| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 131 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.


The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet

Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 8, 149 total comments)


Service sucks, food not delivered. Wish I had read the reviews before buying.

posted Aug 4th, 2011 6:15 pm


I was looking for Dallas reviews and didn't see any, but decided to try it anyway. It has been one week and the food has been great. Yes, the portions are small and definitely take some getting used to. Like any restaurant, some of the food is better than others. In this first week, I have followed the diet completely and have already lost 5 lbs! My goal is 20 and I have every intention of continuing. Such fast results have made this the first diet that has ever motivated me.

posted Jul 30th, 2011 12:21 pm


the food is ok but portions are so small and was having to buy more food to compensate for this so financially it was not working for me and when i ask for my refund during my 7 days trial they said within 1 week i would get my money back and it's been not 2 months and still no sing of my money back i am thinking of claiming my refund legally since they are not delivering it back to me, supervisors are not available to talk to or any one else in charge can only reach the operator and she keep putting me true other extensions and only voice mails would NOT recomend their service nooooo way

posted Jul 22nd, 2011 4:14 pm


Wow, I don't even know where to start but STAY FAR AWAY!!!

Short version, stay as far away as possible. Nightmare operations, no delivery, no return calls, a constant battle to find out what happened to delivery. Finally cancelled my service and they were going to pro-rate 5 days even though they never delivered or returned my phone calls. Beyond! Plus the food was terrible, worse than coach class airline food.
Don't waste your money, time and sanity!!!

Long version: got a discount flyer in the mail and happily ordered for the 31 days requirement which was fine with me as this is what I wanted.
Looking forward to starting the new diet and on the first day the delivery did not arrive during the 5pm-7am window. I called and was told that there would be no delivery that day and I would be credited for that. I thought ok, it's the first day and maybe the delivery guy got lost or something but then, it showed up at around 8am!

The 2nd day 8am came around and still no delivery, now I'm starting to
doubt this company. I called to ask if I should wait a little to see if it's on it's way, and the person I spoke to said they'd call me back & let me know.
Waited 1/2 hour and no response so had to go grab some food and was late to work. Now I'm pissed!
Called again at around 10am and again was told someone would call me back to let me know what happened. No response. At 4pm I called again
and said "since no one is able to respond just cancel my service". At this point I have no faith and am furious that I'm just getting blown off. The person I spoke to said I can't cancel my service because it was a special price but they could block the service or a time, this is bullsh$%8! Freshdiet won't deliver the food or return my calls; I'm not just giving them my money for NOTHING!

In then end I called one more time on Monday because a surpirse delivery arrived !?! This time she said she would cancel the service but would have to pro-rate it 5 days ! This is the most nightmarish, insane, whack,business I've ever dealt with. I called my credit card co. to protest the total stressful, aggravating & insulting amount !!!

posted Jul 11th, 2011 2:35 pm


WOW... $50/day for food I could make for $5... Whats next? The Fresh Gas Station? Where I can pay $50/gal so someone can put the nozzle in my tank? WOW What a deal... ARE YOU F****** KIDDIN ME?

posted Jul 11th, 2011 7:10 am


Nothing fresh or gourmet about this diet. I live in Philly area and everything comes wilted, dried up or a total mess. Some dishes are OK but most are very hard to eat they are so bland, dried up, rubbery, or just plain taste awful. I see all these happy reviews by New-Yorkers but wonder what other people in Philly think. Way too expensive for what you get, not fresh at all and for the most part bad tasting!

posted May 31st, 2011 3:14 pm


I didn't think it was possible to mess up a sandwich....but it is. It is only my first meal but already the bread is soggy, lettuce is wilted and tomatoes are mealy. I can make better and equally healthy food myself. Luckily I am only doing a short trial. I will not be signing up.

posted May 18th, 2011 3:38 pm


I read these reviews so I know how important they can be--I have tried freshology, zen diet, and The Fresh Diet. My take on Fresh Diet, don't waste your money. It is not gourmet food by all means, you get better stuff going to TJ's frozen section and grabbing some of your own fresh fruit. I signed up for a month, what a rip off.

posted May 4th, 2011 6:12 pm


they use frozen food. don't be fooled it is not all fresh and food comes from a can. have photos of the trucks that drive up......

posted Apr 24th, 2011 10:01 pm

Susanne Freed

Wonderful tasty meals. Varied selection. Lots of choice and input.

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 9:47 pm


I am going to have to give this a thumbs down although I have renewed it once already. Overall it is pretty bad and not worth the exorbitant cost. I see there are a lot of people in New York who are it possible it's better there?!!? I'm in Philadelphia. It is just not "fresh" here.

The main benefit for me of the plan has been that as a busy mom who is currently obese and has been grabbing caloric food on the go for years now, it has gotten me accustomed to small portion sizes and only its sheer convenience has allowed me to attempt any sort of diet. I could never stick to a diet with all-frozen or all-vacuum sealed food, as it would just be too disgusting! I have lost about 10 pounds in 6 weeks, even with additional snacks or occasionally eating out, so it's had a good effect on me.

So I put up with the god-awful fruit salads....mealy, brown apples, bruised bananas, moldy raspberries, peaches so hard they will break your teeth, etc...because I think it's useful to eat fresh fruit which is already prepared...and I throw out the bad parts.

I agree there's a major disconnect between the creative chefs at this company and the people who actually provide the food. The food sounds great but is presented horribly, and all dinner parts appear in one mashed together lump. So if the different sides don't match that well with your dinner, you are in trouble. Don't mix a teriyaki with a cacciatore, for example.

Stick to the tried and true: chicken and beef. I have had decent experiences with these, especially chicken (beef can be underdone or quite fatty). All fish is disgusting (although I'm a seafood lover) and "corvina fish" several times has had large, dangerous bones in it. Mahi mahi, sea bass...tried it all and it's all nasty. Salmon was ok. Crab cakes are great by the way, but they come buried in whatever side dishes you ordered. Stay away from "mash" because it's like a magnet for all your other food. Why they can't use segmented plates, I do not know.

For the price, wouldn't you think you could get organic food?? I feel that all this food is low quality. Oh, I forgot, salad greens are ALWAYS at least partially red/yellowed and/or otherwise wilted/rotted.

My final complaint is the calorie count, which can vary hugely from day to day. The choices are outrageously different in calorie value. "Sides" can either be merely 2 medium shrimp, or two large seemingly normal butterscotch cookies. I estimate the former to have 20 calories, the latter 200 calories. So, this alone can cause a swing of hundreds of calories per day. I don't know if dressings are figured into calorie count, but I figure they are. So, if you don't eat cookies and if you order fruit salad, you are probably getting way less than 1200 calories per day on this diet (more like 600 or so?!??) and you actually have to supplement it just so as not to starve yourself. That seems really pitiful for a diet that costs a minimum of 30 bucks a day.

Presentation is so disgusting. You would think that if you order the "turkey burger" for lunch, it would come with a little garnish or something. Nope. The last time I had the burger, it only came with one tiny out of place chunk of zucchini within the bun...greens and/or tomato would have been nice, and not added calories. "Nice" and decent presentation are not on the radar for The Fresh Diet.

The one bonus seems to be their willingness to work with my special food needs. The kitchen has been more than willing to accommodate substitutions and *most* of the time has come through. Note: if you want, they will provide you a "fruit cup" snack substitution instead of regular snacks, that seems fresher than whatever they serve as the regular fruit breakfast, which always looks as if it's been sitting already prepared for days before you receive it.

I figured out that now since I am accustomed to the portions, I will cancel the diet plan and pre-make my own fruit salads, order a Starbucks breakfast sandwich or oatmeal (200-400 calories or so), a Panera chicken salad (no bread on the side, no nuts), and a steamed chinese or other steamed dinner meal. It will cost me way less and I will get more reliable, enjoyable food, while still not having to prepare much and still dieting effectively.

posted Apr 10th, 2011 1:25 am


I have been on the Fresh Diet for almost 10 days now and have chosen to extend my subscription. The first 10 days have been amazing. I work very very long hours at least 5-6 days of the week and I have no time to grocery shop, let alone cook. In the last two years I have gained 35 pounds as a result of skipping breakfast and ordering in lunch and dinner daily. The food so far has been delicious. I have really enjoyed everything I have been served and it has increased my variety in terms of consumption. I would never cook fish at home, but now I'm eating it at least three times a week, as well as a wide variety of veggies. I am not sure why others have reported such bad experiences....I am in NYC so maybe that's why everything has been great so far? Delivery is always there when I wake up. Portions are tiny and leave you wanting more (espeically the cheesecake) but this is a *diet* will feel hungry sometimes on a diet and my body has adjusted and I am no longer ravenous. I have lost 4 pounds in one week and I'm going to stay with this until I lose the next 30 pounds!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 1:30 pm


I love this food plan. It may seem expensive, but if you really look at what you spend on food daily, it is nothing at all. I don't have to think about portion sizes, nutrition or anything. All the work is done for me. The food has been delicious. I am trying new things and just loving the variety. Best of all, I am losing weight. My husband and I are super busy and this truly fits our lifestyle. We both love the Fresh Diet and will continue to use their services as long as they are available.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 6:12 pm

Happy Dieter

I tried Fresh Diet for a day before commiting to an extended plan. I loved the first day food. I have since signed up for a 31 day Premium Choice Plan, and while, expensive ($32 a day), it is wonderful so far. Tasty food, well prepared, delivered on time, and portions that are the right size for me to loose weight.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 2:13 am


Learned about this through groupon and figured I would give it a try as I had a week where I would need some meals provided. They did not show up and couldn't be bothered contacting me to let me know they wouldn't be able to deliver. Had me listed as being delivered to on their site and I likely would have been screwed if I hadn't called and complained. Of course I am screwed in that I can't get a new delivery for the week and the service is now useless to me. Good thing groupon is good about returns. I could be wrong, but my impression is that the business is not well run and very unprofessional. No clue what the food is like but I doubt it's worth the headaches.

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 6:26 pm


The food is really good. In a country used to super-sizing, the small portions do get taking used to.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 11:24 pm

Chef B

I tried The Fresh Diet for a week to see if it was worth it. The service was good & the deliveries on time every night. The food was OK, not bad, some was pretty good, but the value was not there. I paid almost $50/day for food that could not have cost $5

posted Jan 30th, 2011 9:25 pm


I got a 2 weeks trial with group on. I was excited on the first day to open my door, only to find no food, this happened 3 times our of 5 scheduled delivery days, on none of these days were there any extreme weather... Customer service kept apologizing and crediting me but I wa still stuck getting 7-11takeout on my wa to work all those days! On the 2 days I did get food... It was ok. Portions a bit small and doubtful that it truly was 1200 calories even... I ended up getting a refund from group on since their service sucked so bad. I tried this for convenience and it has been nothing but a headache and caused a major hassle! Great ide in theory, awful execution.

posted Jan 26th, 2011 7:36 pm

Heidi Tonken

I have tried multiple home delivery diets.
The food tastes great. It is much easier to stay on this diet than weight watchers since there is automatic portion control.
The food is so healthy and delicious

posted Jan 26th, 2011 2:36 am


I am loving Fresh Diet. I have not tried any other diet plans, so no comparison point but I have to say that I am enjoying every meal of mine. I am a vegetarian, and so far have liked all my selections. Infact my husband who is not a vegetarian, is always tempted to dig into my food! Its been 4 days now so I think my body is getting used to less food. I do feel hungry late afternoon, but I satisfy myself with a cup of coffee (the only exception in the day). And hello - if these are normal portions, then I am shocked with how much I used to eat prior to joining this diet plan.

I am looking forward to seeing the results after my 14 days plan. I already feel lighter...

Thank you Fresh Diet :-)

posted Jan 24th, 2011 9:35 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account