| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 131 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.


The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet

Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 8, 149 total comments)


I am a breast cancer survivor and I do not eat soy or soy products. That rules out many of their choices. If you are vegetarian and don't do soy, it's probably not for you. I do eat fish and some meat, and still found choices pretty limited for some meals.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 2:09 pm


Be careful with these guys. Portion control is out of wack, some times too big, sometimes too small. I have found mold on multiple occassions. After a month I didn't really lose any weight.

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 1:50 pm

Mark N

Shocked to see any negative responses. Of course you may see an issue or two if you use this program for a few months but come on people, your getting 3 fresh meals & 2 snacks every day. If Fresh Diet makes a mistake unlike other programs they make it up to you! Go Fresh Diet & Go Debbie!

posted Mar 21st, 2010 12:10 pm


Love it!!!! This is the missing piece of the puzzle in a busy lifestyle. You wake up and your meals are in a lunch bag ready to go. Yes, the portions are small... but, that's the "diet" part of the plan! Puts your portion control into perspective. After 1 week of trial, I missed the convenience of having the meals at my fingertips and will probably be a year round customer forever. AND the food is real, fresh, yummy food! not some nutrisys preservatives yuck.

posted Mar 16th, 2010 6:27 am


I think a lot of the food was bland, exactly what I DON'T need on a diet. also, delivery was often so late at night that I was often asleep, and even though it came in a cooler with an ice pack, it often wasn't very cold by the time I got to it (is that even safe?). A few times they made mistakes in my orders too. Also, the vegetarian options were tofu, which could get tiresome after a few.
I just don't think it was a good value for the money.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 4:38 pm

Barbara B.

My husband & i are HUGE Fresh Diet Fans. Our Aunt turned us onto this great service over 3 months ago. We tried Nutrisystem & Jenny Craig & had no clue their was someth8ing so much better available.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 10:33 pm

about to be sadie, sadie

Using Fresh Diet NYC - Have only been on for three days, but I'm loving this. I have crazy long days and no time. This is so easy. The food is much better than I expected. The chef is making the best of the diminished calories s/he is working with. Great seasonings, nice, strong flavors. Yes - the portions are small -- and that's the hardest thing for me to control on my own, so I'm thrilled that they are small. I signed up using the groupon discount. Will be hard pressed to justify the regular cost, as I am a teacher, but if I had the money, this is how I would spend it. Really a great service. Good work Fresh Diet.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 7:14 pm

Amanda Hawk

I live in LA & use the service for 4 months now. I don't do it for weight loss. I use it for the convenience & we all know how hard it is to eat healthy. I had some issues with portion sizes as well but called customer service who were totally understanding & updated by portion size to large portions.

posted Mar 1st, 2010 9:03 pm


I live in the L.A. area. My husband and I think the food tastes good, but the portion size is ridiculously small. We previously used another food service in the L.A. area (Susan's Healthy Gourmet) for about a year and decided to try a new service because meals got boring. However, the caloric intake was about the same as the Fresh Diet and we were NEVER hungry. I guess it just depends if you want quantity or quality. I think the Fresh Diet is tastier, but to us, it is a tease--taste this...ok, hope you enjoyed it because you CAN'T have anymore! For that price, I expect good quality food that does NOT leave you famished.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 4:51 am

Don Kurasch

Fantastic food, delivered daily in cooled, insulated bags, this is the best diet I've ever tried, and I've tried them all. To be able to get fresh, delicious fish, salads - everything is top quality. Pricey, but worth every penny. User friendly website allows for complete flexibility for delivery days.

posted Feb 21st, 2010 2:38 pm

Albert Manz

I live in Washington DC & have been on The Fresh Diet for 2 days now. Honestly I was a bit nervous that I would be hungry but I am not! The food is great especially the Tai Turkey Burger. If you are looking to lose weight or just eat healthy I highly recommend this program. Also after using this program I really think any negative comments here are just haters!

posted Feb 16th, 2010 12:20 pm


The food is good, the customer service fine overall. Very expensive. The portion def. seem small, but that's probably because we all eat too much!!

Check out my blog for an in-depth review of the diet if you're interested in more info:

posted Feb 8th, 2010 9:38 am


The food is HORRIBLE and the Customer Service is equally as bad. Do NOT waste your money on this program. Seriously, the food is inedible and the portions are not accurate.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 10:43 am

Rina Robins - Chicago

Jessie, I bought 2 days on Groupon & loved it. I already purchased my 31 day program & they gave me the Groupon price of $29. So excited that I was turned onto this by Groupon, I have been looking for something like this in Chicago for a long time!

posted Jan 12th, 2010 5:12 pm

Jessie A

I just order after hearing about this on Groupon! I am so exciting! I haven't even gotten the delivery but the website was amazing! i cant wait for my crepes! I'll keep everyone updated!

Jessie Appado - Philadelphia PA

posted Jan 4th, 2010 11:53 pm

Stacy Sims

I am totally on board with the other positive comments below! I have been a long time Fresh Diet client & only have great things to say! Give them a try, you will not regret!

p.s. I lost 9 pounds!

posted Nov 22nd, 2009 12:26 pm

LA Girl

I have tried The Fresh Diet in LA & really like it. I saw some negative feedback below & can't imagine they are talking about the same company as I tried. The portions were perfect for me & I know that my husband requested bigger portions & received them. You must see for your self & not trust the haters below! Go Fresh Diet, you helped me loose 10 pounds & counting!

posted Nov 11th, 2009 8:40 am


I travel for business 100% of the time. Living out of a hotel makes it incredibly difficult to watch caloric intake and eat healthy. This program has become a life saver for me. The food is wonderful and the service has been outstanding.

It might seem pricey, but after a long day in the airport followed by the office, nothing looks better than my healthy, pre-portioned meals.

posted Nov 10th, 2009 12:32 pm


I am also in the Los Angeles area, and my experience was awful! The concierge person I worked with was very nice, but the food and presentation was awful and the portion sizes were very very small. My goal was not to lose weight, I just wanted healthy food and wanted to avoid my food sensitivities. They delivered meals with items I had selected to avoid. The dinner side dishes are served in the same container as the dinner, so everything gets mixed together. When I say the portion sizes were small, I mean tiny! My dinner would easily fit on a tea cup saucer. My side dish of green beans consisted of 4 small green beans. My dinner of white fish was a piece of fish about the size of a large egg. The chicken skewer's or chicken tenders consists of 1 small strip of chicken (about the size of a medium shrimp) in a plastic container.The food is flavorless. Most of the food was not edible. My husband and I both used Diet Gourmet in Houston, TX and loved it. This stuff was disgusting. I do not see how they can stay in business in the LA area. The money they charge for what you get is WAY too high, and the food quality/taste is poor.

You can't really get a refund, because they say they charge $60/day for 7 days worth of meals. So if you order more days to get a lower price, or get a promtional price like I did of $35/day, if you try to cancel, you are then charged $60/day

I don't know about other areas, but if you are in the LA area, - avoid this program.

posted Nov 5th, 2009 2:42 pm

cheryl h

I have used diet food services in the past. Some better then others. Hadn't used any in several years and reviewed my options on this site.
I went with Fresh Diet.BIG MISTAKE. I can not express clearer then to say my food was in ediable. It was the lowest end qualtiy, in taste and presentation. In two days there was not one single thing I could get down. I had ordered food for two weeks, three meals and two snacks. I cancelled immediatly . They credited me right away yet deducted for more days then entitled and I am still waiting for that money.
Perhaps this site has given it a 84% rating because these are customers from the Florida area and maybe the chef there is good. However in Los Angeles I am convinced that I could get better food at a homeless shelter. They should be ashamed to charge anyone the money they charge for the garbage they send out. Stay Away form this one!!!!

posted Oct 16th, 2009 2:42 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account