Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

The Flex Belt

A revolutionary toning tool for strong ab muscles.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Headquarters: Galway, Ireland
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Electronic muscle stimulation
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Lisa Rinna, Jerry Rice, Adrianne Curry, Janet Evans
  • Coupons
BACKGROUND

The Flex Belt is the only Abdominal Toning system cleared by the FDA for toning, firming and strengthening the stomach muscles. By wearing the belt for just 30 minutes each day, the devices promises to give you a more sleek and defined look in your abdominal region. What appears to be almost like a dream come true comes from the Flex Belt's ability to demand nothing from you. You simply wear it and the device stimulates the nerves in your stomach that force your muscles to contract and relax. The Electric Muscle Stimulation (EMS) technology is the same kind of technology that is used by physical therapist for patients who are unable to move their muscles themselves.

Several before and after photos are available on the site to show you the type of results people are getting. Some celebrity and professional athletes that use the Flex Belt include Jerry Rice, Janet Evans, Arianne Curry and Lisa Rinna. There is a disclaimer on the site highlighting that the Flex Belt alone won’t burn fat, but tones and tightens the muscles in your stomach. You are encouraged to follow a diet and workouts that engage the entire body for maximum results.

See the Official Flex Belt Web Site

PRO
  • It has been cleared by the Food and Drug Administration
  • The Flex Belt uses a medical technique, EMS, that is clinically proven to stimulate and tone muscles
  • A convenient way to get in a quick abdominal workout
  • Technology based on 40 years of expertise
  • Multiple clinical trials proving that the product works without any physical effort which was part of the FDA clearance
  • Every Flex Belt comes with a belt extender to make it suitable for all waist sizes
  • Web site mentions you will need to follow a diet and exercise program along with the Flex Belt for maximum results
CON
  • Some may expect to lose inches without doing any dieting or other exercises
The Flex Belt Video Review

via Fit Test Dummies

DIET and EXERCISE

The Flex Belt web site does offer a bonus of 30 days access to the Flex Belt meal planner with your order. This meal planner is considered to be one of the most advanced of its kind. You simply log in to get started creating your meal plan.

For new users, the Flex Belt meal planner offers a tutorial on how to use the program. This system helps you look at your current diet and use the foods you love to fill in any nutritional gaps you may be currently experiencing. You will also be able to browse some of the meal plans that have been created by other members. You have the ability to create your own recipes, enter customized foods by inputting their nutrition information and track your goals. You are encouraged to include fruits, vegetables, grains, meats, plant proteins, and eggs and dairy in your diet. Each meal plan showcases one day of meals and includes all nutrition information and your calorie count for that day. Below is a sample meal plan that was created by another member:

  • Breakfast: Honey Nut Cheerios with milk and strawberries
  • Snack: Yogurt with almonds
  • Lunch: Fajita with chicken and vegetables; orange; carrots, celery, mixed salad greens with Italian dressing
  • Snack: Hummus with carrots; strawberries
  • Dinner: Chicken with spinach, broccoli and tomatoes

You are encouraged to follow some type of diet while using the Flex Belt to get the results you desire. It is noted on the web site that the Flex Belt works to tone your stomach muscles.

The device will not burn fat inches so you must do that through dieting and performing other exercises that involve working the entire body. Since the Flex Belt does not increase your heart rate or tone other areas of your body, engaging in additional forms of exercise is necessary to achieve overall fitness.

USAGE

You can wear the Flex Belt whenever you want: at work, at home, while you're exercising or making dinner. The belt contains three gel-pads that are pre-positioned around your core region. The pads cover the central abdominals and the external oblique muscles. When the belt is operating, it stimulates these main muscle groups, which then send nerve signals to other neighboring muscles so that they relax and contract as well. It is the constant relaxing and contraction that tones the muscles and gives them more definition and strength.

The user will feel a mild sensation along their abdominals while the Flex Belt is in use. The user controls how powerful the sensations can be. The intensity goes from level 1 to 100. As strength develops, the intensity should be increased.

It is recommended to wear the Flex Belt for 30 minutes each day for 4 - 8 weeks, or until intended results are seen. In order to maintain strength and tone, the user should then wear the device 2-3 times each week. The gel pads need to be replaced after 20 - 30 sessions.

CONCLUSION

It sounds a bit too good to be true: Get great abs while you cook dinner or take a nap. But that is the promise of the Flex Belt, the only FDA cleared abdominal workout belt that is meant to tone, strengthen and firm up abdominal muscles. From Jerry Rice to Weight Watcher's and fashion magazines, many are heralding this apparent incredible invention for being the dream product for any lazy exerciser.

Just remember that all it will do is firm your abs. If you don't do any other kind of physical activity or if you eat cupcakes all day, don't ask for your refund back if you're not noticing a six-pack on your torso.

DietsInReview.com is an affiliate of The Flex Belt and is compensated for sales of this product. This review is not influenced and remains our own opinion.

See the Official Flex Belt Web Site

Common Misspellings

flexbelt, felx belt, exercise belt, flex belts, Slendertone, Slendert Tone, the flex belt, flexbelt


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, Abs Diet, Contour Abs Belt, Fitness Magazine, Flex Enervive, Slendertone Flex


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 9, 179 total comments)

gavinros

This bloody thing actually works. It's very similar to the technology at my physical therapist that i used when i got into a car accident and injured my arm. you gotta try this thing mates, it's helping my abs get in tip top condition.

posted Aug 17th, 2009 4:00 pm


boomboombilly

the ladies love my abs more now. two of my girls made comments that they look tighter and bigger. I like bigger!

posted Aug 12th, 2009 3:38 pm


trent

I have to say i'm very happy with my results on the flexbelt. I'm glad i bought these over the other cheaper EMS OTC products out there. This is the only FDA approved OTC EMS device on the market. This is the same technology that bruce lee used to tone his muscles. I also like that fact that my idol Jerry Rice uses it and endorses it. The gel pads replacements are a bit annoying but it's totally worth it.

posted Aug 11th, 2009 11:14 am


Cindy

my abs are definitely stronger and more defined since i started using the flexbelt. Great product and it is the only one out there that's an OTC approved by the FDA. my husband uses it too and he loves it also.

posted Aug 6th, 2009 1:10 pm


Flexmyabsforme

Love it, i can eat donuts in the morning while sitting at my desk working and I still get a decent workout. product is ingenius and my abs are hard as rocks.

posted Jul 31st, 2009 10:08 am


Ronny

I already had six pack abs but they weren't that defined. I've been using this for 3 weeks now and my girlfriend and I both noticed the difference. My abs are harder and tighter. They are also more defined. Great way to make 6 pack abs even more noticeable and stronger. Great product, i recommend to anyone that like to work out. To my fellow body builders - stop using these products: TREN-Xtreme, MASS Xtreme, ESTRO Xtreme, AH-89-Xtreme, HMG Xtreme, MMA-3 Xtreme, VNS-9 Xtreme, and TT-40-Xtreme. The FDA just released warnings about them. Be careful with this stuff, had a friend that went crazy with some of these supplements and he had 3 seizures in 3 months. Doctors weren't sure what the issue was though. I'm guessing these dangerous supplements that he eats like candy is the culprit. Could of also been the steroids he was downing everyday.

posted Jul 29th, 2009 11:01 am


bigDave

I've been using this for two weeks now and it's great. My abs feel stronger and my back actually feels better now. Now only if i could get rid of the fat on my stomach i can show off my six pack, LOL

posted Jul 28th, 2009 11:14 am


Craig

my abs are sore, like i did 500 sit ups the other day. I've never done 500 sit ups in one day. Most is like 375. They feel stonger. Is this for real? i guess if Jerry rice says it is and my abs are telling me they are it has to be.

posted Jul 27th, 2009 4:26 pm


lmb

one week and I can totally tell that it's working. My abs are stronger and more defined. The best part is, i use it while i run. like killing two birds with one stone.

posted Jul 24th, 2009 10:11 am


Kelci

After reader the comments, I'm not sure if I should get it or not? Some parts sound good, but then some don't.

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 12:12 pm


steve

this is awesome, totally amazing. Feels weird at first but you get used to it.

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 12:15 pm


Kenny

Shira, your comments make me think that you ordered a knockoff from eBay for $40 like TMW. That's what you get for ordering crap from eBay. TheFlexBelt by Slendertone is the only commercial EMS device approved by the FDA. Christi looked all over the FDA website and couldn't find any information about the FlexBelt by Slendertone? Well you must be a complete moron because I found it on Google in one second. Here is the link . Check out the second to last Q&A and you will see that this product is the only FDA cleared EMS device. Here is the truth; this product is endorsed by Jerry Rice. Yes the football hall of famer from the San Francisco 49ers. Itâ??s also been endorsed by major magazines and news organizations. The only people that probably donâ??t like it are fat women that eat 10K calories a day and thought that this product would make them lose all their fat. Sorry ladies, you need to have some discipline and work ethic for that to happen.

posted Jul 21st, 2009 1:04 pm


steve

shira, did you buy that product used or what baby

posted Jul 16th, 2009 3:40 pm


Samantha

I love this product. I've used it for 2 weeks now with great results.

I am NOT expecting to lose weight with it, just to tone my abs with out doing back injuring sit ups and crunches.

I have the newer version with the rechargable remote -no batteries needed.

I purchased it off of HSN website and it's currently $129 with flex pay options. (HSN return policy is easy and has no restocking fee- Although I won't be returning mine!)

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to strengthen thier core, and to people with lower back problems.
When I went to physical therapy for my lower back issues they used this same technology, so I was confident in my purchase even before I recieved it!.

Hope this helps anyone who is on the fench about this product. : )

posted Jun 30th, 2009 2:14 pm


TMW

I just purchased this product on ebay for $40 new in package, wish I would have read this website first. At least I didn't pay the $199.00 for it, also the gel pads are on ebay for less than $8. We'll see if it works...I'll post again to let ya know.

posted May 26th, 2009 12:44 pm


Mickey

That product is just a gimmick. I am very disappointed.

posted Apr 28th, 2009 3:41 pm


SHIRA




I FOUND THIS REPORT ON LINE AT THE FDA SITE


BIO-MEDICAL RESEARCH LTD/SLENDERTONE DISTRIBUTION SLENDERTONE SLENDERTONE FLEX BELT back to search results





Lot Number 2401-9605 PART


Patient Outcome Other;


Event Description


I recently purchased a slendertone women's flex abdominal toning sys belt. I read the entire instruction booklet and used the prod three times. On the third use, the battery light indicated low battery and then suddenly while i was wearing the slendertone belt, the unit made a huge "pop" sound and sent a large ems signal to my abdomen. It felt like a burn to my left side. As the explosion impact of the batteries was so great, i ripped off the belt immediately. With the belt off, i looked at the screen on the main unit of the belt and it had an error message on the screen. I hit the power button and the item would not turn back on. I took the batteries out of the unit and they were oozing acids - alkaline - which poured out onto my hand and blanket. The batteries were hot. Could you imagine how i felt at those moments. Totally shocked and stunned! now i have acid on my hand from the batteries and my left side is still burning from the ems pulse the unit sent to my abdomen. After 30 mins of not wearing the belt, my left side still had a burn sensation and a large red mark. I hope the fda would investigate the claims and distribution of the slendertone women's flex abdominal toning system belt as i feel it is not safe. Frequency: 3 uses. Dates of use: 2008. Reason for use: firm abs.











posted Dec 3rd, 2008 12:54 am


Julie

Beware of the FlexBelt! It is far more expensive than what it is worth. I put it on high settings and still didn't get the soreness or burning you get after a good ab workout.

It claims that you can pay as little as $7.95 for shipping, but that is "greyed out" and you are forced to get the expedited shipping of $15. When I sent back the belt in the exact same packaging and way it came, it only cost me $5.80.

Then, the FINE PRINT is... "Any order can be returned for a 100% refund within 60 days from the date you place your order. No questions asked. A restocking fee of $7.95 plus expedited shipping charges will apply to all returns."

100% refund?! Yeah right! What part of $7.95 restocking plus expedited shipping charges is 100%?? They know you're going to send back the belt (or they hope you forget about it and don't send it back within the 60 days) -- so they try to milk as much money on the front and back end as they can!!

posted Oct 29th, 2008 11:51 am


Christi

I looked on FDA website and they do not have this product anywhere onthe website. Not sure if the claims of FDA Approved is correct.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 4:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account