Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 222 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 13, 249 total comments)

Melissa

This has been a life saver! I LOVE nutrisystem and when I started i was READY to shed the weight i gained after college and quitting smoking! I absolutely love this; it's helping me with portion control, the food is delicious, and it's SOO Convenient for planning in my busy schedule. i love it. in one week, i am down 11 lbs, and it's teaching me about portion control, and keeping my glycemic index level. i highly recommend it, and it's SOO simple and you get the food delivered to your home. a NO brainer!!!

posted Sep 1st, 2011 9:28 pm


mcsheffler

Is it possible to return the unopened, untouched box of food that I absolutely cannot use.

posted Aug 17th, 2011 2:26 pm


Darlene

Probably I won't hear from anyone but you need to know that I am very angry. When I signed up I said I wanted my delivery left on my porch. It was not. I asked for that because I am 74, disabled and walk with a cane. I cannot carry a box that weighs more than 30 pounds and right now it is sitting in the back seat of my car where someone placed it for me. It will stay there until someone comes by that can bring it in my house. I did try to scoot it off of my back seat and on to a rug so I could drag it into the house and I ended up wrenching my shoulder. It is of course my right arm the one that I use to walk with the cane.


To make matters even worse, for something that isn't even my fault because you can't follow instructions you took back the 10% and then charged me $52 something for shipping. Its quite clear that you don't really care about your customers you only care about the money.


I wouldn't sign up with you again if you were the only food supply in the world.




posted Aug 10th, 2011 7:57 pm


ann

i started out on ns for a week but the food was so awful that I could only eat it once per day. but the good thing that resulted from eating the foods from ns is that i came to know what was a portion size. when i wasn't eating ns i measured and weighed my foods. In the first month along with an hour of excercise per day I lost 20 lbs. in four months i was down 80lbs. I then had the lap band put on and continued to eat small portions and two snacks per day and i have kept if off for four years now. with a mini face lift to help with the excess skin on my face I look and feel so much better. without ns giving me an idea as to how much is a normal portion I would still be over weight. i am 5.5 and 115. no more back pains. i can buckle my shoes, i can run around the block. i can run up the stairs without being out of breath. i can put on my necklace without assistance. simple things that people who are not over weight takes for granted

posted Jul 25th, 2011 12:49 am


Cathy

Order was all wrong more trouble than it is worth to send it all back. Customer service was no help at all!!!!!


posted Jul 21st, 2011 10:45 am


Anne

I got 3 different quotes from 3 different people. I really wanted to get started so I ordered a with I higher price than I was originally told. They assured me that they would replace food for items I was allergic to. When I got my shipment, it was 1/3 food that I was allergic to. When I called they told me they would have to charge me for any replacements. I was so frustrated that I cancelled the entire order. Nikea gave me a cancellation confirmation number so I thought it was taken care of. A month later and Still have not seen the refund. I called again and was told it was never entered. We will see. I never even tried the food, but based on the horrible experience I had with the sales people and customer service, I would never recommend this company. Did try Jenny Craig instead and have been thrilled with their customer service. It is definitely more expensive, but tastes pretty good and I am not usually hungry.

posted Jul 1st, 2011 1:32 pm


Lori

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works, I dont think the food was horrible unless it changed that much. I am reordering today, i hope it works again for me.

posted Jun 28th, 2011 3:09 pm


holly

Do not use this company, all they want is your money they do not care about anything else. our food was del. and left up by the door on a hot humid day for about 9 hours, when i got home i called because everthing had melted, she said leave it outside and ups will pick it up with in five day's, well poured that night and the whole box fell apart. well i put it in the trash now they say they can not refund me, i will go on fighting this.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 9:54 am


Betty

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem!

posted Jun 16th, 2011 3:00 pm


Amber

Their online support was horrible! I got on with two different people, the second guy didn't help at all, after back and forth and telling him nevermind, he kept trying to say there was a plan for me, which in fact, there wasn't within my budget and what I wanted to do. So I was irritated for staying on. They haven't stopped calling me either, they keep calling to leave msgs, after emails, chats and calls saying to stop. Horrible, horrible customer service. I realize this was probably just one of very few bad experiences, but their customer service has made me terribly angry.

posted Jun 6th, 2011 1:07 am


Bonnie Haas

Tried this diet and religiously followed it but after two weeks of this horrible food (except for my own fresh supplements) I didn't lose anything. The counselor was kind but the scale didn't budge even after her counseling. Decided to quit but the rep I called kept trying to find ways to keep me on the program. THEN he said I owe another $62.00 because I didn't follow through in the "two month" special...which wasn't made clear to me in the beginning. Very disappointing results. Shame on you, Marie Osmand!!

posted Jun 5th, 2011 12:54 pm


Karina

Well I have to tell I am on the Silver program, because I have an underactive thyroid.
The food is sooooooooo nasty!! I basically load up on the hot sauce anytime I eat! Also I have heard that if you are on the NS system for a while you could end up Kidney problems..., just an fyi

posted May 31st, 2011 7:24 pm


ricky

I lost weight for sure. the food was decent but the convenience made it totally worth it.

posted May 31st, 2011 6:26 pm


Jane Ellis

WARNING: Nutrisystem offers a "full" refund but, in fact I paid $299.89 total ($279.94 plus 19.95 shipping) and only got back $240.04 AND had to pay for returning the box for a total loss of $79.80 and on my husband's separate order, we lost $98.75. Numerous phone calls have not helped although I returned both orders within 7 days. I have read reviews elsewhere and see that other people have had the same experience. We returned the orders because the food was terrible and because we thought we would get a true refund. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:48 pm


whitney

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. Won't be trying it again. Really want to lose weight? Get a booklet on what is acceptable for diabetics to eat. Any dietitian will have one or you can get it online. I had to eat that way while pregnant because I had gestational diabetes. I lost weight while pregnant! It is excellent for anyone to do, and it is easy to come up with many meals that taste great!

You have to learn how to eat the right way. The right amount of carbs and the right portions. Doing this becomes a way of life, and you will lose weight and keep it off!

posted May 17th, 2011 11:31 am


cjstar

Ordered online, chose items i might like. Order came one or two days later UPS. Was what I orderd. Got the veg and fruit from supermarket. Started today, so far so good. Going to modify next order slightly, order and then cancel before third order last call date.

posted May 16th, 2011 3:59 pm


Rhonda

Do not order this junk... I repeat DO NOT waste your money. The absolutely worst food I have ever put in my mouth. (and I ate school cafeteria food ). I returned one order , got a tracking number, followed directions and NEVER got my money back even after calling. Please find another diet plan. I do not know how anyone can say they like this food.

posted May 3rd, 2011 8:33 pm


John

The food is convenient and well portioned. The cost isn't high and the supplement food isn't expensive either. If you can't stand the taste if this that is probably why you need a diet in the first place and it's never going to be healthy without exercise also. I'm a regular guy that has trouble dropping lbs and NS is great for me.

posted May 1st, 2011 2:28 am


Larry Carter

I ordered NS for one month did not like the food and cancelled a couple weeks ago. This month I am still receiving food and being charged. They make it very difficult to cancel and send food back.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 2:17 pm


Patti Memmer

I just want to know the cost.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 3:38 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account