Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

The Flex Belt

A revolutionary toning tool for strong ab muscles.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Headquarters: Galway, Ireland
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Electronic muscle stimulation
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Lisa Rinna, Jerry Rice, Adrianne Curry, Janet Evans
  • Coupons
BACKGROUND

The Flex Belt is the only Abdominal Toning system cleared by the FDA for toning, firming and strengthening the stomach muscles. By wearing the belt for just 30 minutes each day, the devices promises to give you a more sleek and defined look in your abdominal region. What appears to be almost like a dream come true comes from the Flex Belt's ability to demand nothing from you. You simply wear it and the device stimulates the nerves in your stomach that force your muscles to contract and relax. The Electric Muscle Stimulation (EMS) technology is the same kind of technology that is used by physical therapist for patients who are unable to move their muscles themselves.

Several before and after photos are available on the site to show you the type of results people are getting. Some celebrity and professional athletes that use the Flex Belt include Jerry Rice, Janet Evans, Arianne Curry and Lisa Rinna. There is a disclaimer on the site highlighting that the Flex Belt alone won’t burn fat, but tones and tightens the muscles in your stomach. You are encouraged to follow a diet and workouts that engage the entire body for maximum results.

See the Official Flex Belt Web Site

PRO
  • It has been cleared by the Food and Drug Administration
  • The Flex Belt uses a medical technique, EMS, that is clinically proven to stimulate and tone muscles
  • A convenient way to get in a quick abdominal workout
  • Technology based on 40 years of expertise
  • Multiple clinical trials proving that the product works without any physical effort which was part of the FDA clearance
  • Every Flex Belt comes with a belt extender to make it suitable for all waist sizes
  • Web site mentions you will need to follow a diet and exercise program along with the Flex Belt for maximum results
CON
  • Some may expect to lose inches without doing any dieting or other exercises
The Flex Belt Video Review

via Fit Test Dummies

DIET and EXERCISE

The Flex Belt web site does offer a bonus of 30 days access to the Flex Belt meal planner with your order. This meal planner is considered to be one of the most advanced of its kind. You simply log in to get started creating your meal plan.

For new users, the Flex Belt meal planner offers a tutorial on how to use the program. This system helps you look at your current diet and use the foods you love to fill in any nutritional gaps you may be currently experiencing. You will also be able to browse some of the meal plans that have been created by other members. You have the ability to create your own recipes, enter customized foods by inputting their nutrition information and track your goals. You are encouraged to include fruits, vegetables, grains, meats, plant proteins, and eggs and dairy in your diet. Each meal plan showcases one day of meals and includes all nutrition information and your calorie count for that day. Below is a sample meal plan that was created by another member:

  • Breakfast: Honey Nut Cheerios with milk and strawberries
  • Snack: Yogurt with almonds
  • Lunch: Fajita with chicken and vegetables; orange; carrots, celery, mixed salad greens with Italian dressing
  • Snack: Hummus with carrots; strawberries
  • Dinner: Chicken with spinach, broccoli and tomatoes

You are encouraged to follow some type of diet while using the Flex Belt to get the results you desire. It is noted on the web site that the Flex Belt works to tone your stomach muscles.

The device will not burn fat inches so you must do that through dieting and performing other exercises that involve working the entire body. Since the Flex Belt does not increase your heart rate or tone other areas of your body, engaging in additional forms of exercise is necessary to achieve overall fitness.

USAGE

You can wear the Flex Belt whenever you want: at work, at home, while you're exercising or making dinner. The belt contains three gel-pads that are pre-positioned around your core region. The pads cover the central abdominals and the external oblique muscles. When the belt is operating, it stimulates these main muscle groups, which then send nerve signals to other neighboring muscles so that they relax and contract as well. It is the constant relaxing and contraction that tones the muscles and gives them more definition and strength.

The user will feel a mild sensation along their abdominals while the Flex Belt is in use. The user controls how powerful the sensations can be. The intensity goes from level 1 to 100. As strength develops, the intensity should be increased.

It is recommended to wear the Flex Belt for 30 minutes each day for 4 - 8 weeks, or until intended results are seen. In order to maintain strength and tone, the user should then wear the device 2-3 times each week. The gel pads need to be replaced after 20 - 30 sessions.

CONCLUSION

It sounds a bit too good to be true: Get great abs while you cook dinner or take a nap. But that is the promise of the Flex Belt, the only FDA cleared abdominal workout belt that is meant to tone, strengthen and firm up abdominal muscles. From Jerry Rice to Weight Watcher's and fashion magazines, many are heralding this apparent incredible invention for being the dream product for any lazy exerciser.

Just remember that all it will do is firm your abs. If you don't do any other kind of physical activity or if you eat cupcakes all day, don't ask for your refund back if you're not noticing a six-pack on your torso.

DietsInReview.com is an affiliate of The Flex Belt and is compensated for sales of this product. This review is not influenced and remains our own opinion.

See the Official Flex Belt Web Site

Common Misspellings

flexbelt, felx belt, exercise belt, flex belts, Slendertone, Slendert Tone, the flex belt, flexbelt


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, Abs Diet, Contour Abs Belt, Fitness Magazine, Flex Enervive, Slendertone Flex


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 9, 179 total comments)

BowTay

YEah well I work out already, and ab work is tough. A belt like this, kinda seems like the smart & efficient way to go, I don't mind cheating a little bit there, either. its not like i'd be scarfing down bowls of ice cream every night/

posted Sep 20th, 2011 2:16 pm


kissy123

ell, I don't know what all this fuss about the Flex Belt is, b/c I will do anything to not have to do those crummy crunches anymore, and if this does what it says? What's the argument? I want a FLAT BELLY and if you ppl are too stuck in the past to see what an advantage this could be for getting fit, then I feel sorry for you! I'm willing for anything that's new, I dont mind cheating.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 1:44 pm



tcasey

I don't mind going low carb I already do a lot of cardio. Yeah I hate crunches and quats >..LOL Am ready to try something new.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 1:20 pm


MariaB

THIS IS THE BEST THING I HAVE SEEN FOR ABS. ANYONE WHO SAYS ITS NOT DOES NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. SHUT UP AND DIET TO LOSS FAT. SIMPLE.

posted Sep 19th, 2011 6:10 pm


mcdana333

I SOO want one like, right NOW. i really hate situps and crunches, this could make my life tons easier.

posted Sep 19th, 2011 5:31 pm


dia

Can you use the flex belt on your butt? =)

posted Jul 18th, 2011 9:09 pm


Javier

The flex belt people are a scam. You buy the product and even though you specifically select YOU DONT want the "medical consulting" service for 16.95/month they sign you up anyway.
They send you an email that will go to spam for sure so you don't even find out, and then its a matter of time of when do you detect this monthly billing. When you do, they very happily cancel it and give you the money of the last month back, of course nothing else.
I wonder how much money they make on unwilling subscribers of this service. DONT LET THEM SCAM YOU.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 4:50 pm


becca

Is slendertone safe to use if you have a navel piercing? iv ordered one of the abs toners, has anyone used it who has a navel piercing?? i dont want to take it out because iv only recently had it done... is there any chance i could get electricuted =S

posted Apr 11th, 2011 8:12 am


joealmighty

I've been using it now for about 5 weeks.

I actually use it on all parts of my body (not that one!) such as my abs, lower chest, back, upper back and things.

Also have the slendertone arms which are great for biceps, triceps and calves.

I must admit I put it on the highest setting possible which makes it slightly uncomfortable but brings quicker results.

As for the pads, I've bought new pads every month but considering I probably use it twice daily on each body part (so about 5 hours) - thats not bad. A little tip is to buy some conductive gel which you can smear on and make them last longer.

When I was started I was 16 stone 3 and yes I have been doing excercise and a lower cal diet which means I am 15 stone 9 now.

Even if you don't do excercise at all it will mean that you have more strength to perform them later on

There is still fat there but my theory is that by the time I get down to 14 stone than the rock hard abs, biceps etc will already be there waiting for me!

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 11:54 am


It's good

It's good

posted Mar 20th, 2011 6:00 pm


Jordan

For all of you who want to know the price, with no extra pads it's $200 for the belt and 1 set of included pads. Theres a trick to getting the price lower though, once your on the flex belt page press the back button on your browser and a pop-up offering 25% off all of your purchases will appear. I had to use internet explorer since it didn't work my Google chrome. After that you should be able to get the belt for $150 and the pads at a discounted price as well. And about replacing the pads, Yes it's necessary after a month. I've had mine for almost a month now and I can tell I need to switch pads.

As for making your belly fat go away...thats something diet and cardio does, not the flex belt. So in order to lose that fat you have to stay on a consistent diet and exercise plan, keeping your heart rate up while you exercise. Also keeping the amount of calories you consume lower than the amount of calories that you burn is effective. This doesn't mean starve yourself, just to exercise and eat healthy. Make sure you get the proper carbs, proteins, and vitamins though. I highly suggest using the mydietanalyses plan, or doing proper research so as to prevent succumbing to malnutrition.

The flex belt DOES work, but it wont make your belly fat melt away. Thats what cardio does, with the proper calorie intake and diet. After using the belt for a month, I can feel my abs getting harder every week. So please keep in mind the flex belt wont make your fat go away, it will just tone your muscles underneath the fat.

As for customer service, I called the Tuesday I received it in the mail and I was answered by an ACTUAL person. I had just gotten my belly button pierced a couple days before so I called to confirm that I wasn't supposed to use it with a naval piercing. (I just throw a band aid over it, I haven't had any problems so far at level 103-103)

For sizing the belt right, the waist measurements for sizes small medium and large are in the instruction manual. To get a proper measurement measure 1-2 inches above your naval, or the smallest part of your waist.

I wish everyone good luck who makes the choice! I can't wait to attack summer with my new beach bod!

posted Mar 6th, 2011 11:56 pm


Scott

I've really enjoyed but has anyone tried it on the back? So that your love handles get a work out.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 11:37 pm


Chris

The Flex Belt is made by slendertone but is their newest model. I've been using it everyday for about 2 weeks now. I don't noticed any visual difference yet, but my core is definitely stronger.

posted Feb 23rd, 2011 11:42 am


libertyanne

I'm concerned that it might not fit me. And most of the demos on TV show people with smaller waistlines than mine.
I have joined a gym and would continue to work out wheather I use this or not. And I know you still need to do additional effort to achieve results.
It sounds like it makes sense but I wonder how much this thing costs. The Information on that subject is usually murkey with these things.

posted Jan 16th, 2011 5:57 pm


lanre lafe

Please is the flex belt the same with the slendertone flex belt?
I need an answer fast cos i want to get one.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:31 pm


Janay216Baby

i want to get one! im 5'4'' 120lbs with a gut lol seriously it's not cute! i want to be sexy for summer you know!? so anyone think it would work for me

posted Dec 12th, 2010 8:39 pm


Marcus Esposito

I first heard about the FlexBelt here. My doctor actually had advised me against using any EMS type products due to heart problems. I contacted the customer service number that came with my order and returned the product for a refund. I am disappointed that i could not use the belt.

posted Oct 29th, 2010 7:26 pm


Kellyn

For those of you who have used the Flex Belt or know a lot about it- I'm 16 years old. 5'3 and 142 pounds. Surprisingly, I have a fairly small waste but I think if I could tone it, I would look even better. Would this work for me? I don't have TONS of fat around my belly, just a little. And I would be dedicated to using it (an hour a day or more). Also, how often do you really have to buy the gel pads? That's a little concerning because we're kind of tight on money right now...

posted Oct 26th, 2010 6:35 pm


Ice

My waist is 28 inches but I bought the flex belt to get definition. I've only used it for 3 days so far but I can feel it toning my muscles. It feels like you've been in the gym all day doing ab exercises...so it's the real effect without all of the extra work

posted Oct 16th, 2010 11:33 am


Toni

I would like to know whether it helps to loose fat along with exercising ?
like i need to loose around 15 kg to be in perfect weight but im not sure whether it helps to lose fat or not

posted Oct 7th, 2010 11:00 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account