Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 8, 142 total comments)

Amanda

Im super busy at work and I dont have time to cook. I ate out alot and I would always cheat on my diet. I love this diet. No planning or measurring. Its so me. I lost 5 lbs in 2 weeks. I just wish it was cheaper.

posted Jan 22nd, 2012 3:13 pm


Nancy

Have been on Fresh Diet in Houston for one week now - Premier Choice. Every meal and snack I have had has been delicious! Yes, the portions are smaller than I am used to eating - but that's the point of a "diet" - quit pigging out.

posted Dec 30th, 2011 4:21 am


sybil

DON'T signup for this service. They avoid giving refunds, even for amounts over $1000. Portions are not large enough to satisfy the normal persons hunger. Foods don't have a statement of ingredients. Foods are included that should in no way be considered diet, such as sugar and cream laden cheesecake. One wonders about the reasons for increasingly discounted pricing.

posted Dec 5th, 2011 11:47 pm


Matt Jonatelli

live in the LA area and everything has always been great for me. fresh, good food, delivered on-time, etc. i like it!

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 8:40 pm


DeeCee

This diet is VERY EXPENSIVE... Was on it for a couple of months and then stopped... They will NOT stop SPAMMING me to death!!! I've asked them, several times, to PLEASE stop sending me e-mails... I've tried to unsubscribe, but they INSIST on sending me their numerous unwanted e-mails... They seem desperate for pull money out of my wallet... THEY ARE RELENTLESS!!! Not a good company to deal with... Very disrespectful...

posted Nov 29th, 2011 3:51 am


DeeCee

This diet is VERY EXPENSIVE... Was on it for a couple of months and then stopped... They will NOT stop SPAMMING me to death!!! I've asked them, several times, to PLEASE stop sending me e-mails... I've tried to unsubscribe, but they INSIST on sending me their numerous unwanted e-mails... They seem desperate for pull money out of my wallet... THEY ARE RELENTLESS!!! Not a good company to deal with... Very disrespectful...

posted Nov 29th, 2011 3:49 am


Suzanne

Haven't seen many balanced reviews for this program so thought I would chime in. I have been on the Fresh Diet for three months and have lost about 25 pounds. Overall it has been a net positive experience for me, but this diet is not for everyone. It is quite expensive. There is high variability in food quality/freshness (and from reading reviews high variability by region). e.g. Fruit is not great and fish often overcooked. You have to learn through trial and error which items are reasonably good (and even very good) and which are really barely edible. You also cannot rely on the microwave. I have managed to make most of my meals fairly palatable by creative use of oven, stove top, etc. and adding some of my own seasoning and sometimes supplementing with additional vegetables. I have had no missed deliveries in the Bay Area of San Francisco and have had to ask for credits three times, for wrong selections and/or damaged packaging. Customer Service has been courteous and prompt in providing the credits. On the positive side, it has really helped me jump start a desperately needed diet, provide some variety, provide a reminder of portion size, carb/protein balance etc. and creative ideas for healthy meals (which I can actually execute much better myself!) and I have been applying this learning on weekends (I have been doing the plan 5 days a week). This has worked well for me, but they clearly need to address some serious quality control issues if they intend to keep growing.

posted Oct 28th, 2011 5:13 pm


Terri

I like this diet. The food is really good most all the time. It is delivered during the middle of the night in insulated thermal containers with ice packs so the food arrives fresh. I am on the 1200-1400 calorie diet and so far have lost 12 pounds. I don't know how long I will stay on it as it is expensive but this has given me the incentive I needed to lose weight. I can already see the results after 5 weeks. It also has shown me the correct size portion I need to eat.

posted Oct 13th, 2011 2:02 pm


Nikolai

This cool diet fresh tasty nothing from package the only thing is if the person used to eat tons of food a day (Mc Donald Junkies) this is not for you Fresh diet is for people who looks like people not a behemoths on french fries portion are normal but this is not usual american diner portion where one salad can easily can go North of 1500 calories

posted Oct 7th, 2011 1:35 pm


Christina

I just started The Fresh Diet and am in love with it. I am not in the best of health following a life threatening illness that I am still battling. These meals are perfect and delicious to help me get my life back. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants and needs to learn how to eat properly. Thumbs up to The Fresh Diet. Thank you!

posted Sep 6th, 2011 3:27 pm


Kenneth Hurley

About 1/3 of the food was good. It's not a diet for everyone, as the food comes cold and you have to reheat the hot meals. Also, deserts are made with Splenda, and there are health concerns with using sugar substitutes.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 8:58 pm


C. Casey

Stay away from Fresh Diet. I cannot comment on the food quality because I never received any deliveries. When I mailed them my keys to start delivery, I gave specific instructions (over the phone and in the package I mailed the keys in) to please call me to confirm they received my keys. They never called to say they were received. 3 weeks go by without deliveries and I have to call constantly to inquire about the status. Finally, too frustrated to continue, I cancelled the service. I was then told my refund would take a ‚??few weeks‚?? and that they would send my keys back within 2 days. I called again, a week later, because I never got them back in the mail. They delivered my keys by leaving them with nobody, somewhere in the lobby where anyone could and probably did pick them up. They have never been found. Despite numerous confirmations by customer service that they delivery manager would contact me, they never did. They also never bothered to call me to specify, ask, or make arrangements to drop my keys off. Poor communication and lack of concern makes them a HUGE security risk if you live in a New York City co-cop or apartment building and have to trust strangers with your keys!

Also, this may not be a concern for everyone, but no ingredients in the fresh diet are organic.

posted Aug 31st, 2011 1:22 pm


curlyb

Bad service! Didn't deliver the food, won't help me, rude or should I say non existent service. Good idea, I was excited to try it, but the execution is terrible. This is sold as a high end service, but they treat customers like trash.

posted Aug 4th, 2011 11:36 pm


Carly

Service sucks, food not delivered. Wish I had read the reviews before buying.

posted Aug 4th, 2011 6:15 pm


5down

I was looking for Dallas reviews and didn't see any, but decided to try it anyway. It has been one week and the food has been great. Yes, the portions are small and definitely take some getting used to. Like any restaurant, some of the food is better than others. In this first week, I have followed the diet completely and have already lost 5 lbs! My goal is 20 and I have every intention of continuing. Such fast results have made this the first diet that has ever motivated me.

posted Jul 30th, 2011 12:21 pm


isilma

the food is ok but portions are so small and was having to buy more food to compensate for this so financially it was not working for me and when i ask for my refund during my 7 days trial they said within 1 week i would get my money back and it's been not 2 months and still no sing of my money back i am thinking of claiming my refund legally since they are not delivering it back to me, supervisors are not available to talk to or any one else in charge can only reach the operator and she keep putting me true other extensions and only voice mails would NOT recomend their service nooooo way

posted Jul 22nd, 2011 4:14 pm


debkleinman

Wow, I don't even know where to start but STAY FAR AWAY!!!

Short version, stay as far away as possible. Nightmare operations, no delivery, no return calls, a constant battle to find out what happened to delivery. Finally cancelled my service and they were going to pro-rate 5 days even though they never delivered or returned my phone calls. Beyond! Plus the food was terrible, worse than coach class airline food.
Don't waste your money, time and sanity!!!

Long version: got a discount flyer in the mail and happily ordered for the 31 days requirement which was fine with me as this is what I wanted.
Looking forward to starting the new diet and on the first day the delivery did not arrive during the 5pm-7am window. I called and was told that there would be no delivery that day and I would be credited for that. I thought ok, it's the first day and maybe the delivery guy got lost or something but then, it showed up at around 8am!

The 2nd day 8am came around and still no delivery, now I'm starting to
doubt this company. I called to ask if I should wait a little to see if it's on it's way, and the person I spoke to said they'd call me back & let me know.
Waited 1/2 hour and no response so had to go grab some food and was late to work. Now I'm pissed!
Called again at around 10am and again was told someone would call me back to let me know what happened. No response. At 4pm I called again
and said "since no one is able to respond just cancel my service". At this point I have no faith and am furious that I'm just getting blown off. The person I spoke to said I can't cancel my service because it was a special price but they could block the service or a time, this is bullsh$%8! Freshdiet won't deliver the food or return my calls; I'm not just giving them my money for NOTHING!

In then end I called one more time on Monday because a surpirse delivery arrived !?! This time she said she would cancel the service but would have to pro-rate it 5 days ! This is the most nightmarish, insane, whack,business I've ever dealt with. I called my credit card co. to protest the total stressful, aggravating & insulting amount !!!

posted Jul 11th, 2011 2:35 pm


VegasDude

WOW... $50/day for food I could make for $5... Whats next? The Fresh Gas Station? Where I can pay $50/gal so someone can put the nozzle in my tank? WOW What a deal... ARE YOU F****** KIDDIN ME?

posted Jul 11th, 2011 7:10 am


Lena

Nothing fresh or gourmet about this diet. I live in Philly area and everything comes wilted, dried up or a total mess. Some dishes are OK but most are very hard to eat they are so bland, dried up, rubbery, or just plain taste awful. I see all these happy reviews by New-Yorkers but wonder what other people in Philly think. Way too expensive for what you get, not fresh at all and for the most part bad tasting!

posted May 31st, 2011 3:14 pm


Ashley

I didn't think it was possible to mess up a sandwich....but it is. It is only my first meal but already the bread is soggy, lettuce is wilted and tomatoes are mealy. I can make better and equally healthy food myself. Luckily I am only doing a short trial. I will not be signing up.

posted May 18th, 2011 3:38 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account