Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 220 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 13, 246 total comments)

LC

I like the food it taste great and the fact that its already portion in the amount of calories a person needs is a plus.

posted Feb 27th, 2013 4:02 pm


Jean Bailey

The food is not agreeing with me. It tasted pretty fair when I started, but now it is all I can do to continue with it. I did lose 5 pounds in one month, but there has got to be a better way with food that is more tasty for me.

posted Feb 23rd, 2013 5:23 am


Dorothy Parsons

Chemo on Nutrisystem? I am on chemo now and want to know if my NutriSystem food is okay to eat.? Thank YouDorothy I also have a liver problem, where fatty foods have to be avoided. I'm just wondering about the foods with powder in that has to be mixed. Thank You

posted Feb 4th, 2013 12:35 am


lynn

Nutrisystem food is awful the taste of most is uneatable. Threw away almost everything I tried. Lots of sodium preservatives etc. buy fresh food eat healthier with better results.

posted Jan 18th, 2013 12:43 am


Cathy

I was charged $100 for canceling nutrisystem. The food was terrible, jenny craig is so much better. Jenny's food taste good. Nutrisystem food is like eating cardboard

posted Jan 4th, 2013 7:34 pm


Micheal

my blood sugars dropped to near normal; and when I got back on my exercise program, they were normal.

posted Jul 11th, 2012 10:08 pm


debbie chorny

nutrisystem is one of the best diets that i've been on

posted Jul 9th, 2012 1:15 pm


Aldo Mosti

Holy crap! Horrible tasting that is at the level of the slop served by the US Army of the Vietnam era. This brings back bad memories. PLEASE...make it go away!

posted Jul 5th, 2012 7:25 pm


John

The food is good, and I've lose 24 pounds thus far. It's a success!

posted Jul 2nd, 2012 9:58 pm


Jim

I like the plan. I need to lose 60 lbs. But, I'm diabetic so it's challenging. I think Nutrisystems is a plan and product that will work for those who follow it religiously and don't have any problems that require contacting Customer Service, which I refer to as their "Counter Customer Unit."

I wasn't getting enough carbs on the diet and my blood sugar readings were consistently below 90. I called to see if I could modify the diet or if I should cancel it. It was the 15th day after I had ordered based on a promotion offering a full refund within 14 days.

When I called I selected the "customer service" option to discuss my options. The agent on the phone assumed I wanted a refund and informed me that the 14 days period had lapsed. I was OK with that. And, I clearly understood by her demeanor that there was no grace available. What I wasn't OK with was her next statement that I would be charge an additional $97 for cancelling. No literature and no agent I talked to ever mentioned that part of the deal. After receiving a rigid response to my objection and refusal to allow me to speak to a supervisor I hung up and started reading reviews and checking the Nutrisystem (NTRI) stock price. The reality of my predicament came into focus at that point.

Nutrisystems is a publicly traded company and their stock price has plummeted 60% in the last year, from $25 to $10. Most reviews are written by Nutrisystem Affiliates and only give lip service to a few cons. They don't address the real issue, which is the lack of a customer oriented set of values and an obvious single focus on maximizing profits, which is clearly backfiring.

The fickle finger of failure appears to have found upper management as the cause of the company's poor performance, both in the markets and with customers.

Many of the legitimate reviews are pretty consistent in their description of the writers' experiences with the "Counter Customer Unit". An interesting set of reviews by past employees and affiliates can be found at www.glassdoor.com

I have lost weight while on Nutrisystems over the last two weeks "+", and I will find a way to lose the rest of it. But, I avoid doing business with companies that see me as a dollar sign and not part of their mission. I want to Partner with companies I do business with, not be a Mark to be fleeced.

I will also start shorting the stock.

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 6:57 pm


Marti

First, I would like to comment on the food. I am not a picky eater, as I noticed others expressed through this feedback. I am very unhappy with the food.....it is very artificial tasting.....as a matter of fact, some of what I had was absolutly awful and I could not finish it after a couple bites. I think the only people who must llike this food are those that grew up on boxed or canned food. The only food that was good or tolerable was the protein bars and some of the snacks.......this is helpful in order to stick to any diet since most of us do like sweets. In addition, I am very unhappy about the fact that they charge such a high cancellation fee for the second unused month when you have signed up for the trial. I actually don't even recall anyone telling me over the phone that this is what would happen if you decide to cancel after the first month. The advertising on television does not mention this charge, and so when you call they should be telling you this fact. I did find this later online. The cancellation cost me $87.00 which is totally ridiculous, no matter what there reasons. Most other businesses do not charge someone when they are unhappy with their food, products or services.......although I would understand a nominal fee of $20 or so for such purposes since they probably must hit a couple computer keys to cancel your program! I am....needless to say very unhappy with Nutri-System!

Signing off as......
Your ongoing worst advertisement!

posted Jun 21st, 2012 4:48 pm


Kelly

The food is really bad. My husband ordered it, couldn't stand the taste of the food and passed it on to me. I am NOT a picky eater, I can eat absolutely anything, but I can??t stand the NS meals. We don't have a problem with the size of the food. The taste and quality is hideous. When I'm eating it I get the feeling I'm poisoning myself. Now we have a box load of unwanted food in our kitchen pantry. We will probably have it all thrown out after a few months. We decided to take the penalty and quit immediately. The food is not what is advertised on TV.

posted Jun 5th, 2012 6:16 am


Mary

I am a dieabetic, since starting NS, I finally have my blood sugar down to normal. and lost 22 lbs too . I like the food, and if you like chocolate, that and the desserts are great! i can even enjoy my desserts. without guilt, its a little priceythough!

posted May 24th, 2012 11:19 pm


L. Hofer

1, Better list of Power Fuels
2. Also Smaart Carbs

The list with book is very limited

posted May 21st, 2012 6:11 pm


HealthD

***Beware as nice as this program may seem it will cost you to stop it. For my about $100.00 because of the auto delivery program. I received very nice customer service as they charged me half of what it would cost to place a new order. ***

posted May 20th, 2012 8:39 pm


Karen

Lost 6.4 pounds in the first week and I like the food. I am a costco member, so I order the nutri system card for $199 and then I custom order my meals for a month (2 days a week on your own). The plan is better than it used to be, it now sends cookbooks and serving utensils in effort to teach portion control. I have not been hungry and I have no cravings. I

posted May 12th, 2012 12:46 am


Larry Sue Dunn

My husband and I both went on the diet. To start with, we have both been on Jenny Craig and the food is really good. The problem is we live where it is not convenient to go to the location. So we decided to try NutriSystem. I am sorry, but the food is terrible. The breakfast and some of lunch menus were not bad, but the packaged food is horrible. They basically all smell the same and the meat is really not meat that is in the food. Some of the food that you add water to gets gummy as it cools off. There is not enough frozen food and what you have does not look appealing. I know that Marie Osmond and Terry Bradshaw advertise for NutriSystem, but I can assure you that they are not eating the prepared food. They have their own dieticians to prepare the meals plus they are getting paid to advertise. I am sorry, but you need to offer more froznen food at a decent price. You only offer 10 frozen meals and Jenny Craig offers lots of frozen foods and appetizing food. We took a penalty not to get the 2nd month. We wasted our money for yucky food.

posted May 11th, 2012 5:32 pm


Sue

I keep having difficulty logging in. I do like the new menu.
Why the charge for changes to the frozen menu?

Thank you

posted May 10th, 2012 9:17 pm



Irene Rivera Kjergaard

Food was actually good, but quite expensive. The plan was also difficult to follow while working a full time job.

posted May 6th, 2012 8:49 pm


Inez Leonard

So far I've been on NS for 3 weeks and have lost 8lbs. I think that's pretty good considering I haven't really started a workout regimen yet, but I plan on doing so this week. My son has been ill and I have been taking care of him. But so far I'm happy with NS.

posted Apr 16th, 2012 4:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account