Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 307 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 21, 415 total comments)

Amy

I am on week four and finding it very successful. I especially enjoy the counseling support and would recommend this as part of the plan. All but one of the food items I have tried have been pretty tasty.

posted Oct 6th, 2014 1:24 am


Liz

I had a lot of weight to lose -- more than 75 pounds. After 3 months, I had to stop the program because I could no longer tolerate eating all of the processed foods. Note, I did lose some weight, about 20 lbs.. I am now trying a 'prepared meals' program, which is REAL food that I would normally eat. I did a review of how much I spent on Medifast (enrollment + mthly program fees + Medifast processed foods) and it is about the same amount that I spend on 'prepared meals' (a bit less than $200 per week). If you can stand the processed foods, then Medifast can work for you. But I have to lose the weight eating like I normally do.

posted Sep 10th, 2014 2:06 pm


Jacqueline

I got acquainted with Medifast when it came out many years ago. I find it a wonderful diet. How many diets have I done, and not lost weight...this one I know I will lose what I need to. I feel great on it too, after the first three days.

I have found it is not as good with 10 pounds as it is with 30 pounds or 40 pounds,. As a result, I do this diet every 4 to 5 years. I hold off the weight but it creeps up eventually. I love food too much.

I love the diet in summer, I do the shakes and now smoothies which are very good if made with lots of ice in the blender.

I lose weight even after I stop the diet it reves up the metabolism well
I do not use the foods, and soft serve and brownies I cannot just have one...so we love our shakes. Now my friends do this diet with me. It has been successful for all of us.
Thank you.


posted Jun 15th, 2014 7:56 pm


Sheila

Losing tons of weight even though over 40 and of normal weight...stick to the plan it works

posted Jun 10th, 2014 4:35 pm


Phyllis

I think the concept of the diet is right on track however, I have been on the diet one week and am miserable. I have never had such a gut ache and my Health Coach will not respond to any questions. Unfortunately, I opened and organized my meals (too organized) and can't return anything. I am chemically sensitive to the sucralose and did not realize that EVERYTHING is soy based which I apparently am allergic to. I feel the Coach should have explained the ingredients in the products before I purchased. I'm out over $400. Guess I learned a good lesson. I would NEVER recommend to anyone and will certainly talk with my physician as he recommended the diet to me. I only have 12 pounds to lose but don't think I can handle the bloating and pain.

posted May 22nd, 2014 12:23 am


Susan

You have to commit to the program and consult with their physician before doing the program. join the online community for support and weigh yourself. It truly isn't rocket science.
Basically, I was committed to losing the weight and knew it wasn't going to be easy.
I bought a really good scale and weighted myself every week. I had tremendous support and information available to me online - the community is basically like minded individuals who want to change their life habits with eating and others who are on the program and support each other thru difficult days, side effects etc. I developed lasting relationships in the community and have a huge support system from others who are doing the program also.
Plus, I had the option to email questions and concerns to a nutritionist/nurses online also - you can ask about medications you are taking, help with side effects. The program is simple, eat the food, follow the rules and stick with it. Do the research for yourself if you read the material sent with your order you can figure it out yourself or go online to the medifast online community and there are TONS of meals and recipes you can use.
I lost 40+lbs the first time I did the program and kept it off for over 2+ years. I didn't have any negative health effects from doing the program, but I did consult with my personal physician during the 3.5 months I was on the program. All my blood work actually came back better,lower blood pressure, cholesterol etc. but that is me. I just wanted to put it out there. There are people who have allergies to soy, so you should check with your doctor first before using the program.
I wasn't dizzy or suffered from nausea and only real side effect for me was headache on day 2 and 3, but I suspect that was from no caffeine. Any mental side effect were from having to re-learn to eat when I am hungry and basically be conscience of what I was actually eating. Healthier food choices that didn't include fast food or processed foods full of corn syrup and preservatives or artificial sweeteners. I was basically forcing my body to learn to deal with no sugars, no processed food, no breads, rice or any other carbs. Eventually, for me at least, by day 4 - I wasn't craving sweets nor carbs and basically felt better and had energy and wasn't hungry. I agree with Scout that eating healthier, exercise are the key to better health and weigh loss - however, most people have no earthly idea what healthier eating is. They think eating fat free is how you lose weight - and buying frozen dinners with low fat, fat free labeled all over the packaging. Any layman will think, well its fat free/low calorie and they eat bigger portions. They don't drink 8+oz of water a day, they don't know proper portions, they don't read labels, they consume sugar in EVERYTHING that is processed food and honestly, if they can't commit to the program then they certainly won't commit to a healthier lifestyle. In all fairness, the program will teach you portion control by weighing and measuring your food (if only to learn how to eyeball what 4 oz of lean meat looks like, or what 1 cup of lettuce actually looks like)It will teach you to plan your meals and most of all it will in the end teach you to only eat when you are hungry and most of all - you will learn discipline and self control. Last but not least...if you are looking for a magic pill to make you lose weight and you are not willing to put the time and energy into it and commit to it - then you have already set yourself up to fail with the program. Speaking from experience, I have no one to blame for being overweight but myself and no one but ME can lose the weight - so blaming the program or some stranger at a Clinic for my failure to do it is just plain sad. Just my two cents. The program works, it truly does, but you have to commit to it.

posted May 13th, 2014 5:27 am


Paul

I actually did the Medifast program through their free coaching division Take Shape For Life. I needed to lose 20 pounds and did it in one month without losing muscle. I went from 36 pants to 34's that are a little big and I have kept the weight off for almost 2 years now. Having a coach makes a huge difference.

posted Jan 15th, 2014 3:25 pm


Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

posted Dec 6th, 2013 4:24 am


Angela

I have lost 75 pounds in six months on Medifast, and with a coach from Take Shape for Life. I was a type two diabetic, and I'm not anymore. No more high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and I'm feeling awesome.

Follow the plan and it works. Simple as that.:)

posted Nov 22nd, 2013 8:43 pm


Heather

Medifast has been great so far. I am not sure why people claim the food is not good... because of past reviews, I was expecting something terrible. However,the food in the program is amazing! I LOVE the chocolate chip pancakes, the brownie, the vegitarian sloppy joe, and the shakes are to die for! I tried the vanilla shake today, and it tastes like cake batter! So yummy! Honestly, there isn't anything I don't like so far on this program. Today was day 3. After 2 days, I am already down 5 lbs. It's so simple and healthy, it's hard to not love it!

posted Nov 12th, 2013 7:45 am


Lisa Gary

The food is not the best, but you get used to it. I only had to lose those very last 10 pounds but nothing worked. I started medifast and lost quickly. I've been on it two months have reached my goal and placed another order today to start transtioning.

posted Nov 7th, 2013 4:32 pm



bryceab

Started April 2, 2013 by June 1 I had lost 50 lbs and now at 7months I'm 5 lbs from my 135 lbs goal. I'm exercising habitually, my bp has dropped, no longer on a cpap for sleep apnea. I feel comfortable in my own skin for the first time in my life.!!( I would have NEVER shared this much info before.)

posted Oct 31st, 2013 12:18 am


Anne

84lbs in 27 weeks, what's the question

posted Sep 4th, 2013 11:51 am


Fred Randall

Started the Medifast program on 4 Apr '13. I've lost 73.5 lbs thus far, and my health is vastly improved. Free 28 meals each with first two orders when you join Medifast Advantage and also when you join Take Shape for Life (TSFL), a support group for Medifast users. Free shipping of meals when more than certain amount ordered. Free weight loss coach when you are a member of TSFL. The program fits my life style and preferences. I recommend it to others.

posted Sep 2nd, 2013 3:48 pm


Lyn

I lost 59 pounds in 8 months on Medifast and loved it! I wrote a review here, on my blog, and posted before and after pictures.

http://escapefromobesityreviews.blogspot.com/2013/08/medifast-diet-real-life-review.html

posted Aug 11th, 2013 10:39 pm


chelle

I lost 18 pounds in 35 days and am still going! I have tried them ALL...this one works!

posted Jul 24th, 2013 9:04 pm


Leigh B

As a woman over 50, I had tried many diets but this was the easiest weight loss I have ever experienced. Those that see me tell me I look younger and comment on my skin and how nice it looks. Best of all, the protein is soy and I no longer have hot flashes or night sweats and off hormones.

posted May 24th, 2013 2:20 pm


Paula

All I have to say is OMG! I have been on this program for about 2 months now and have lost 28 pounds. I am amazed at how quickly the weight came off and yet I didn't feel hungry at all. I have tried most of the food products and finally identified my favorites: bars, maple Oatmeal, chicken and rice soup, and the shakes. I would highly recommend this diet to anyone who does not have the self discipline to make your own meals. There is no thought needed, just grab your medifast foods for the day, and extra water and you are set.

posted May 5th, 2013 2:27 pm


Audrey

I love this plan! After having four kids, I had a goal of getting my body back and did it using medifast. I read the book published by the creator of the program, Dr. A's habits for health, and it was very motivating to me. I used this program to truly make my life healthier. I lost 50 pounds and wear a size 4/6!!

It does take some time to get used to eating the Medifast meal replacements. I loved the bars, but hated the oatmeal. If you get the book it does have lists of alternatives to the meal replacements, it just takes more time to get those options prepared and, honestly, it was worth every penny for me to purchase the meal replacements and have portable food ready to go. The best part of this program is that it really trains you to keep the weight off - something I have always struggled with. You do lose the weight very rapidly, but it is worth taking some time to transition back into normal eating habits. The goal is a lifetime change, not a temporary weight loss. Commit to changing your life for the better and this plan can help you make that a reality.

posted Apr 30th, 2013 10:54 am


John F Hamilton

If a person cannot get healthy and lose weight on this diet, you may need to check in the clinic.

I am 65. I have had a stroke.
I have died three times.
I am presently getting rid of cancer through surgery and treatments.

I have had a zillion things go wrong with my body.

Btw, a few herbs and spices; perhaps a little imagination, and I have never had a bad meal.

Medifast all the way folks...

posted Apr 8th, 2013 9:06 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account