Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

82%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 28 reviews

Skinny Bitch

Authors create a brash entertaining read about living healthy.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Is it time for a rude awakening about the way you're eating? Do you need a serious kick in the pants to get motivated? Then put down that junk food and grab a copy of the hot diet book, Skinny Bitch.

Penned by two fiery and passionate best friends who are proud to call themselves skinny bitches, it's the cold splash in the face any gal living an unhealthy lifestyle needs. Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin call Skinny Bitch "A no-nonsense, tough-love guide for savvy girls who want to stop eating crap and start looking fabulous." Skinny Bitch is definitely telling it to you straight - the way your best girlfriend would tell you over a cocktail.

These girls make no apologies for the attitude, wit, and even the language found in this colorful guide to basically getting your ass in gear once and for all. They refer to sugar as "the devil" and themselves as "pigs," and encourage you to get a "sweet ass." They love food just as much as anyone. But, they've also learned a successful way to enjoy food and enjoy eating without depriving themselves and maintaining sexy little bodies. The book is backed by hard-hitting scientific evidence to back all of their claims and recommendations.

PRO
  • Entertaining, albeit brash, read.
  • Perfect for vegetarians or vegans
  • Healthy approach to weight loss
  • Advice is anecdotal
CON
  • Doesn't address exercise
  • One author has some education from an unaccredited school
DIET and NUTRITION

Skinny Bitch lets you eat all the carb-packed goodness you could ever want. Oh yeah- bread, potatoes, pasta, cakes, cookies and muffins. Of course, nothing good ever comes for free, so what's the catch? No dairy. No meat. No sugar or artificial sweeteners. Sound a little vegan? That's because it is - Skinny Bitch is even endorsed by PETA.

The world is becoming more and more accommodating to the vegan and organic lifestyle. You can find many approved items even at your favorite grocery store, including organic fruits and vegetables; whole grain breads, tortillas, and pasta; brown rice; sweet and red potatoes; beans and nuts for protein; as well as a variety of goodies like organic chips, sweets made sweeter with organic, unprocessed sugars found in syrup or raw sugar. Seriously, the list goes on.

These skinny girls don't like to feel hungry and they don't like to feel like they're being deprived. And they know you're the exact same way. There's plenty to eat when you decide to make the switch to Skinny Bitch. The basic premise is simple: being skinny means being healthy. The two ideas are not independent of one another. They come right out and show the flaws of some of the more popular diets around, probably some you've followed yourself. They say in the end, those diet programs are quick fixes that will never help you get a grip on your overall health and wellness.

Skinny Bitch will educate you about the foods you're eating, how and why they have the effects on your body that they do and where you've been going wrong all along. They release you from the constraints of counting calories, but tell you to start reading all of those food labels.

EXERCISE

The skinny girls do not delve into exercise. Skinny Bitch focuses primarily on eating habits.

CONCLUSION

What the heck are you waiting for? Skinny Bitch takes away any excuses you might have had. Once you start reading, it won't be long before you're proudly announcing that you too are a Skinny Bitch. This book is available online and through all major booksellers.

Common Misspellings

SkinnyBitch, Skinny Bithc, Thin Bitchm, Kim Barnouin


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, The Hallelujah Diet, Vegan Diet, Vegetarian Diet, Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven, Skinny Bitch in the Kitch, Skinny Bitchin'


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 53 total comments)

Betty Garrity

Why does any publisher print a book full of filth talk, is this suppose to impress our young who seek out help with a weight issue? The language is totally unnecessary, this should not be on any Best Seller List. Disgraceful in every manner.
I am familiar with Arrow Head Mills and know them to be exceptional decent people, are they aware this garbage uses their name?
The sad part is this could have been a great help source and book on some issues, minus the filth language.

posted Jan 12th, 2014 8:39 pm


Elle

I read this book a couple days ago and thought it was great. It has only been three days since I started the vegan diet and already I can feel the difference in my body. I have been telling everyone I know to give the book a chance. I LOVE IT :)

posted Mar 12th, 2012 1:28 am


RebelRay

I'm honestly amused by the people who got upset with this book. So you wanted someone to hold your hand while they explain in little kid words that this book was vegan? Why? It's a diet book, but also a lifestyle change which ANY good weight loss program endorses changing your lifestyle, not just for a few weeks. The crimes against animals are true and if you love meat so much then you should be okay with what happens to them, or at least not get angry when someone brigs a truth to light. The book was sassy and fun, not rude. And read the reviews and he jackets on books before you purchase them so some truth doesn't so rudely cross paths with you.

posted Dec 21st, 2011 8:11 pm


Enomis

The people who are dismissing this book because of the veganism are ridiculous! There are so many little gems in this book! I think it is so unfair to write off the book entirely because it promotes a vegan lifestyle. That was the author 's choice, they're telling you how they got skinny, if you don't want to go all the way thats your choice. There are valuable lessons in the book it doesn't mean you a have to go full vegan. I am not a vegan, I read the book, and I took what worked for me. I have lost 5 pounds PERMANENTLY just from having water and a piece of fruit first thing in the morning. That little gem was worth the price of the book! Your food lifestyle is unique to you, tailor it! You may need more than one book to create your food lifestyle. Decide how you want to live, find what works for you and toss what doesn't, all of the resistance only leads to procrastination. I found this book to be very charming. Also, i'd just like to say, if profanity offends you, don't buy a book with "Bitch" in the title.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 10:34 am


elissa

I first read this book about 2 months ago. Before becoming vegan my diet mainly consisted of animal fat, refined sugar, hydrogenated oils, bleached flour, and cow's milk. I tried this out and really liked it! I've been feeling healthier and more energetic than before. Honestly, before reading this I believed most people trying veganism had some form of a mental defect, this book changed that and made me want to never eat meat again. Iv'e been feeling so much healthier and motivated. I'm working on turning the rest of my family vegan (although it's still a work in progress). For those who were mad that this book made them feel guilty about funding animal abuse, deal with it. Oh no, innocent animals are being brutally slaughtered to aid in my dietary desires. Now I'll feel kinda guilty next time I eat veel. You shouldn't be mad that you are informed of animal abuse and the dangers of eating meat and dairy. There is a reason for diabetes, cancer, heart disease, and obesity in America and animal carcass isn't the answer. This book changed my life.

posted Jun 5th, 2011 1:05 pm


Ashlee

I'm already a vegan, so it wasn't *that* hard for me (I've seen people be all "I looooove steak this diet sux because I can't eat flesh!") and it really does help.

And they say you should do yoga. So yeah, they do address exercise.

posted Mar 24th, 2011 12:45 pm


brett

why does everyone think generic 'diets' work. there are no easy fixes and everyone is different. so get in tune with your body and do what works for you. hated the book, some people just want to be healthy not "skinny" or a "bitch"-stop telling people they have to be skinny to be okay with who they are-seriously you will still "self-loathe" once you are skinny and it will be a lifetime battle.

some people really need to give their heads a shake and get some real priorities!

posted Mar 20th, 2011 8:38 pm


vanessa

I'm just starting my vegan diet and I'm a little torn about not couting calories. I've been counting for so long that it seems a little dangerous to just let that go. It's accountability, you know? I've seen a lot of people have lost weight being vegan; have you all followed the 3 meals a day thing and not counting claories? or do you eat smaller meals and count?

What made your weight loss sucessful on this diet?

Thanks!

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 11:31 am


Guest

Anyone who says this book is about becoming vegan is true, but they are not interested in losing weight. Every single person I know on this diet has lost at least 20 lbs including myself. Yes if you don't want to fess up to it, vegan are skinny. If you want to be to, change your eating habits!!! I look great on the beach. And to people who said they eat meat and are skinny, then why the did you buy the book, yah it was a waste of your money because you are not serious about losing weight. When you are, read the book again and you will.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 4:26 pm


eco

I think the book is misleading and should be taken off shelves or have the title changed to skinny vegan bitch. I thought it was a book about nutrition. No it's nothing more than a vegan rant I don't like people who try to brainwash others thruogh lies You girls are nothing more than common thIeves.If i wanted to buy a book about living the vegan lifestyle then i would of bought one.No i wanted a book about weight loss how disappointing. What a waste of money.

posted Dec 11th, 2010 3:54 am


GESIKA68

I feel great, more in power with my body.

posted Aug 7th, 2010 8:46 pm


anna

this was a good book. I don't like to read but this book got me hooked! I liked how informative it was. I don't think it will make me change to a vegan because I also do love my meat and dairy. But I would also like to say in my culture we have our own farms and fields so my meat is really fresh, along with my eggs and dairy. We don't buy all that crap from stores, even though I almost vomited a few times while reading about it. thanks again for the info, good to know why i help feed and kill my own chicken as a dinner ;)

posted Jun 2nd, 2010 12:46 am


telegram

book is one sided, rude. i didn't read it all. but what i did read was crude and not anything new that veggies have not been spouting for 20 or 30 years....if i ate like they eat i would be skinng too, but i rather be healthy.

posted Feb 10th, 2010 12:46 pm


katie collins

send me some more information on skinny bitches diet

posted Jan 5th, 2010 5:26 pm


Hannah

I was already a vegetarian before reading this book, but am now a vegan. This book gives great advice about what is actually being put into the food we eat. The language is a little extreme, but that's obvious when a the title contains "inappropriate" language, and any mature adult should be able to deal with that. The animal cruelty information is also extreme, but it is the truth, and anyone who thinks stuff like this doesn't happen is just being ignorant. The book encourages you, above all, to USE YOUR HEAD. It's common sense, really, but obviously people shoving cheeseburgers in their mouths constantly need a wake-up call. Reading labels, using your head, and being aware of what you're eating can make you a healthier person, whether you choose to become a vegan or not. Simply be informed about the choices you're making, and you will become healthier. No diet plan (at least not one that works long-term) will tell you that it doesn't matter what, or how much, you eat. THIS IS A LIFESTYLE CHANGE. It's hard, and may not work for everyone. But like I said before, the book stresses being informed and using your head. It really is that simple.

posted Jan 4th, 2010 1:58 pm


Cristina

I've already been a vegetarian for a year and a half but when I read this book I realized how gross eggs and dairy products are and for the last couple months I've been trying to eliminate dairy products from my diet. It's not too easy since I am a college student in North Carolina, but I usually don't eat any dairy until dinner time and I already feel so much better.

posted Nov 8th, 2009 5:45 pm


fish

I loved the book, and for the most part I learned a lot, however, I am not a vegan and believe that meat products are really healthy in moderation. Humans are carnivores, and products such as wild salmon, have extremely beneficial nutrients that you can't receive through many other foods. I felt that the book was very big on eating what is organic, and I couldn't agree more, but take it a step further, and eat locally. You will find even bigger improvements in how you feel!

posted Sep 21st, 2009 8:06 pm


haellie123

I really enjoyed the book and I went vegan. I'm feeling alot better now that I'm not eating meat by products. You mentioned in your article that they did not stress exercise, I don't know what book you read, but I beg to differ, in fact they mentioned it in a couple of chapters. Again I read the book, I'm glad I bought it, and can't believe how well I feel.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 10:16 pm


Ariel

I love all of the comments from the whiny meat eaters. "Boohoo I'm unhealthy and fat so if I buy this book it will change my life...oh no they want me to give up the unheathy habits in my lifestyle?! Well that's too much work. I'm going to McDonalds."



Get over it. It really isn't that hard.



And for the person who wrote this review they did discuss exercise saying 20 minutes of cardiovascular exercise 5x a week is a great starting point and you should to work up to more and to add strength training. They also mention yoga as a great exercise.

posted Jun 18th, 2009 1:55 pm


Ariel

This book is a bit rough on the vocab but, it is chock full of health info. I lost 40 pounds so far.

posted Jun 17th, 2009 12:15 pm



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account