Home > Diets > Medifast Diet Navigation
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 384 reviews
Medifast

Medifast Diet Review (UPDATED 2017): Does it Really Work?

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

Start the Medifast Diet with 40% OFF
WHAT IS IT?

Medifast Diet is a weight loss plan offering over 70 prepackaged foods, and suggestions for healthy meals. The plan offers 6 meals a day, with an eating schedule that allows meals every 3 to 4 hours.

The diet plan is also known as the Medifast Achieve plan, and it’s said to be the company’s easiest and most convenient weight loss strategy. It’s made to help promote weight loss while still preserving lean muscle mass. Even after one finishes losing weight, the diet plan is meant to help give people lifelong support for overall health and weight maintenance. Our experts conducted many reviews and found that this was the most effective diet plan. It offers an easy to follow and supportive system to help provide functional weight loss results. For a discount on the Medifast Diet plan click on this link.

MEDIFAST DIET INGREDIENTS AND SIDE EFFECTS

Here are some notable ingredients added to Medifast’s prepackaged foods:

Whey Protein Isolate

Organic Cracked Wheat

Milk Protein Concentrate

Dehydrated Carrots

Canola Oil

Potassium Chloride

Ascorbic Acid

Riboflavin

Resistant Corn Starch

Calcium Caseinate

Oat Fiber

Vitamin K1

Whey Protein Concentrate

Chicory Root Extract (Inulin)

Peanut Flour

Whey Protein Isolate: A by product extracted whenever cheese is made, this highly bioavailable form of protein is known for its ability to suppress appetite for hours. It’s also rich in amino acids and it is composed of a minimum of 90% protein by weight.

Organic Cracked Wheat: Ground up wheat kernels which are high in fiber and trace minerals. This is organic and therefore is free of any GMO’s or harsh processing which can have remains of dangerous pesticides.

Potassium Chloride: This provides the mineral potassium which is useful for regulating the proper functioning of nerves, muscles, and other vital organs.

Chicory Root Extract (Inulin): Woody plant that has trace vitamins and minerals and which can be used to aid digestion. This has been shown to be likely safe when used in allowable amounts. Inulin is a starchy substance that can be found naturally in chicory. It is beneficial for supporting healthy gut bacteria, as it is not digestible and can instead feed microflora.

Read more about the benefits of Medifast Diet when you visit their official website cited in this link.

Web MD has this to say about the Medifast Diet:

“enriched with nutrients to help offset any deficiency that may occur”

They also add that the meal replacement aspect can be supportive and:

“help keep the weight off”

Their review concludes with the following positive remarks about effective for both weight and health:

“Medifast can deliver results”

The Achieve plan offers:

  • 4 Medifast meals: 70 different food options are offered such as sweets, soups, pastas, bars and shakes.
  • 2 lean and green meals: This is separate from the prepackaged meals. A person chooses 3 servings of vegetables. 2 servings of healthy fats and 5 to 7 ounces of lean protein from the menu offered.
  • 1 Healthy snack: This can be a serving of fruit or yogurt, a baked potato, whole wheat pasta, or several other offered foods. Also separate from the prepackaged foods.

Click the link here to get a special discounted rate on Medifast.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Medifast

Medifast diet quality of ingredients

Their official website makes it really easy to verify what is added as they specific each ingredient added to their foods. They make sure to list any potential allergens, and they also provide the serving size, full price, and a nutrition facts list.

Judging the nutrition alone reveals that they ensure many vitamins and minerals are added to their foods. This ensures that one will be able to give the body what it needs to thrive and be healthy.

They also often use ingredients that are natural and wholesome. These additives are effective at providing a satisfying meal without packing on too many calories.

Also provided are gluten free and vegetarian options.  In examining many of their foods it’s clear to see they have dedicated themselves to provide healthy and effective solutions for weight loss.

Read about what the Medifast diet can do for you by visiting their official website.

THE PRICE AND QUALITY OF MEDIFAST DIET

Pricing can vary depending on the specific plan one chooses.

For example their Flex plan is meant to deliver steady and gradual weight loss and it provides 4 Medifast meals alongside 2 lean and green meals and a healthy snack.

Their Go! Plan offers 5 Medifast meals and 1 lean and green meal. These meals are one’s users can cook at home, as long as one makes sure to pick an option offered by the company.

You can even customize it further by reaching the company as they offer plans for those with gluten or soy intolerance, nursing, vegetarian or those who are of an older age. Support is also provided for diabetics who need to regulate their food choices closer.

Users often said they paid a fair price on these plans and the company does offer free shipping for certain orders. Overall when you look at the value given by the quality of meals, it certainly does make it a well-priced and affordable solution for weight loss.

You can get a hold of the Medifast Diet with a special discounted rate when you click on this cited link.

BUSINESS OF MEDIFAST DIET

Medifast, Inc. is the name of the group; their contact information is listed as:

Phone Number: (800) 209-0878

Email: A contact sheet is provided for direct messages.

They also list their official hours of operation so people know when is the best time to contact them.

On Consumer Affairs.com the company has been well regarded with 4 and a half stars out of 5. It’s shown how they have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors, and that it has already helped thousands lose weight successfully.

People who had questions and concerns were immediate responded to by a representative of the company on this website. People often said they trusted the company and felt that they were reputable. Customers said the following:

“customer service is great”

“quick and they answer all my questions quickly. Feel like I’m part of a larger family”

“You get a great deal on quality without breaking the bank”

“love the fact I can customize it as I like and get exactly what I enjoy eating”

For a detailed look into Medifast and to also get it now with a unique discounted rate, click on this link to be redirected.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Medifast

CUSTOMER OPINIONS OF MEDIFAST DIET

Here are some customer quotes about the Medifast Diet:

“lost around 25 pounds thus far since starting”

“wasn’t able to lose weight no matter what I tried. Find that this is the only thing that works for me”

“I’d recommend Medifast to other people who are struggling to keep the weight off. It makes it so much easier to decide what to eat”

Many said that they were not just able to lose weight, but to also keep it off long-term. There was a lot of genuine praise from people who also enjoyed the taste of the food, and who also added it was helpful for picky eaters who only liked certain foods, and who were able to customize it to fit their taste buds desires.

Overall many had a resounding benefit form the Medifast diet, and they also praised its functionality to help provide support whenever people needed it. Taste wise people said it was satisfying, and that it helped suppress their appetite. As far as the actual service and overall ability to interact with someone at the company to gain more insights, there was also praise over the helpfulness of the support staff.

Listed here is the official Medifast Diet website where you can read more about what foods are offered, and what the diet can do for weight loss.

CONCLUSION - DOES MEDIFAST DIET  WORK?

The Medifast Diet consists of pre-packaged low calorie foods, as well as diet advice and suggestions for grocery foods. This is comprehensive,  and many users have said the quality of foods is high. Customers noted they were able to sustain their weight loss results, and that the foods and advice offered were easy to use and helpful. This is the reason why we have rated the Medifast Diet as the best weight loss plan available.

The makers of Medifast have provided full support as they offer detailed advice and representatives that users said were helpful, and made them feel welcome and unintimidated to learn about real functional weight loss results. This is why they were so highly rated on Consumer Affairs, and Web MD has also said it is a nutrient rich diet plan which can help with supporting weight loss.

Since you can customize it to meet your taste and dietary preferences, it’s also made to be functional by all users. In this link you can get a special discounted price off of the Medifast Diet; click this link to get a hold of this special rate

 



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 22, 433 total comments)

Tammie

+

I am one week into this program. Have lost almost 5 pounds. I find it interesting that anyone one hear would claim that I haven't done my research...I have. I realize it is high protein, low fat and low carb...basic. I know what to do...I just have a very hard time executing it without structure. I am a working mom with 5 kids and 1 granddaughter. I am a very busy person with little time to shop and prepare for healthy meals. Not on this plan. I have food for the entire month. It is practical for someone like me...

posted May 5th, 2010 2:50 pm


Debi

+

I've lost 73 pounds in 6 months. I feel better than I have in years!!! I'm healthy, lots of energy. If I'd known it would be this easy, I would have done it sooner had I known about Medifast. I've done every diet imaginable, but Medifast is the only one I have lost this much weight with, and now I have the tools I need to keep it off forever. The best part? I look and feel younger! No saggy skin or lose of muscle tone like other diets.

posted May 5th, 2010 1:01 pm



Daisy415

+

It is working for me! I am so glad it is a lifestyle change! I have lost 57lbs in 11 weeks! I eat 6 meals a day and exercise about three times a week. This program is fast, simple, and convenient! I cant believe it! I am half way to my goal!

posted May 4th, 2010 1:43 am


amy

-

I do not know how anyone eats this food, I can only take a few bites and then I have to throw it away. It all tastes aweful!

posted May 3rd, 2010 10:07 pm


suzie q

+

Love it! It does work and you can eat!

posted Apr 26th, 2010 12:32 am


Sean Stewart

+

I've list 8.2 lbs in the first 3 days

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 5:16 pm


Barbara Quigley

-

Still always hungry after 3 weeks!

posted Apr 20th, 2010 2:25 pm


Tasha

+

They have good meals not the best but i lost weight.

posted Apr 16th, 2010 12:42 am


Hal

I've lost 7 lbs in 6 days. I fee great.

posted Apr 9th, 2010 9:12 am


ivette santana

+

Its about discipline! Medifast is convienient. I dont have to think about what I am going to eat..I always have a shake or snack handy and I am a work in progress. I have been losing, not sure how much, but I feel good. will keep you posted! woohoo to medifast!

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 10:06 am


Jeanne M

In 2008, I lost 20 pounds on Medifast in 20 weeks. Now I have gained back 12 of those pounds, partly because of stress due to my husband's illness, and partly because I fell back into old habits. I want to get back on Medifast, because it was the only plan that worked for me. Hopefully, I can get in shape before summer.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 10:53 am


Nichole

+

I lost 125 pounds on medifast and kept it off for over a year now. the plan does work

posted Mar 6th, 2010 2:27 pm


sue rambeau

I have lost 55 pounds and my husband has lost 50 pounds since November. We love it!!!!

posted Feb 24th, 2010 11:46 am


christine

+

Awesome awesome awesome I have lost 40 pounds in 10 weeks

posted Jan 25th, 2010 12:01 am


Jen

+

This is an easy to follow plan that yields very quick results. It is all laid out for you so you don't have to think about what you are going to eat and in what amount until you have your lean and green dinner.

posted Jan 8th, 2010 7:32 pm


marjorie

+

I tried this plan after a friend lost 25 lbs this summer! I too had about 25 to lose and it sounded like something I could do. I have lost 20 lbs and have 5 to go in just 11 weeks. My husband started at the same time and has lost 47 lbs. It works, it is easy and convenient, and I no longer crave fast food and high fat comfort foods. I haven't felt this good in years. I love and support this program so much that I became a health coach for TSFL. This program offers the popular medifast meals plus a free health coach to help you along the way. This is really important for success. I used my health coach a lot in the early weeks, and I still talk to her everyday. Email me for more details...

posted Nov 7th, 2009 4:44 pm


Dee

-

This diet is filling someone's pockets with gold. They first hook on the diet plan. Then you get the TSFL plan. Can't believe people don't research this. It is a high protein diet that comes in a powder... Just stick with leans meats, green vegetables, and exercise.
And for the ones who say that the food bill has went down....Baloney...
They plant that seed in your head. I have personally witnessed a couple of the TSFL people chase down overweight people telling they can fix their life.
I was personally over weight, border line diabetic, and high blood pressure. I done my research, cut out the cola's and the sugar, white bread and few other things. Got a treadmill started slowly at 15 minutes at first now I do at least and hour a day. Lost 95 pounds 2 years ago and maintaining. I can go to a resturant with friends and eat.
So for those of you who just want to make your coaches and the company pockets fatter thats your choice.

posted Nov 6th, 2009 12:59 am


Lo

Medifast is great! Keeps you going all day!



I just wonder how "Anne" can blame losing cuticles and nails from this diet?

posted Nov 4th, 2009 3:30 pm


Jan Simmons

+

Medifast is by far the best weight loss program I??ve ever tried! I love it, and although I??ve bumped myself out of ketosis several time due to a birthday party, family reunion, and a concert, I??ve still lost 25 lbs. and 2 pant sizes, in less than 2 months! I can??t wait to lose the other 35 lbs. that I have to lose! And, because of all of the nutrients I??m getting, my nails are growing like crazy! It takes dedication, but it??s so worth it. It has changed the way I look at food! And, the people that say you??ll gain all the weight back, obviously missed the whole point of this plan. You can??t go back to eating the way you did before Medifast, and you have to exercise! It??s a lifestyle change!! If you??re desperate, try it, and remember that it takes about 3-5 days to enter ketosis, but once you??re there, you ARE NOT HUNGRY!!! Which, for me, is a wonderful thing:) It was so much help to have my health coach (miofit.com) just hold my hand thru the whole process. Almost there!!!

posted Nov 2nd, 2009 5:00 pm


Alex

+

I love Medifast! It is the only diet I have had success on. It is easy to follow and the food tastes good. My health coach has been so helpful and has been part of my success.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 4:17 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOSMEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PROPRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CONCON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISEEXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQMEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWSMEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCESMEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact InformationMedifast Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

AuthorAuthor

by

Sign up with Medifast
and get 40% OFF