Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 8, 142 total comments)

Girl

I am back. Now that I've been on this diet for a little longer I have to say do not do it. On the first week customer service was good then it started lacking. There are some meals that I absolutely disliked and when I called 3x to ask them to please not deliver them they said they would make the changes yet they never did. Once again I found mold in my blackberries. Yesterday I had veal for dinner and the piece weighed 1.5 oz. Who gets satisfied with that? Especially at that price. Its a rip off.

posted Sep 24th, 2010 5:10 am


Diane Havenner

Much too expensive, very tiny portions at dinner, I had to add food to it so I wasn't starving, which defeats the purpose if you're trying to lose weight. The quality isn't great for what they charge, and it is very bland. The breakfasts and lunches are much better than the dinners in my opinion - those could use some help. Also, their customer service is not great. - they are completely unresponsive. It sounds much better than it is.

posted Sep 15th, 2010 11:25 pm


Girl

I started this diet 1.5 weeks ago and already lost 6 pounds. I definitely felt very hungry during the night but I am finally getting used to the portions. The food is good. Lunch has been pretty great dinner is alright. Snack and dessert are great but obviously SMALL. One day I received a salad with blackberries that had mold in them but I was credited as soon as I called. I know that sounds horrible but customer service was very quick and efficient.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 11:13 pm


Melissa Koller

This diet may have been fresh when they cooked it, but by the time it was delivered, it was beginning to go bad and, for the most part, inedible.
Contrary to their claims, microwave instructions are not included, so you have to guess. Some of the containers were not even microwave safe, and the food mixed with melted plastic.
I am losing weight because I keep having to throw out the food instead of eating it.
At this price point, they should be ashamed. The only thing they do right is deliver daily to your door.

posted Aug 5th, 2010 2:36 pm


anon

Watch this program carefully! Customer service is horrible! There were days that the food wasn't delivered. Then, they don't even credit your card- they just (sometimes) give you an extra day- which is shady. I attempted to stay with this program for 16 weeks and only lost 6 pounds. MUCH better programs out there with better weight loss. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME! Best of luck!

posted Jul 28th, 2010 3:11 am


Gail Rodman

The Fresh Diet is a wonderful meal delivery service! I always receive my daily meals on time and prepared beautifully. I love that I get great tasting food that is already portion controlled and calorically defined. I highly recommend it.

posted Jul 20th, 2010 7:21 am


Ricky D

Been on Fresh Diet for 3 weeks & lost 12 pounds! Only have 8 pounds to go. Cant think of any easier way to diet! Thanks FD

posted Jun 20th, 2010 3:07 am


Pam

This is my 6th day on the program. So far the food is good. When I wake up the food is on my door steps.
I hope the caloric count is accurate. I would like to have a salt content chart..

posted Jun 19th, 2010 5:48 pm


DancinT

High-end ingredients, wide array of fresh (not frozen) vegetables and fruits, expertly prepared food, delivered fresh daily. You have to be someone who likes fresh produce and fresh fish. If you only like over processed foods with copious amounts of salt and garlic and onions to compensate for the poor quality of the ingredients, this probably is not the diet for you. If you like a wide variety of foods, freshly prepared in creative ways while respecting the food's own taste, then this is the diet for you. Beats all the other delivery programs out there by orders of magnitude. Nutrisystem's food is inedible conglomerations of mystery food. Diet to Go is fresh prepared but several days in advance and quality and diversity of the ingredients don't come close the Fresh Diet. Fruit on Diet to Go is a small pear or apple that under ripe. on Fresh Diet its a fruit salad with a mix of premium fruits -- blackberries, blueberries, rasberries, papaya, watermelon, strawberries, pineapple, etc. E-diets delivery is all frozen food that tastes ok but cost-wise you might as well buy low calorie TV dinners as the quality is similar. Fresh diet is for want to change their lifestyle and start eating a wide variety of vegetables and fruits but do not have the time to invest in shopping and food preparation. There is no way I could have the variety of foods that I get on the Fresh Diet as a single person for the same money. It would take over an hours worth of prep time as well. It's just too easy to stop at the closest restaurant or buy a frozen TV dinner.

Have had some minor problems (delivery/food choices) but compared to the problems one experiences eating out these days these are in the noise. The company does need to develop a more robust infrastructure as it depends too much on a bunch of close knit dedicated people who will not be able to keep up the quality level as the company grows. They need to develop better thought out processes and better software in order to maintain the quality of service and their profits long term.

posted Jun 14th, 2010 11:36 am


M. Strolle

I tried the fresh diet for two weeks. The food was delivered sporadically. I spent half the days hunting on neighbor's doorsteps for my food. My order was mixed up with other customers' orders, although they lived in different neighborhoods and on other streets. One entree I received was a fish dish that was not only raw, but, still frozen. I didn't lose an ounce during the two weeks.

posted May 30th, 2010 5:20 pm


Jo

I've been on the Fresh Diet meals plan for a bit over a month now. Although there was one day my delivery didn't come, I did receive feedback from customer service and a credit for the day.

The meals are tasty and let me try a bigger variety of vegetables than I ever would cooking for myself. I love the convenience of fresh food at my door in the morning. I did increase my calorie plan to get larger servings, now very satisfied.

For me, the cost is worth it.

posted May 30th, 2010 4:36 pm


Happy to be Happy

Very surprised to see the last 3 negative comments. I have used FD on & off over the last 3 years & only have had good experiences. i have many friends around the country who have used the program & are happy as well. I also have had delivery issues time to time but they always credited me. When you get daily delivery you are bound to have some issues. If you cant handle that go get food via FEDEX!

posted Apr 21st, 2010 10:45 pm


about to be sadie, sadie

I posted a rave when I first started with the FreshDiet. I still think the food is very good (and I am not easily impressed). But the customer service is wanting. Today my food did not arrive. I reported the problem at about 7:00 AM. I received a call back saying that someone was looking into it, but three calls and an e-mail later, that's all. No apology, no info about whether food will show up again tomorrow. No useful information at all. Too expensive for this poor treatment. Rethinking my love of FreshDiet.

posted Apr 19th, 2010 4:07 pm


Corinne

I am a breast cancer survivor and I do not eat soy or soy products. That rules out many of their choices. If you are vegetarian and don't do soy, it's probably not for you. I do eat fish and some meat, and still found choices pretty limited for some meals.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 2:09 pm


Julia

Be careful with these guys. Portion control is out of wack, some times too big, sometimes too small. I have found mold on multiple occassions. After a month I didn't really lose any weight.

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 1:50 pm


Mark N

Shocked to see any negative responses. Of course you may see an issue or two if you use this program for a few months but come on people, your getting 3 fresh meals & 2 snacks every day. If Fresh Diet makes a mistake unlike other programs they make it up to you! Go Fresh Diet & Go Debbie!

posted Mar 21st, 2010 12:10 pm


Naplesdieter

Love it!!!! This is the missing piece of the puzzle in a busy lifestyle. You wake up and your meals are in a lunch bag ready to go. Yes, the portions are small... but, that's the "diet" part of the plan! Puts your portion control into perspective. After 1 week of trial, I missed the convenience of having the meals at my fingertips and will probably be a year round customer forever. AND the food is real, fresh, yummy food! not some nutrisys preservatives yuck.

posted Mar 16th, 2010 6:27 am


mrgreysmom

I think a lot of the food was bland, exactly what I DON'T need on a diet. also, delivery was often so late at night that I was often asleep, and even though it came in a cooler with an ice pack, it often wasn't very cold by the time I got to it (is that even safe?). A few times they made mistakes in my orders too. Also, the vegetarian options were tofu, which could get tiresome after a few.
I just don't think it was a good value for the money.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 4:38 pm


Barbara B.

My husband & i are HUGE Fresh Diet Fans. Our Aunt turned us onto this great service over 3 months ago. We tried Nutrisystem & Jenny Craig & had no clue their was someth8ing so much better available.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 10:33 pm


about to be sadie, sadie

Using Fresh Diet NYC - Have only been on for three days, but I'm loving this. I have crazy long days and no time. This is so easy. The food is much better than I expected. The chef is making the best of the diminished calories s/he is working with. Great seasonings, nice, strong flavors. Yes - the portions are small -- and that's the hardest thing for me to control on my own, so I'm thrilled that they are small. I signed up using the groupon discount. Will be hard pressed to justify the regular cost, as I am a teacher, but if I had the money, this is how I would spend it. Really a great service. Good work Fresh Diet.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 7:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account