Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 115 reviews

Phentermine

An FDA approved diet pill for obese patients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1959 FDA approval; available in the 1970s; removed from the market voluntarily in 1997 but still available
  • Founder: Originally sold by King Pharmaceuticals; currently made by several companies
  • Accessibility: Prescription only
  • Diet Type: Appetite suppressant to be taken short-term
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Phentermine is a short-term prescription appetite suppressant that works by stimulating the hypothalamus gland and affecting neurotransmitters in order to decrease your appetite. The hypothalamus gland is the portion of the brain that controls many functions, including your appetite. Combined with proper nutrition and exercise, you can see weight loss results

PRO
  • Phentermine is given under doctor supervision
  • Formulated specifically for the obese
  • Documented success stories
  • Suppresses appetite
  • Short term help to lead you to eat healthy and exercise
  • FDA approved
  • Generic version available which is cheaper than name brand

CON
  • Phentermine has the potential of many serious side effects, including: chest pain, fainting, swelling of feet or lower legs, trouble in breathing, among others
  • Currently available by prescription only
  • Not a long term solution
  • Side effects of dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation
INGREDIENTS
  • Phentermine Hydrochloride (HCL), along with a host of non-active ingredients.
ADMINISTRATION

Your doctor will decide on your dosage and instructions for taking Phentermine when giving you the prescription. The average dose is 30mg of Phentermine per day, but some patients are prescribed to start off with 15mg per day.

DIET and EXERCISE

It is recommended that you incorporate diet and exercise into your plan when taking Phentermine. Phentermine is a drug to be taken only on a short-term basis. After six to 12 weeks, you are advised to discontinue taking Phentermine, and continue with your diet and exercise plan to reach your weight loss goals. Phentermine is only intended to help the obese kick start their weight loss plan while they become used to following a low calorie diet and exercise plan.

CONCLUSION

When you're talking about a prescription weight loss drug, you have a product reserved for people with the most dire of needs. So, obviously this is not for everyone. If you have health problems related to obesity, and you fell you need help in getting some of your weight off, consult your doctor about Phentermine.

Common Misspellings

fentermin, fentermine, phentramine, phenterthin


Related Diets: Adipex-P, Alli, Fedramine, Phenterthin, Phentramine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 13, 245 total comments)

marwag

Phentermine works to make you lose weight, I'm an example of that. I lost 30 pounds in two months of phentermine. But, there's a catch. First of all, I was barely eating. It suppressed my appetite so much that I never even thought of food, and when I saw or was offered food, it didn't appeal to me whatsoever. This caused me to eat extremely little daily. To be exact, I ate around 200 calories a day, mainly from the couple of yogurt packs I'd have. I exercised daily and I think that's what helped me lose the weight so fast. I went down from 216 pounds to 180 pounds in two months! I was so happy with the results. But, they came with a price. Sorry to be TMI, but constipation. Baaaad constipation. Like I couldn't poop for days and when I did, it was painful. The next side effect was the dry mouth. I took the pill one day and went to school in the morning and had a presentation. Oh god, bad idea. My tongue stuck to the top of my mouth, oh the horror. The next thing was the heart palpitations. That's what made me stop. It was scary. Anyway, that's when it happened. In about 6 months after stopping phentermine, I managed to gain all 30 pounds back, and more. It's a true horror story, but I'm glad it happened to me because I can share it with unsuspecting victims. It helps, but you have to use it RIGHT, even if you don't wanna eat you have to, since it reminds your body to not go into starvation mode and make you gain everything back. Hope I helped someone out there!

posted Jul 20th, 2012 1:24 am


Jette

Today I started 37.5 twice a day. After 2 c-sections I can not loose the extra 30-40 lbs no mater what i do. After reading other succcessful users I am very excited to see the results. I'm making a point to keep this as a tracking of my progress and to get and give encouragement to other uses.

Good Luck!

Status:
5' 9"
Starting: 217
Day 1

Repost in 2 weeks

posted Jul 14th, 2012 5:49 pm


Becka

Update from two weeks ago: I haven't weighed myself, walkimy clothes fit the same. Still eating healthy, walking, light exercise. Too flippin hot to do much else. The first two days were great--I had tons of energy and had no appetite. Since then I feel hungry and am super tired by the early afternoon. I'm not having the same results as the other posters.

posted Jul 5th, 2012 12:16 am


Jen

I started phentermine May 23, 2012...Start weight 198...As of today, June 22, 2012 my weight is 184...I am down 14lbs in a month. I have cut back on my eating habits. If I eat starches, I only eat a hand full (3regulars size spoons fulls). I cut back off the sodas and juice and do a light workout. I do have dry mouth sometimes, but it only promote me to drink water. I do not eat any fried foods, and when I fix my food, I eat off of a saucer plate. I eat 5 times a day (which you are suppose to do). I eat breakfast, snack, lunch, snack and dinner. I drink water and green tea throughout the day and if I crave a soda, I drink one of the super small cans that only has 90 calories. I feel great and I love this.. My goal is to get down to 150

posted Jun 22nd, 2012 6:05 pm


Frances

I have been on Phentermine 37.5 for 2 months. I am 5'1 and was at 150 lbs and now i am at 134 lbs. My goal is to get to 129 lbs.

posted Jun 20th, 2012 3:02 pm


Becka

I'm glad I found this website. Reading the feedback helps.

I hadn't heard of this drug before my doctor prescribed it. I just picked it up last night (37.5 mg) and can't wait to try it!

posted Jun 19th, 2012 12:41 pm


oni

Is there a diet for phentermine? hello everyone.. read the comments and im super interested in trying the phen diet..but im currently in NY and i need to know if anyone has a doctor in the aareas of brooklyn and queens that prescribes phen. thanx

posted Jun 6th, 2012 7:49 pm


Scootrgrl

I am 5'3" and weigh 280 lbs. My family Dr. started me on Phentermine 37.5mg and I can already tell a change in my appetite.. has gone DOWN a lot and I do have more energy! I only started taking it yesterday 6-4-12 and I didn't fall asleep until really late last night. My goal weight at first is 150. I still have a long way to go. I hope and pray this helps me get a good start!!

posted Jun 5th, 2012 3:26 pm


nelie

I told myself that I would return to leave a review after actually trying it for more than a week or three. Here it goes:

I went against the recommendation of only using Phentermine -short-term. I began using Phentermine inconsistently around the end of September 2011, got consistent in December-- until about March 2012. I tried to take it every 2 days, not everyday, but that really varied because I sometimes got desperate.

I lost weight, but I joined the gym in December I was going to the gym 4-5 times a week, doing Zumba and Spin. All Phentermine did was make me lose my appetite, meaning that I lost weight but it was not healthy weight. After a while...I needed to eat because I was working out HARD at the gym (getting dizzy etc‚??very scary). I ate more due to necessity but I continued to take Phentermine and did NOT lose any extra weight, I was stuck after having lost about 10-12 pounds. I also had the initial complaints of not being able to sleep, being anxious, jittery etc. Some of those symptoms subsided after the first two months. But I must say that I noticed a HUGE difference when I stopped taking Phentermine.

Since stopping I feel so much lighter, healthier, I still go to the gym, I have lost more weight since stopping Phentermine‚??and have been working out less. I feel like with Phentermine I was just housing toxins, I was irritable and even though I had all this extra energy for my work outs, now that I do not take Phentermine I feel so much better after my work outs, my body gets exhausted but I am able to fall asleep and wake up feeling like a million bucks.

I would say that if you need to condition yourself to eat less‚??sure try Phentermine, but you should def change your lifestyle and work out. Because if not, all you will do is eat and gain the weight right back (this was not my first round at Phentermine, I had many previous failed attempts, I hated the side effects).

You might initially lose weight, but this is not the magical solution that so many think it is going to be/hope it will be etc. I was originally 195-200 pounds, Phentermine helped me get to 182-185ish, but thats where I remained, after stopping and continuing the gym I have made it to 170 and decreasing (lost more weight in less time than the weight I lost while taking phentermine) also my diet has not changed much, I try to get in protein (fish, shakes etc, I do not eat meat‚??since way before Phentermine) I still eat french fries and pizza every now and again lol.

I hope this was helpful, I know I did not want to hear it before, but the true secret is hitting the GYM/working out and not over eating certain very delicious and stress soothing foods =).

In my opinion: Phentermine WILL make you lose your appetite, but it will only work for so long and has many different side effects. And if you do not change your lifestyle, those hungry days will be in vain.

I am currently 170 and 5'6, the scale goes between 167-170 (water etc) but this is much better than being stuck at 185, irritable and sleep deprived!

posted Jun 2nd, 2012 4:50 am


Michelle

Am I taking Phentermine wrong? I have been on Phen 30mg for 3 weeks now... I've lost 8 lbs. I know that's probably a healthy weight loss, but I see people posting that have lost that in 2 days. Sad thing is I lost the 8lbs in the first 4 days of taking the pill and haven't been able to lose anymore. I try to exercise, but my knees hurt really bad, but i do try and exercise lightly. I have cut out soda pop completely, do not eat anything fried. The only sugar i have is 1-2 tsp brown sugar in my oatmeal every morning. and I do not eat fast foods. I have no clue as to why i'm not losing anymore. I drink water like crazy, I'm only eating 1400-1500 calories a day. I normally take it at 930 every morning. I have breakfast at 730am. Should I take when I first get up? Then there is the problem of crashing around 4pm... I get off work at 5 so by then I'm so exhausted that I can barely keep my eyes open. Any info or suggestions is greatly appreciated!!

posted May 23rd, 2012 8:31 pm


Linda

I had experienced on the used of phentamine 4 times in 22 years and believe me it realy work. But it is very difficult and if I did it you could do it too. I was 211 pounds and I lost 81 in 6 months in 2008. From size 22, I went to size 4 small. I became so motivative that I do so on Facebook. You could find me under NenaValle

posted May 14th, 2012 2:49 am


Txgal

Started phentermine 37.5 on 4-27-12. Starting weight was 188. I'm 5'5". Today, 5-9-12 I weigh 180, so I've lost 8 lbs in 12 days. I do exercise at least an hour every day. I am also counting calories and drinking tons of water (yes, experiencing dry mouth). I did NOT take the pill over a 3 day weekend, and was pretty good at controlling my caloric intake without the pill. Goal weight is 145. I am concerned about long-term success and maintaining once I get to 145; so I have been focusing on life style changes, in lieu of a temporary diet. I would love to hear more long-term success stories.

posted May 9th, 2012 2:31 pm


Zak

I started Phen after doing some online research on 5/4/12. Before 6‚?? and 231 lb. Current I weigh 224 lb and I lost 7 lb in 4 days. Its crazy how fast it worked, may be I forgot to eat lol. I started exercise regularly 2-3 days a week with one hour. Side effects includes restless, dry mouth and anxious at times. I think that is small price to pay compare to its effectiveness. My plan is 2 months 30 lb with exercise.

posted May 7th, 2012 9:19 am



Irene Rivera Kjergaard

Stuff gave me the shakes really bad even though I was only taking half a dose. Also upset my stomach. Couldn't stay on it long enough to see any weight loss.

posted May 6th, 2012 7:29 pm


rico402

I lost 20lbs. in two and a half weeks...not for the chronic complainer. I only experienced dry mouth. My long term goal is to lose 100lbs. I‚??ve been trying to lose weight for about 8 years, I finally ask my doctor after researching diet pills.

posted May 6th, 2012 6:16 pm


Marisa

This will be my 5th day taking phentermine and I have lost just over 7 pounds. I have had some side effects including dry mouth and a jittery feeling. I cut out caffeine and this has helped with the jitters, but I now have been experiencing dull headaches. It has definitely decreased my appetite. I started a diet only 2 days ago and have exercised yet. I am 5 feet and my starting weight was 166. I am now 159. I have been struggling to lose weight since giving birth to my daughter almost three years ago. I am excited to have finally found something that works and definitely recommend this pill based on my experience so far. The side effects are worth enduring for a few months.

posted May 2nd, 2012 11:12 am


Ash

Side effects with phentermine? Have any of you had the side effect of the roof of your mouth hurting badly? I just started it today. I have tons of energy and am not hungry. But... I have a weird side effect... Everytime I eat the roof of my mouth hurts realy badly. I googled and googled and have not found anyone else say that they had this side effect...?

posted May 1st, 2012 11:15 pm


Ana

Thanks for this blog.I am thinking to start Phentermine diet.

posted Apr 26th, 2012 6:56 pm


Dana

I just took my 1st pill today! i weigh in at 206 and im 5'2 my goal is 125!!! i was always thin to thin then about 8 years ago i got sick and started gaining weight ive been sick off and on for 8 years i dont even look like me now!!! i really hope this works!!!! im ready!!!

posted Apr 21st, 2012 7:42 pm


vanessa

I am in LOVE!! A friend referred me to ask my doc about phentermine. I got my prescription. The first day I took it (37.5), I attended church and wasn't able to exercise, so I got a rush of energy and I felt like I could Fly. And then by 2pm I couldn't keep my eyes open I was exhausted. The next morning, I had lost 5 lbs!!! No joke! Then, after that, I exercised, and it was great because I have been very active and I dont get too tired like i used to before phentermine. I am now on day 15 and I have lost 15lbs so far. Some days I would lose 1-2lbs, and other days I would lose .3 or .5 lbs. Depending on what I ate or if I exercised hard. Anyway, I absolutely love the way I feel and the only side effect I can think of is I keep feeling anxious wondering how I will eat after i am off of phentermine. At night, I sleep like a baby, I highly recommend it!

posted Apr 15th, 2012 10:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account