Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 8, 142 total comments)

Amanda Hawk

I live in LA & use the service for 4 months now. I don't do it for weight loss. I use it for the convenience & we all know how hard it is to eat healthy. I had some issues with portion sizes as well but called customer service who were totally understanding & updated by portion size to large portions.

posted Mar 1st, 2010 9:03 pm


Dee

I live in the L.A. area. My husband and I think the food tastes good, but the portion size is ridiculously small. We previously used another food service in the L.A. area (Susan's Healthy Gourmet) for about a year and decided to try a new service because meals got boring. However, the caloric intake was about the same as the Fresh Diet and we were NEVER hungry. I guess it just depends if you want quantity or quality. I think the Fresh Diet is tastier, but to us, it is a tease--taste this...ok, hope you enjoyed it because you CAN'T have anymore! For that price, I expect good quality food that does NOT leave you famished.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 4:51 am


Don Kurasch

Fantastic food, delivered daily in cooled, insulated bags, this is the best diet I've ever tried, and I've tried them all. To be able to get fresh, delicious fish, salads - everything is top quality. Pricey, but worth every penny. User friendly website allows for complete flexibility for delivery days.

posted Feb 21st, 2010 2:38 pm


Albert Manz

I live in Washington DC & have been on The Fresh Diet for 2 days now. Honestly I was a bit nervous that I would be hungry but I am not! The food is great especially the Tai Turkey Burger. If you are looking to lose weight or just eat healthy I highly recommend this program. Also after using this program I really think any negative comments here are just haters!

posted Feb 16th, 2010 12:20 pm


Alisa

The food is good, the customer service fine overall. Very expensive. The portion def. seem small, but that's probably because we all eat too much!!

Check out my blog for an in-depth review of the diet if you're interested in more info:

http://freshdietreview.wordpress.com/

posted Feb 8th, 2010 9:38 am


Stacy

The food is HORRIBLE and the Customer Service is equally as bad. Do NOT waste your money on this program. Seriously, the food is inedible and the portions are not accurate.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 10:43 am


Rina Robins - Chicago

Jessie, I bought 2 days on Groupon & loved it. I already purchased my 31 day program & they gave me the Groupon price of $29. So excited that I was turned onto this by Groupon, I have been looking for something like this in Chicago for a long time!

posted Jan 12th, 2010 5:12 pm


Jessie A

I just order after hearing about this on Groupon! I am so exciting! I haven't even gotten the delivery but the website was amazing! i cant wait for my crepes! I'll keep everyone updated!

Jessie Appado - Philadelphia PA

posted Jan 4th, 2010 11:53 pm


Stacy Sims

I am totally on board with the other positive comments below! I have been a long time Fresh Diet client & only have great things to say! Give them a try, you will not regret!

p.s. I lost 9 pounds!

posted Nov 22nd, 2009 12:26 pm


LA Girl

I have tried The Fresh Diet in LA & really like it. I saw some negative feedback below & can't imagine they are talking about the same company as I tried. The portions were perfect for me & I know that my husband requested bigger portions & received them. You must see for your self & not trust the haters below! Go Fresh Diet, you helped me loose 10 pounds & counting!

posted Nov 11th, 2009 8:40 am


Natalie

I travel for business 100% of the time. Living out of a hotel makes it incredibly difficult to watch caloric intake and eat healthy. This program has become a life saver for me. The food is wonderful and the service has been outstanding.

It might seem pricey, but after a long day in the airport followed by the office, nothing looks better than my healthy, pre-portioned meals.

posted Nov 10th, 2009 12:32 pm


Stephanie

I am also in the Los Angeles area, and my experience was awful! The concierge person I worked with was very nice, but the food and presentation was awful and the portion sizes were very very small. My goal was not to lose weight, I just wanted healthy food and wanted to avoid my food sensitivities. They delivered meals with items I had selected to avoid. The dinner side dishes are served in the same container as the dinner, so everything gets mixed together. When I say the portion sizes were small, I mean tiny! My dinner would easily fit on a tea cup saucer. My side dish of green beans consisted of 4 small green beans. My dinner of white fish was a piece of fish about the size of a large egg. The chicken skewer's or chicken tenders consists of 1 small strip of chicken (about the size of a medium shrimp) in a plastic container.The food is flavorless. Most of the food was not edible. My husband and I both used Diet Gourmet in Houston, TX and loved it. This stuff was disgusting. I do not see how they can stay in business in the LA area. The money they charge for what you get is WAY too high, and the food quality/taste is poor.

You can't really get a refund, because they say they charge $60/day for 7 days worth of meals. So if you order more days to get a lower price, or get a promtional price like I did of $35/day, if you try to cancel, you are then charged $60/day

I don't know about other areas, but if you are in the LA area, - avoid this program.

posted Nov 5th, 2009 2:42 pm


cheryl h

I have used diet food services in the past. Some better then others. Hadn't used any in several years and reviewed my options on this site.
I went with Fresh Diet.BIG MISTAKE. I can not express clearer then to say my food was in ediable. It was the lowest end qualtiy, in taste and presentation. In two days there was not one single thing I could get down. I had ordered food for two weeks, three meals and two snacks. I cancelled immediatly . They credited me right away yet deducted for more days then entitled and I am still waiting for that money.
Perhaps this site has given it a 84% rating because these are customers from the Florida area and maybe the chef there is good. However in Los Angeles I am convinced that I could get better food at a homeless shelter. They should be ashamed to charge anyone the money they charge for the garbage they send out. Stay Away form this one!!!!

posted Oct 16th, 2009 2:42 pm



Zalmi Duchman

Thanks for all the great feedback! Check out The Fresh Diet mentioned in this weeks People Magazine!

posted Aug 6th, 2009 3:23 pm


Jocy C.

I must say I'm not a big fan of diets. I'm normally a good eater (no fried food, no butter, etc). My problem is that my portion size are too big. I'm not too heavyset either, I'm about 5'9 and 160 lbs.

Anyway, I tried out The Fresh Diet because my bf and I eat out in restaurants in Jackson Heights area too much. There is so much variety of food here, and it's inexpensive, so it's hard not to eat out.

My bf's doctor had warned him to lower his salt intake, so I started looking for a food program that would be balanced and not have the "diet" food, so he and I did bought the program for about a week and loved it. We renewed our program for 31 days, and then just recently renewed again for another 31 days.

The program consists of freshly made food delivered the night before. That way, you'll always have your food in the morning before you go to work. Each delivery of food for the day consists of 3 meals (breakfast, lunch, & dinner) and 2 snacks (salty snack & dessert).

At first, I was really hungry because my bf and I were consuming more than your normal 2000 calorie diet. I had to supplement with a bit more food on the side. As time wore down, my stomach started shrinking, so now the food is enough for me. I have lost weight in the past 3 months; about 15 lbs. I think females get 1400 to 1600 calories a day, I asked Fresh Diet to up my caloric intake to be the same as my bf's 1600 to 1800 a day. That is nice because I can still have a Coke on the side and still be under my 2000 calorie intake per day.

Besides the fresh food, the other nice thing about this program is that it's flexible. I currently have the food delivered Mondays through Thursdays. Then on Fridays through Sundays, my bf and I eat out at the restaurants around the area.

As you can see, our intention to join this program wasn't to lose weight, it was to eat healthier and reduce my bf's salt intake. For me personally, I have lost about 10 to 15 lbs in the past 3 months (sorry I don't have a scale to actually weigh myself; I did go down a size in my clothes). I don't do any extreme exercise, I walk my dog about 1 hour per day 3 to 4 times a week and around the block for the other days. I do always try to take the stairs, but definitely am not a gym person.

The food generally has been really good. I do the Chef Choice 31 day program which averages out to about $35 a day. That's about the same price as I would pay between breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I had bought food.

Customer service reaches out about every month and half or so just to check in and see if you are happy with the program.

Some of the dishes that I have liked:

BREAKFAST
1) Hawaiian Pineapple Stuffed Whole Wheat French Toast with Strawberries and Blueberry Cottage Cheese
2) Creamy Mushroom Scrambled Eggs with Nine Grain Toast
3) Cajun Style Egg White Omelet with Bell Pepper, Onion, Turkey Sausage, and Roasted Roma Tomatoes
4) Spinach & Feta Cheese Egg Bake with Fresh Papaya

LUNCH
1) Chicken and Wild Rice Soup with Shitaake Mushroom
2) Grilled Lamb Burger on Whole Wheat Bun with Yellow Tomato & Mint Aioli
3) Philly Cheese Steak Whole Wheat Wrap with Sauteed Mushrooms
4) Turkey Souvlaki on Whole Wheat Pita with Minted Yogurt Sauce and Celery Sticks
5) Pulled Pork BBQ Sandwich on Whole What Bun with Sauteed Mushrooms

DINNER
1) Filet of Chilean Sea Bass with Citrus Chipotle Sauce with Green Split Pea Puree and Haricot Vert
2) Roasted Pork Loin with Apricot Curry Sauce with Herbed Celery Root Puree and Steamed Snow Peas
3) Lean Turkey Meatballs with Fresh Marinara Sauce with Sun-Dried Tomato Couscous and Roasted Yellow Squash
4) Greek Style Meatballs with Feta Cheese, Mint, Parsley, and Roasted Bell Pepper with Parnsip, Pear Puree, and Grilled Yellow Tomato

DESSERT
1) Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin
2) Pear Walnut Muffin
3) Cinnamon Pear Cheese Cake
4) Passion Fruit Cheese Cake

The only caution I have is that sometimes the fish that they pick either isn't fresh or is too fishy in general. The fishiness sometimes goes onto the veggies, so I feel like I'm eating a whole plate of fish. There have been a few misses with the food, but overall, I would say that I'm a fan and would continue to subscribe to the program for part of the week.

posted Aug 4th, 2009 10:23 am


Keith Lyons

New to Fresh Diet. My brother lost over 25 pounds after 3 months of the service. I have been on 3 days now & already see why he lost the weight! Great fresh meals to my door every day! Thanks Fresh Diet!

posted Jul 27th, 2009 5:33 pm


Crazy Eddie

Go Fresh Diet! I am on the service in Philadelphia & it is great! I am 200 pound male & lost 20 pounds already! I have 20 more to go :)

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 11:03 am


Fresh Diet Fan

Michelle P you must work for a competitor because I can assure you The Fresh Diet is the best service out their. I found The Fresh Diet after trying ZoneChefs (Chefs Diet) Nu-Kitchen & others. Nothing compares to Fresh Diet. There food, customer service & choices are superior!

posted Jul 21st, 2009 1:48 pm


Michelle P

Not so happy with this service! The food quality was poor the presentation was poor and the customer service people are not educated about the product nor do they care to return calls. I have had 3 deliveries on the wrong days and I'm so dissapointed with the quality of the food. Needless to say it was a bad experience so I am moving onto another diet program to lose a few lbs for summer.

Michelle

posted Jul 12th, 2009 2:04 pm


Boston Client

Gotta give it to The Fresh Diet. I am a Boston native & have been looking for a company like this for a long time. I have tried them all, Nutrisystem & Jenny Craig but their was no service of the kind in Boston. I heard about Fresh Diet from The View & they started to deliver in Boston only 2 months ago. I have been on for 2 weeks & its really great!

posted Jul 5th, 2009 10:25 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account