Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 115 reviews

Phentermine

An FDA approved diet pill for obese patients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1959 FDA approval; available in the 1970s; removed from the market voluntarily in 1997 but still available
  • Founder: Originally sold by King Pharmaceuticals; currently made by several companies
  • Accessibility: Prescription only
  • Diet Type: Appetite suppressant to be taken short-term
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Phentermine is a short-term prescription appetite suppressant that works by stimulating the hypothalamus gland and affecting neurotransmitters in order to decrease your appetite. The hypothalamus gland is the portion of the brain that controls many functions, including your appetite. Combined with proper nutrition and exercise, you can see weight loss results

PRO
  • Phentermine is given under doctor supervision
  • Formulated specifically for the obese
  • Documented success stories
  • Suppresses appetite
  • Short term help to lead you to eat healthy and exercise
  • FDA approved
  • Generic version available which is cheaper than name brand

CON
  • Phentermine has the potential of many serious side effects, including: chest pain, fainting, swelling of feet or lower legs, trouble in breathing, among others
  • Currently available by prescription only
  • Not a long term solution
  • Side effects of dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation
INGREDIENTS
  • Phentermine Hydrochloride (HCL), along with a host of non-active ingredients.
ADMINISTRATION

Your doctor will decide on your dosage and instructions for taking Phentermine when giving you the prescription. The average dose is 30mg of Phentermine per day, but some patients are prescribed to start off with 15mg per day.

DIET and EXERCISE

It is recommended that you incorporate diet and exercise into your plan when taking Phentermine. Phentermine is a drug to be taken only on a short-term basis. After six to 12 weeks, you are advised to discontinue taking Phentermine, and continue with your diet and exercise plan to reach your weight loss goals. Phentermine is only intended to help the obese kick start their weight loss plan while they become used to following a low calorie diet and exercise plan.

CONCLUSION

When you're talking about a prescription weight loss drug, you have a product reserved for people with the most dire of needs. So, obviously this is not for everyone. If you have health problems related to obesity, and you fell you need help in getting some of your weight off, consult your doctor about Phentermine.

Common Misspellings

fentermin, fentermine, phentramine, phenterthin


Related Diets: Adipex-P, Alli, Fedramine, Phenterthin, Phentramine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 13, 245 total comments)

SugarMagnolia

My doctor prescribing Phentermine is one of the best things that ever happened to me. I am 5'2" and gotten to 181.50 pound, giving me a BMI of 33. I went on Phentermine a week before Thanksgiving in 2011, and throughout the holidays over months into March I lost 29 pounds, and am now plateauing at 152, with a current BMI of 28. I still have about 20-25 pounds to go to goal, but know that I can do it. The Phentermine seemed to "reset" my thinking and my habits for the better. I endured nausea and dry mouth every day while on the 37.5 mg dose, but it was definitely worth it all. I found myself making healthier choices, losing those terrible cravings, and drastically reducing portion sizes. Those are habits that I can make stick without the Phentermine. I'm on my own now without the drug, but will make it. Hey, if I LOST WEIGHT (2-3 pounds a week) through the holidays, I can lose it anytime! I would recommend this to anyone in serious need of weight loss. It's not always easy, but if you can stand 3-4 months of Phentermine, you will be rewarded. This stuff WORKS.

posted Apr 6th, 2012 9:31 pm


angieberry

Wow it has three weeks now since I am on Phentermine I lost 6 lbs. My start weight was 180 lbs I now weight 177. Only side effects I am still having the dry mouth and feeling nausea at times. Has anyone felt this way before?

posted Apr 4th, 2012 11:17 am


Renee

I started 37.5 Phentermine on 3-17-12. I was 210 then I just weighed myself on 3-28-12 and was 200.5! Down 9.5 lbs. The side effects for me is dry mouth and trouble falling asleep that is all compared to all that is listed :) I can already tell in different areas of my body that Im losing. The really nice thing is I dont eat when Im bored I used to eat alot all the time. Now when Im hungry I stop and think I should eat something healthy like a salad. I havent ate junk since before I started this pill. Really works great I WAS very sceptical.

posted Mar 30th, 2012 11:14 pm


Yannah

Fatigue with Phentermine? Hi Im taking the 30mg capsules and they make me tired and i still have no motovation does anyone else find this?

posted Mar 27th, 2012 6:54 am


Trina

I am very excited I will be going to the doctor tomorrow to get my prescription. After reading all the reviews I can't wait to see what this can do for me.
A friend of mine takes it and shes looking looking great. Im getting married the end of June and i'm looking to lose at least 20 to 25lbs.

Current weight: 217.6lbs
Short Term Goal: 190
Long Term Goal: 170

posted Mar 22nd, 2012 1:03 pm


angieberry

Ive been taking Phentermine for a week now and lost 3 and half pounds .My start weight was 182lbs I feel really full and have to force myself to eat.Ive be doing lots of jogging I can go for 117 mins in the park. I did not get and sides effects of such just feel I can jog for ages.

posted Mar 20th, 2012 7:56 pm


jonathon

Does Phentermine require a prescription? hey guys i was wondering that do i have to get it prescribed or can i get phentermine over the counter im 5'5 175lbs

posted Mar 3rd, 2012 10:28 am


deedee

About two years ago I started taking phentermine 37.5 mg and it worked GREAT. I recently started taking 15mg but im not noticing a big change in my mood and appetite! Im still HUNGRY!!!!! Should I ask my doctor for a higher dosage, I feel as though the 15mg is not enough for me. Less side affects with it but not near as much weight lost as 37.5 mg

posted Jan 20th, 2012 4:20 pm


Alysha

Began the P90X routine and have stuck with it. I only saw small results for me, so I started Phentermine Dec17, 2011 at 37.5mg at 168lbs 5'9" to kick start some weight loss. I was losing inches, but not weight. I have been on it for 3 weeks and have lost 8lbs. It curves the urge to eat, had some nights where I could not sleep, mild case of feeling rushed, dizzy after workouts (only because I didn't eat enough), and a tad irritable here and there. Its help me think positive about the weight loss.

posted Jan 10th, 2012 12:10 pm


Jay

I started taking the pill 12-9-11. 37.5mg. I am 5"2 174 lbs. Today is 12-13-11 and I weight 169 lbs!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No diet, no exercise. I mean how can you diet when you don't feel like eating. I have to make myself eat, so I won't drop out anywhere. The pill does give you cotton mouth which causes you to drink alot of water; but thats a good thing though. 5lbs in 4 days, I'm not complaining.

posted Dec 13th, 2011 3:13 pm


Eldora

I started on Phentermine on June 21, 2011 weigh in at 217 lbs now 175 lbs. I do not take it everyday but I feel so much better with my all that weight off. Shirt size went from X-large to medium and pants from size 18 to 10/12. I eat smaller portions about 4 times a day with healthy snacks in between. I exercise but not as much as I should. Loving the way I look and keep wait for the next 40 lbs for my goal weight.

posted Nov 5th, 2011 11:10 pm


Laverne

I started Phen 37.5 mg in March 2010....I weighed in at 254 and taking blood pressure med. In April 2011.. I experienced light head and dizziness. Thought my pressure was up....It was low due to all the weight loss. The Dr. took me off from my blood pressure meds. My weight had dropped to 185. It took 12 months to lose the weight because I did not take phen everday. No phen and blood pressure meds. today. 8 months later and I am holding to the 185. I walk 2.5 miles 3 days a week. Phen worked for me. You have to definitely change your eating habits.

posted Nov 4th, 2011 8:35 pm


JEN

I started taking phentermine 3 weeks ago, my starting weight was 190 and I have lost 11 pounds. Phentermine is a tool to help you start eating the right way without the cravings. Eat 6 small meals a day and exercise, this plan sets you up for success!!

posted Nov 2nd, 2011 4:11 am


saly

Started phentermine on October 5, 2011 I weigh 257.4 and height 5'3. Weighed in today cause i was curious October 8, 2011 I
weigh 251.4. Wow I am really impressed. cant wait to weigh again in a few days...

posted Oct 9th, 2011 1:44 am


nancy burris

Really works. Only took about a months worth. But got off, maintained diet & exercise. Down 40 lbs. Kinda starting to plateau but I look GREAT!!!

posted Oct 5th, 2011 4:41 pm


Brittney

Just started taking Phentermine and so far it is doing it's job. I'm one of those people that is constantly hungry. Food is delicious and I can't get enough. Since I've taken Phentermine, I haven't been craving the junk food. I have probably eaten as much in the last three days as I would have eaten in one day. Not that I ate THAT much, I just really haven't been hungry enough to go find something to eat. I'm really happy. I had tons of energy during my daily Zumba workout as well. Can't wait to see the pounds fall off!

posted Sep 29th, 2011 7:54 pm


Nicole

I have been on phentermine since 9-9-11 and I'm down 10lbs! I had little headache the first week but after that I haven't had any headaches and I use to get at least 2-3 a week. I have a thyroid problem and was feel so dead even being on thyroid pills but since I started taking phentermine I feel like me again! And after reading a lot of other people's reviews I was worried I wouldn't sleep but I have been getting the best sleep! Only side affect I have had was dry mouth and little moodiness (easily irritated from time to time). Over all I feel so much better and can't wait to lose more weigh!!

posted Sep 26th, 2011 9:10 pm


jenny o

Can i get this pill prescribed through my doctor

posted Sep 19th, 2011 11:15 am


jenny o

is this pill available in canada?

posted Sep 19th, 2011 11:11 am


jenny

How do you sleep on Phentermine?? I took 15mg for about 4 days, the side effects were fairly mild, but the worst was that I could not sleep. I ended up having to drink, so that I could relax enough to go to bed. I knew I could not continue like that, although I was seeing results. Is there any solutions for sleep aids/sleeping? Should I ask my doctor to decrease the dose? I am currently 5'2 153lbs goal - 130lbs.

posted Aug 30th, 2011 5:36 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account