Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

68%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews

NutriSystem Advanced

A new heart healthy approach from this long-trusted weight loss program.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons

The new NutriSystem Advanced program builds upon the original NutriSystem program by adding omega-3 fatty acids and natural fibers to its eating program all in an effort to promote weight loss.The omega-3 fatty acids are scientifically recognized to promote heart health and getting adequate fiber keeps you feeling satisfied longer. This new system still keeps the "good carb" Glycemic Advantage of the original NutriSystem, which is its trademark golden ticket to shed the pounds.

The Advanced program is easier to follow and healthier too with the added bonus of color-coded meals and the inclusion of fatty acids and natural fiber in its products. OmegaSol and NutriSol are the newest ingredients in the Advanced program's food. Both of these components contains a blend of heart-healthy soluble fibers and omega-3 fatty acids to create a feeling of fullness while promoting heart health. The program totes itself as being a real-life solution to losing weight. You get to eat throughout the day consume pre-packaged and pre-measured NutriSystem entrees, snacks and desserts. Sixty new foods have been added to the new NutriSystem Advanced program. Just like the traditional NutriSystem, you choose one of seven 28-Day programs that is right for you (Women's, Men's, Women's Silver, Men's Silver, Women's Type II Diabetic, Men's Type II Diabetic or Vegetarian). If you hate to shop, measure, and prepare your food and want to boost your heart health, this latest innovation from NutriSystem might just be for you.

PRO
  • Color-coded meals make organizing your new NutriSystem Advanced program and choosing your foods that much easier
  • Healthy for your heart
  • New Personalized meal planner
  • Lots of online support
  • More foods to choose from
  • Continued innovation from a trusted brand
  • Named #4 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • Vegetarian lunch entrees on the new NutriSystem Advanced program do not contain OmegaSol
  • Since many of the foods contain nuts, those with a mild or severe peanut allergy cannot be on the NutriSystem program
  • If you're vegan, you cannot be on the NutriSystem plan
  • Once you go off the program, you are then responsible for the calorie-counting, measuring and food preparation of your daily eating routine
DIET and NUTRITION

All the calorie-counting, measuring and preparing is done for you with the new NutriSystem Advanced program. Most of the NutriSystem meals need very little preparation that take only a few minutes and can be done with a microwave or on a stove. Also, the food requires no refrigeration so you can keep a stash at the office and in your kitchen cupboard. Based upon your specific plan you can also eat fresh fruits, vegetables and other snacks that are outlined in your NutriSystem Meal Planner.

EXERCISE

Each new NutriSystem Advanced program comes with an exercise DVD that you are encouraged to follow. It is recommended to talk to your doctor before beginning this exercise program.

CONCLUSION

The new NutriSystem Advanced program takes the guesswork and labor out of dieting for you with its newly organized and easier weight loss program. With the added bonus of heart-healthy omega-3 fatty acids and fiber in its 120 food products, this new program is also keeping up with the latest in research which has lauded the nutritional benefits of these two health essentials. NutriSystem's Counseling Team or the Nutritional and Dietary Services Team are also on-hand to answer your questions and offer support as you make your way through the program. If you can afford the cost of the food, the food's portion size and adherence to its Meal Planner, the new NutriSystem Advanced program is a nutritionally-sound way to lose weight. Plus, with seven different plans to choose from that are specifically designed to meet certain nutritional requirements, it is definitely a program that has done its homework to provide you with a meal plan that best suits your needs to lose weight.

Common Misspellings

Nutrasystem, nutrisytim, nuttrasystem, nutri system, nutrisystem advance, new nutrisystem, nutrisystem.com

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Medifast , Nutrisystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 49 total comments)

Wyndi Radcliffe

Well I received my food Friday, now I need to pick a day to start. I have read to have plenty of fruit an veggies to add to my daily intake of food for a well balanced day and to keep that metabolism going strong. I have a disease in my legs so I have to find some kind of low in pack exercise to do. My first goal is to lose 10 lbs by the 3rd week of September 2012!

posted Jul 22nd, 2012 10:03 pm


Dawn Gagnon

The food is just not satisfying, nor is it very good, especially the breakfast and lunch entrees. I am usually very hungry at the end of the day.

posted May 24th, 2012 1:42 pm


Ana Caldero

Is this a good diet for woman going thru menopause? Nutrisystem. Is it a good diet for a woman going thru menopause?

posted Jun 8th, 2011 10:25 am


Amol

I followed Nutrisystem diet plan (last year) for 2 months and lost 30 pounds. I liked the food, it was a bit costly, but lot of fun to do. Online tools were very easy to use and it makes fun to follow your plan.

But here's the problem, less than 1 year later, I have gained it all back. The problem is: it is hard to replace their entres and deserts with a substitute that you can buy at your local grocery store and has the same calories and nutritious contents.

posted Jul 10th, 2010 11:56 am


MARUKA

i Just stared the program 3 days ago . teh foods are good adn they get you full, im not hungry i also walking 30 min aday, i love the food!!!!! thank you NS

posted May 25th, 2010 10:43 am


Maruka Castillo

I jus stared the program 3 days ago, feeling preety good thank you Ns!!!!!!!

Maruka

posted May 25th, 2010 10:40 am


red

I lost 20 lbs on this diet, 15 in the first four months and the last five over another couple of months. It really shows you how to eat, with their portions being the focal point, and vegetables, fruit, and protein surrounding them. I have a big salad for lunch and dinner, and some additional vegs for dinner. I like having a protein or fruit different times throughout the day, eating every 2 hours or so really keeps the metabolism up. I'm on maintenance now, which is "every other day" and I'm about to drop the plan to see if I've learned enough to do it on my own. However, I'd strongly suggest it since it really works. You can find foods you like but some aren't that great but you can't expect everything. My significant other is on Jenny Craig and its about 50% more expensive, the food is pretty good but she didn't lose as much weight.

posted Apr 6th, 2010 4:32 pm


dazzyou2

I am beginning my 3rd week and have really enoyed the food but am not losing wt. To date, I've lost 1.4 pounds (in 2 weeks). Yes, I am exercising and yes, I am drinking lots of water. And yes, I am disappointed! I'll continue on and hope that someday I drop a lot at once but at the moment, it has been an expensive 1.4 pound loss for 2 weeks of hard work.

posted Feb 21st, 2010 2:20 pm


blato

This is a good diet program. The food is palatable - I look forward to meals. If you don't like a food item, you don't have to include it in your next order (you can completely control which items are included in your order). And unless you are extremely picky, you'll find food that you'll enjoy. They give you useful guidance for holidays and eating out. I travel on business regularly, and this is where I use to gain most of my weight. By following their guidance and carrying some NutriSystem food with me, I maintain or lose weight while on the road (without feeling deprived). When home, I lose about 4-5 pounds a week.

I don't understand the comment on the "tuna" dish smelling bad. There is no tuna dish in the program, though you can add tuna as a protein. Also, I don't understand the comment about craving fresh food - you eat about all the fresh fruits, vegetables, dairy and protein items you can stand. You can cook a fresh meat portion if you want (just stay away from oils and fatty sauces). I would be wary about letting such negative comments turn you away - I don't think they are legit.

posted Oct 9th, 2009 3:23 pm


DB in Molalla, OR

I have been on just about every weight mgt. program, have yoyo'd thru my life & just purchased the Advance Program from QVC on 8/15/09. I am 64 yrs old, have had fibromyalgia since 1998 & also degenerative osteoarthritis. So I think I can speak to most of the negatives I have read on the User Feedback. One of the major problems in weight control is food portions of the food we need to eat moderately. I have learned those vegs & fruits that are full of water are great supplements to the foods we need to limit. Take that pkg. of vegetarian chili & put it over a 4-5 cup bowl of spring baby greens, add grn.onion, fresh mushrooms, fresh tomato, cucumber and a well-rinsed can of sliced water chestnuts. Use your imagination with all those good, fresh vegetables that you need to eat each day. Add fresh fruit to a salad, or your cereal, use them to make a smoothie along with your morning cereal, or use them on your pancakes. Fresh is best & be careful of the high glycemic fruits/veg. The last thing is PLAN for EXERCISE. If you have limitations like I do, choose water to do your exercise. WHEN I am able to swim, I do my own water exercises at my own pace by jogging in the shallow end & incorporating strength-resistance flexing, posture control, & doctor-suggested exercises. I rotate those with lap swimming using zip fins & hand resistance-cups to help more me along at a fair pace & increase the resistance of the water. BE SURE to stretch BEFORE & AFTER EXERCISINGI PLAN to burn a minimum of 2000 calories per week & increase accordingly as the weight starts to drop. That can be tricky, because as you exercise regularly like this, you WILL begin to firm up with nice strong muscles, especially in the upper arms & core (tummy). Muscle weighs more than fat, so don't loose heart & give up. Increase exercise as you are able.

I haven't been able to stay with my exercise protocol for the past 18mos (for legit reasons) & in spite of that, I still have a solid , strong core muscle, but with a nasty layer of fat between it & my belly skin & floppy triceps. I expect to see that disappear rather quickly.

The reason I have chosen NutriSystem is because I have done the research & it meet my needs: portion control, ease of preparation, easy to choose what to eat today, low glycemic meals, competitive to low cost compared to others, variety of foods & the "helps" available online or by phone. Those will only be a help if YOU take initiative to use them. Like I said, I am 64 yrs old with FMS. I get fatigued & do not make good choices when I am faced with preparing meals for myself.

I am looking forward to receiving my 1st pkg to get started & will let you all know how I am doing --- DB (aka: GranmaDee)

posted Aug 21st, 2009 3:58 am


Dan Burry

SURPRISE!!!!! the ‚??vegetarian‚?Ě program that Nutrisytems offers contain loads of meat products. Nearly 20 of my items had glycerine. Their response? They don‚??t care. They‚??ll get back tp me etc. No action to my complaint in 6 days.

posted Jul 27th, 2009 8:15 pm


shirley

my problem with all of these prepackaged diets is that they don't teach you about portion control. after you finish you are on your own. people need to go to the internet research healthy meals, stop being too lazy to cook and exercise. you can save hundreds of dollars. i have a friend who is on this and course she is losing weight, but she has with many of these prepackaged diets, but she doesn't know anymore about nutrition than when she started. people with hypertension need to be leary of prepackaged foods

posted Jun 19th, 2009 4:30 am


Bill W

I wish I would have known ahead of time that I would be supplying most of my food when I ordered Nutrisystem. You receive 3 small meals and 2 small snacks for each day. You are supposed to supplement them with 5-6 servings of fruits and vegetables, your own dairy, carb, and protein servings per day. Their food costs $80-$90 a week and I have to spend another $30-$40 a week for my supplemental servings.
Some of the food is OK and some of it is awful. It is also high in sodium. One thing I have learned is portion control. I used to eat till I was stuffed. With this diet I now understand what a portion is.
I need to lose about 40 lbs. and planned on staying on this diet for several months. After 3 days I decided to just finish out the month and go it alone. By buying my own food for entrees and eating the same food I am supplementing Nutrisystem entrees I'll cut my grocery bill at least in half.

posted Jun 15th, 2009 11:04 pm


Sally

food is sooo good, order it from QVC, less money

posted May 31st, 2009 11:57 pm


Carol

I love the food and have had very good customer service if I find something I don't like and wish to exchange it. Alos, the weight is coming off and support from other members is excellent.

posted May 26th, 2009 11:58 am


Bob

It was ok. Very expensive. no follow up sevices!

posted May 3rd, 2009 2:05 pm


teresa

So far I am on the diet for six days. I lost 4 pounds. Feel great. The first two days I didnt think I was going to like it,but after the next few days I had a totally different opinion. I love to eat but I feel so good on this diet I am going to stick with it.

posted Apr 23rd, 2009 8:37 pm


Tylynn

All the dishes that have a tomato sauce base are overpowering in flavor its to much for the taste buds

posted Mar 10th, 2009 1:19 am


Connie

I started the program 3 weeks ago and have lost 9 lbs. Most of the food is surprizingly good. The plan is easy to follow and I'm never hungry. Thanks Nutrisystem.

posted Jan 30th, 2009 9:52 pm


Melissa

I have read many complaints about the sodium content, however if you add up the four items daily they give you the daily value is between 60-80% and you shouldnt be getting and sodium from your other added items. If your eatting a can of soup and a sandwich with a couple slices of deli meat and cheese you've already exceeded your DV of sodium. Get a grip, your probably eatting half the sodium while on this diet. Food is ok, but takes getting used to.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 1:24 am



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account