Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

57%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 277 reviews
Nutrisystem

Nutrisystem Diet Review: Does it Work?

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Nutrisystem Diet is a weight loss plan offering portion and calorie controlled prepackaged foods as well as food suggestions.  It claims to be backed by 40 years of customer approved weight loss results.

The diet also is claimed to offer up to 5 pounds of weight loss within the first week. The company delivers their own meals and provides select portion sizes.  Suggestions are offered as to what foods to prepare, but the majority of what’s eaten will be Nutrisystem meals. Our experts have reviewed several diet plans and have hound the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers an all-natural stimulant free metabolism booster, as well as an appetite suppressing high quality duo protein formula. More information about the 18Shake diet can be found in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Nutrisystem Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to Nutrisystem's prepackaged meals:

Sugar

Calcium Propionate

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup

Sorbate

Fructose

Guar Gum

Maltodextrin

Xanthan Gum

Potassium Phosphate

Carrageenan

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Sodium Caseinate

Tocopherols

Calcium Propionate: Food preservative often added to processed meats, dairy products, and bread.  It’s considered slightly toxic by a pesticides group.

A study published in ScienceDirect found that when it was given to mice it:

“increase in oxidative stress markers… hyperactivity…Development of limbic kindled seizures”

Many potentially damaging effects were seen in the use of this ingredient.

Fructose: Simple fruit sugar that is sweeter than standard sucrose and glucose. It’s often added to things like soda, and other processed foods. A study by the Louisiana State University System found that it:

“did not suppress ghrelin, a major appetite-stimulating hormone”

Therefore, when using this ingredient it has not been shown to satiate appetite.  The same study also adds:

“fructose is poorly absorbed… is also entirely cleared by the liver”

This can be of issue to diabetics, and it’s the reason why fructose is associated with cardiovascular diseases.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seen via the link provided here.

Carrageenan: Thickener extracted from seaweeds which is added to thicken and bind ingredients.  A study by the British Industrial Biological Research Association found that it:

“produces ulceration in the large intestine”

Another study by the University of Iowa confirmed:

“carrageenan, has been associated with induction and promotion of intestinal neoplasms and ulcerations on numerous animal experiments”

These types of ulcers and lacerations can trigger serious potentially dangerous health effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener and binder added to processed foods.  It can be extracted from common allergens that include dairy, soy, corn, and wheat.

It may also potentially lead to gas and bloating.

Corn Syrup: Processed form of food syrup that is extracted from corn. It’s believed that this sweetener is a major reason why there’s an increase in obesity. Since it’s processed by the liver, excess amounts turn into fats in the form of triglycerides, which can be harmful both to the arteries and the heart. How Stuff Works.com also adds:

“researchers do know that fructose doesn’t stimulate production of insulin, leptin, or ghrelin... which play a part in telling the boy how much it needs to eat”

This can then potentially lead to obesity.

There are 3 unique plans offered by Nutrisystem as well:

  • Basic: Begins at $9.82 per day. Certain foods are preselected, support tools and online tracking is offered. Complemented by a 4 week turbo plan which claims to offer 10 pounds of weight loss in a month. This involves being allowed only 1,000 calories a day maximum.  
  • Core: Begins at $10.54 a day. You get to select from 100 different foods, as well as everything offered in the basic plan but with added dieticians and counselors support.
  • Uniquely Yours: For around $11.96 a day, 150 different food options are offered. One can order as much of the frozen food items as one wants. All the other features from the core and basic are offered.

The turbo 10 plan which lasts 4 weeks calls for a 1,000 calorie limit. Live Strong.com commented on this type of low calorie diet by sating:

“may make the diet difficult to follow over the long term and could potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies”

It can also be hard to maintain as so little food is offered at this limitation. It’s possible for there to be weight loss, but this is only because of extreme deprivation.  These types of low calorie diets are often only advised with the support and watch of a physician to track any issues.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be viewed in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Nutrisystem Diet Quality of Ingredients

 Many common processed ingredients are added to Nutrisystem’s prepackaged foods. Since the majority of foods eaten will be their meals, this makes this a very limited diet. These ingredients aren’t very wholesome, and they may actually make it more difficult to lose weight.

The diet also calls for a 1,000 calorie limit to start with, which can be extremely difficult. This is the reason why many users of Nutrisystem Diet have found it to not satisfy appetite.

There is the convenience of delivered food, but the kinds of foods are offered are only low calorie, and full of potentially harmful ingredients.  The link provided here has the top 10 best diet plans of 2016.

The Price and Quality of Nutrisystem Diet

Pricing varies both on the plan chosen and the kinds of foods one makes at home.  Web MD mentions the following for prices:

“expect to pay about $230 to the mid $300s a month for the Nutrisystem foods, plus whatever you buy from the grocery store”

The price does not reflect the quality however, as many of the additives are cheap and often added to processed foods.  There’s also the issue that the kinds of ingredients used are already found in many other cheap foods available in supermarkets. The only difference in Nutrisystem is that the portions are smaller.

Business of Nutrisystem Diet

The company is owned by the Nutrisystem, Inc group, and they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800) 585-5483

Address: 600 Office Center Dr.

                   Washington, PA 19034

They have a total of 247 complaints on their Better Business Bureau page, and around 250 negative reviews on their Pissed Consumer page.

According from estimates of Pissed Consumer, $22,000 has been taken from consumers who tried to return products.

Here are what some customers had to say about the company:

“Bad customer service”

“nothing but chemicals and artificial ingredients”

“tried on many occasions to contact customer service but was out on hold”

“told that I have to pay back the shipping fee plus a discount… total to around $80”

People often complained about the lack of a quality returns system. Some were forced to have to pay expensive cancellation fees, even though they were promised a money back return.  The majority of negative reviews were due to advertising disputes, and issues with the foods. Click the link here to see a comprehensive top 10 list of the best diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Nutrisystem Diet

Customer reviews for the diets can be found online, here are some select quotes:

“tastes like any food you buy... that has to be microwaved, except you get a lot less of it”

“food is terrible and I just can’t get myself to eat meat that I store in my pantry”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“this food is just the worst I’ve ever eaten anywhere”

People often complained that the quality of food was extremely poor, and that it tasted artificial and bland. Many of the foods were described as having a TV dinner style of presentation, but with really small portions.

Customers were also concerned to find that there were many artificial ingredients and chemicals added to the foods. The top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Nutrisystem Diet Work?

When researching the Nutrisystem Diet it’s important to look at the customer reviews, quality of ingredients, and the science behind the weight loss. The strategy is fairly simple, as pre-packaged meals are offered which are lower in calories. This makes it easy to diet without having to meal prep and count calories. The problem lies in the kinds of ingredients used, which many are processed and cheap to add. Many customers felt that the quality of food was poor, and they were alarmed about the lack of a quality return policy.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s a combination of a metabolism booster made without stimulants, and a nutritionally balanced meal replacement both which are free of artificial ingredients or cheap fillers. Customers also agree it’s a potent combination for weight loss.

Both the meal replacement and the metabolism booster are backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. All purchases are backed by this risk free offer. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet Plan when you click the link found here.

How Does Nutrisystem Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Nutrisystem
  • 57 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 15, 284 total comments)

Dorothy Parsons

?

Chemo on Nutrisystem? I am on chemo now and want to know if my NutriSystem food is okay to eat.? Thank YouDorothy I also have a liver problem, where fatty foods have to be avoided. I'm just wondering about the foods with powder in that has to be mixed. Thank You

posted Feb 4th, 2013 12:35 am


lynn

-

Nutrisystem food is awful the taste of most is uneatable. Threw away almost everything I tried. Lots of sodium preservatives etc. buy fresh food eat healthier with better results.

posted Jan 18th, 2013 12:43 am


Cathy

-

I was charged $100 for canceling nutrisystem. The food was terrible, jenny craig is so much better. Jenny's food taste good. Nutrisystem food is like eating cardboard

posted Jan 4th, 2013 7:34 pm


Micheal

+

my blood sugars dropped to near normal; and when I got back on my exercise program, they were normal.

posted Jul 11th, 2012 10:08 pm


debbie chorny

nutrisystem is one of the best diets that i've been on

posted Jul 9th, 2012 1:15 pm


Aldo Mosti

Holy crap! Horrible tasting that is at the level of the slop served by the US Army of the Vietnam era. This brings back bad memories. PLEASE...make it go away!

posted Jul 5th, 2012 7:25 pm


John

+

The food is good, and I've lose 24 pounds thus far. It's a success!

posted Jul 2nd, 2012 9:58 pm


Jim

-

I like the plan. I need to lose 60 lbs. But, I'm diabetic so it's challenging. I think Nutrisystems is a plan and product that will work for those who follow it religiously and don't have any problems that require contacting Customer Service, which I refer to as their "Counter Customer Unit."

I wasn't getting enough carbs on the diet and my blood sugar readings were consistently below 90. I called to see if I could modify the diet or if I should cancel it. It was the 15th day after I had ordered based on a promotion offering a full refund within 14 days.

When I called I selected the "customer service" option to discuss my options. The agent on the phone assumed I wanted a refund and informed me that the 14 days period had lapsed. I was OK with that. And, I clearly understood by her demeanor that there was no grace available. What I wasn't OK with was her next statement that I would be charge an additional $97 for cancelling. No literature and no agent I talked to ever mentioned that part of the deal. After receiving a rigid response to my objection and refusal to allow me to speak to a supervisor I hung up and started reading reviews and checking the Nutrisystem (NTRI) stock price. The reality of my predicament came into focus at that point.

Nutrisystems is a publicly traded company and their stock price has plummeted 60% in the last year, from $25 to $10. Most reviews are written by Nutrisystem Affiliates and only give lip service to a few cons. They don't address the real issue, which is the lack of a customer oriented set of values and an obvious single focus on maximizing profits, which is clearly backfiring.

The fickle finger of failure appears to have found upper management as the cause of the company's poor performance, both in the markets and with customers.

Many of the legitimate reviews are pretty consistent in their description of the writers' experiences with the "Counter Customer Unit". An interesting set of reviews by past employees and affiliates can be found at www.glassdoor.com

I have lost weight while on Nutrisystems over the last two weeks "+", and I will find a way to lose the rest of it. But, I avoid doing business with companies that see me as a dollar sign and not part of their mission. I want to Partner with companies I do business with, not be a Mark to be fleeced.

I will also start shorting the stock.

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 6:57 pm


Marti

First, I would like to comment on the food. I am not a picky eater, as I noticed others expressed through this feedback. I am very unhappy with the food.....it is very artificial tasting.....as a matter of fact, some of what I had was absolutly awful and I could not finish it after a couple bites. I think the only people who must llike this food are those that grew up on boxed or canned food. The only food that was good or tolerable was the protein bars and some of the snacks.......this is helpful in order to stick to any diet since most of us do like sweets. In addition, I am very unhappy about the fact that they charge such a high cancellation fee for the second unused month when you have signed up for the trial. I actually don't even recall anyone telling me over the phone that this is what would happen if you decide to cancel after the first month. The advertising on television does not mention this charge, and so when you call they should be telling you this fact. I did find this later online. The cancellation cost me $87.00 which is totally ridiculous, no matter what there reasons. Most other businesses do not charge someone when they are unhappy with their food, products or services.......although I would understand a nominal fee of $20 or so for such purposes since they probably must hit a couple computer keys to cancel your program! I am....needless to say very unhappy with Nutri-System!

Signing off as......
Your ongoing worst advertisement!

posted Jun 21st, 2012 4:48 pm


Kelly

-

The food is really bad. My husband ordered it, couldn't stand the taste of the food and passed it on to me. I am NOT a picky eater, I can eat absolutely anything, but I canâ??t stand the NS meals. We don't have a problem with the size of the food. The taste and quality is hideous. When I'm eating it I get the feeling I'm poisoning myself. Now we have a box load of unwanted food in our kitchen pantry. We will probably have it all thrown out after a few months. We decided to take the penalty and quit immediately. The food is not what is advertised on TV.

posted Jun 5th, 2012 6:16 am


Mary

+

I am a dieabetic, since starting NS, I finally have my blood sugar down to normal. and lost 22 lbs too . I like the food, and if you like chocolate, that and the desserts are great! i can even enjoy my desserts. without guilt, its a little priceythough!

posted May 24th, 2012 11:19 pm


L. Hofer

1, Better list of Power Fuels
2. Also Smaart Carbs

The list with book is very limited

posted May 21st, 2012 6:11 pm


HealthD

-

***Beware as nice as this program may seem it will cost you to stop it. For my about $100.00 because of the auto delivery program. I received very nice customer service as they charged me half of what it would cost to place a new order. ***

posted May 20th, 2012 8:39 pm


Karen

Lost 6.4 pounds in the first week and I like the food. I am a costco member, so I order the nutri system card for $199 and then I custom order my meals for a month (2 days a week on your own). The plan is better than it used to be, it now sends cookbooks and serving utensils in effort to teach portion control. I have not been hungry and I have no cravings. I

posted May 12th, 2012 12:46 am


Larry Sue Dunn

-

My husband and I both went on the diet. To start with, we have both been on Jenny Craig and the food is really good. The problem is we live where it is not convenient to go to the location. So we decided to try NutriSystem. I am sorry, but the food is terrible. The breakfast and some of lunch menus were not bad, but the packaged food is horrible. They basically all smell the same and the meat is really not meat that is in the food. Some of the food that you add water to gets gummy as it cools off. There is not enough frozen food and what you have does not look appealing. I know that Marie Osmond and Terry Bradshaw advertise for NutriSystem, but I can assure you that they are not eating the prepared food. They have their own dieticians to prepare the meals plus they are getting paid to advertise. I am sorry, but you need to offer more froznen food at a decent price. You only offer 10 frozen meals and Jenny Craig offers lots of frozen foods and appetizing food. We took a penalty not to get the 2nd month. We wasted our money for yucky food.

posted May 11th, 2012 5:32 pm


Sue

+

I keep having difficulty logging in. I do like the new menu.
Why the charge for changes to the frozen menu?

Thank you

posted May 10th, 2012 9:17 pm



Irene Rivera Kjergaard

Food was actually good, but quite expensive. The plan was also difficult to follow while working a full time job.

posted May 6th, 2012 8:49 pm


Inez Leonard

+

So far I've been on NS for 3 weeks and have lost 8lbs. I think that's pretty good considering I haven't really started a workout regimen yet, but I plan on doing so this week. My son has been ill and I have been taking care of him. But so far I'm happy with NS.

posted Apr 16th, 2012 4:52 pm


john hatbour

+

i have not been able to find out when my food will arrive and to make sure they delliver inside the side door which is my address

posted Apr 9th, 2012 8:51 pm


Kolean

-

The food was the worst, and costumer service was even worse. I had 2 orders of food being ship at the same time, I call and ask to delay shipment and they said okay ans sure enough the food food showed up 2 weeks later, now they wont return the food. I have had nothing but a horrible experience with Nutrisystems!!!!!!!!!

posted Mar 30th, 2012 6:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started with this 40% off coupon! Nutrisystem Coupons

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

In January 2016, Nutrisystem launched Turbo10, a clinically tested program that promises up to a 10-pound weight loss and an overall reduction of five inches from the waist, hips, thighs, chest, and arms in just the first month. In a clinical study sponsored by Nutrisystem, those who followed Turbo10 lost 3x more weight, 3x more total body inches and 3x more body fat in the first month compared to those who followed a do-it-yourself weight loss plan. In addition to weight loss, those on Turbo 10 also significantly reduced their systolic blood pressure after the first month.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

  • Start Here for Discount Offering

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

In 2016, Nutrisystem has reformulated more than 50% of the Nutrisystem menu items to contain no artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners. Whole grains were also increased in a large number of their foods with the goal to have at least 50% of the grains coming from whole grain sources while still meeting the USDA guidelines for fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium, carbohydrates, fiber, and protein.

In an effort to keep with customer demand for more fresh-frozen selections, Nutrisystem unveiled Uniquely Yours, which allows for ultimate flexibility in your food choices, allowing consumers to choose between ready to eat and fresh frozen menu options, with no restrictions, from more than 150 menu items.

As part of the Turbo10 program, Nutrisystem also introduced Turboshakes, the company’s first ever line of shakes with protein and probiotics to support digestive and immune health and help reduce belly bloat.

EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by

Related Diets: Jenny Craig, Medifast , Weight Watchers, Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Nutrisystem?