| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 128 reviews


Program offers 12 weeks of meal replacement to help you lose weight.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1974
  • Founder: Novartis Medical Nutrition Corporation; now owned by Nestle HealthCare Nutrition
  • Stock Symbol: NSRGY
  • Headquarters: Florham Park, New Jersey
  • Accessibility: Online, weekly one-on-one counseling
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement, liquid
  • Gender: Male, female

The OPTIFAST plan has been considered the ace of liquid-based diets since 1974. The meal replacement drinks and bars are recommended by physicians for patients weighing more than 50 pounds over their ideal weight or with a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 30 or more. OPTIFAST is recommended to help obese individuals prepare for gastric bypass surgery as well. All participants have full access to professionals like doctors, dietitians and counselors.

The OPTIFAST program follows strict guidelines to ensure the health and safety of patients with three key areas of concentration - medical, behavior and nutrition. Patients have an initial medical exam to make sure they meet the program criteria.

Progress is monitored during weekly one-on-one and group counseling, to help encourage healthy lifestyle changes.

  • People will lose weight on the introductory phase
  • Your weight loss is monitored by their experts
  • Proven results with clinical studies and over 1 million participants
  • Program gives support and counseling along with weight loss
  • Medical monitoring while on the program
  • Offers decrease in cholesterol, high blood pressure and high blood sugar levels
  • Great tasting meal replacement shakes
  • Doubtful that most health care professionals would recommend being on a meal replacement plan for any extended period of time
  • Program consists of all liquid diet
  • May be cost prohibitive for some

To participate in Optifast, you must first complete a preliminary medical exam. You will be assessed to determine any risk factors and make sure you are a good fit for the program. After passing that exam, you are given a personalized weight loss plan that is based on your current weight and your goals. You are monitored throughout the entire process. Your meals will consist of the Optifast shakes and meal replacement bars.


You get a customized activity plan for your fitness level and schedule.


Maybe the OPTIFAST meal replacement is nutritionally sound, but there are plenty of other programs that have you making sound choices with real food. This program is also very expensive. This combination can only lead to the conclusion that there are other choices that would come before OPTIFAST.

Common Misspellings

optyfast, opti fast, optifast progarm

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Medifast , VF Smoothie

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 14, 262 total comments)


What is the SALT content of OPTIFAST??

posted Aug 12th, 2009 10:38 pm


Can anyone tell me what happens after you have lost the weight? Are you able to go back to eating regular meals? Are you able to eat regular food while on the diet? I am just asking because it would be impossible to drink shakes forever & just want to see how it is working for people coming off the diet. Thanks!!

posted Aug 11th, 2009 11:45 am


I just started Optifast 3 days ago. I weigh 165 but would like to get to a normal weight of 125. These last few days have been so hard. I find I get hungry more in the evening and start craving (a normal dinner). I actually "cheated" already and ate a very small, low calorie dinner in substitute for a shake. I'm so glad to see that so many of you have lost so much weight. I'm hoping I can do the same. Thanks for the motivation.

posted Aug 2nd, 2009 9:59 pm

Jeri Simpson

Sarah, If you are exercising for 1 hour every day, drinking 64 oz. of water, and sticking to the Optifast religiously, you will lose the weight. Also, only weigh yourself at the end of each week--not everyday. The speed in which you lose the weight also has to do with how much weight you have to lose. I had to lose 86 pounds. The first 10 weeks I averaged a 3 pound loss each week. The last 10 weeks I averaged a 2 pound loss each week. I am in my 25th week and am still averaging about 2 lbs lost per week and I have 26 pounds to go.

posted Jul 5th, 2009 5:18 pm


I have been on Optifast for 2 weeks now. During my 1200 calorie 'introductory' week prior to starting phase 1, I was able to lost 5 pounds on my own. I was disappointed that, even though I stuck to the diet, the 1st week on supplements, I only lost 1.8 pounds. I am nearing the end of the 2nd week on supplements and I have barely lost 1 pound.

I am doing EVERYTHING right. I just don't understand... I'm getting upset that I'm working so hard and not losing weight.

Thank you.

posted Jul 1st, 2009 2:05 pm


Help? I have been drinking optifast shakes for 30 days now. I have been on this before & only have enough for 3 more weeks. I don't have the food-transition information anymore (this time I was not medically supervised). If you have the info-please contact me...I know I'm getting close! I am on the "Optifast 70" 400 calories a day. Thank you-thank you!!!

posted Jun 27th, 2009 8:33 pm

Jeri Simpson

It is June 26, 2009. I started my weight loss and fitness journey on January 12, 2009 when I started the Optifast Program at Kaiser. On that date I weighed a whopping 201.2 pounds. Down only 7 pounds from my maximum weight of 208 (when I started Jenny Craig in January 2006). I had gotten down to a low of 168 in December 2006, went up to 172 and sustained that weight through August 2007. I quit Jenny Craig and slowing gain all of the weight back in 1 Ā½ years time.
I started Optifast with the intention that 2009 would be my year to lose the weight and then Iā??d slowing regain the weight in 2010. This has been my mentality for all diets that Iā??ve been on. But, for some reason, I changed my attitude rather quickly. I think it had everything to do with the Optifast Program and my instructor, Linda Roberts. All of a sudden something clicked inside my brain (finally). When I first started the program, I would get hungry by the end of the day. Iā??m sure it was because I was going from eating an average of 2900 calories a day down to a mere 800 calories a day. It took my body some adjusting. I went to bed hungry (and early) on several nights. But lo and behold about 4 weeks into the program, my body started adjusting to it. I am so glad I was committed to not cheating those first few weeks. 95% of the people in my Optifast class cheated and the class slowly devolved into just a few of us who stayed true by the end of the 20 week program. By giving myself the opportunity to ā??detoxā? from food, I was truly able to finally forget about it. I never thought Iā??d see the dayā?¦
At the end of my first month on Optifast, I looked back at my food and fitness journal and saw another pattern that was typical for me: although I stayed true to the food plan, I was only exercising intermittently (even though I had an elliptical trainer plopped right in front of my new HD TV). I made a decision. If I was strong enough to consume only 5 shakes and 64 ounces of water a day, I was determined enough to exercise every day too. So there it began. I started doing 20 minutes a day, then 30, then 40, then 50, then 60 minutes a day. The only day I would take off was the day I had my Optifast class. So from February to the first of June 2009, I faithfully got on that elliptical and spent an hour on it. Wow. Iā??m so proud of myself.
By the end of the 20 week Optifast program, I had lost 50 pounds. My weight was 152.2. I went from a size 18 to a size 10!
I started Phase 2 of the Optifast program on June 9, 2009. Itā??s the same as the 20 week program only in 8 week increments until I lose the rest of the weight. I changed up my exercise program for Phase 2. I reduced the elliptical trainer workout to 30 minutes, 6 days a week, and added 10 minutes of stretching and 15 minutes of weight training in its place. So, now I work out 55 minutes, 6 days a week: cardio, stretching, strength training. Again, wow!
It is June 26, 2009. I am now down to 143 pounds having lost 7 pounds since starting on Phase 2. My goal is 115 (my old Weight Watchers goal weight that Iā??d achieved at one time). Iā??ve been consistently losing about 2 pounds per week for a few months now so I figure Iā??ll be down to my goal weight by the end of September (just in time for my trip to England).

So, what am I doing differently now that Iā??ve never done before? Iā??m planning for my maintenance phase. In my dieting history, I would lose the weight and then spend my ā??maintenanceā? time gaining it back: ā??Iā??m thin now therefore I can eat anything I want and I donā??t even have to exercise.ā? That was my motto. Not anymore. Now I know that I must plan for my maintenance. Iā??ve purchased a whole slew of books: Eat This, Not That ā?? Supermarket Survival Guide (great book, learned a lot), Eat This, Not That ā?? The No-Diet Weight Loss Solution, Small Changes, Big Results, Volumetrics Eating Plan, Santa Monica Farmers Market Cookbook, and Cooking Light Complete Cookbook. Iā??m working my way through each book. Iā??ve also downloaded a ā??Meal Planā? template to my computer. My plan is to plan out all of my meals one week in advance using shopping tips and recipes found in these books. Planning my meals way in advance will be my key to maintaining control over what I eat. I know Iā??m not the kind of person who can make smart decisions at the spur of the moment. I need a plan. The other thing I am planning on doing is attending maintenance support classes once Iā??ve lost all of my weight. Iā??ve had to admit to myself that I have behaved like a food addict most of my life. Therefore, I need to do what addicts do. I know I need support.
I made the decision to change my lifestyle so that I could feel healthy again. In 2008 I was diagnosed with a fatty liver (couldnā??t they think of a better term to use when they came up with that?), gallstones, high cholesterol, and high blood pressure. I drive a cute little Mercedes SLK350 and I was having trouble getting in and out of the car without my body getting stuck between the seat and the steering wheel. When I traveled my butt just barely fit the seat and I had to hold my arms in so as not to infringe on my seatmate. My walk was turning into a waddle. I needed to make significant changes. When I signed up for Optifast last December, a 20 week program seemed so long. Now here itā??s been over 24 weeks and the time has flown by.
When I started this journey it had nothing to do with how I looked. But, boy, is it great to look fabulous. I threw out all of my old clothes and bought brand new size 10ā??s on ebay (I didnā??t want to spend a ton of money since Iā??m planning to continue to go down in size). I feel great. I am committed to eating healthy and exercising for the rest of my life. I will be 85 and will still be able to move!!!

posted Jun 26th, 2009 4:00 pm


I love this diet ! I have lost 25lb.'s since April 1st. I am losing slow so I will not regain ! I buy off ebay & I did get a check up 1st . I am doing this on my own & feel better than I have in 20 yr.'s ! I wore a 18W & they were so tight & now I am wearing an 14 misses & they are getting baggy so in about 2 weeks I will go for a 12 . My point try it ! You will love it ! I start my morning with a optifast choc. meal bar & one cup of BLACK coffee . Also I got the powder & the R2Drink shakes when I first started . Get the powder & get a shaker at GNC it has a sping in it 2 shake it . It works great & it is fast ! It tast better & you get more 4 your money ( 84 ) pk.'s & I put 10 0z. of cold water(bottled) & I drink a shake every 3.5 - 4 hours & I stay full & I may take an Nexium 1 time or less per week & B-4 2 per day & that did not help sometimes ! Also make sure you drink bottle water or fillter ! I drink the 20 oz an I drink around 6-8 per day . I hope this helps those of you who want 2 know how many oz..'s you get in the R2Drink ( get the powder) & ebay is where I get mine & check the date & ask if they do not say ! I will get my blood work done again the end of the month & I am sure it is going 2 be great !! I am doing this 4 me & 2 drop 50-55 lb.'s but most of all 4 me & I feel great ! People ask me all the time how much do you want 2 loss & I say 1 lb. at a time ,cause it is 2 much pressure on someone 2 say a big # when you just say 1 lb. at a time ! Good luck 2 all of you ! I hope you all have a bess day !

posted Jun 12th, 2009 12:21 am


I have been on Optifast since 2/5/09 I started at 241 lbs, I am now at 168 lbs. I love the program, I have never cheated and I exercise at least 4 days a week. It's the easiest diet I've ever done and I've done a lot, I plan to make this my last diet.

posted Jun 2nd, 2009 10:24 pm


There's 8 oz. per container.

posted Jun 2nd, 2009 8:38 am


Can anyone tell me how many ounces are in the ready-to-drink boxes of Optifast 800?

posted May 29th, 2009 12:20 pm


i really need to know where to find these shakes without paying so much money. thank you

posted May 25th, 2009 2:22 am


Just started Optifast today. Reading all these reviews is very encouraging and motivating. I need to lose 60lbs to get back to normal-healthy weight.

posted May 20th, 2009 4:44 pm


I started Optifast 4/27/09 and so far I've lost 15 lbs or so. My weight loss is not what I was told it would be, but I can live with it. If I go back to when I start losing weight, then so far I've lost nearly 40 lbs., down from 212. I still have a long way to go and I intend to go until I get to my pre-baby weight of 120-125 lbs. I will admit that the program is expensive, but if you have insurance, it will pay for the doctor visit, just not the product itself. I've been on the Optifast 800 plan and they have the soups and bars and things at the CONCI center in Columbus, but I prefer the shakes only because it's easier to find cold water on the run than it is to find hot water. Crystal Light popsicles are great, as are diet orange pop and diet Hawaiian Punch and diet V8 Splash Berry Blend. All these can be consumed on the Optifast plan. It would be great if insurance paid for the product, but I guess it would make too much sense.

posted May 16th, 2009 11:25 am


In the US, are any of you able to find or order the Optifast chicken or tomato soup? I have heard they are out of stock, and havent been able to order any since Jan 09. If any of you know a supplier with soups, please help.

posted May 15th, 2009 2:13 am


I have been on this program for 2 weeks now and I have lost 13 lbs...the first week was really hard but now I am getting use to it...gotta have a very strong will to lose the weight or this diet is not for you..keeping busy also helps so I dont get too hungry.

posted May 5th, 2009 3:24 pm


I'm on my 2nd week and I've lost 18lbs. total, my cravings are almost zero at this point; these words are a great inspiration to me.
Hope it inspires you as well: )

posted May 5th, 2009 11:17 am


Amazing!!!! It works and I 100% recommend it. If you are tired of being overweight, want something with results, and are willing to stick with what they tell you to do - this is THE Program. I am 38 years old and grew from 125 pounds to 170 over the past 3 years! I tried EVERYTHING!! Optifast works and it works fast. I started the program a week ago and have already lost 5 pounds. I am certain this will get me where I need to be. I am NOT hungry since I am eating something every 3 hours. It works with my very busy schedule ( I travel a lot for business) and I don't have to think about it. The shakes are actually GOOD, the tomato soup tastes great and the bars do not have that vitamin taste - love them.

I will certainly keep everyone posted on my progress but am very excited to see these results and it's a HUGE motivator to stay with it.

posted May 1st, 2009 4:15 pm


I had just about given up on dieting, up to 236 this will be my last chance. Started the program 4/15/09 and have lost 8lbs. Not hungry very often, but favorite food flashes in my mind often. 49 years old and would like to feel good, and look good. I went on line to get inspired, and it worked. Thanks for the positive messages. I will keep going strong.

posted Apr 30th, 2009 6:58 pm


Way to go Carla, isn't it a wonderful feeling.
I packed my pounds on in 2 years, and got tired of being uncomfortable in my own skin, I feel in control of my body again. I'm on a schedule now, I don't give myself a chance to get hungry, in between shakes, I drink 2 quarts of water, 1 qt with a yummy Benefiber citrus punch drink mix, thats filling for me and it all seems to be working, I have more energy and clarity than i've had in years.

posted Apr 29th, 2009 9:28 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account