Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 8, 142 total comments)

Tureesi

I read these reviews so I know how important they can be--I have tried freshology, zen diet, and The Fresh Diet. My take on Fresh Diet, don't waste your money. It is not gourmet food by all means, you get better stuff going to TJ's frozen section and grabbing some of your own fresh fruit. I signed up for a month, what a rip off.

posted May 4th, 2011 6:12 pm


reagan

they use frozen food. don't be fooled it is not all fresh and food comes from a can. have photos of the trucks that drive up......

posted Apr 24th, 2011 10:01 pm


Susanne Freed

Wonderful tasty meals. Varied selection. Lots of choice and input.

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 9:47 pm


anonymous

I am going to have to give this a thumbs down although I have renewed it once already. Overall it is pretty bad and not worth the exorbitant cost. I see there are a lot of people in New York who are happy...is it possible it's better there?!!? I'm in Philadelphia. It is just not "fresh" here.

The main benefit for me of the plan has been that as a busy mom who is currently obese and has been grabbing caloric food on the go for years now, it has gotten me accustomed to small portion sizes and only its sheer convenience has allowed me to attempt any sort of diet. I could never stick to a diet with all-frozen or all-vacuum sealed food, as it would just be too disgusting! I have lost about 10 pounds in 6 weeks, even with additional snacks or occasionally eating out, so it's had a good effect on me.

So I put up with the god-awful fruit salads....mealy, brown apples, bruised bananas, moldy raspberries, peaches so hard they will break your teeth, etc...because I think it's useful to eat fresh fruit which is already prepared...and I throw out the bad parts.

I agree there's a major disconnect between the creative chefs at this company and the people who actually provide the food. The food sounds great but is presented horribly, and all dinner parts appear in one mashed together lump. So if the different sides don't match that well with your dinner, you are in trouble. Don't mix a teriyaki with a cacciatore, for example.

Stick to the tried and true: chicken and beef. I have had decent experiences with these, especially chicken (beef can be underdone or quite fatty). All fish is disgusting (although I'm a seafood lover) and "corvina fish" several times has had large, dangerous bones in it. Mahi mahi, sea bass...tried it all and it's all nasty. Salmon was ok. Crab cakes are great by the way, but they come buried in whatever side dishes you ordered. Stay away from "mash" because it's like a magnet for all your other food. Why they can't use segmented plates, I do not know.

For the price, wouldn't you think you could get organic food?? I feel that all this food is low quality. Oh, I forgot, salad greens are ALWAYS at least partially red/yellowed and/or otherwise wilted/rotted.

My final complaint is the calorie count, which can vary hugely from day to day. The choices are outrageously different in calorie value. "Sides" can either be merely 2 medium shrimp, or two large seemingly normal butterscotch cookies. I estimate the former to have 20 calories, the latter 200 calories. So, this alone can cause a swing of hundreds of calories per day. I don't know if dressings are figured into calorie count, but I figure they are. So, if you don't eat cookies and if you order fruit salad, you are probably getting way less than 1200 calories per day on this diet (more like 600 or so?!??) and you actually have to supplement it just so as not to starve yourself. That seems really pitiful for a diet that costs a minimum of 30 bucks a day.

Presentation is so disgusting. You would think that if you order the "turkey burger" for lunch, it would come with a little garnish or something. Nope. The last time I had the burger, it only came with one tiny out of place chunk of zucchini within the bun...greens and/or tomato would have been nice, and not added calories. "Nice" and decent presentation are not on the radar for The Fresh Diet.

The one bonus seems to be their willingness to work with my special food needs. The kitchen has been more than willing to accommodate substitutions and *most* of the time has come through. Note: if you want, they will provide you a "fruit cup" snack substitution instead of regular snacks, that seems fresher than whatever they serve as the regular fruit breakfast, which always looks as if it's been sitting already prepared for days before you receive it.

I figured out that now since I am accustomed to the portions, I will cancel the diet plan and pre-make my own fruit salads, order a Starbucks breakfast sandwich or oatmeal (200-400 calories or so), a Panera chicken salad (no bread on the side, no nuts), and a steamed chinese or other steamed dinner meal. It will cost me way less and I will get more reliable, enjoyable food, while still not having to prepare much and still dieting effectively.

posted Apr 10th, 2011 1:25 am


Psychdoc

I have been on the Fresh Diet for almost 10 days now and have chosen to extend my subscription. The first 10 days have been amazing. I work very very long hours at least 5-6 days of the week and I have no time to grocery shop, let alone cook. In the last two years I have gained 35 pounds as a result of skipping breakfast and ordering in lunch and dinner daily. The food so far has been delicious. I have really enjoyed everything I have been served and it has increased my variety in terms of consumption. I would never cook fish at home, but now I'm eating it at least three times a week, as well as a wide variety of veggies. I am not sure why others have reported such bad experiences....I am in NYC so maybe that's why everything has been great so far? Delivery is always there when I wake up. Portions are tiny and leave you wanting more (espeically the cheesecake) but this is a *diet*...you will feel hungry sometimes on a diet and my body has adjusted and I am no longer ravenous. I have lost 4 pounds in one week and I'm going to stay with this until I lose the next 30 pounds!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 1:30 pm


Lori

I love this food plan. It may seem expensive, but if you really look at what you spend on food daily, it is nothing at all. I don't have to think about portion sizes, nutrition or anything. All the work is done for me. The food has been delicious. I am trying new things and just loving the variety. Best of all, I am losing weight. My husband and I are super busy and this truly fits our lifestyle. We both love the Fresh Diet and will continue to use their services as long as they are available.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 6:12 pm


Happy Dieter

I tried Fresh Diet for a day before commiting to an extended plan. I loved the first day food. I have since signed up for a 31 day Premium Choice Plan, and while, expensive ($32 a day), it is wonderful so far. Tasty food, well prepared, delivered on time, and portions that are the right size for me to loose weight.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 2:13 am


n25philly

Learned about this through groupon and figured I would give it a try as I had a week where I would need some meals provided. They did not show up and couldn't be bothered contacting me to let me know they wouldn't be able to deliver. Had me listed as being delivered to on their site and I likely would have been screwed if I hadn't called and complained. Of course I am screwed in that I can't get a new delivery for the week and the service is now useless to me. Good thing groupon is good about returns. I could be wrong, but my impression is that the business is not well run and very unprofessional. No clue what the food is like but I doubt it's worth the headaches.

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 6:26 pm



michelleintx

The food is really good. In a country used to super-sizing, the small portions do get taking used to.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 11:24 pm


Chef B

I tried The Fresh Diet for a week to see if it was worth it. The service was good & the deliveries on time every night. The food was OK, not bad, some was pretty good, but the value was not there. I paid almost $50/day for food that could not have cost $5

posted Jan 30th, 2011 9:25 pm


Izzy

I got a 2 weeks trial with group on. I was excited on the first day to open my door, only to find no food, this happened 3 times our of 5 scheduled delivery days, on none of these days were there any extreme weather... Customer service kept apologizing and crediting me but I wa still stuck getting 7-11takeout on my wa to work all those days! On the 2 days I did get food... It was ok. Portions a bit small and doubtful that it truly was 1200 calories even... I ended up getting a refund from group on since their service sucked so bad. I tried this for convenience and it has been nothing but a headache and caused a major hassle! Great ide in theory, awful execution.

posted Jan 26th, 2011 7:36 pm


Heidi Tonken

I have tried multiple home delivery diets.
The food tastes great. It is much easier to stay on this diet than weight watchers since there is automatic portion control.
The food is so healthy and delicious

posted Jan 26th, 2011 2:36 am


MC16

I am loving Fresh Diet. I have not tried any other diet plans, so no comparison point but I have to say that I am enjoying every meal of mine. I am a vegetarian, and so far have liked all my selections. Infact my husband who is not a vegetarian, is always tempted to dig into my food! Its been 4 days now so I think my body is getting used to less food. I do feel hungry late afternoon, but I satisfy myself with a cup of coffee (the only exception in the day). And hello - if these are normal portions, then I am shocked with how much I used to eat prior to joining this diet plan.

I am looking forward to seeing the results after my 14 days plan. I already feel lighter...

Thank you Fresh Diet :-)

posted Jan 24th, 2011 9:35 pm


Tara

The food was ok the first day but then I woke up on the second day and opened my front door to find the bag I had placed there the night before. No new food was delivered! So upsetting since I was really depending on it. They even had the nerve to charge me for it! I have called and emailed with no response yet.

posted Jan 18th, 2011 1:49 pm


Normama

I am a foodie and so I thought this would be a better solution for me than Jenny Craig (which I have been on for the last six months losing 18 lbs,). Boy was I wrong. The food is horrible and tasteless. The description always sounds yummy but the actual food doesn't at all resemble what they describe. No seasonings are used AT ALL! Bland, boring food. Baby food has more flavor.

posted Jan 18th, 2011 4:06 am


Stella

I'm not a big person at all but I got the Fresh Diet because I liked the idea of having tasty, balanced meals delivered to my door daily. I just tried my first meals and wow, I can't believe how disappointed I am. My breakfast was cinnamon swirl french whole wheat toast with blackberry ricotta and sliced apples. Sounds good, right? I was expecting two slices of medium-sized tasty and cripsy french toast. What I got was a sad-looking single small slice of flattened whole wheat wonderbread. The apples slices were so thin I could see through them--I didn't know apples could be sliced so thin. The blackberry ricotta was tasty. The entire meal couldn't have possibly cost more than $2 though. Lunch was a lentil soup with turkey sausage and brown rice. Turkey sausage=sliced pencil-thin turkey hot dog. Gross. Plus, I was still hungry after the "lunch", which, again, couldn't have cost more than maybe $4. My hors d'ouerve was a sliced lamb chop on crostini with tomato. Silly me, I thought the lamb would be meat and not fat, and also have some sort of seasoning on it. And the "crostini" was less impressive than a triscuit. Dinner was an Asiago-stuffed chicken breast with whole wheat linguini and honey-roasted beets. OK, so after my first bite of this, I had a flashback to the airplane food I had on my way back from Hong Kong two years ago. Was I eating airplane food again? This couldn't have cost more than $8. So, the daily cost was something like $60 and what I got couldn't have possibly cost more than $15 (and that's generous). So, did I just pay a $45 delivery fee to have airplane food delivered to my door?

posted Jan 12th, 2011 12:42 am


DC

Someone said the food portions were too small "and that defeats the whole point of losing weight".

Well, I would like to say that most overweight and OBESE people have LARGE stomachs, because they eat anything they see. It takes time for your stomach to get smaller and adjust for the portions you are eating.

I might add, that most people don't drink enough water thus they feel HUNGER when it is thirst.

We put my mother in law on this diet and it has been decent so far. Cheaper than getting a cook due to the fact that she just came out of the hospital and NEEDS to lose weight and NEEDS to have something that is well balanced for her to eat.

She has not had a problem with it so far (with taste) or delivery. She even said it is nice to have a routine.

A person will only lose as much weight as they are disciplined.

posted Dec 17th, 2010 9:17 pm


Cindy

I signed up for a one-month special andI have been very disappointed with the food, which has been neither fresh nor gourmet. A number of times I received food that was spoiled or otherwise inedible, and some of the other meals were inconsistently cooked (meat varying from raw to tender to shoe leather), or had side dishes that were altered (canned fruit, etc.). I got tired of calling to complain, but was informed that if I canceled early I would be charged the $45/day normal rate for the days I had already received food instead of the $30/day special rate. This would have actually increased my overall expense!

While the company's intentions may be well-placed, the execution falls painfully short and I cannot recommend this program to anyone.

posted Nov 3rd, 2010 3:40 pm


Laura

This diet is for squirrels. I'm light headed and dizzy and about to faint by the end of the day and end up cooking for myself anyways. Way too tiny portions, half the items are hard as a rock (toast/crostini) so cant eat it all anyways. yuck!

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 4:11 pm


girl

I am back and have lost 9 pounds on this diet. Sometimes the food is disgusting and sometimes its alright. The first week I had a good customer service experience and after that it became from bad to worse. I found mold in my fruit again which made me so angry. I called customer service 3x to exchange a meal that I absolutely hated and they promised to change it. I still received that nasty meal. Sometimes I call and no one picks up. Sometimes I write and no one responds. Yesterday dinner was a piece of veal (I decided to weigh it since it looked absurdly small and it was 1.5 oz. which I thought was absurd for dinner). When you pay so much money for a program the least you can expect is for customer service to be kissing your ass especially when you are finding mold in your food, but of course, no one is responding to your emails.

posted Sep 24th, 2010 5:20 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account