet twice this year. I like them because when I travel to NY I can still get my deliveries fresh. A+

posted Dec 30th, 2008 10:18 am


Michael B

Happy to add to the great reviews. I have used The Fresh Diet in the past & plan on joining again for my New Years Resolution.

posted Dec 17th, 2008 6:45 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account