Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 120 reviews

OPTIFAST

Program offers 12 weeks of meal replacement to help you lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1974
  • Founder: Novartis Medical Nutrition Corporation; now owned by Nestle HealthCare Nutrition
  • Stock Symbol: NSRGY
  • Headquarters: Florham Park, New Jersey
  • Accessibility: Online, weekly one-on-one counseling
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement, liquid
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

The OPTIFAST plan has been considered the ace of liquid-based diets since 1974. The meal replacement drinks and bars are recommended by physicians for patients weighing more than 50 pounds over their ideal weight or with a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 30 or more. OPTIFAST is recommended to help obese individuals prepare for gastric bypass surgery as well. All participants have full access to professionals like doctors, dietitians and counselors.

The OPTIFAST program follows strict guidelines to ensure the health and safety of patients with three key areas of concentration - medical, behavior and nutrition. Patients have an initial medical exam to make sure they meet the program criteria.

Progress is monitored during weekly one-on-one and group counseling, to help encourage healthy lifestyle changes.

PRO
  • People will lose weight on the introductory phase
  • Your weight loss is monitored by their experts
  • Proven results with clinical studies and over 1 million participants
  • Program gives support and counseling along with weight loss
  • Medical monitoring while on the program
  • Offers decrease in cholesterol, high blood pressure and high blood sugar levels
  • Great tasting meal replacement shakes
CON
  • Doubtful that most health care professionals would recommend being on a meal replacement plan for any extended period of time
  • Program consists of all liquid diet
  • May be cost prohibitive for some
DIET and NUTRITION

To participate in Optifast, you must first complete a preliminary medical exam. You will be assessed to determine any risk factors and make sure you are a good fit for the program. After passing that exam, you are given a personalized weight loss plan that is based on your current weight and your goals. You are monitored throughout the entire process. Your meals will consist of the Optifast shakes and meal replacement bars.

EXERCISE

You get a customized activity plan for your fitness level and schedule.

CONCLUSION

Maybe the OPTIFAST meal replacement is nutritionally sound, but there are plenty of other programs that have you making sound choices with real food. This program is also very expensive. This combination can only lead to the conclusion that there are other choices that would come before OPTIFAST.

Common Misspellings

optyfast, opti fast, optifast progarm


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Medifast , VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 13, 252 total comments)

Lisa

Can anyone tell me how many ounces are in the ready-to-drink boxes of Optifast 800?

posted May 29th, 2009 12:20 pm


fatmess

i really need to know where to find these shakes without paying so much money. thank you

posted May 25th, 2009 2:22 am


MarkMac

Just started Optifast today. Reading all these reviews is very encouraging and motivating. I need to lose 60lbs to get back to normal-healthy weight.

posted May 20th, 2009 4:44 pm


Shannon

I started Optifast 4/27/09 and so far I've lost 15 lbs or so. My weight loss is not what I was told it would be, but I can live with it. If I go back to when I start losing weight, then so far I've lost nearly 40 lbs., down from 212. I still have a long way to go and I intend to go until I get to my pre-baby weight of 120-125 lbs. I will admit that the program is expensive, but if you have insurance, it will pay for the doctor visit, just not the product itself. I've been on the Optifast 800 plan and they have the soups and bars and things at the CONCI center in Columbus, but I prefer the shakes only because it's easier to find cold water on the run than it is to find hot water. Crystal Light popsicles are great, as are diet orange pop and diet Hawaiian Punch and diet V8 Splash Berry Blend. All these can be consumed on the Optifast plan. It would be great if insurance paid for the product, but I guess it would make too much sense.

posted May 16th, 2009 11:25 am


Shumba

In the US, are any of you able to find or order the Optifast chicken or tomato soup? I have heard they are out of stock, and havent been able to order any since Jan 09. If any of you know a supplier with soups, please help.

posted May 15th, 2009 2:13 am


PEGGY

I have been on this program for 2 weeks now and I have lost 13 lbs...the first week was really hard but now I am getting use to it...gotta have a very strong will to lose the weight or this diet is not for you..keeping busy also helps so I dont get too hungry.

posted May 5th, 2009 3:24 pm


NicoleD

I'm on my 2nd week and I've lost 18lbs. total, my cravings are almost zero at this point; these words are a great inspiration to me.
NOTHING TASTE, AS GOOD AS THIN FEELS.
Hope it inspires you as well: )

posted May 5th, 2009 11:17 am


Elisabeth

Amazing!!!! It works and I 100% recommend it. If you are tired of being overweight, want something with results, and are willing to stick with what they tell you to do - this is THE Program. I am 38 years old and grew from 125 pounds to 170 over the past 3 years! I tried EVERYTHING!! Optifast works and it works fast. I started the program a week ago and have already lost 5 pounds. I am certain this will get me where I need to be. I am NOT hungry since I am eating something every 3 hours. It works with my very busy schedule ( I travel a lot for business) and I don't have to think about it. The shakes are actually GOOD, the tomato soup tastes great and the bars do not have that vitamin taste - love them.

I will certainly keep everyone posted on my progress but am very excited to see these results and it's a HUGE motivator to stay with it.

posted May 1st, 2009 4:15 pm


CATHY

I had just about given up on dieting, up to 236 this will be my last chance. Started the program 4/15/09 and have lost 8lbs. Not hungry very often, but favorite food flashes in my mind often. 49 years old and would like to feel good, and look good. I went on line to get inspired, and it worked. Thanks for the positive messages. I will keep going strong.

posted Apr 30th, 2009 6:58 pm


NICOLE

Way to go Carla, isn't it a wonderful feeling.
I packed my pounds on in 2 years, and got tired of being uncomfortable in my own skin, I feel in control of my body again. I'm on a schedule now, I don't give myself a chance to get hungry, in between shakes, I drink 2 quarts of water, 1 qt with a yummy Benefiber citrus punch drink mix, thats filling for me and it all seems to be working, I have more energy and clarity than i've had in years.
WE ARE GETTING THERE!

posted Apr 29th, 2009 9:28 am


carladee57

I love this program. Nicole, it sounds like you and I have the same amount of weight to lose. I just completed my first week and am thrilled with my 10 lb. weight loss. It definitely will keep me motivated this week. Are you still feeling hungry at all?

posted Apr 28th, 2009 5:41 pm


Carla

I started Optifast on 4/20/09 and after one week, 4/27/09, lost 10 lbs.! I couldn't belive it. I was thrilled. I started this at 224 and now weight 214. My goal is 170 and I'm not going to quit!!! I'm looking forward to learning to eat healthy and sticking with this for the rest of my life. I want to do this for my health. At 51 years old, it's about time I lose this weight once and for all!

posted Apr 28th, 2009 10:59 am


NICOLE

Started Optifast on Monday 4/20, weighed in @204, today is Monday 4/27, I weighed in @ 190, the first day was a little trying but I got through it, piece of cake : ) after that, 40 more to go.

posted Apr 27th, 2009 2:37 pm


Mark

I tried tons of diets and exersices and non cut it. Ive been on this for 2 weeks and have lost 14lbs

posted Apr 27th, 2009 12:21 am


donna

Has anyone had any success with Wonderslim products as opposed to Optifast products. I have an appointment next week to start an Optifast program and need some feedback on what to expect. Thanks

posted Apr 15th, 2009 11:40 am


Gina

Lost lots of weight. It was easy to do because it made eating simple.

posted Apr 6th, 2009 9:54 pm


anne

Is anyone following this program without going to a clinic or a nutrionist/counselor? How important is the medical monitoring during this program? I can buy this product on line, but I was curious to know if anyone is using the product without medical supervision?

posted Apr 5th, 2009 7:43 pm


Jamie

I started the Optifast Program 2/18/09. I first weighed in at 192.5 lbs. As of 3/25/09 (5 weeks later) I weigh 167.5. I have lost 25 lbs!!!! I of course was sceptical before starting this program, and after seeing results already I am THRILLED that I took this step to getting back to me!!!! I so wish I would have done it sooner!!! I am soooo much more happy than I was before I started this program! I feel good, I'm looking better, I have energy, I'm not hungry, and with having a 10 and 2 year old in the house I've gotta be on my feet!!! My clothes are now falling off of me and I LOVE IT!!!! I have my meals equally spaced out so I don't get hungry. I have a shake at 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, and at 9pm I have one chocolate bar they also offer. I like to save the chocolate bar until the end of the night ~ it's my treat for the day! Plus it's something to chew! ;) I like my coffee and I'm allowed 2 cups a day. I use 1 packet of Splenda, and liquid flavoring (vanilla bean or hazelnut- there are plenty more to chose from) but... SUGAR FREE!!! And it tastes great! Water is also Extremely important, so I get the off-brand (help save $) Crystal Light packets to put in my water and it's not a problem b/c it tastes like kool-aid! I go to the meetings and in the 1 1/2 hr. that I'm there, I weigh in, give my "order" of what shakes, etc..that I want for the next week, see the doctor, and participate in the group meetings. It doesn't take that much time out of my day and it's another motivational boost to keep on going!!! I have been walking more, I got an exercise ball that I've been working on (not much unfortunately), but I just got my YMCA membership today, and I plan on starting Zumba and Kick-boxing ASAP!! Summer is coming and for the first time in 4 years I'd like to feel comfortable enough to wear shorts. To anyone that is hesitant about this program ....believe me I WAS YOU!!!! And I wouldn't change my decision for anything!!!! The best thing is you actually see results RIGHT AWAY!!! That is what I needed for my motivation! I'm a numbers person, if the scale isn't moving I'm NOT happy. So far it keeps moving in the right direction and has given me every motivation I need to keep this weight off! SOOO HAPPY I did this! Good Luck to all!!!

posted Mar 31st, 2009 12:38 pm


Jeri

The Optifast Program works and it works fast. I've have been on the program since January 13, 2009. It is now March 21, 2009 and I have gone from 201.7 lbs. to 170 lbs. I have never veered from the program: 5 shakes a day (or 4 shakes and 1 soup). I drink one shake every 3 hours consistently. Just when I start to get hungry and I can have a shake. It's that easy. My success has everything to do with the program PLUS I am exercising on my elliptical 60 minutes 6 days a week. I am 52 years old an have never been active. I have been a "sometimes" exerciser. I finally committed to diet and exercise because it started affecting my health. In order to motivate myself to exercise, I bought a beautiful HD TV, planted my elliptical in front of it in my bedroom and vowed that I would only watch that television while i was on the elliptical. Since I have been a lifelong avowed couch potato, I knew that if I couldnt watch my favorite TV shows unless I was on the elliptical, I would commit to it. I never thought in my life that I could exercise for 1 hour a day. I drink my Optifast shake right before I start exercising. If i wait too long after I have a shake, my blood sugar tends to drop dramatically and I feel hungry. As long as I drink the shake first, I'm okay. I have attended several parties since I've started the program and I've really been fine. Just have the shake before I go. I am in an Optifast class of about 40 people. I would say that the majority of the people in the class have lost more weight than I have because they had more to lose. However, several of them have not been totally faithful to the program (but have still lost the weight). I never thought I could do something like this because I love to eat (and chew). The first month is hardest, I really missed chewing on something (you can chew gum but we know it's not the same as chewing food). Once the first few weeks are over, its really pretty easy. I'm committed to finishing the 20 week program at the end of May and then doing an additional 8 weeks to get the last few pounds off. After that, I will be on maintenance. That's the scary part!

posted Mar 21st, 2009 3:57 pm


Dee

Do you find that the Optifast makes you constipated?

posted Feb 9th, 2009 11:17 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account