Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

57%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 277 reviews
Nutrisystem

Nutrisystem Diet Review: Does it Work?

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Nutrisystem Diet is a weight loss plan offering portion and calorie controlled prepackaged foods as well as food suggestions.  It claims to be backed by 40 years of customer approved weight loss results.

The diet also is claimed to offer up to 5 pounds of weight loss within the first week. The company delivers their own meals and provides select portion sizes.  Suggestions are offered as to what foods to prepare, but the majority of what’s eaten will be Nutrisystem meals. Our experts have reviewed several diet plans and have hound the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers an all-natural stimulant free metabolism booster, as well as an appetite suppressing high quality duo protein formula. More information about the 18Shake diet can be found in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Nutrisystem Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to Nutrisystem's prepackaged meals:

Sugar

Calcium Propionate

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup

Sorbate

Fructose

Guar Gum

Maltodextrin

Xanthan Gum

Potassium Phosphate

Carrageenan

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Sodium Caseinate

Tocopherols

Calcium Propionate: Food preservative often added to processed meats, dairy products, and bread.  It’s considered slightly toxic by a pesticides group.

A study published in ScienceDirect found that when it was given to mice it:

“increase in oxidative stress markers… hyperactivity…Development of limbic kindled seizures”

Many potentially damaging effects were seen in the use of this ingredient.

Fructose: Simple fruit sugar that is sweeter than standard sucrose and glucose. It’s often added to things like soda, and other processed foods. A study by the Louisiana State University System found that it:

“did not suppress ghrelin, a major appetite-stimulating hormone”

Therefore, when using this ingredient it has not been shown to satiate appetite.  The same study also adds:

“fructose is poorly absorbed… is also entirely cleared by the liver”

This can be of issue to diabetics, and it’s the reason why fructose is associated with cardiovascular diseases.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seen via the link provided here.

Carrageenan: Thickener extracted from seaweeds which is added to thicken and bind ingredients.  A study by the British Industrial Biological Research Association found that it:

“produces ulceration in the large intestine”

Another study by the University of Iowa confirmed:

“carrageenan, has been associated with induction and promotion of intestinal neoplasms and ulcerations on numerous animal experiments”

These types of ulcers and lacerations can trigger serious potentially dangerous health effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener and binder added to processed foods.  It can be extracted from common allergens that include dairy, soy, corn, and wheat.

It may also potentially lead to gas and bloating.

Corn Syrup: Processed form of food syrup that is extracted from corn. It’s believed that this sweetener is a major reason why there’s an increase in obesity. Since it’s processed by the liver, excess amounts turn into fats in the form of triglycerides, which can be harmful both to the arteries and the heart. How Stuff Works.com also adds:

“researchers do know that fructose doesn’t stimulate production of insulin, leptin, or ghrelin... which play a part in telling the boy how much it needs to eat”

This can then potentially lead to obesity.

There are 3 unique plans offered by Nutrisystem as well:

  • Basic: Begins at $9.82 per day. Certain foods are preselected, support tools and online tracking is offered. Complemented by a 4 week turbo plan which claims to offer 10 pounds of weight loss in a month. This involves being allowed only 1,000 calories a day maximum.  
  • Core: Begins at $10.54 a day. You get to select from 100 different foods, as well as everything offered in the basic plan but with added dieticians and counselors support.
  • Uniquely Yours: For around $11.96 a day, 150 different food options are offered. One can order as much of the frozen food items as one wants. All the other features from the core and basic are offered.

The turbo 10 plan which lasts 4 weeks calls for a 1,000 calorie limit. Live Strong.com commented on this type of low calorie diet by sating:

“may make the diet difficult to follow over the long term and could potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies”

It can also be hard to maintain as so little food is offered at this limitation. It’s possible for there to be weight loss, but this is only because of extreme deprivation.  These types of low calorie diets are often only advised with the support and watch of a physician to track any issues.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be viewed in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Nutrisystem Diet Quality of Ingredients

 Many common processed ingredients are added to Nutrisystem’s prepackaged foods. Since the majority of foods eaten will be their meals, this makes this a very limited diet. These ingredients aren’t very wholesome, and they may actually make it more difficult to lose weight.

The diet also calls for a 1,000 calorie limit to start with, which can be extremely difficult. This is the reason why many users of Nutrisystem Diet have found it to not satisfy appetite.

There is the convenience of delivered food, but the kinds of foods are offered are only low calorie, and full of potentially harmful ingredients.  The link provided here has the top 10 best diet plans of 2016.

The Price and Quality of Nutrisystem Diet

Pricing varies both on the plan chosen and the kinds of foods one makes at home.  Web MD mentions the following for prices:

“expect to pay about $230 to the mid $300s a month for the Nutrisystem foods, plus whatever you buy from the grocery store”

The price does not reflect the quality however, as many of the additives are cheap and often added to processed foods.  There’s also the issue that the kinds of ingredients used are already found in many other cheap foods available in supermarkets. The only difference in Nutrisystem is that the portions are smaller.

Business of Nutrisystem Diet

The company is owned by the Nutrisystem, Inc group, and they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800) 585-5483

Address: 600 Office Center Dr.

                   Washington, PA 19034

They have a total of 247 complaints on their Better Business Bureau page, and around 250 negative reviews on their Pissed Consumer page.

According from estimates of Pissed Consumer, $22,000 has been taken from consumers who tried to return products.

Here are what some customers had to say about the company:

“Bad customer service”

“nothing but chemicals and artificial ingredients”

“tried on many occasions to contact customer service but was out on hold”

“told that I have to pay back the shipping fee plus a discount… total to around $80”

People often complained about the lack of a quality returns system. Some were forced to have to pay expensive cancellation fees, even though they were promised a money back return.  The majority of negative reviews were due to advertising disputes, and issues with the foods. Click the link here to see a comprehensive top 10 list of the best diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Nutrisystem Diet

Customer reviews for the diets can be found online, here are some select quotes:

“tastes like any food you buy... that has to be microwaved, except you get a lot less of it”

“food is terrible and I just can’t get myself to eat meat that I store in my pantry”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“this food is just the worst I’ve ever eaten anywhere”

People often complained that the quality of food was extremely poor, and that it tasted artificial and bland. Many of the foods were described as having a TV dinner style of presentation, but with really small portions.

Customers were also concerned to find that there were many artificial ingredients and chemicals added to the foods. The top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Nutrisystem Diet Work?

When researching the Nutrisystem Diet it’s important to look at the customer reviews, quality of ingredients, and the science behind the weight loss. The strategy is fairly simple, as pre-packaged meals are offered which are lower in calories. This makes it easy to diet without having to meal prep and count calories. The problem lies in the kinds of ingredients used, which many are processed and cheap to add. Many customers felt that the quality of food was poor, and they were alarmed about the lack of a quality return policy.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s a combination of a metabolism booster made without stimulants, and a nutritionally balanced meal replacement both which are free of artificial ingredients or cheap fillers. Customers also agree it’s a potent combination for weight loss.

Both the meal replacement and the metabolism booster are backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. All purchases are backed by this risk free offer. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet Plan when you click the link found here.

How Does Nutrisystem Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Nutrisystem
  • 57 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 15, 284 total comments)

agss241

Can't really say I like it or don't like it. Most of the Nutrisystem foods I have found to be very good. I have lost weight, close to 100 pounds. You can lose, but you have to strictly stay with the plan. No nibbling or munching on any "oh, this won't hurt any". It will.
Caution: Be very sure of what you're getting. The advertised 28 day meal plan is not 28 days. If you order the "Core Plan", the first order is sent with 3 lunches and 3 suppers less, the second is shorted by 4 each, and with the 3rd order you only get 18 lunches and 18 suppers, 24 breakfasts. When I complained about it I was told they do that so I "...can enjoy some of my favorite meals on my own". I didn't pay $334 for the "enjoyment" of going to the supermarket and paying for more foods. I was bitterly disappointed in this fact. Even if they did send a full 28 days supply, the food would be overpriced.
Based on that I definitely WOULD NOT recommend Nutrisyatem, even though I did lose my weight by sticking to the plan. Nutrisystem is absolutely nothing that you can't do on your own, just commit yourself to a diet plan and stay with it. Some prepackaged meals from the markets, Hormel's "Complkeat" line, and a few others, id just as good and much cheaper.

posted Aug 30th, 2016 9:39 am


Eva

I ordered Nutrisystem because I thought it would be a good to have pre-prepared meals and save me the time that I was spending doing meal prep. I'm not a foody and will almost eat anything. I'm not picky and rarely complain about food but Nutrisystem is literally the worst tasting food I have had in my life. I do not feel full after eating the meals. I eat fruits, vegetables and nuts with the meals and as in between snacks and I am still completely unsatisfied when I go to bed at night. This food is not a good idea when working out. I go to the gym every day and I was getting dizzy and not feeling good while eating this food. I switched back to eating a healthy diet of real food and quickly shed pounds and felt better. I didn't lose any weight on Nutrisystem even while pared with daily exercise because my body went into starvation mode. I had let my boyfriend as well as numerous people at work try the food to make sure it wasn't just my taste buds but every person had the same conclusion. I let my personal trainer look at the back of the packages to see the nutrition facts and he was shocked that Nutrisystem is still in business and that people actually believe this food (that somehow sits in packages for months at a time without going bad or being refrigerated) is healthy for them. I fell for the scam so I hope this helps someone naive like me avoid a costly mistake. Please get on a food plan and buy fresh groceries it is so much cheaper, better tasting and healthier.

posted Aug 4th, 2016 1:08 pm


rochelle melitz

-

1. worst customer service.
2. Wait time is extremely long.
3. Becareful of expiration dates on salad dressings.
4. Online Chat is worthless

posted Apr 15th, 2016 10:42 pm


Rosy Burken

+

I used Nutrisytem in the past and it definitely helped me lose weight. The food is good not Michelin star chef but helps you control your calories in.

posted Apr 6th, 2016 4:19 pm


Patricia

Maybe a class action suit should be brought against Nutrisystem....I wonder how many people have been mistreated in the very same methods....they do make it impossible for the customer to delete their credit card info...they set up a second login site for me that I didn't even know about and the way I found out they were sending an order (unauthorized) was not on the login site I knew about, but when I saw the money being deducted from my account...I called them and they said I couldn't reject the order because it was already shipped...I said I would return the order to sender and they said they would charge me $99 (as a rejection fee)....WHAT A SCAM...I've cancelled twice and am still waiting to see if I will get my money back....their answer is always, you'll hear in a few days....then you don't hear from them...WHAT A SCAM......WHAT A SCAM!

posted Apr 2nd, 2016 1:03 am


sue

+

I find that the convenience and constant reminder to stay healthy and monitor my calories is what keeps the weight off for me. Nutrisystem does just that. Easy, healthy, and routine.

posted Mar 30th, 2016 9:08 pm


Linda

I was very disappointed in the food. Your TV ads show delicious looking food and raves about how good it tastes. I found neither of these to be true. other issues: Too much chocolate, too many sweets, extremely small portions compared to Lean Cus. and Healthy Choice frozen dinners. I never felt satisfied eating your food, not hungry just not satisfied. Again, very disappointed/

posted Mar 28th, 2016 9:26 am


Edith Keeler

+

I started Nutrisystem on January 1, and set a goal to lose 100 pounds in 2016. Today is March 19, and I'm exactly 1/3 there, having lost 33 pounds. I have no real complaints about the food. Is it great? No. Is it as good as I'd cook for myself? No. Is it as good as what I'd get in a restaurant? No. But then again, cooking for myself and eating what I liked at restaurants got me to the point of needing to lose 100 pounds in the first place. The food isn't terrible. I've found exactly one thing that I thought was inedible, and other than that, it's mostly OK, with some really tasty things. What Nutrisystem has made me realize about my prior eating habits is that 1) my portions were TOTALLY out of whack, and 2) I thought I was eating enough vegetables in my old life, but I probably wasn't.

I have become RELIGIOUS about packing my food up for work every day. I always eat breakfast as well as lunch at work, and take 2 small snacks. I've figured out how to space everything so that I don't get ravenously hungry. I used to eat out for lunch every day; now the only time I do is for a special occasion (business lunch, someone's birthday, etc.) and with the tools Nutrisystem has given me, I can make better choices when I do eat out.

Is it pricey? Well, maybe. But considering I was eating out every day, at a cost of typically $12 or more a day for lunch, I'm really saving money, even buying the grocery items. When I do decide to cook instead of eating one of the meals, I usually splurge and buy something lo-cal but really good quality--like nice fresh sea scallops or ginormous shrimp, etc. It keeps me on my plan, it gives me something other than the Nutrisystem meals, and it also reminds me that I'm worth the good ingredients.

I haven't really fallen off the wagon yet, which is unusual for me and diets--I'm usually good for about 2 weeks.

I think Nutrisystem is great, and I'm going to stay on it as long as I can to reach my goal weight.

posted Mar 20th, 2016 1:48 am


Vanessa Sylvain

-

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!
I tried a 1 month plan, the food wasn't all that great so I contacted the company to cancel on 2/21 and they still have not cancelled my account. I contacted them again today and my account is still not cancelled. This company is a SCAM!! All they want is your credit card information so that they can keep billing you. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE BILLED $249 FOR A PRODUCT YOU DON"T WANT! Now I will have to protest charges with my credit card company!

posted Mar 18th, 2016 7:57 pm


Michelle Smith

+

It has been working for me and I saved a bunch with promo codes I found

posted Mar 5th, 2016 11:00 pm


Bobbi & Steve

-

As many people do, after the holiday season, my husband and I decided to get serious about losing some weight. I had a relative who was doing Nutrisystem so we thought we'd give it a try. We each ordered our month's worth of food. A couple of days later we received a boat-load of breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks. The quantity of food was generous - the quality - not so good. For me, the number of sweet breakfasts (chocolate muffins, maple infused pancakes) were not what I would consider healthy choices. I tended to use them as snacks. The lunches and dinners ranged from "OK" to "disgusting". After a couple of weeks we both decided we would finish up the food we had and not continue.

Shortly thereafter we received emails that our next shipments were on their way. We both frantically called Nutrisystem to find out why they were sending us more of this yucky food. After several phone calls we found out that we had unknowingly signed up for a minimum of 2 months worth of food and if we wanted to cancel the 2nd order we would have to pay $99 EACH! After much grumbling we had to resign ourselves to accepting what we both felt was a ridiculous payment for food we didn't want or even like. We chalked it up to live and learn and read the fine print.

But then - a shipment of food showed up on our doorstep! It turns out the person my husband talked to on the phone cancelled his membership but did not cancel the food order. The person he talked to said we could ship the food back and sent us an email with return shipping labels. They also mentioned that the frozen portion of the order was on its way and we could keep that since we wouldn't be able to return it safely (dry ice etc.) OK - so we had to make an extra trip to our local FedEx drop- off place and try to find room for more frozen yuck. THEN we got charged for the shipment!! At this point, after another call, we were told we would get a credit on our credit card 7 days after they received the return shipment of the box of food. Needless to say, it has been a frustrating and expensive experience. I wouldn't recommend it at all. And we'll have to find something to do with all this food. The cats won't even touch some of it.

posted Feb 15th, 2016 9:04 pm


inok

+

starting 3rd month lost 17 lbs just need to lose 5 more.Bought veggies and fruit pills from swansonvitamins help with my veggie fruit intake

posted Feb 15th, 2016 5:37 pm


samsilver

+

I lost 17 lbs in 2months I am on the basic you have to eat what they give you. If your hungery just eat some veggies you can eat all you want. Plus my wife and I going hiking in the park for 3 mlies every day that helps a lot

posted Feb 11th, 2016 4:05 pm


R. Lane

-

My wife and I tried the Nutrisystem for only two weeks. We were guaranteed to lose 5 lbs each in the first week. Following the instructions and diet, we only lost 1 lb between us. We are returning the remainder to QVC. The food is bland and expensive. We always felt hungry.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 4:27 pm


Mica Campbell

-

So many things happened I can't even begin. First and foremost, when I ordered my 30 program, I CLEARLY specified that I DO NO eat pork or beef. They sent me pork and beef entrees with my 7 day boost pack. I called several times and waited on hold for an hour each time. I was told that a supervisor would call me back so I wouldn't have to wait on hold any longer. FOUR DAYS LATER with NO call I called again and waited on hold for over an hour again. I have started my program 7 day boost program but will not have food to eat on Friday (four days away)since they sent the wrong meals. Their solution is to send me to a counselor that can talk me through what foods I can buy at the grocery store to replace the meals they sent incorrectly. I PAID for these meals and now I am responsible to pay for meals that need to be replaced because they sent the wrong items??. They refuse to send the items 3 day air much less NDA. COMPLETELY absurd. Also BE VERY careful when placing your order. They very sneakily put you on an auto- renewel program. IF you happen to catch it in the very tiny print way down below it is then nearly impossible to find how to change it. I consider myself a very computer savvy person. I order items online on a weekly basis, no exaggeration! However, they fooled me and I imagine have fooled MANY others. My options now are...to hope my meals arrive to me on Friday but I have no guarentee and I will either have to pay another $334.00 for another months meals or pay $99.00 to cancel early. I only need to lose about 7 pounds so I guess I will be forced to pay the $99

posted Jan 12th, 2016 12:41 am


KateT

Found the food to be quite strange tasting and very salty. Got heartburn daily. The variety is good but somethings tasted better than others.

posted Dec 9th, 2015 3:32 am


Shawn

+

In the first week I have dropped 12lbs. I also exercised for 15 minutes on my Bowflex Max Trainer. The program works as long as you follow it. Many people have lost 100+. There are many ways to make their program more affordable such as buying gift cards through Costco (20% off), auto-ship discount, and I would be happy to send you a code for $30 off your first order. Send your name and email address to nutrisystemdiscount@outlook.com and I will get you a code for $30 off. Take the first step, get started today!

posted Oct 11th, 2015 7:06 pm


Kathy S

There is no guarantee to get your money back. I called each week for the first 3 weeks about not losing weight, and the horrible gas I was experiencing. They said it was the fiber. On the 4th week, I told them I did not want to order a 3rd month. They said I could cancel my second month. I told them to go ahead. Then I call back and they are charging me $80 to cancel the second month! I would tell everyone I know not to fall for this. I had to pay for two months, just to keep from getting charged $80 to cancel, when I called them each week for three weeks with my dissatisfaction. Read other reviews. I am not the only person this happened to.

posted Sep 14th, 2015 6:56 pm


Mariel

-

THIS IS A HORRIBLE COMPANY and only a MEDIOCRE DIET! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! I saw an add for nutrisystem and became excited about the prospect of losing some weight. I am not a super heavy girl but I stood to loose about 20 pounds and thought that two months on a diet like this one would be a perfect solution for me to shed that final weight. I soon spoke with a rep for nutrisystem and she assured me that I would be signed up for two months ONLY and that I would only be charged for those two months as they shipped. It sounded perfect. I got to choose my food over the phone and everything was in order. When I received my first month of food EVERYTHING was wrong. The complete shipment was full of food that I never chose, some foods that I am allergic too and others that just plain disgust me (a bag of tuna? No way). So I made my first call to customer service. Instead of offering me a completely new shipment (which would have been the proper suggestion since it was obviously their mistake). They asked if I could just replace the foods that I absolutely hated or was allergic to. So out of utter annoyance I did just that. My replacement shipment arrived soon after but was missing the dessert portion. SO I ONCE AGAIN MADE ANOTHER CALL to customer service and they promised to send the desserts as soon as possible. My second order was at least what I asked for but boxes were squished and broken and holes in macaroni and cheese. It was disgusting. Half of the food is disgusting, honestly, but that is not my issue. I knew I was signing up for a mediocre diet. I didn't know I was signing up to be screwed over. They unknowingly sent me a third package and when I called about it told me it would be rerouted. When it was not rerouted I called again and was told that I would return it FREE OF CHARGE. When I was refunded my money, however, $20 was missing from the refund. I called again and couldn't get ahold of anyone. Finally I got through and was told that my refund wasn't okayed by a supervisor but soon would be.... Although customer service was very helpful with fixing all of my concerns... THERE SHOULDNT HAVE HAD TO BE SO MANY CONCERNS. What a horrible company. I feel bad for the poor girls that work in that call office. Never order from them unless you want to be on hold for the rest of your life eating disgusting meals.

posted Aug 10th, 2015 5:32 pm


Sallie

-

They are a rip-off. I got one carton of food. I got real sick, lost 40 pounds and never opened the food. 4 months later, they're telling me they are going to charge me $70.00 because I didn't order 2 months of food. HUH????Cheaters under the cloaks of Mormons!

posted Jul 25th, 2015 12:31 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started with this 40% off coupon! Nutrisystem Coupons

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

In January 2016, Nutrisystem launched Turbo10, a clinically tested program that promises up to a 10-pound weight loss and an overall reduction of five inches from the waist, hips, thighs, chest, and arms in just the first month. In a clinical study sponsored by Nutrisystem, those who followed Turbo10 lost 3x more weight, 3x more total body inches and 3x more body fat in the first month compared to those who followed a do-it-yourself weight loss plan. In addition to weight loss, those on Turbo 10 also significantly reduced their systolic blood pressure after the first month.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

  • Start Here for Discount Offering

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

In 2016, Nutrisystem has reformulated more than 50% of the Nutrisystem menu items to contain no artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners. Whole grains were also increased in a large number of their foods with the goal to have at least 50% of the grains coming from whole grain sources while still meeting the USDA guidelines for fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium, carbohydrates, fiber, and protein.

In an effort to keep with customer demand for more fresh-frozen selections, Nutrisystem unveiled Uniquely Yours, which allows for ultimate flexibility in your food choices, allowing consumers to choose between ready to eat and fresh frozen menu options, with no restrictions, from more than 150 menu items.

As part of the Turbo10 program, Nutrisystem also introduced Turboshakes, the company’s first ever line of shakes with protein and probiotics to support digestive and immune health and help reduce belly bloat.

EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by

Related Diets: Medifast , Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Nutrisystem?