Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 7 reviews

Raw Diet

Put away those pot and pans... you won't need them anymore.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The growing trend of organic-based diets has spun a plan called the Raw Diet. Based on a philosophy of eating only natural and organic plant foods, it encourages that you eat them uncooked to ensure you get all the vital nutrients the fruits, vegetables and grains have to offer that are lost during the cooking process.

PRO
  • You will definitely lose weight
CON
  • The Raw Diet is quite restrictive
  • Critics claim the Raw Diet will not provide a balanced diet
  • Children should not follow the plan
DIET and NUTRITION

he Raw Diet is a vegetarian approach that will detoxify as well as help you shed pounds. Enzymes absorbed from raw plant foods aid the body's digestive process. An added benefit of following the Raw Diet is you have less a chance of developing heart disease, as the plan is rich in vitamins, potassium, fiber and is nearly void of salt and fat.

EXERCISE

The book makes an interesting claim that using a trampoline is possibly the best exercise you can do.

CONCLUSION

While there are some people who dispute the need to go raw to get adequate nutrition from your foods, going all natural can't be bad for you either. If you don't lose the will-power, you will lose the weight.

Common Misspellings

Raw Deit, RawDiet, Raw-Diet, Raw-Deit


Related Diets: Makers Diet, The Hallelujah Diet, The Thrive Diet, Vegan Diet, High Fiber Diet, The Whole Foods Diet, The Seven Pillars of Health


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 25 total comments)

Ron

I have been on a raw food diet for 14 weeks now, and have lost 21 kilos. I work out 40 minutes a day on an ellipical and do some light dumbbell toning exercises3 days a week. I doubt I need to do the elliptical more than 3 days a week, though. I love avocados, and have about 2-3 of them DAILY. The claim that you can put on weight on avocados is absolute rubbish! Yes, perhaps if you eat 8 avosa day! I think the success to my so far successful weight loss has mostly been due to giving up on rice,pasta and bread, all of which I used to love.

One word of advice to new raw foodies, take baby steps. Don;t get too passionate about going 100% raw overnight. Eat Quinoa, some fish and even a baked sweet potato a few times a week. There is no raw police out there!

posted Aug 26th, 2013 8:58 pm


PX

i have just started raw food diet and i, am feeling dizzy tired and i even gained weight in just two days. I wanted to try this diet simply because i go to uni and i lack enegy most of the time. Thank you for all yuor comments, i am dertemined to continue this journey and see how i feel in the future.

posted Feb 20th, 2013 5:37 pm


jr915

I have been raw for two months in attempt to slow the progression of my newly diagnosed MS. So far, I have lost 8 pounds. It seems discouraging to read reviews of monumental weight loss but I no longer experience debilitating fatigue or have yet to have a relapse. The fact I am doing what I believe to be the best for my body keeps me going. Overall, I think I am a raw for lifer!

posted May 23rd, 2012 1:41 am


Christi

I have had great results with this way of eating. I have lost 15 pounds in 4 weeks and haven't started my exercise program yet. My complexion is so much better and the fatigue and headaches are gone. I love it.....check out cookbooks for raw diets so you don't get bored.

posted Apr 10th, 2011 8:15 pm


Carolyn

Hey Christian, I hope this will help. I fasted for 3 days, 1st and 2nd days just water and then 3rd day same thing except i drank a glass of orange juice for breakfast. According to my friends who I hadn't seen for days prior and during my fasting, were suprised when they saw me the day after my fasting that I looked better and they said i lost a lot of weight. I lost 4 lbs in 3 days.

Although, i think fasting is more effective if its done 7 days.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 4:54 pm


Staci Paisley

Hi Christine and All...

I am just now getting on this site to read this. I have been detoxing and and cleansing on and off vegan for the past 3 years trying to shed the 50 lbs i gained back in 2006. I have lost about 20 lbs, but it has been a very painful yoyoing struggle. I eat better than anyone i know and yet have struggled to loose the weight. I have gone through many colonics, detoxes, 30 day juice fasts, even ran a 1/2 marathon. I have been almost 100% raw now for the past 2 months and have gained weight. I feel passionate about eating raw, so this is a very painful process for me.
A question: What is your bloodtype. Interestingly enough mine is B+ the only that that should have BOTH meat and dairy. It seems that when people get rid of soda from their diet they loose 5 lbs, and when they get rid of wheat they drop 15, become vegan 20. It seems when i do these things i gain. Its frusterating. I dont want to eat meat or cooked foods meat or dairy. But im wondering if this is happening because of my blood type.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 9:13 am


Angry person

the raw food diet sucks, it made me poop myself

posted May 5th, 2010 9:21 am


Lisa

Hey Christian, i am going through a weight gain too. I am working out like crazy and this week I had a clean low fat raw diet. I gained 2 pounds im so discouraged and pist. I have been raw vegan for almost a year. I was leaner when I was eating cooked vegan stuff. So Christian, were you able to figure it out? Anyone have ideas? I am not eating too much fat at all either. Smothie breakfast, apples, pears, bananas for snack. Salads with not seeds or nuts. Drinking lots of water of course. I DONT GET IT! I am working out and there is not possibility im gaining 2 pound muscle in a week. ugghhh! i want to cry!!!

posted Feb 24th, 2010 4:45 pm


Jane

Hey Christian, you GAINED weight? Check you aren't loading up on the "fatty foods" (avocados, nuts, nut butters) or the high carb foods & make sure you are getting enough raw green juices/salads/veggies such as zuccini, watercress, spinach, sprouts etc.
Let us know how it goes.

posted Jul 11th, 2009 11:59 pm


Christian

Help! I have been on a 100% raw food diet for a month. I have NOT lost weight in fact, I have GAINED 5 lbs. I am 5'3 and weight 165 lbs. Before the raw food diet I weighed 160 lbs. What gives? Am I doing something wrong. I eat from the aproved raw food list as described on this web site.

posted Jul 4th, 2009 1:21 pm


Danielle

I was wondering if anyone could suggest some good books about Raw Diets, I am looking forward to taking steps towards cleansing my body, and truly reaping the benefits of raw food.

posted Jun 19th, 2009 12:41 pm


MeganDelorme

easy as this....when i was a raw foodist i was naturally thin size 2 without any dieting....cut to two years later after i started eating cooked foods and i gained 60 lbs....crap...the only way i combated that was falling dangerously into my anorexic youth and now im slowly crawling my way back out of that mess.....i miss the comfort and clarity and energy and happiness i felt with a vegan living foods diet. I will be on my way back there

posted Jun 10th, 2009 10:01 pm


Allyson

This diet is amazing. I've never been over weight at all but i figured that this would be an amazing way to regain energy, maintain awesome health, and what not. Within 5 days I lost 5 pounds... without excersizing. Most people would say thats not healthy at all, but when you're only eating raw fruits, vegetables & nuts, how can that not be healthy?

posted Feb 1st, 2009 4:08 pm


Lee Ann Primeau

This diet is truly nothing short of a miracle. It is the only diet that has EVER worked for me, and if you stick with it for at least a week or so you start to feel euphoric. I am 50 years old and literally every other day I have someone's mouth drop open and say "I thought you were in your early 30's!" or "You don't look old enough to have teenagers!" The diet is NOT restrictive... go to Whole Foods Market and look at their raw food section, as well as all of the fruits, vegetables, and raw cheese. Your entire body and spirit will change eating raw food. I wouldn't believe it if I hadn't tried it myself. It is simply astounding!

posted Jan 9th, 2009 12:56 pm


miki moo

ok. i'm not raw anymore. i fell off my diet when i went to a three day outdoor festival in the woods and never went back on. i've gained 20 pounds. poor complexion, body oder, tummy issues and sluggishness have all returned. yup, i feel like a bloated slug.



looking back on my earlier raw posts i am shocked to see what a spaz i was on the raw diet. wowowowow



i've learned since then to make sure to eat enough carbs and protein. you need them. ketosis (lack of carbs) was really making me weak.



at any rate, i am seeking a balance between cooked foods and raw right now. later i will transition back to all raw. i am still uncertain as to whether or not we need meat. there are lots of studies proving we do and we don't.

posted Dec 30th, 2008 6:47 am


desertmom

I started when I had a cold. Cold went away in 3 days as opposed to 3 weeks. I have learned a lot from this book. Very easy to follow and there's nothing wrong with the "rules" that many complain about. Once you follow through, the rest comes naturally. By dinner time I'm hardly hungry and that's just from eating fresh fruits in the morning, salad at lunch with a Larabar, and a snack. Emotionally and physically it's a very rewarding feeeling. I've lost 3 pounds in my three weeks and that's with no exercise. Amazing!

posted Oct 9th, 2008 9:30 pm


Eliz.

Very pleased. I've been easing into it, gradually increasing raw foods and decreasing cooked. Have more energy, better focus, sleep better. Am losing fat and generally feel and look healthier. I find it easier also, because I don't need to cook. If I'm craving warm food I have something cooked but am finding it less attractive. I like my new, raw foods lifestyle.

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:47 pm


rene

raw doesn't always mean vegetarian or vegan. lots of raw foodists eat raw dairy products and some even eat raw fish and meat. either way, this way of eating is great for health and weight loss.

posted May 26th, 2008 1:03 pm


miki moo

"thinking clrealy" (clearly) "look forward to (ahem...*not*) being poisoned anymore by food additives" ahahahahaha! oh well, you know what i meant... so how much energy i have?!?! i can't even type straight! oh brother

posted Apr 17th, 2008 8:48 pm


miki moo

what are you talking about ladyX? try buying a raw diet cook book. i never ate fruit or veggies in my entire life. i thought they were grose. now i LOVE them. they taste SO GOOD and the recepies and things you can make are ENDLESS. not only that but FAR LESS TIME CONSUMING. you don't waste plastic, you spend less money despite they say the opposite and you FEEL INVINCIBLE! my skin looks so pretty now. i'm shedding pounds. i'm thinking clrealy, depression gone, positive outlook on the world, nicer to other people, less introverted, not afraid to leave the house and go out in public, ailments, headaches, acne and fatigue totally gone. on and on.... I TELL EVERYONE I LOVE ABOUT RAW FOOD NOW! i've been raw 30 days and in that 30 days my fiance and mother have both already converted. DETOX lasted 2 weeks. it was painful but not that big of a deal. i was so full of toxins. i felt like i had the flu. I MADE IT THROUGH AND FEEL BETTER THAN I HAVE IN 20 YEARS!!!!!! i look forward to being poisoned anymore by food additives, cooked food (which fills your cells up with puss) and cooking in pans (metal in your food. aluminum causes Alzheimer's) no high blood pressure, no diabetes, no blood sugar spikes, no stroke, no cancer, no heart attacks. LONG LIFE EXPECTANCY, STAYING YOUNG. All this in exchange for a diet with NO SUGAR, NOTHING COOKED, NO ANIMAL PRODUCTS. YOu think it would be hard but NO. IT'S ACTUALLY THE EASIEST THING I EVER DID FOR THE HUGEST PAYOFF! k, that's me story the end ahahahaha

posted Apr 8th, 2008 2:15 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account