Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

The FAST Diet

The Dean family proves that group support and common sense lead to weight loss.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The F.A.S.T. Diet stands for Families Always Succeed Together. And in this case, it certainly did. The program was started when a family of eight, between the ages of 23 and 59, lost a whopping 500 pounds together. Convinced that they needed to share their keys to success, the Deans helped 100 random volunteers lose 4,000 pounds the next year.

The gist of the family's dieting philosophy is that you don't need pills or fancy packaged foods. What you need most is to team up with someone to help hold yourself accountable. The F.A.S.T. Diet explains a total of 10 mistakes that we make in our continual effort to lose weight and keep it off, and the program mostly centers around abandoning most of what you used to do. As the saying goes, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

The Dean family is taking their message from city to city, helping people lose weight using the F.A.S.T Diet. In fact, the website has a page with an open letter to the country's elected officials to organize their constituents to lose weight like the Dean family and the 100 people who lost 4,000 pounds.

PRO
  • The F.A.S.T. Diet is an inspiring concept designed by ordinary folks
  • The family documents a list of physicians who lend support to their plan
  • Available in a published book
  • A common sense approach to healthy weight loss
  • Encourages a support system for weight loss
CON
  • No guidance for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The F.A.S.T. Diet website doesn't give recipes, but it hints at the philosophy that appears in the book, which is to stay flexible, and use common sense about food rather than worry about rigid systems.

EXERCISE

The F.A.S.T Diet website only mentions that you need to have an exercise routine in a complete weight loss package.

CONCLUSION

The attraction in the F.A.S.T. Diet is its populist appeal. That is, it's done by regular people with everyday experiences and challenges. Their secret really is about teamwork. It's much easier to get through the challenge of weight loss if you have someone else's support. Couple the handy advice and the backing of people in the health industry, and The F.A.S.T. Diet starts to sound like a motivational program that's well worth further investigation.

Common Misspellings

the fast diet, the fast deit, dean family diet, dean fast diet, the fasting diet, families always succeed together diet, deanfast.com, thefastdiet.com


Related Diets: Spark People, Weight Watchers, Eat This, Not That for Kids, Shaq's Family Challenge


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 26 total comments)

Michelle

As a health professional and a PT, I was very frustrated with the weight I put on when switching to home health. I was always stopping for fast food and put on 20lbs. A friend recommended thi9s program and while I did lose the 20lbs I absolutely and vehemently oppose their philosophy. The severely restrict calories but allow any and all foods which you can find nutritional information for. He even has a speech where he talks about weighing his MMs. There is no emphasis on healthier choices or behavior modifications. When I asked for support with PMS snacking I got a impersonal email telling me to count calories. Thanks. I also had a huge problem with the fact that despite numerous phone calls, several of which ended with me hanging up on him, Tony never did remember me or the fact that my childcare situation meant I couldn't make the weigh in and I kept asking to do the remote weigh in. Everytime I sent in my weight I got a bitchy email asking me "don't fight this". Then, the last straw was when my patient, who had a pacemaker placed, told me they were exercising despite recurrent left sided chest pain. When I completely freaked out the patient told me, "Well the FAST people keep calling me and telling me I need to exercise more. That's it. They don't listen and they have gotten to big to know their clients. Which is too bad because you do lose weight.

posted Oct 5th, 2014 9:40 pm


kate

Two things to know about the program - yes, it works for losing weight. No, you don't keep it off. I was in a large group that went through the gestapo-like program. I and others quit because Tony is so obnoxious and condescending. Others who stayed in the program were soon flaunting their skinny butts in tight jeans. Two years later, every single one of them is bigger than before. Those of us who quit and kept working at in on our own have remained a healthy weight. No diet program works if it makes you live differently than you would normally live. Once you don't have Tony and gang berating you in emails, you start eating exactly as you did before.

posted Sep 8th, 2013 2:47 pm


Pull No Punches

The huge amount of money that Tony Dean is making from his F.A.S.T. Diet Plan ($69 for the first month + $27 per month thereafter x 1,000s of members per month from all over the country) fails in comparison to the many, many people who have had their lives changed … and saved. Does it matter that he has no professional accreditation in dieting if he has saved just one individual’s life because s/he has lost 200 pounds? Yes, he is very controlling, manipulative, condescending and presents himself as though he will attempt to sell you an auto after you have completed his program. Yes, his ego couldn’t be any bigger. Yes, he enjoys flaunting his money and success … everyone knows where and when he will be traveling abroad each year. But does any of that really matter, especially if your doctor has told you: “Lose weight or lose your life” and he has a system that will help? When you first meet Tony, put aside your ego and dismiss his controlling, inflated ego and sales-pitchy demeanor … he means well; you’re there to lose weight, become healthier and extend your life, not to pass judgment on personalities. Your life could, literally, depend on what he has to share with you. Accountability is at the core of his diet plan. Self-appointed diet guru, or not, his diet plan works.

posted Apr 18th, 2013 1:04 am


Once bitten

This is a great program to raise awareness about food counts and intake, and for encouraging some form of daily exercise. But, Tony Dean is nothing if not annoying, and his ego is probably the largest hurdle to overcome. The diet itself is sound; accountability necessary but Tony is no dietitian, and frankly, he's making money hand over fist as a self-appointed and annointed "expert.." I lost weight and am happy with that, but did not appreciate the used-car salesmanship and condescension along the way...

posted Jan 2nd, 2013 8:56 pm


Irritated

Personally when I went to the one and only meeting I felt like I was joining a cult. This program maybe worth it for some people but I felt like I was at some sort of sales pitch the whole time. No I don't need to purchase every item from you because "you won't find it cheaper anywhere else" I could log my calories in my fitness pal for free, get a heart rate monitor watch (the same one as what they have) for $30 less and not get annoying generated emails from someone who only cares about getting payed. He would make a great used car salesman. Yes there is accountability that is a good thing but the rest seems like a rip off.

posted Nov 10th, 2012 2:18 pm


Use your money else where

He does not have any miracle. He will take your money publish his numbers on how great he is but he has no solutions once you hit maintain. The weight is great to have come off but it will come back when you are done with his program.

posted Jun 25th, 2012 2:37 am


jenni

Tony's program will work if you follow. I was on his program for a little less than a year and had lost 75lbs. I thought i met my goal and stopped following him. He tried to tell me to stay with him for a few more months so he can teach me how to keep the weight off but I didn't listen. He even offered to not charge me if I had trouble to pay. I never responsed back to him. Now after 3 years, I gained all my weight back but 10lbs. I wish I stayed with him for a few more months. Too late for that and I am too lazy to start all over again!

posted Apr 28th, 2012 8:25 pm


runningdiva07

I was on this program for a few months, but found the thing the DEAN family really did was collect your money and diet numbers. He then sent out generated emails. I found Myfitnesspal.com to be much more accurate and it's free. Plus you can exchange your results with other users much easier. Also, the program is put together by real dietitians who know what they are talking about. I would check out myfitnesspal.com out if you are paying the Dean's FA.S.T program.. Im sure you'll be much happier.

posted Feb 22nd, 2012 8:36 pm


Jean Livingston

I've tried a million diets and this is the best. You receive personal feedback from Tony, Ed and Charlotte whenever you need help. I've lost over 60 lbs on this program my husband has lost 25.

posted Jan 7th, 2012 2:49 am


Not Worth It

This program was definitely not for me. You are only required to log in your numbers, not share what you ate. I am not sure how they can assist in losing weight without knowing what you are eating. I wanted guldance on how to eat healthier, and I did not get that. When I asked for this guidance, it sounded like they were looking the information up online. I was looking for education on how to eat healthier, and I certainly did not get it.

posted Sep 26th, 2011 1:03 pm


Beth

I'm not sure why anyone wouldn't like this program. There is no special food to buy, the exercise is something you can do anywhere, and it is not expensive. This program isn't just about losing weight, but about regaining your health. My husband and I are both in the program, and have been for almost 3 months. Between the 2 of us, we have lost almost 50 pounds and we feel great. The only reason I can think of that someone wouldn't like this program is because they don't want to be held accountable. This is something that teaches you how to lose the weight in a healthy manner and keep it off for life. It's a wonderful program, and I feel very fortunate that my husband and I found out about it.

posted May 24th, 2011 11:34 pm


Cathy

I was ready to give up on losing weight until I tried this. So far I have lost 20 pounds and still have 14 more to go. I've never been this small. It's so easy and doable. I recommend it to anyone. I'm so thankful to have had the opportunity to try this.

posted May 20th, 2011 7:30 am


Pam Welch

This is a very good diet which has some easy to meet, common sense "rules" to follow. There is also an accountability piece as well as teamwork which makes it easier. Success breeds success with this diet--or healthy lifestyle change.

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 5:46 am


Why Give

This only works for a short while. This is not good for long term effects, even after you hit maintain. (His second phase)

posted Dec 16th, 2010 3:42 pm


Lois Christensen

Just what is this diet.
I can't find any information on the food to eat or not to eat

posted Oct 17th, 2010 5:49 pm


Michaela

This diet is good, the concept certainly works. My problem was-and I'm sure I'm not the only one-it became too popular for Tony (the diet guru) to be there for everyone. That's part of the diet, to be able to call him up and have him give you a little boost on a bad day. When I called he was too busy, didn't really answer my question, seemed to be concentrating on other things and just made me even more frustrated.

I learned many things about how to lose weight and be healthy from this diet though, I just don't think it's worth paying when you are missing one of the key things in the diet.

posted May 1st, 2010 8:33 pm


Melody

Straight forward advise for calories in calories out weight loss. The most important information in the book is how to work as a team for support and accountability, an essential part of achieving and maintaining weight loss.

posted Apr 10th, 2009 11:22 am


Mom4life

I have always been a big believer that a family should focus on health together. I took a lot of the principles I learned from the book i purchase for the FAST diet and brought them into my own family. We all now eat healthier and spend more time together, it's been a great transformation!

posted Oct 4th, 2008 10:41 pm


NikkideCoup

I was so impressed by the Dean Family that I thought this was something I could definitely try and I had such great success with it I lost my 40 pounds and then some, I really learned how to change my lifestyle!

posted Oct 4th, 2008 10:36 pm


Charline K

I just reached my goal and have lost over 50 pounds! I want to thank the Dean Family and my team mates for all the help and encouragement! Without them I would not have made it! Team spirit is the key to staying motivated and working toward the goal. I went from a too tight size 18 to a loose size 8! The difference in my energy level is amazing. This really is a life style change!

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account