Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating

Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating

Meal-Delivery weight loss program with diabetics in mind.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating program is a meal-delivery program that was started not in Seattle, Washington but in Marseilles, Illinois by Seattle Sutton, a registered nurse who has made it her mission to improve the way people eat.

Created in part to avoid the pitfalls of grabbing a greasy pizza after work or running through the fast-food drive through after a late meeting, Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating meals are convenient, taste-tested, calorie-controlled and low fat.

You can choose between a 1,200 or 2,000 calorie-a-day meal program. The program is intended for people who want to lose weight, are diabetic, have heart disease, are unable to drive or cook for themselves or prefer to not shop and cook meals for themselves or their family.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016?

  • Seattle Sutton’s Healthy Eating program was created by medical professional
  • It is a convenient way to eat healthy meals
  • Ideal for diabetics
  • Ideal for those with heart disease
  • Low-calorie and low-fat meals help you to lose weight
  • Fresh-prepared, refrigerated meals
  • Encourages exercise
  • Expensive
  • Does not teach you how to eat or prepare your own meals
  • May not be realistic to always eat delivered meals
  • Not vegetarian friendly
  • No customization of menu
  • Does not take into account the emotional component of eating

The Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating meals are delivered to you two times each week, or if you live near a Seattle Sutton's center, you can pick them up. Each shipment contains 21 meals: 7 breakfasts, 7 lunches and 7 dinners. The meals require refrigeration. There are five weeks of meal plans that you will receive alternately.

Unfortunately, special requests like vegetarian options cannot be accommodated. Each of the two meal plans, either the 1,200 or the 2,000 calories, sticks to foods that are low on the glycemic index in order to stabilize blood sugar levels and prevent any surges in hunger.

Sample menu items include apple-cinnamon muffins, peirogies, spinach calzones, salmon fillet and southwestern bean and pasta salad.

On the plan, you are allowed to drink fat-free milk, have an occasional alcoholic drink and go out to dinner. If you go out to dinner, you are encouraged to eat salads with dressing on the side, lean protein and vegetables with no added butter. It is then recommended that you freeze your Seattle Sutton dinner for another meal.


The Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating program does not require that you exercise as part of your diet, but they do encourage you to exercise if you want to lose weight. According to the company, successful weight loss requires that you take in fewer calories than you use. Eating a healthy, balanced diet combined with moderate exercise is the most effective way to lose weight.


Like other meal-delivery programs, the Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating program is designed to help you lose weight without having to count calories or prepare your own meals. If you don't mind spending the money to have someone cook for you, then this program might be a wise choice. Just keep in mind that the diet does not instill any knowledge in you on how to prepare your own meals. Once you leave the program, it then becomes your responsibility to teach yourself how to shop and cook for yourself while maintaining your new weight loss.

Common Misspellings

Seattle Sutten's, Seatle Sutton’s, Seattle Suton’s, Seattel Sutton’s Seattle Sottun’s,

How Does Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating
  • /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 42 total comments)



I have been using Seattle Sutton sporadically for the past 8 months, and I have found the food to be, for the most part, very edible/tasty, and, that said, they have recently changed some of the (presumably less popular) meals for the better. In addition, the food is of the highest quality of freshness (with fresh fruits and vegetables that meet my ultra high standards of pristineness), and it is REAL food, NOT loaded with artificial ingredients. Yes, it's a bit pricey, which is why I skip a week or two between my SS weeks. BUT, it is SOOOOO easy to stay on this diet -- you don't have to expose yourself to the temptations of shopping at the supermarket or eating out; instead, you just "go shopping" in your fridge, looking at your SS choices for the week and picking what looks appealing at the moment. I've had very good results with the 1200-calorie traditional menu of meals, and have rarely felt overly hungry or deprived. It is important to note that these meals are low fat, low cholesterol, and sodium restricted, and that they contain no harmful additives, no high-fructose corn syrup, and NO trans fat. My weight loss during my "on" weeks eating the SS meals has been very impressive; it almost seemed that there was some kind of chemical reaction going on with the combination of foods that led to even more of a loss than would be expected on a 1200-calorie diet. And on my off weeks, when I try not to undo my progress by eating a lot of big salads and not being "bad," I haven't regained much , if ANY, of the weight I've lost with Seattle Sutton. I'm fortunate to live close enough to the Illinois HQ so that meals are delivered by truck twice weekly to my local distributor where I can pick them up. People who aren't so lucky have to pay (about $18 per week, I think) to have their meals shipped directly to their home. THAT makes the price pretty prohibitive. For me, though, the price is $136 per week (base price of $146 less a $10 coupon my distributor runs regularly). That's actually less than I'd be spending eating out as much as I would otherwise do. As you can see, I'm totally sold on Seattle Sutton, the only diet that I have found to be sustainable and successful for me in the long term, and the only diet with prepared foods I can actually stand to eat! I would encourage anyone and everyone needing to lose weight or needing a restricted diet for other health reasons (e.g. diabetes or heart disease) to check out Seattle Sutton online and to try it for a week, even if you have to pay the shipping cost. (If you find it helps you, you can do as I do and skip a week or two in between your SS weeks to cut down on the expense.) It will be well worth your expenditure of $146 - $170, and it could save your life!

posted Mar 7th, 2016 11:36 pm



I have been using the Seattle Sutton program for over 2 years, and not only have I lost weight, it has taught me about portion control! Sometimes I order week to week and on occasion I just order a half-week (which is a great option in my opinion).
Since it is fresh food, they do have deadlines to make changes to your order, but it was never an issue since the deadline is reasonable. I highly recommend this program to anyone that wants fresh food delivered to their door.
I am a busy professional, and eating healthy has always been difficult (especially at the end of a long day). That is why it is great that everything is fully cooked, and very easy to prepare!

P.S. Ed- I speak with Reese nearly every month, and he is always courteous and kind. Tuesday is definitely after the cutoff their cutoff of Friday. Perhaps it wasn't bad customer service, but a bad customer.

posted Jan 12th, 2016 10:30 pm



It actually DOES have an entire vegetarian menu option that is delicious! And cost is not that bad when compared to what I normally spend in groceries each week. Well worth it- the food is great!

posted Sep 21st, 2015 3:54 am



Easy to set up on-line. Some meals were in excess of 800 calories, was surprised. Not the best tasting. Biggest con, no flexibility on changing deliveries and VERY poor customer servcie. Spoke to Reese, was very rude and condenscending. When I called back to log a complaint, the customer service person talked all over me and stated I must be mistaken. They tell me is a small family business with family members working in it and all are very professional and I was not being reasonable. What precipitated this...I attemted to reschedule a delivery due to needing to attend a funeral out state, Reese stated hard to believe I just found out on Tuesday I would not be in town on Friday, with a chuckle....a rather arrogant and snotty attitude. Then when I stated I wanted to donate the food to a hunger center, with 30 hours notice prior to shipment I was told they could not do that but I can when I receive the shipment and do that on my own, of course I will be out of town. I then said I wanted to just pay for it and not receive the food, was told they cannot do that, they are VERY busy....huh? VERY UNPROFESSIONAL...so much for a small family business taking care of customers. And wonder about how automated they are. Amounts of food need to be modified a week in advance, I cancelled after one shipment.

posted Sep 3rd, 2015 2:32 am



Started the plan 3/3/15 - lost 63 pounds so far. Food ranges from yuck to great, depending on the menu.

posted Jul 23rd, 2015 7:03 pm



I LOVE this diet!! I was on the 1,200 cal about 4 years ago and lost about 35 lbs. I quit smoking 1 1/2 yrs ago and have gained. I've tried every diet in the book and although this is expensive I don't mind paying because I know it works, it's easy and I love the food. I look forward to the food arriving every week because I know there's nothing that will disappoint. The other "big" thing for me is you can still lose weight and not exercise. I am walking but I don't "have to" to lose. At night I love my "glass of milk" and with Seattle Sutton you get 200 calories a day extra for a snack or in my case that nightly glass of milk or chocolate milk! LOVE LOVE LOVE This diet!

posted Oct 8th, 2014 1:10 am

Jan Nolan

Convenient easy and delicious! Would be better if switched up the menus for long term customers!

posted May 12th, 2014 5:48 pm

Robyn Rice


a few years back it was pretty good, although not enough food on 1200 cal. and too much on 2000.
I decided to try it again. I was shocked at the quality of the food. Either no taste or old food, on the verge of going bad. Brown lettuce, sour veges and really bad fish. I had to throw away 3 meals and believe me I am not a picky eater, I can eat anything that's why Im overweight. I was really disappointed that they thought so little of customers that they would pawn off that stuff as editable food. If you have diverticulitis forget it cause a lot of the food has seeds everywhere. The price at 120 a week was not worth it.

posted Feb 10th, 2014 4:34 pm

Michele Hebert


What beverages are okay to drink on Seattle Sutton?

posted Apr 9th, 2013 7:07 pm

Donald Piscitello


I was amazed at how delicious & tasty the meals were. I'm dumbfounded to read negative posts but do realize that most people usually only post when they want to complain. The 1200 calorie plan was an eye for me as i realized my portion control on my own were much larger . i supplemented between meals the first week with fruit or a yogurt until I adjusted to smaller meals . With daily exercise I had drastic weigh loss. Seattle Sutton rocks !

posted Apr 6th, 2013 7:24 pm



I just started this diet three weeks ago and I LOVE IT. I have been on every diet you can think of and this is my favorite (Nutrasystem, Jenny Craig, WWatchers, South Beach, etc.)! First of all, I work a lot of hours during the week and this has taken the guesswork and preparation time out of "what am I going to eat tomorrow." The food is delivered to my door for $5 per week, twice per week. It is fresh, thoughtful and I feel like my mom is cooking for me again. Nice selection of foods...I pretty much eat anything so I have no issues with any of the food. If you are a very picky eater, this may not be the diet for you (I would suggest trying it for 1 week to see how you like it). The carb count does seem a little high, but this diet is not advertised as "low carb" and I am losing weight on this nonetheless. During the first week, I had to supplement the 1200 calorie diet with fresh fruit or almonds between meals because I got hungry, but after that week I am fine on the 1200 calories (and I am doing cardio 4 times a week). On the days I lift weights, I have to increase my overall intake to 1500 calories (again supplementing healthy foods between meals) as my body needs it on these days. SS I think you should have a 1500 calorie (non vegetarian) plan....the spread between 1200 and 2000 is quite large. Kudos to you for adding the 1500 vegetarian plan....you now need to do a gluten free diet plan. In any event, overall I am very pleased with this diet....and I highly recommend it....

posted Mar 31st, 2013 5:53 pm



My daughter is off to college and my husband travels often. I don't like to shop, plan, or cook meals. We both wanted to live a healthier lifestyle, so I looked Seattle Sutton Healthy eating up on-line. When I realized I can easily pick the meals up in my own town and spend close to the same amount we spend at the grocery store, for unhealthy food choices, I decided to give it a try. Tomorrow will be the 6th time I've picked up the meals (which requires me to walk thru a door, have a bag of meals placed in my hand by a friendly, smiling distributor, then walking out). So far...
I LOVE IT! It's a great meal plan for me and my husband. At first I was reluctant to share, for fear I would be hungry, but I've not been hungry at all and if I didn't share some food would go to waste because the 2000 cal diet is to much for me. My husband enjoys the meals and sometimes puts them in a cooler when he has to be out of town overnight. We pick and choose which we want and sometimes we open a couple and exchange this or that with each other or split one. We may not be getting a perfectly balanced diet this way, but it's a big improvement, it's a good start, and we enjoy them. The fresh fruit and vegetables have been very fresh, ripe and flavorful.
The negative would be the packaging...if the lables came off easily the containers could be so useful for so many things!! And brussel sprouts...we ate them with laughter...be we wouldn't eat if they weren't provided! :D
The negative comments I read here...in one ear, and out the other...some people will always be complaining and negative. Try it with a grateful, positive attitude and you'll enjoy them. I feel loved and cared for when I eat them and have a positive emotional experience. :)

posted Jan 23rd, 2013 10:13 pm

Paula Heaton


Dear Alton:

I'm sorry your grandparents did not care for your thoughtful gift of healthy eating you and your mother purchased for them. We do aim to please our clients and in an attempt sometimes miss the mark with a few. Often it is that clients are not used to eating healthy, balanced meals and need to give it some time in order for them to develop a taste for it.

As a rule of thumb, we always encourage new clients and those who are ordering for gifts (especially for the elderly) to only order one week of meals at a time for that very reason. We noted this in our conversation with your mother when she placed her order for your grandparents on December 20, 2012 and was instructed this, however she insisted on ordering multiple weeks instead. We even suggested that she start them with a half-week order, to share a half-week order either 12 or 9 meals, but she insisted that she wanted them to have multiple weeks of meals. Because we do want to please our clients, we agreed, but only after explaining that this is out of the norm and goes against our recommendation.

When someone places an order for our meals, they may or may not understand our meals and how we can provide such fresh meals to our clients from coast-to-coast. The meals are freshly prepared, including fresh fruit and vegetables, and are made especially for them. We do not mass produce meals and sell meals as the orders come in. We place our food order based on the orders we receive each week and the meals are then prepared, packaged and sent to the client (or picked up at a local distributor location in certain areas). Freshness, quality and dedication to health is our number one goal.

Since we do have a no refund policy on our meals, because of the fresh produce and ingredients that make up our meals we do have to stick to it regardless of personal tastes. We realize occasionally we won't be a hit with every single person. We prepare the meals you should be eating, not want to be eating. Once you try our meals, most people do want to be eating them though.

Our sincerest apologies for any misunderstanding and for letting you and your mother down. We realize how difficult it can be to help seniors eat right and we have served many meals to them so they can age in place without the need to plan, shop and cook for themselves. It has been a lifesaver to many families searching for a solution. We're sorry your grandparents did not find them helpful and did not appreciate your thoughtful gesture.

In good health,

Paula Heaton, RN, BSN
Director, National Home Delivery
Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating

posted Jan 21st, 2013 6:15 pm

Alton Halvorsen


My mother and I purchased the 2000 Calorie Plan for my grandparents as a gift. We set them up for a month with home delivery to let them try it out. After the first week they really did not like the food and did not wish to receive anymore shipments. I called into the corporate office and spoke with Paula who said there was nothing she could do to stop the meals from coming twice a week for the next 3 weeks (63+ more meals) My grandparents are elderly and have a tough enough time as it is, which was the reason we thought we would try this. Now they are all stressed out about all these meals that are showing up at their home and Seattle Sutton’s is telling us there is no way to cancel the orders and that they will continue to keep showing up. My mother is also a current member so we suggested that Seattle Suttons just credit these meals to her plan. This request was also shot down by Paula. Paula stated that my mom and grandparents should have read the fine print where it said that the order could not be canceled. I really do not understand having to continue to pay for a service that is not wanted. I really have never seen such disregard for customer service. Needless to say my mom will be canceling her weekly orders and we would not recommend using Seattle Sutton’s.

posted Jan 11th, 2013 7:14 pm



No consistency in plan. Morning egg dishes are horrible. In an attempt to add flavor to meals they push green pepper, which i detest. If I could pick my meals I could do the diet, but I am abandoning it after three weeks and will go it alone.

posted Dec 16th, 2012 7:54 pm


I tried it a few years ago and it was really good. This time around not so much. The first meals I tried were last night's dinner - a tasteless frozen piece of corn on the cob and a few tablespoons of some rice dish that allegedly contained chicken with a little container of applesauce.
Today's lunch was tasteless chicken with pineapple and some bad tasting broccoli. I am not impressed!
I am considering not even bothering to pick up the second half of the week's food.
I do much better with Lean Cuisine!!!!

posted Apr 3rd, 2012 5:49 pm



I am beginning my second week on the plan and I am so excited. Most of the food is good. I loved the Salmon and coucous. There is a lot of breads included, but I believe this is what makes you feel full. The 1200 cal. plan is perfect for me. The first two days I ate fruit and popcorn in betweem meals. But shortly after I only ate the meals. I do need to incorporate skim milk though.

posted Mar 27th, 2012 1:47 am



My husband and I started Seattle Sutton last week because we just kept putting on a few pounds every year and didn't like the way our clothes were looking or how we felt. We choose the 2000 calorie plan to start with because we thought we'd starve on the 1200 calorie plan. We were surprised how much food was in the 2000 calorie plan and plan to switch next week to the 1200. So far this week we've lost a couple pounds each - even with the larger plan. I'm looking forward to see the results from the 1200 plan. I have not felt hunger at all....yes, it is the larger plan but I haven't been eating all of the food - there's just too much. And one of the reviewers mentioned that the meals are developed to lessen appetite, and I find that to be very true. I also like just about all of the meals - or at least a portion of them. And with my husband and i both working full time, the conveniece of having a fresh meal in the refrigerator that we just have to heat, I'm feeling liberated from the nightly dinner. All in all, we are pleasantly surprised at the quality, taste, and variety in the meals. I would recommend the plan to a friend.

posted Mar 17th, 2012 6:09 am

Steve Stanley

This is the worst wood that I have ever eaten. In addition the cost is high. They make up the calories with cheap bread, muffins and other carbs. NEVER AGAIN!!!

posted Mar 9th, 2012 7:48 pm


This diet is not geared towards diebetics as it claims. ALL of the meals are extremely high in carbohydrates. If you purchase the 1200 calorie meal plan it can help you lose weight.

posted Jan 10th, 2012 8:52 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


Related Diets: Bistro MD, Nutrisystem, eDiets Deliciously Yours, Diabetic Living Diet, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating?