Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

The Fresh Diet

A fresh approach to meal-delivery diets

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Zalmi Duchman
  • Headquarters: Surfside, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online ordering with daily or twice weekly delivery
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The Fresh Diet is a local service that hails out of North Florida and serves the entire South Florida region. It bases its fresh-food delivery service solely on the Zone Diet by Dr. Sears, but is not in any way affiliated with the good doctor or his site. Instead, The Fresh Diet is, in effect, a kitchen that cooks and compiles the best of Dr. Sear's food ideas and ships them daily to the recipient. Nothing is ever frozen or vacuum-packed.

In order to make this service both healthy and affordable, the staff at The Fresh Diet have a roll-over plan that allows you to cancel a meal within 24 hours and to re-utilize it at a later date. Thus, if you have plans to leave town for a couple days, you won't lose out on your meal ticket, you will simply order two that would have belonged to the previous week and add them at a later date. A 24/7 concierge is always at your service to help with these last-minute change of plans.

Finally, in order to accommodate their client’s likes and dislikes, or food allergies, The Fresh Diet allows up to eight choices of "never serve me" foods for their Chef's Choice package, and an unlimited array of "I do not like" listings from their Premium Choice package.

The Fresh Diet began in Florida in 2005 and continues to grow. Almost like a caterer on steroids, The Fresh Diet ensures that you never have to suffer through a TV dinner or canned soup meal again. Additionally, since it is based on one of the most respected diet plans, more commonly known as a way-of-life eating plan, it ensures that you will obtain a full array of nutritional foods that are actually good for you. No more guessing at caloric intake or trying to figure out the percentage of carbohydrates versus proteins. This company balances each meal and snack according to the Zone Diet outlines.

PRO

The Fresh Diet is a progressive company that is growing rapidly. Their chefs strive to bring new recipe ideas to the table and compete with one another for the privilege of offering them on The Fresh Diet's refreshing menu.

  • Always fresh, never frozen or vacuum-packed food.
  • Three meals and two snacks delivered fresh daily.
  • Choose meals up to 31 days ahead or no less than 3 days prior.
  • Emergency 24-hour cancellation available through a personal concierge.
  • Personal diet counselors are at your service to help advise you concerning weight issues.
  • Recently expanded to serve more locations than just Miami
CON
  • At this time, only serving Miami, Chicago and Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
  • This is a Gourmet Food service and is probably not a good option for a family situation
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zone Diet is a loud and proud proponent of the Omega-3 group of fatty acids, and their healthy benefits. Since Omega-3s are primarily found in fish oils, The Fresh Diet offers a wide array of fish, cooked to perfection by a group of chefs who enjoy cooking. Of course, they also offer steak or corned beef, but each dish is balanced with fruits, vegetables and snacks, designed for optimal nutrition. A small sampling of food choices are:

  • Crab Cake Drizzled with Chipotle Lime Sauce
  • Spicy Tilapia Steak, dressed with jerk rub & lime
  • Fruit Kabobs with Citrus Yogurt Dip
  • Smoked Salmon with eggs on whole wheat with chives and lemon balm
  • Avocado Swiss California Burger on Whole Wheat Bun
  • Exotic Fruit Salad with Fresh Mango, Papaya, Kiwi, Pineapple & Passion Fruit w/yogurt
CONCLUSION

The Fresh Diet is a big success in the limited area it currently serves. The very essence of its existence is that it provides fresh food within a defined delivery area, meaning that the food is not only the highest quality, but prepared with solid dietary foundations found within the Zone Diet. If this enterprising young business franchises, and keeps its quality and delivery viable enough to ensure freshness, it may very well be one of the best diet offerings to come along in a great while.

Common Misspellings

Frash Diet, Fresh Deit, Freshest Diet, Fresh Meals Diet


Related Diets: Dr. Sears Zone Diet, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 142 total comments)

Linda Peachey

This should be updated, as I live in Colorado, and have ordered this diet for 90 days. It is excellent! The service and help with questions was personal. Everything is fresh and ready to eat, unless it needs to be warmed in the microwave. As far as I know, they ship all over the country with special packaging to keep everything fresh & cold.

posted Sep 12th, 2013 4:02 am


Julie

Extremely poor customer service. I do not write reviews often and I am usually very tolerant of mistakes, but these folks have made the same mistake twice and have not apologized or made repairs for the mistake. It is very difficult to get someone on the phone. I am ashamed that I let my desperation for a diet plan override the proper "due diligence" that I should have done before signing up for this plan.

posted Apr 9th, 2013 4:56 pm


Nicole

Finished the second day of my seven days I signed up for. So far the food had been fresh and for the most part filling. Everything has been very fresh and pretty good tasting. It is not 4 star gourmet but it heads above anything else I have tried. I have added siracha sauce to some of the meals for an added kick. It did shock me to realize how much I was eating before and I would recommend for at least a week to get acquainted with proper portion size

posted Feb 28th, 2013 4:01 am


Kim Richards

I like the food, it is convenient, but most importantly, when I have an issue, I call the customer service and they try hard t resolve it right away. ITs all about customer service and my experience with that has been great!

posted Feb 8th, 2013 3:04 pm


Suzanne

The Fresh Diet is only available for deliveries two times a week in my area. I receive the food by fed ex ground and it is packaged very well with lots of ice packs. But, by the time you get to the third day, the food does not taste so " fresh". Forget about ordering salads on the two time a week delivery because the lettuce is not edible.
I do have to say however, the food is 10 times better than diet food such as Jenny Craig.
I am a vegetarian and there are many options, but if you don't upgrade to the more option plan, the food is limited.
I think I would have liked it better if it was delivered every day.

posted Feb 3rd, 2013 11:03 pm


Suzanne

There are no words to express my disgust with myself for having fallen prey to The Fresh Diet.

--This company has no information available about the nutritional value of their meals. Zero, zilch, nada. They're "working on it."

--After they suckered me into extending my intro plan for a "discounted" extended one, their drivers decided to ride the elevator to my apartment floor, toss the new bags down the hall toward my apartment, and -- wait for it -- leave the empty bags. I complained several times and was told this would be fixed. It was for the ensuing 2 days, then started up again. The company then told me that my account has a note that the doorman won't let them up. I'm not very surprised they didn't bother to tell me that, because it's not true. As my doorman told me, "why would I come up and drop off the new bags, but not bring the empty one downstairs to hold for the driver at night?" Never mind the fact that The Fresh Diet, not my doorman, is being paid for delivery services.

--The meals were not delivered overnight. The usually arrived between 10pm and midnight. So if you go to bed early, be prepared to have your food sitting out in the cooler for 8-10 hours.

--Most of the food was adequate enough for a diet plan. The quality was adequate too ... with one exception: Over 3 months, every single piece of red meat that I received was 95% fat. Now, when the piece is ridiculously tiny to begin with, this meant that I got about a bite (maybe 2) of meat. Oh, and 3 pieces of asparagus and 2 slices of grilled tomato.

--After awful service all the way around, I finally decided I'd had enough. Get this? No refund because I had received a discount past the 3rd day of delivery. Are you freaking kidding me?

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THE FRESH DIET. (OR AT LEAST BE SMARTER THAN I WAS AND READ THEIR REVIEWS, INCLUDING FROM THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, BEFORE SIGNING UP!!!)

posted Jul 14th, 2012 4:17 pm


Jen

The food may be fresh but the chef does not know how to cook. The meats are always dry, the salads hang out of the package and the desserts are so watery you can't even eat it. They do not allow you to chose your meals even when they say it. You only chose from 4 different meals per day. If you don't like ricotta cheese do not do this diet. They hound me all the time and I could not cancel. Yuck. I'd rather eat rice cakes than this food.

posted May 30th, 2012 4:15 pm


tara

I started the fresh diet combined with working out at barrys bootcamp. Everyone at barry's is on it and they are all rock solid - so I joined. I could not be happier. I'm pretty picky about things and being a new yorker we tend to have high standards and not pleased easily - and i'd have to give this company a 10 / 10. The food is DELICOUS. I'm vegetarian / but do eat chicken on occassion. I am eating 90% of the vegetarian items and they are delicious. I don't love chicken but I will say I do not mind eating their chicken items - they are really delicious. The service was great - I only called to sign up and once to ask some questions. I've lost 6lbs and i'm in my 2nd week. I feel so much better and I am never bloated now. I'm learning about portions and also balancing meals out. For instance, you can't have all carbs in a day - Fresh Diet tells you "you've reached your limit" so on occassion when i want the pizza for lunch i have to have a lighter breafkast. It's all about portion and balance. The cost is high - but if you want something good it's going to cost you - so in that regard it is very worth the cost. I'm not sure I can do it forever, because upwards of $1200 a month is a lot. But I will definitely do it for a few months until I reach my goal weight. And any other time I want to slim down before an event.

posted May 24th, 2012 4:58 pm


Becky

I'm on day two and have absolutely LOVED every meal. So flavorful! I've done Nutrisystem, and hated the fake processed food. Some of the complaints may be from unrefined palates, but as a foodie (kind of why I need to be on the program:) I'm a huge fan.

I'm trying to slim down for my wedding in September, so hopefully it's effective on the weight loss front, but the convenience of healthy, fresh food delivered to my door everyday is such a help. With all the planning I still have to do it's nice to know that making food choices when I'm on the go has been taken off my plate.

I had the Mocha-Cappucino Cheesecake as my dessert last night- holy crap! How is that something on program? Crazy delicious. I would highly recommend this service to anyone living within the delivery zone.

Also- I found a promo code online that made the pemium choice 33 day service $1020. So for those concerned about price, I'd poke around on google and see what you can scare up. Between take-out, restaurants, and Pret-A-Manger in Manhatten, I was probably spending close to $30 a day on food anyhow.

posted May 15th, 2012 7:05 pm


Taya

I purchased a trial of Fresh Diet on Gilt and couldn't be happier with it. I wasn't looking for a "diet" per say, but more of the convenience of healthy cooked meals delivered to me now that I'm working full time and mother to an 8 month old. The food is super great and they have adequate choices so you're not bored.

posted May 11th, 2012 12:32 am


Anna

I did this diet for about 6 months on the 5 day a week plan. Good news is that I did lose weight - I was 150 when I started and went down to 132. Bad news is I had to stop the account because the service was just so horrible. On about 4 occasions I didn't receive my food and when I called they told me either they *did* deliver it, or the weather was bad, or they coudln't get in touch with the driver, or couldn't get in my building. They did comp those days but it was such a pain to go through all that hassle when you're paying so much money for this service. The other con for me was I got really bored of the food - after about a month it just repeats.

I would only sign back up if the service improved.

posted May 9th, 2012 5:10 pm


Ann OBrien

I really like the program - the program is easy, the food is flavorful, portioned controlled and delivered like clockwork. It is easy for someone that is movtivated to loss weight and doesn't want to forfeit flavor/variety. I've been in NYC on business staying in a hotel and this plan has worked out with ease for me.

I was surprised to see all the negative feedback and was glad that I didn't read it before I ordered. My recommendation is try one week and see what you think. I plan to renew and be on it for several weeks - I have to get jump started lossing weight.

So, I think it is a great program and think it couldn't be easier for someone that doesn't or can't bother to cook, measure, and think about flavor/portion size/variety!

posted May 5th, 2012 12:47 am


dr

bad food for the price. kind of made me feel sick.

Also they forgot to deliver a meal and instead of being nice about it, tried to blame me. Not a great company to do business with.

posted Apr 12th, 2012 7:29 pm


MARK

Bad food, Terrible delivery, HORRIBLE customer service. They TRAP you into a longterm agreement before you get the first digusting morsel. You will regret them

posted Apr 12th, 2012 2:27 pm


John

Most of the negative reviews on here are completely false allegations. If these people were not losing weight then they were obviously cheating on their diets and looking for an excuse (that most lazy fat people do) so they can feel like it was not their fault. This company is amazing. Food is absolutely delicious and the prices may seem expensive ONLY because you pay so much money upfront. BUT when you break it down you are spending just as much as you would if you cooked this "healthy" food yourself. PLUS your saving the shopping, prepping and cooking time. These days parents both work, sometimes TWO jobs. WHERE do they find time to shop, prep and cook HEALTHY meals??? They dont! SOLUTION= McDonalds....thanks for making 40% of all people obese buddy! FRESH MEALS is worth every penny...IF you actually care about your quality of life along with your childrens. STOP making excuses America.

posted Apr 2nd, 2012 7:40 pm


MarkL

OverPriced and tasteless. Locked into an entire month, even tho I called one day after their bland and tasteless box delived by FEDEX (not by hand) dropped on my door. Each sealed pack was moisture ridden soaking into the bread products. Doubt anyone will make it far on this grab a month up front and let the customer actually eat the product two weeks later. Called to cancel and told NOPE we keeping all your money even tho we havent ordered, made, or even shipped your food. I feel RIPPED OFF!

posted Mar 22nd, 2012 7:09 pm


Julie

The diet is expensive and not worth it. For the amount of money they charge you per day, you are better off going a different route. The food portions are diet size, so yes, they are small. However, the quality of the food is not at all impressive. Even the fruit was bad. A number of the meals I really had to force myself to eat (ironic?). My biggest complaint is that the food made me feel physically ill. Hate to say it, but I was constipated. Another example is that I had such bad stomach aches at work that was unable to move. I am a healthy 28 year old (that wanted to lose ten pounds-which I did not do - exercising daily and ALL), I should not of been experiencing such excruciating stomach pains that would cause me to be incapacitated.




To top it off, the customer service was quite difficult.




Therefore, I would not recommend The Fresh Diet.



posted Mar 12th, 2012 7:47 pm


Stephanie

The Fresh Diet food is fine, but the customer service is ABYSMAL. My delivery proceeded without a problem for two weeks and suddenly one day there was no delivery. No warning, no courtesy call. I had to call the company 5 times over two days to get any response - and I actually have not receive a response yet. The "concierge" representatives were rude and condescending - no one apologized, no one seemed to care. They promised someone from the "management team" would call me the next day - never happened. I called the customer service line again and the woman sounded absolutely bored. Given the money you pay for the program, it would be nice to have a little courtesy and concern for the customers. I'm still waiting for an explanation and an apology. I will not renew on the Fresh Diet and advise others to avoid it - they do NOT care about the customer.

posted Feb 3rd, 2012 12:30 am


Justin

Crazy expensive... can't even give a review because I can't afford $1,700 as an initial cost. Just insane.

posted Jan 25th, 2012 10:45 pm


jane

Read all the negative comments before you sign up. Am told that many of the positive comments may be initiated on behalf of Fresh Diet.

posted Jan 24th, 2012 8:56 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account