Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

68%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews

NutriSystem Advanced

A new heart healthy approach from this long-trusted weight loss program.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons

The new NutriSystem Advanced program builds upon the original NutriSystem program by adding omega-3 fatty acids and natural fibers to its eating program all in an effort to promote weight loss.The omega-3 fatty acids are scientifically recognized to promote heart health and getting adequate fiber keeps you feeling satisfied longer. This new system still keeps the "good carb" Glycemic Advantage of the original NutriSystem, which is its trademark golden ticket to shed the pounds.

The Advanced program is easier to follow and healthier too with the added bonus of color-coded meals and the inclusion of fatty acids and natural fiber in its products. OmegaSol and NutriSol are the newest ingredients in the Advanced program's food. Both of these components contains a blend of heart-healthy soluble fibers and omega-3 fatty acids to create a feeling of fullness while promoting heart health. The program totes itself as being a real-life solution to losing weight. You get to eat throughout the day consume pre-packaged and pre-measured NutriSystem entrees, snacks and desserts. Sixty new foods have been added to the new NutriSystem Advanced program. Just like the traditional NutriSystem, you choose one of seven 28-Day programs that is right for you (Women's, Men's, Women's Silver, Men's Silver, Women's Type II Diabetic, Men's Type II Diabetic or Vegetarian). If you hate to shop, measure, and prepare your food and want to boost your heart health, this latest innovation from NutriSystem might just be for you.

PRO
  • Color-coded meals make organizing your new NutriSystem Advanced program and choosing your foods that much easier
  • Healthy for your heart
  • New Personalized meal planner
  • Lots of online support
  • More foods to choose from
  • Continued innovation from a trusted brand
  • Named #4 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • Vegetarian lunch entrees on the new NutriSystem Advanced program do not contain OmegaSol
  • Since many of the foods contain nuts, those with a mild or severe peanut allergy cannot be on the NutriSystem program
  • If you're vegan, you cannot be on the NutriSystem plan
  • Once you go off the program, you are then responsible for the calorie-counting, measuring and food preparation of your daily eating routine
DIET and NUTRITION

All the calorie-counting, measuring and preparing is done for you with the new NutriSystem Advanced program. Most of the NutriSystem meals need very little preparation that take only a few minutes and can be done with a microwave or on a stove. Also, the food requires no refrigeration so you can keep a stash at the office and in your kitchen cupboard. Based upon your specific plan you can also eat fresh fruits, vegetables and other snacks that are outlined in your NutriSystem Meal Planner.

EXERCISE

Each new NutriSystem Advanced program comes with an exercise DVD that you are encouraged to follow. It is recommended to talk to your doctor before beginning this exercise program.

CONCLUSION

The new NutriSystem Advanced program takes the guesswork and labor out of dieting for you with its newly organized and easier weight loss program. With the added bonus of heart-healthy omega-3 fatty acids and fiber in its 120 food products, this new program is also keeping up with the latest in research which has lauded the nutritional benefits of these two health essentials. NutriSystem's Counseling Team or the Nutritional and Dietary Services Team are also on-hand to answer your questions and offer support as you make your way through the program. If you can afford the cost of the food, the food's portion size and adherence to its Meal Planner, the new NutriSystem Advanced program is a nutritionally-sound way to lose weight. Plus, with seven different plans to choose from that are specifically designed to meet certain nutritional requirements, it is definitely a program that has done its homework to provide you with a meal plan that best suits your needs to lose weight.

Common Misspellings

Nutrasystem, nutrisytim, nuttrasystem, nutri system, nutrisystem advance, new nutrisystem, nutrisystem.com

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Medifast , Nutrisystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 49 total comments)

Mimi

I've just started it and find some of the food, such as the tomato sauce and mushroom risotto has overpowering flavor. Just too much. Many of the other dishes are quite good. I'm going to stick to it for a while.

posted Jan 9th, 2009 9:32 pm


jeff calder

i like the system,easy to use,food is good.to all you people bagging on it.your gonna stay fat,because you have the wrong mindset.im eating it and excercising the weight is coming off at a steady rate.yay nutrisystem

posted Dec 30th, 2008 6:27 pm


Jenny

It wasn't so much the food as the crooked way they would charge after you cancel. You call and ask why they charged days afterwards, and they say you'll get a refund, but they have your money for a couple of days. I think they are very much a racket and not a good company to deal with, especially with your credit card number.

posted Dec 10th, 2008 9:31 pm


HGJ

BAD

posted Nov 14th, 2008 4:53 pm


Paula

I love it! Been on the advance program for 3 weeks and have lost 20 pounds. I am a huge fan of home cooking and was very afraid of what the food was going to taste like, and to my surprise it is pretty good. Portions are just fine, the first week I was hungry but that has all passed. I am planning to order my second month because I am very pleased with the outcome. Anybody that is serious and ready to lose weight, this is a great program.

posted Nov 6th, 2008 12:07 pm


Nor Cal

I've been on the program for a little over a week now and love it. The food is good and tastes pretty good as well. Maybe if your used to deep fried twinkies and chicken fried stake you might have trouble sticking to the program, as this is the complete opposite. Don't expect to open your first package and magically you have dropped 10lbs already. I was only 150 lbs so actually fairly small, however I dropped 7lbs within 9days. You need to get your butt of the couch and exercise as well as eat the foods recommended and you will do great on the diet. Whoever says the food is desgusting don't listen and see for yourself. This is a simple solution to losing weight and as far as I'm concerned you don't really have anything to lose cuz you are fat already so giving it a try and maybe losing some of your weight should be motivation enough. If you don't have will power then definately stay away from the programa nd save your money. As far as portion sizes go they are pretty decent and will make you full, whoever says they don't fill you up and they are tiny, well I guess you are fat for a reason. This program is a mind make over and a new lifestyle it is not food to pig out on.

posted Oct 7th, 2008 4:14 pm


nellie

The food is God Awful, this was my 3rd attempt doing this program, I thought they improved the taste of the food, because it says new advanced improved, well it's not, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

posted Sep 30th, 2008 9:20 am


Nore

Im prego and do any min...Once i start this diet i hope to lose at least 10 pounds a month along with the nuphedine pills i heard there the best!!!

posted Sep 11th, 2008 6:18 pm


Julie

I've been on the program for 1 month now and I love it! It is so easy to follow, no counting or measuring! Not everything thing tastes GREAT but most of it is pretty good! To those of you who thought the portions were "tiny" Duh.. you are on a diet! That amount is what you are supossed to eat to lose weight! And if you follow it and eat your veggies, fruit and dairy you will not be hungry all the time!

posted Sep 5th, 2008 8:26 pm


NYR

I just started this program and so far I think the food is good. And of course it's small. It's a diet. And if all you think about is food, you're going to make yourself think that you are hungry when you're probably not. Whoever doesn't like this program obviously has no willpower. I think it's great and I know that it's going to work wonders for me. Good luck to everyone that is doing this program with me!

posted Sep 2nd, 2008 10:02 pm


lee

I love it!! It works!! I'd totally do a commercial for them Ha! I am on my 16th day and I have never eaten so well. I am a vegetarian so I got the advanced vegetarian plan. I don't use microwaves, so I use the stove top directions which is an option for all the food. The food tastes awesome to me , for processed food that is. That is the only thing that is not perfect to me, is that it has additives and the sweetener they use is splenda which is not good for you, but on the flip side I am willing to endure these non perfect aspects to gain the invaluable lessons of how to eat properly. If you follow the plan precicely then you'll have made a lifestyle change and that to me is better than just a diet plan. I have always been one of those people who would eat one huge meal a day, maybe two and never drink water only coffee. Or not eat at all or tried juice diets. But day two on this program I found that I was practically eating ALL Day long and full all day and didnt know if I cold finnish everything. Drinking 8 glasses of water is tough to do, but I force myself and its paying off big time. You do have to prepare your own dairy, protein and salads and that makes your meals much larger than the little entres they give you.When I get off this programm I'll have a whole new, better way of living and thinking about food. Oh and did I mention I've shrunk like crazy!!! I dont own a scale I just look at body mass and whether or not I can fit my butt into my skinny jeans. I'm closer to doing so now than I have been since I was 18year old!

posted Aug 26th, 2008 10:34 am


Carrie

Agree with Jen and Mel. I tried many things over many years to lose weight, and this is the only thing that has worked. If you put the little bit of time required in to make sure you are getting the fruits and veggies that you need in the right quantities, you won't be hungry, and there is no reason to crave "fresh" food. I customize my menu with the things I like most, and I have had no problem sticking to it. I don't feel as though I'm giving up anything! I've lost 10 pounds in just under 4 weeks.

posted Aug 7th, 2008 5:48 pm


tiffany

great program ! lost 32 lbs in 2 months, must excerise and drink plenty of water!

posted Jul 7th, 2008 7:06 pm


Jen

I agree with mel. There are so many people with awful opinions of this product. If you follow it exactly and stop thinking ew this is gross when you open the prepackaged food, you might actually start enjoying it! I personally look forward to my next meal. I've only been on the diet for a week, but I have lost a few pounds already. Some days I do great and can even cut out a protein or a fat serving here and there, but other days I struggle a little bit, eating everything that the plan allows. I think the people who complain are just not prepared for a real diet. Diet's are about cutting back portions. When you are used to oily, fried foods, that also means cutting out the taste of the food as well. If you just do it, in a few weeks, you'll start thinking that the food is actually good. It's hard to adjust from an unhealthy lifestyle. But once you do, I think you'll see this diet and food quality a bit differently.

posted Jun 10th, 2008 5:04 pm


mel

dont listen to people who say its bad because everybody is different with there tastebuds. I love the food and actually i get excited when i eat it. Also you are not hungry all the time because they tell you food u can eat unlimited! sometimes i dont even eat everything and just follow what they tell you to do and you'll be fine.

posted Jun 5th, 2008 7:00 pm


ann

This plan is terrible! The food smells and tastes TERIBLE!!! I tried cooking the tuna and i had to open all the windows in the house because it smelt so bad! The only thing that was actually good was the cereal. Not the cereal bars, but the normal stuff! Meals come in cardboard containers and they say to cook or let it sit in there for a little bit, and when you eat it, it tastes like cardboard! IT WAS NASTY!!!! Also, the soy that is in the meals is a very bad soy that will, if eaten alot of, will make your system not be able to digest on its own. I tried this plan and i lost ALOT of weight the first two weeks because all i ended up doing was eating my veggies and fruits because the meals were disgusting!!!

posted May 23rd, 2008 8:53 am


ellen

I've lost 32 lbs on this program and I think it's great. You find your favorite foods, and then order what you want. In the beginning a few foods were questionable, but you learn what you like and can doctor up the foods to make them more enjoyable. If you eat all the fruit, vegetables, salads, low fat dairy and the meals Nutrisystem provides, you absolutely will not be hungry. I'm a big eater, and I can follow this program no problem. It also teaches you what normal portion sizes are. People who complain about Nutrisystem are just not ready to commit to a program! It works....and if it can work for me, who has tried every diet on the planet, it can work for anyone!

posted May 2nd, 2008 10:16 am


anonymous

I have been on this diet for 2 weeks and it sucks. The food is all processed, the portions are tiny. Not to mention that you dont even have to refrigerate any of the food. I am craving fresh food, and I am always hungry. I have been exercising for one hour 5 days a week, and after two weeks I have only lost 2 pounds. I do not recommend it at all. It is much healthier and cheaper to calorie count yourself!

posted Apr 22nd, 2008 10:24 am


anonymous

I tried nutrisystem and I didnt like it at all! I was hungry all the time, and the meals are all processed and gross. I will never try a diet again where every meal I eat doesnt need to even be stored in the fridge or freezer, and always needs to be microwaved. Dont let the food on the website fool you, the portions are tiny. If you are going to calorie count it is much healthier and easier to do it on your own

posted Apr 22nd, 2008 10:24 am


ANONYMOUS

I just ordered 2nd month and have lost 32 pounds. I do feel hungry most of the time, however when i eat something i shouldn't i don't feel well so staying on the program seems easier. I did want to speak to a counselor because many years ago when i joined this program i would go to a center and the councelor was what made a huge difference for me to lose weight. The over the phone councelor just referred me to the booklet in the food order. Not helpful at all.

posted Mar 27th, 2008 6:42 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account