Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 310 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 21, 418 total comments)

LauraSue

Easy, quick and a great jumpstart for wt loss. I liked seeing results, it's motivating. Also kept my blood sugar stable and I got to decrease meds!

posted Feb 9th, 2009 1:50 pm


Dee

This is just a rip off of a high protein low carb diet.... you can buy your own food at the local grocery. The cost is unreasonable, and you have to stay on it. They really do not teach how to eat regular food, they want you hooked so you can join the Take Shape For Life program, just more money in their pocket.
I have noticed a couple of the women whom went on this program locally are gaining back the weight. They peddle this stuff, think they better get back on it.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 3:58 pm


Angela

Very Expensive and tastes horrid! I suggest you try it for a week before you commit to the entire month.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 10:48 pm


mark

While I am getting tired of the food (I've been on the diet for 8 months now), this diet has saved my life. I'm down 115 lbs and still am looking to lose another 50 or so. I know the weight will come off. I'm somewhat scared on how I'll do when I transition off, though.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 6:17 am


Andrea

This was the best program for me. No planning or preparation except for 1 meal per day. No hunger after 1 or 2 days. Easy and fast weight loss. Felt great too. Lost 40 pounds and am keeping it off.

posted Jan 8th, 2009 5:17 pm


Pumpkin

I started Medifast in June and by August 2008 I lost 13lbs. I DO NOT RECOMMEND MEDIFAST, To this date, I have gained back all of the weight and then some, it is very hard to transition, after a while the food becomes unbearable. I have a month's worth of food in my cabinet, that I do not know what to do with.
January 2, 2009

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 11:56 pm


john new york

24lbs in one month

posted Jan 1st, 2009 10:01 pm


rachel_y

Medifast is great. I have tried nutrisystem before and way prefer medifast!

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 5:45 am


AM

Medifast is the easiest plan I have ever been on. I have lost 60 pounds and I have 35 more to go. The new crunch bars they have added make the plan VERY portable. When I am in a hurry, I don't have to worry about mixing up a shake...I can just grab a bar and go. And they taste great! I know I will reach my goal soon and I'm excited about transitioning. Food no longer controls me!!!

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 9:43 am


Ginny

The Medifast Bars are wonderful! I've lost 50 lbs so far on the plan with 25 to go. The bars are a wonderful new part that makes it so easy!

posted Dec 1st, 2008 4:53 pm


TrudyB

I have tried all three of the new bars and love them all (peanut butter a bit more). The new bars make an already-convenient meal plan even more portable. I intend to incorporate the new bars into three of my meals each day -- that's how good they are!

posted Nov 28th, 2008 6:29 pm


Jack

the medifast diet plan meal delivery service really helped me lose the weight. I am not a big fan of eating salads or cooking. Made it really easy to lose the weight.

posted Nov 28th, 2008 4:03 pm


Nectar99

I tried the new Medifast bars and I have to say they are wonderful. My only regret is that I didn't order more to have for my meals during the day. They've created three wonderful flavors. Peanut butter crunch, chocolate mint crunch and caramel crunch.



The peanut butter is my favorite. It's a crunchy, peanut butter taste that is delicious. My second favorite is the chocolate mint crunch. It reminds me of girl scout cookies. Last but not least, the caramel crunch with plenty of caramel that coats the entire top of the bar. Kudos Medifast! They are wonderful!



I'm a MEDIFANATIC!!

posted Nov 25th, 2008 7:40 pm


Mary

It's wonderful!!!!!!!!!

posted Nov 24th, 2008 6:31 pm


Sue

Medifast has been a life changer for me! The routine has saved me.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:00 am


Bev

The Medifast food is fine and the routine and prepared meals are a life saver! i lost 15 lbs.

posted Oct 30th, 2008 12:39 pm


Wilbert Gilbert

Life changer!!!!!!
I have successfully lost 45 lbs and am on my way to loose another 40. My wife has lost 8. It was recommended by our doctor and we became so passionate about it that we are now Health Coaches with Take Shape for Life.

The food is cost neutral super convenient and the program WORKS! If you are looking to loose weight quick and feel energetic without being hungry, try this program!

posted Oct 23rd, 2008 1:33 pm


Mina

THE food is so nasty. I have not been able to stay on this diet longer than 3 days at a time.

posted Oct 18th, 2008 10:13 pm


HGordon

I have been on the program twice. The first time was before Take Shape for Life was formed. There was no coaching and no follow through. I got on it from a friend who is an MD. I lost a lot of weight (52 pounds)...but regained it because I did not make the necessary mental shift and change in my lifestyle.

This time I am doing the Take Shpe for LIfe portionof the program. I have a coach (an RN) who I work with....and I am also learning to coach (www.fattofit.tsfl.com). I have 7 clients, all of whom are losing! I have lost 25 pounds, dropped my total cholesterol 50 points...and normalized my blood pressure. I have 60 more pounds to go. This time I will work with my coach to do the transition and the maintaince program. I have made the shift...and I will not regain it this time. I know I have to use portion contol and do some exercise to keep my weight down. The program takes a little getting use to for the first week. By week 3 you need to do some exercise. But it is easy...it fits your lifestyle and my grocery bill went DOWN. I love coaching because it keeps me using my own strategies and it is very gratifying seeing people get their lives back....and feel healthy. It is lucrative to coach...and fun...and it really is about getting people healthy. By 2030, 80% of Americans are going to be obese. NOT ME! There are many programs out there...but none as easy, good tasting...and as effective and fast. If you do the program 100% of the time, you will get 100% results...which for women is about 15 pounds a month. It is the best program I have ever been on....the weight loss will motivate you to stay with it. This program is not just for the morbidly obese...people with less than 20 pounds can have great results, too. JUST DO IT! H. Gordon RN

posted Oct 13th, 2008 10:46 pm


Bill Boesch

its Great

posted Oct 12th, 2008 8:45 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account